Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby Nexus » February 11th, 2019, 12:27 pm

Yeah check Price Club

Postby *KRONIK* » February 11th, 2019, 12:59 pm

Xtra foods in xtra plaza
nick639v2 wrote:Anyone knows where I can get a bottle, Central area.
siracha-squeeze-28oz.jpeg

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 11th, 2019, 1:05 pm

Thanks going there now

Postby *KRONIK* » February 11th, 2019, 1:15 pm

Sriracha wings for dinner or wah?
nick639v2 wrote:Thanks going there now

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 11th, 2019, 1:19 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Sriracha wings for dinner or wah?
For Friday.. Gonna try smoking the wings with cherry wood with a sriracha rub.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 11th, 2019, 1:24 pm

Bess...

Do a batch without the smoke too, just sweeten up the seasoning sauce a bit.

Grill on a high indirect heat

I make that for my sister kids the other day, they behave like refugee children and shove all down their face

Lol
nick639v2 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Sriracha wings for dinner or wah?
For Friday.. Gonna try smoking the wings with cherry wood with a sriracha rub.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 11th, 2019, 1:46 pm

What u using as sweetener??.. I see moms have some nutmeg syrup lapsing from Grenada I used it once on pork and it turned out a decent so maybe is that self I might use

Postby SMc » February 11th, 2019, 2:02 pm

^^nah the flavour of the nutmeg might take over from the siriracha though it is already full of flavour can taste a bit weird when mixed with some ingredients- I usually some brown sugar for BBQ sauces/glazes as it adds sweetness and some colour without overbearing everything else.

You could try mixing a small amount of the siriacaha & nutmeg syrup- stick it in the microwave till very hot then taste to see how they blend (let it cool first though) that may give you an idea on whether it works or not.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 11th, 2019, 2:30 pm

A lil sprinkle of brown sugar

Just to add a hint of sweet and get the sauce coating tacky
nick639v2 wrote:What u using as sweetener??.. I see moms have some nutmeg syrup lapsing from Grenada I used it once on pork and it turned out a decent so maybe is that self I might use

Postby pugboy » February 11th, 2019, 2:32 pm

Personally I find sriracha a bit sour as it is vinegar based

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 11th, 2019, 7:03 pm

I just use sriracha in small amounts as an additive. If i marinating or making sauces or just using as a dip, just in small amounts.

Shouldnt have bought the $45 bottle, it would probably go bad months before it could finish.

Postby pugboy » February 11th, 2019, 7:07 pm

Nah, the high acidity helps against spoilage

ProtonPowder wrote:I just use sriracha in small amounts as an additive. If i marinating or making sauces or just using as a dip, just in small amounts.

Shouldnt have bought the $45 bottle, it would probably go bad months before it could finish.

hindian

Postby hindian » February 11th, 2019, 7:33 pm

Anybody here uses cast iron skillets? Need advice on the seasoning process. YouTube saying to remove the factory seasoning and re season. Any alternatives to doing that? Food keeps sticking like hell in it even with a controlled heat source. The factory seasoning is very rough to the touch as well. Could that be the problem?

Postby Dizzy28 » February 11th, 2019, 7:51 pm

Had a bottle of the Roland sriracha for almost a year and it was good. The Huy Fong doesn't last long as I only get the small bottles
ProtonPowder wrote:I just use sriracha in small amounts as an additive. If i marinating or making sauces or just using as a dip, just in small amounts.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 11th, 2019, 8:33 pm

hindian wrote:Anybody here uses cast iron skillets? Need advice on the seasoning process. YouTube saying to remove the factory seasoning and re season. Any alternatives to doing that? Food keeps sticking like hell in it even with a controlled heat source. The factory seasoning is very rough to the touch as well. Could that be the problem?
Ours was rough as well, we removed original seasoning and did the regular oil and burn in then my mom bake some chops and nice fatty meats it and in about 4 times it was all good

Postby *KRONIK* » February 11th, 2019, 8:46 pm

If you getting problems, sand it all out wash it clean, dry with a towel, rub it down with cooken all over (use your hand, cuz you want an even film not globs, and bake it.
Then cook something oily in it 1st, bacon or some lamb chops.
Also be cautious with the washing, hot water and mild soap works good. Soak in hot water and scrape off stuck on bits with a wood spoon or plastic scraper before washing.

After washing, dry on the stove on low heat and pass a light coat of oil on the inside while it still warm.
hindian wrote:Anybody here uses cast iron skillets? Need advice on the seasoning process. YouTube saying to remove the factory seasoning and re season. Any alternatives to doing that? Food keeps sticking like hell in it even with a controlled heat source. The factory seasoning is very rough to the touch as well. Could that be the problem?

Postby *KRONIK* » February 11th, 2019, 8:47 pm

Where the pics of the wings hoss?
nick639v2 wrote:
Ours was rough as well, we removed original seasoning and did the regular oil and burn in then my mom bake some chops and nice fatty meats it and in about 4 times it was all good

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 11th, 2019, 8:50 pm

I get call back out to work so I didn't get the sauce yet.. buh I did say Friday night for it eh!! Doh rash meh

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » February 11th, 2019, 8:53 pm

Does anyone know of anywhere in Trinidad that serves deep dish pizza??

Postby pugboy » February 11th, 2019, 9:00 pm

Baking in the oven is also a good way season cast iron

hindian

Postby hindian » February 11th, 2019, 9:10 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
Will an orbital sander and rough sand paper work to remove the roughness or do I need something more aggressive? I also noticed that when I try to cook in it using plastic utensils, I get bits of the seasoning coming off in the food. It's not a brand name skillet

Postby pugboy » February 11th, 2019, 9:20 pm

Cast iron will lick up the sandpaper
Angle grinder with the sandpaper flap disc might be better

hindian wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:
Will an orbital sander and rough sand paper work to remove the roughness or do I need something more aggressive? I also noticed that when I try to cook in it using plastic utensils, I get bits of the seasoning coming off in the food. It's not a brand name skillet

Postby *KRONIK* » February 12th, 2019, 7:09 am

Well doh forget to post pics friday eh
nick639v2 wrote:I get call back out to work so I didn't get the sauce yet.. buh I did say Friday night for it eh!! Doh rash meh

Postby *KRONIK* » February 12th, 2019, 7:11 am

What ever method you use, from what i have seen online, they always try to get the interior as smooth as possible before seasoning.

hindian wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:

Postby *KRONIK* » February 12th, 2019, 7:17 pm

Yuh make mih dream wings last nite
So i doing a set of apple wood smoked buffalo wings now.
nick639v2 wrote:I get call back out to work so I didn't get the sauce yet.. buh I did say Friday night for it eh!! Doh rash meh

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 12th, 2019, 7:20 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Yuh make mih dream wings last nite
So i doing a set of apple wood smoked buffalo wings now.
Hahahaha e-bonx.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 12th, 2019, 7:21 pm

I watching this this here and mih belly gurgling fuh it

Postby *KRONIK* » February 12th, 2019, 7:25 pm

20190212_192501.jpeg

Postby maj. tom » February 12th, 2019, 7:35 pm

Action really starts at 2:04. Btw he starting with a Lodge which is high end made-in-USA stuff eh. If you bought that other brand Victoria that they sell here too which is made in Colombia, you may just have to put in a little more work to prep it. I don't know if the quality of the iron would be as good as Lodge, but cast iron usually can't go wrong with proper care.

*KRONIK* wrote:If you getting problems, sand it all out wash it clean, dry with a towel, rub it down with cooken all over (use your hand, cuz you want an even film not globs, and bake it.
Then cook something oily in it 1st, bacon or some lamb chops.
Also be cautious with the washing, hot water and mild soap works good. Soak in hot water and scrape off stuck on bits with a wood spoon or plastic scraper before washing.

After washing, dry on the stove on low heat and pass a light coat of oil on the inside while it still warm.

Postby supercharged turbo » April 9th, 2019, 6:31 pm

Anybody know where selling smoked herring with the belly not cut open?Sometimes you get the eggs in them but for the longest while I haven't seen any