Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby sMASH » May 15th, 2017, 6:24 pm

Where are these squatters, and any other, are to go now?

A government needs to ensure its citizens are sheltered.

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 15th, 2017, 6:31 pm

sMASH wrote:Where are these squatters, and any other, are to go now?

This government ent care bout nobody smash...

Postby SR » May 15th, 2017, 6:43 pm

Has anyone submitted as yet? How long was the process

Postby sMASH » May 15th, 2017, 7:13 pm

the south office is to handle from rio claro till i suppose point. the room is small, and so far crowded. the process is brief, but the quay to reach up will be horrendous, cause i went to collect blank forms... and is like wawwww...

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » May 15th, 2017, 7:14 pm

Anyone know the details of the property tax, regarding agricultural land.

Postby sMASH » May 15th, 2017, 7:32 pm

the gist i got, if it is vacant, u estimate a value for ur lands that someone would pay for it, then calculate a percentage of that as ur rental value and then a percentage of that number as ur tax.
what i'm seeing is, 2% of the capital value is the annual rental value ARV. then 1% of that number as ur tax.
say, u have a piece of agri land worth 500k. then 2% of that is 10k, which is the ARV. and 1% of that is $100 which is the tax.

https://www.finance.gov.tt/wp-content/u ... nd-Act.pdf
http://www.finance.gov.tt/propertytax/a ... fications/

if incorrect, some one can pls rectify.

car

Postby car » May 15th, 2017, 7:58 pm

sMASH wrote:the south office is to handle from rio claro till i suppose point. the room is small, and so far crowded. the process is brief, but the quay to reach up will be horrendous, cause i went to collect blank forms... and is like wawwww...

Anyone can deposit their forms at any one of the offices.
Man in cedros can deposit in toco if there is an office there.
You can get the forms online also.

Postby matr1x » May 15th, 2017, 8:06 pm

What are they going to do with this money?

car

Postby car » May 15th, 2017, 8:12 pm

matr1x wrote:What are they going to do with this money?

Not fix the roads. Not improve the infrastructure.
Buy clubs to go with the golf carts.

Postby sMASH » May 15th, 2017, 8:15 pm

https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television ... 073042996/

the imp talking with some body, now!!!

Postby matr1x » May 15th, 2017, 8:17 pm

You know, most of pnm areas are also where the criminal element concentrate. Will they be looking at decentralizing their population?

Watch out. Criminals coming to an hdc settlement near you....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 15th, 2017, 8:20 pm

sMASH wrote:the south office is to handle from rio claro till i suppose point. the room is small, and so far crowded. the process is brief, but the quay to reach up will be horrendous, cause i went to collect blank forms... and is like wawwww...

you can fill out the form online and print it
http://www.finance.gov.tt/propertytax/forms/

no need to collect the form or use crappo foot handwriting.

Postby sMASH » May 15th, 2017, 8:23 pm

Fleck!!!!

Postby sMASH » May 15th, 2017, 8:25 pm

Reporter: why has residential properties been chosen to be taxed first as opposed to commercial?
Imbert: the vast majority of properties are residential, so it would be easier to do.

Postby The_Honourable » May 15th, 2017, 9:16 pm

sMASH wrote:https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/videos/10155367073042996/

the imp talking with some body, now!!!

fixed 8-)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 15th, 2017, 9:27 pm

After listening to that...the budget later on in the year would be designed to FCK we all how

Postby The_Honourable » May 15th, 2017, 10:02 pm

Imbert said that the tax from squatters might be so low that it may not make sense collecting it... because the cost of collecting the tax might be more than imposing it :lol: :lol: :lol:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 15th, 2017, 10:22 pm

Nope that is not the governments job.

It is your own ass that needs to ensure that you and your family are sheltered.
Where allu does come from with this excrement?

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » May 15th, 2017, 10:32 pm

The man said the recommendation is to devalue the dollar 10 to 1 and remove all subsidies on water, elec. and education. He said they don't want to....yea right.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 15th, 2017, 10:58 pm

GeneralHonda wrote:The man said the recommendation is to devalue the dollar 10 to 1 and remove all subsidies on water, elec. and education. He said they don't want to....yea right.

This makes sense! Dollar needs to be devalued, only real way to curb demand on the USD. Subsidies should be removed from electricity and water very slowly .

Postby Gladiator » May 15th, 2017, 11:11 pm

drchaos wrote:

Take a step back bro.... it is the Gov't core responsibility to ensure the welfare of their citizens. This includes shelter.... why the hell you think govt always building all them NHA/HDC house.... Maloney, Beetham, Edingburg 500, The Plannings etc etc.....

You thought it was for the kickbacks only :lol:

Postby sMASH » May 15th, 2017, 11:20 pm

drchaos wrote:

i said SHELTER, not housing. that could be anything from an HDC house to a work house a la london in the 19th century.
the point of government is not just to raise funds and pay ministers and their contractor friends. it is to manage the resources of a place on behalf of the people for the the betterment of the people. there would be well-to-do persons, and the not so fortunate. and those unable to provide for themselves should at least be allowed basic human support.

http://www.un.org/en/universal-declarat ... an-rights/

anyway, article 25 1) at least have their welfare in mind in adverse situations.

Postby 88sins » May 15th, 2017, 11:20 pm

drchaos wrote:This makes sense! Dollar needs to be devalued, only real way to curb demand on the USD.

Hard to believe you have internet access, and still that chupid.

car

Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby car » May 15th, 2017, 11:32 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Imbert said that the tax from squatters might be so low that it may not make sense collecting it... because the cost of collecting the tax might be more than imposing it :lol: :lol: :lol:

Yep. Just as I said a few pages back. No property tax for squatters was their original plan all along. Beetham, lavantille and similar not going to be paying either. Just wait a week again and they will justify it.

Which squatter going to fill out a form?
Last edited by car on May 15th, 2017, 11:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RedVEVO » May 16th, 2017, 2:45 am

There are countries who are very fortunate to have Gov't where there is little tax to no tax.

TT has had billions and billion wasted . So now Gov't has come to the people homes to extract another tax - every where Gov't sees an opportunity it is tax, tax, tax.

It is a Gov't bailout . Or is it ?

Why we the citizens must share this major burden ? What did we do to deserve such treatment ? It is a few who make the decisions. But now their actions are deemed illegal .

Where Gov't find $255M to give to Massy ? HSF Fund ? It is a bailout for Massy.

We should protest. We have been beaten and brainwashed by these few.

The $$$ Gov't want will be lost again . Basically it is unfair for everyone.

But why take us down ? Leave our homes alone.

Axe the Tax .
Last edited by RedVEVO on May 16th, 2017, 3:24 am, edited 5 times in total.

Postby RedVEVO » May 16th, 2017, 3:09 am

Devaluation works when you have a strong export economy . China likes a low yuan or RMB so
it can attract sales of its millions different types of manufactured goods.

To devalue a country's currency to shake off demand from the locals ? Oppressive . It's similar to MVT & VAT when buying a car in Trinidad - TT people will still buy the car.

US $$$ demand will increase. Black markets will spring up overnight.

What we have in Trinidad to export that you need to devalue the TT dollar 10 to 1 etc. ?

Nobody in foreign wants Crix and Solo Coconut Water and Chubby .

Postby adnj » May 16th, 2017, 6:20 am

hydroep wrote:
sinister_14 wrote:
eliteauto wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:^^
Government Land belongs to everybody.
That is why I use the work "technically own it "

If we had fair Gov't land distribution then you will not have squatters.

walk in a Police Station, pick up a law book and walk out, if they stop you tell them you "technically own it" see what happens, let us know

When it comes to land ownership the law doesn't view squatting as outright theft. Ever hear that possession is 9/10 of the law? Well squatters make use of something called "adverse possession" which in its simplest form gives a trespasser the right to own land provided that he/she can prove unchallenged use of it for a specified period of time (I think it's 18 years in Trinidad and Tobago).

And it's not just the squatters eh. Some "upstanding", "well to do", "hardworking", "educated", "tax paying" citizens does be involved in this chupidness as well. Anyone who constructs a fence thereby enclosing someone else's property as their own is trying to make use of this provision in the law.

In this case, the law is really an ass.

Adverse possession in Trinidad and Tobago requires open and uncontested possession and use of 16 years for private lands and 30 years for government lands. Then the possessor must file an action for adverse possession including notification of the owner at the last known address and public notification.

The owner has two years in which to answer. The court may award possession after the two year period has elapsed.

Some areas of Trinidad and Tobago may not be seized; including but not limited to: river banks, road sides, easements, forest reserves, and environmentally sensitive areas.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 16th, 2017, 6:29 am

so anyone in here was visited by valuation people???

Postby *KRONIK* » May 16th, 2017, 6:36 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so anyone in here was visited by valuation people???

They visit u already?

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 16th, 2017, 6:39 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so anyone in here was visited by valuation people???

them better doh come round me with they pnm taxing mubbo jumbo devil ting