Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby sMASH » July 11th, 2016, 12:47 pm

Sando, Chaguanas, ptown, Rio claro. PoS is not the only city/ town in Trinidad.
The parkade is the ssolution and needs to be implemented elsewhere. Until then, I find wrecking in places other than PoS to be a money making venture.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 11th, 2016, 12:54 pm

sMASH wrote:Sando, Chaguanas, ptown, Rio claro. PoS is not the only city/ town in Trinidad.
The parkade is the ssolution and needs to be implemented elsewhere. Until then, I find wrecking in places other than PoS to be a money making venture.

I find public transport to be a better/more convenient solution for me when I need to get business done in PoS, Arima or Tunapuna than fighting up with a park. Never need to go those other towns but public transport hasn't failed me yet. Cheaper than paying the wrecking fee too.

TBH we can all beyotch on what we think the perceived problems are or help in finding useful solutions until the Government does something differently.

Postby sMASH » July 11th, 2016, 12:56 pm

The time saving, convenience and security of a personal vehicle is too much an advantage for me.

kamakazi

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby kamakazi » July 11th, 2016, 2:27 pm

ryan666 wrote:Somebody tell me something.... Regarding the cost of the speed guns, initially it was $280,000 per speed gun... When they were planning to purchase 50 it was at a cost of $14M. Now i am reading in the papers that one of the speed gun costed $65,000 ONLY!!!! If so, where the other $215,000 gone from each one??
Lets see- $215,000 x 6 guns= $1,290,000.00. If the guns were indeed $65,000 ea, then someone pocked that Million plus!!! What do you think?

Maybe accessories and options plus the service, certification and training.. From what i have seen they have almost every option equipment wise

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 11th, 2016, 5:12 pm

drchaos wrote:Forgive them ...
Maybe all they know is Sentra's and Corolla's where the "special features" are things like tachometers and digital clocks.

Is that like one of those special features where you're a wardsman in real but a Dr on 2nr?

How yuh mean! ... Pushing trolley and wheeling patients to get their scans and back is serious wok yuh know!

Postby A172 » July 11th, 2016, 6:00 pm

Maybe all they know is Sentra's and Corolla's where the "special features" are things like tachometers and digital clocks.

the euro u always rating up is a bmw or merc?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 11th, 2016, 6:16 pm

A172 wrote:

the euro u always rating up is a bmw or merc?

Always rating up a euro you say?
The only thing I recall saying was rollingstock called my vehicle a POS and I responded buy saying it was not.

A172 ent you is the launderer that move from a beat up ole clunker to a GTR?

Postby A172 » July 11th, 2016, 6:31 pm

yh
so which one u move up to dey?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 11th, 2016, 6:49 pm

Boy I still scraping together a lil change to puh dong on a down payment ... I moving legal ofc so it go take me a lil more time than allu sheronish fellars.

Postby A172 » July 11th, 2016, 6:53 pm

k

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 11th, 2016, 7:06 pm

Well that escalated quickly..

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » July 12th, 2016, 8:50 am

drchaos wrote:Boy I still scraping together a lil change to puh dong on a down payment ... I moving legal ofc so it go take me a lil more time than allu sheronish fellars.

Just bring in some 10 year old tiida to sell over for quick munneh and say they was here since long time to get them licensed... lel

#fkdiskjaglalinparticular

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 12th, 2016, 10:10 am

They will say you lie cause you can't leave Tiida lying around to long ... It will get theif :P

Postby BrotherHood » July 12th, 2016, 10:23 am

drchaos wrote:Boy I still scraping together a lil change to puh dong on a down payment ... I moving legal ofc so it go take me a lil more time than allu sheronish fellars.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » July 12th, 2016, 10:36 am

last night at about 930pm south bound in front of Brian Lara Stadium they were there positioned like a Land Surveyor...caught quite a few vehicles going over 80km.

i do find the limit enforcement has led to better driving habits

Postby Morpheus » July 12th, 2016, 10:42 am

No improved driving habits. People drive the same.

All it has led to is less speeding. Which is not a bad ting.

Someone pulling on you at 80kph still isn't nice.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 12th, 2016, 11:08 am

It seems like its easier for the police to enforce the speed guns on two lane highway's. The highest frequency of the speed traps tend to be south of Chaguanas.

Probably dangerous/risky for them to try and stop you on a three lane highway. Might be harder to spot you down the road.

Postby Morpheus » July 12th, 2016, 11:44 am

So if most of the speeding is down south, send most of the equipment up north?

There are frequent speed traps up north man. Mostly in the night because up north, east/west has too much traffic during the day to average over 55kph. So it won't make sense throwing resources at that.

Postby zoom rader » July 14th, 2016, 12:27 pm

mitch1980 wrote:last night at about 930pm south bound in front of Brian Lara Stadium they were there positioned like a Land Surveyor...caught quite a few vehicles going over 80km.

i do find the limit enforcement has led to better driving habits

Yeah true,

What's the murder rate and detection of these crimes?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 14th, 2016, 12:33 pm

Lol :lol:

Postby Morpheus » July 14th, 2016, 12:54 pm

Lard ZR logic again

Postby BrotherHood » July 14th, 2016, 2:08 pm

Buh d man right though

Postby sMASH » July 14th, 2016, 2:47 pm

people have to open their eyes, is the purpose of this exercise to reduce speed or to generate revenue? prevention is better than cure. set it up every quarter mile, then u would have no speed transgressions. but if u leave the roadways clear and only spuriously go out, then u allow the speed demons to drive above 80 and endanger the goodly citizens. u cant allow us to put so many people lives at risk so often.... make sure we cant speed no where.

fleck dat, put speed bumps every 300 feet. speeding will stop and lives will be saved, and ticketing will disappear.... win/win/win

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 14th, 2016, 3:21 pm

I second that! We need Speed bumps on the Highways!

Will save so many lives that T&T may become overpopulated.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 14th, 2016, 9:08 pm

Speed demons will remain speed demons.
Persons are still putting down the same bad drives as before just at a slightly reduced speed.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 14th, 2016, 9:19 pm

I have noted that the rich just don't give a flying f#(% about the speed limits. Vehicles that are in a certain price brackets moving like they have afterburners on.
Range rovers, AMG's, A5+ and so on ...
$1K is probably lunch money for some of these fellars.

Maybe they should have tiered speeding fines.
Vehicles 100k to 399K $1000, 400K to 799K $5000, 800K and above $10000.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » July 14th, 2016, 10:13 pm

drchaos wrote:I have noted that the rich just don't give a flying f#(% about the speed limits. Vehicles that are in a certain price brackets moving like they have afterburners on.
Range rovers, AMG's, A5+ and so on ...
$1K is probably lunch money for some of these fellars.

Maybe they should have tiered speeding fines.
Vehicles 100k to 399K $1000, 400K to 799K $5000, 800K and above $10000.

I observed the driver of a Porsche Cayenne behaving like this..driving as though if he got stopped, he'd just give the officer the money to pay the ticket for him one time and a little 'something extra' for the trouble..

Postby pete » July 14th, 2016, 10:36 pm

No need for it to be tiered like that. Just time for points on your license and after a certain number of points you get a time out from driving. Even scale it so 80-100 1pt 100-120 2 pts over 120 3 pts and 3 pts being 3 month ban and the points staying for a year. If you go to 4 pts in a year 6 month ban from driving etc.

Then that driving will stop cause those ppl not gonna want to hire someone to drive them around or travel.

Postby sMASH » July 14th, 2016, 10:56 pm

still need to catch them...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 14th, 2016, 11:44 pm

pete wrote:No need for it to be tiered like that. Just time for points on your license and after a certain number of points you get a time out from driving. Even scale it so 80-100 1pt 100-120 2 pts over 120 3 pts and 3 pts being 3 month ban and the points staying for a year. If you go to 4 pts in a year 6 month ban from driving etc.

Then that driving will stop cause those ppl not gonna want to hire someone to drive them around or travel.

I once drove 11 months without a license ... and was never caught.
The problem is how do you enforce a driving ban.