Wayne Kublalsingh Hunger Strike...

Soul Collector

Re: Wayne Kublalsingh Hunger Strike...

Postby Soul Collector » December 2nd, 2012, 9:07 am

"For those within the Partnership who think otherwise and would wish to go it on their own, let me also confirm that the electorate will chew and spit out such individuals or political groups who are seen to be betraying the trust that has been placed in the Partnership.

"I am in command as your PM," she said.

WTMC I does be hearing boi. This woman, these ppl in that govt now just disappoint me so much eh. I not even saying this just cuz of the Kublalsingh incident. But from way before, this isnt what I voted for. Look how these ppl talking na and carrying about themselves...just wow, I'm almost at a loss for words honestly.

I am in command, this must be done! - Is facking Hitler it have running d place now :|

Postby sMASH » December 2nd, 2012, 9:13 am

kams and dem want it to pass through the mangrove, kubs don't want it to pass through the mangrove.
kams dem letting it join back up on the main road after the mangrove, and kubs dem want it to go along the m2 ring road and join the main road before the creek.

kams and kubs dem way, the main road is developed into a highway from pt fortin, going all the way up to pass by la brea, then goes all the way down to pass by siparia/penal. to me that is forcing pt fortin traffic unnecessarily up to la brea, then forcing pt fortain and la brea traffic all the way down to siparia.

i was wondering if it would be feasible to make a more direct route to pt. fortain and outskirt the mangrove. the la brea side could be connected to the highway by a revamped main road system, eventually a highway.

if a route could be found, then the highway is a major communication out of the south west peninsula, where pt fortin traffic goes a lot more straighter to the bottom of the highway, la brea and siparia/penal have connectors to the highway. the main road is left as another avenue for san fernando traffic, the mangrove would be avoided with the accompanying weird science of building roads through mangroves.

i don't see why we can't spend a little more money and preserve a little more environment and a little more commute time.

i mean, the gov't route passes through already developed route settlements, and takes a long way. i say kill a few more forests and get a more direct, but shorter route to pt. fortin. the la brea and siparia/penal commute times should not be any longer. there would be alot more room for expansion, and a lot less disruption to work while it is being built.

they should so some bridges so that wild life could go under the highway rather than across it.
Last edited by sMASH on December 2nd, 2012, 9:33 am, edited 2 times in total.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » December 2nd, 2012, 9:18 am

If there was ever any doubt why the highway has to be built... This confirms that it is pay back to government friends and family...4 million for a house in Penal that land cost $175,000 in 2005.

Nidco consultant cashes in on $4m highway deal
http://guardian.co.tt/news/2012-12-02/n ... ghway-deal

National Infrastructure Development Company Ltd (Nidco) community consultant Edward Moodie—who is responsible for ensuring relocated residents of the Debe to Mon Desir segment of the San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway are compensated—has brokered a $4.1 million deal for himself.

But this apparent conflict of interest is not the only questionable aspect of the land acquisition for the controversial highway. One of the valuators being used by Nidco—Harland Temull, who also did the valuation for Moodie’s property at Goopie Trace, Penal—has submitted a proposal for 15 acres of land owned by his family and himself at San Francique Main Road, and is waiting to sign on the dotted line.

These dubious transactions have caused consternation in the Ministry of Works, with some employees calling for Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar to intervene. A senior ministry official commented, “It is a clear conflict of interest. How could people involved in the transition process be working and be gaining from it? Where is the transparency?”

State agency Nidco has been entrusted with the responsibility for the $7.3 billion highway as part of a comprehensive land transformation programme. So far only six residents at Goopie Trace have accepted compensation to relocate to Petit Morne, Ste Madeleine, as the protest of the Highway Re-Route Movement led by hunger-striker Dr Wayne Kublalsingh continues.

Among those residents is Moodie, who is also president of the Debe/Point Fortin Action Committee. A visit to Nidco’s Penal office on Friday to get answers about the dubious land deal involving Moodie unearthed more questions than answers.

Nidco consultant cashes in on $4.1 million deal
Moodie is insisting the compensation package offered to him is above board. He was offered payment earlier this year. A request from the Sunday Guardian to explain the rationale behind the $4.1 million deal offered to him for his four-bedroom home, which is situated on two lots of land—compared to the $2.4 million each paid to two residents who owned houses on one-acre parcels of land—was rejected at first.

Temull immediately interrupted the interview, insisting such information was confidential and could not be revealed. However, a visibly taken-aback Moodie confirmed that he did in fact receive the sum. He admitted many people were not aware he had been compensated. Moodie said in 2005 he purchased the land for $175,000 and spent approximately $2.4 million building his home, which includes a swimming pool.

Moodie insisted he has nothing to hide, saying, “I did not get back my two lots of land. I only got back one lot. “But I was compensated. I got $4.1 million. I built a castle for this highway. I finished building my house the week of the elections in 2010. “In the valuation report my house was valued at $5 million, but I decided to settle for $4.1 million. Many people were upset with me because they said I could have gotten more money.

“I accepted less because I knew my valuation would be heavily scrutinised, and I did not want to compromise my integrity for $1 million.” He refused to provide the Sunday Guardian with a copy of the valuation report on his house, though he flipped through the pages of the report, showing photos of what he said was his home.

Asked why he continued upgrading the property, even though he was one of the residents earmarked to be relocated, Moodie said the upkeep to any property was key to ensure fair equity. “I paved my yard with oil sand and I fixed some cracks. I have to maintain my property.

“For those that are trying for me to lose credibility, I want to ask them if, when they are selling a vehicle, they do not spray air freshener. Let us be practical, it is reality. “A lot of people are saying that I built my house for the highway. The point is, when I bought my property, I had no idea the highway was coming through here. I finished my house properly in preparation for it.”

Justifying his choice to jump ship and now support construction of the highway, Moodie said it was a case of being between the devil and the deep blue sea. “It is the truth I was against the highway at first, but after various meetings with different officials I realised we really do not have a case.

“I was then given the responsibility to ensure that residents are satisfied with the transition. I look at issues and take it back to Nidco. I am also heavily involved in explaining to the people what has been offered. I take a special interest in churches and big businesses because of what they stand to lose by the highway. I am facilitating them to ensure that they get their money’s worth and the transition from one place to another.”

Recommended evaluators want three per cent so...
Defending his decision to use additional evaluators—apart from those recommended by the ministry—Moodie said it was aimed at reducing cost. “People are free to use any of the valuators recommended by the ministry, but the issue is they want three per cent of the compensation. Other valuators we approached like HT Valuation and Accounting Ltd, to which Temull is attached, are willing to accept only one per cent.

“If we are giving so much business, why must they want three per cent?” He said while he was not directly involved in the negotiations, six landowners from his area asked him for help in reaching an agreement. “I am not involved in negotiations unless a client asks me. From the six residents, all of them came back to me and said they were fairly compensated and are just waiting on the lot of land.

“We must understand, though, that Penal is a place where old East Indian people have lived all their lives, and give them how much money, they are not interested.”

Moodie and Temull claim no conflict of interest
Dismissing the notion of a conflict of interest, Moodie said, “People are saying all kinds of things about me. The fact is, I have to look after the people because a highway has to be built.” Temull said his company offers a particular brand and is well known in south Trinidad.

“It is all about customer service compared to other evaluators. They come to us; we do not go to them. “I am being affected by the highway. It is four family members being affected. We have dealt with them already. It was stress for my family. My mom, Annie, got very ill. We are negotiating for a settlement right now,” Temull said.

Residents charge ‘Moodie sold out’
But while Moodie is convinced he has the interest of residents at heart, several residents are accusing him of “selling out.” Even some of Moodie’s own neighbours who live directly adjacent to his house have turned their backs on him. Ravi and Arti Persad blamed Government for the controversy surrounding the highway because of the lack of proper representation and consultation.

Saying they are not opposed to moving, the Persads said they were not willing to meet with Moodie. “Neighbours have conflict sometimes. We do not have dealings with him, so what is our situation? Do I have to depend on him? “It is a conflict of interest with him being involved in this matter. It is a case of himself to himself.

“The Government is going about it the wrong way and they are not listening to the people.” Moodie’s decision has also cost him his longtime friendship with 70-year-old Balliram Siewh. When the Sunday Guardian approached Siewh, he said, “I do not want to hear about Edward Moodie. I would die first before moving.

“We were friends; now we are enemies. He only seeing about himself and not representing what we the people want.” A similar view was expressed by Bridglal Ramcharan, 79, of Tulas Trace. Ramcharan, who lives with his brother Mahadeo and sister-in-law Radhica, said, “Tell me, at this age, where are we going to build a house? We might die before it finishes. Moodie fool all of us down here; he came here and telling us to fix up the house to get good money.

“But we are not taking him on. We do not intend to move anywhere. “This entire controversy is not going to end nice at all, because the people affected are being ignored.”

Charles: I am not involved in settlements
When the Sunday Guardian asked Nidco head Dr Carson Charles to shed some light on the matter, he distanced himself, saying he had no involvement in negotiations. Asked to comment on the $4.1 million settlement offered to Moodie, Charles said, “I cannot comment on what settlement he got. The evaluators dealt with that.”

Nidco consultant cashes in on $4m highway deal

On Temull, Charles only said he was facilitating the residents. “He is representing the people. We allow the residents to choose who they want and at the end, when the settlement is agreed, we pay the residents and the evaluator. Temull is one of the evaluators being used,” Charles said. He said Temull was allowed to hold consultations at the Nidco offices during negotiations.

Line minister Emmanuel George did not respond to text messages and telephone calls from the Sunday Guardian.

Postby DVSTT » December 2nd, 2012, 9:20 am

Postby sMASH » December 2nd, 2012, 9:41 am

^^ that so cool.

if it have one of u fly boys who could do a video of a fly of the gov't's route, and show the settlements and the environment that would be affected. we could get a better perception of the situation.

Postby rspann » December 2nd, 2012, 9:56 am

Neilsingh you are being disengenious with your analysis,you give the price of the land and the selling price but you say nothing about the filling of the land and the building of a house(2.3m),but that is how every one against the PP presents their facts,skewed,it also shows your reasoning powers.smash,your plan passes the section away from the main towns,what do you do after build more highways for connectivity?If you listen to chalkdusts "rowleys letter"you would see that its the same concept.Do every thing for the E-W corridior and keep south in a state of under development.Only Laventille and Sea lots ,morvant have poverty,and needs government intervention,but as they say" what's so special about debe and chaguanas?"The point highway has no objectors only the part which can benefit Penal,Debe,Siparia and Fyzabad.The studies for this route was not done by the PP government,and it was not done by some fly by night company,so any body who thinks they have better ideas should open up for business and advertise world wide.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » December 2nd, 2012, 10:20 am

rspann wrote:Neilsingh you are being disengenious with your analysis,you give the price of the land and the selling price but you say nothing about the filling of the land and the building of a house(2.3m),but that is how every one against the PP presents their facts,skewed,it also shows your reasoning powers.smash,your plan passes the section away from the main towns,what do you do after build more highways for connectivity?If you listen to chalkdusts "rowleys letter"you would see that its the same concept.Do every thing for the E-W corridior and keep south in a state of under development.Only Laventille and Sea lots ,morvant have poverty,and needs government intervention,but as they say" what's so special about debe and chaguanas?"The point highway has no objectors only the part which can benefit Penal,Debe,Siparia and Fyzabad.The studies for this route was not done by the PP government,and it was not done by some fly by night company,so any body who thinks they have better ideas should open up for business and advertise world wide.

The highway has some benefits but the boom is over, government should spend money that will generate returns and earn foreign exchange in the future. I am not arguing this was conceptualized by the PNM but when the PP took it over the cost increased by 3 billion dollars solely for the purpose of paying off residents in constituencies that just happen to be made up of a large percentage of government supports, friends and family. I don't think the rest of the population so stupid not to see what this highway really is.

Postby rspann » December 2nd, 2012, 10:41 am

I agree there would be thiefing,but I don't under stand why you make your point with skewed facts.This means that you are doing the same thing the HRRM is doing and that is what I have the problem with.Didn't they have to pay people for their houses even when the PNM sent it out for tender?You know that it was tendered under the PNM,don't you?Wouldn't the price go up as time passes with inflation ,design and specification changes,etc?And it was not $3b.

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 2nd, 2012, 10:47 am

TriP wrote:WDA..18 days ..and this man aint dead yet..

And as he protesting ..people purchased land for $175,000 (2005) to get $4.1 million (2012)

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2012-12- ... ghway-deal

And as she says.."I am in command as your PM"

NOTHING MUST STOP HIGHWAY.. :lol:

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/NOT ... 05891.html

This is what confuses me...you say ur house and land is valued $5M. My question is. Is there willing parties to pay $5m for that property when they could get better property elsewhere for the same amount??

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » December 2nd, 2012, 11:00 am

whoever has the best negotiation consultant go winout. govt funds up for grabs.

Postby rspann » December 2nd, 2012, 11:08 am

These comments from people who had no objections to $1b toruba stadium,$1b summit,$.5b palace,$.5B napa,$.5b sapa,Financial towers$b's,government campus plaza$b's,fast ferries$b's,OPVS $2b,worldGTL $3b or$12b depends on how you look at it,Etek $2b,we cross seven billion yet?But when the PNM was squandering our money in this boom and the one before the were no dissenting voices,and the same people are calling for the removal of the PP,to do what?If not the PP is the PNM so take yuh pick.What people should be protesting for is for good governance,proper procurement laws and serious jail for fraud and misconduct in public office,then any government in power WILL have to do the right thing.What we need is constitutional reform to achieve these goals.
Last edited by rspann on December 2nd, 2012, 11:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 2nd, 2012, 11:13 am

rspann wrote:These comments from people who had no objections to $1b toruba stadium,$1b summit,$.5b palace,$.5B napa,$.5b sapa,Financial towers$b's,government campus plaza$b's,fast ferries$b's,OPVS $2b,worldGTL $3b or$12b depends on how you look at it,Etek $2b,we cross seven billion yet?But when the PNM was squandering our money in this boom and the one before the were no dissenting voices,and the sme people are calling for the removal of the PP,to do what?If not the PP is the PNM so take yuh pick.

If u do a search you will see the comments about those

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 2nd, 2012, 11:14 am

Kublasingh on he own....money talks..!!

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » December 2nd, 2012, 11:15 am

guess people "bought" into the vision 2020. the only problem was poor implementation, and a rubbish implementation team.

Postby rspann » December 2nd, 2012, 11:15 am

If you commented negatively about those things then I apologise for the last parts of my comments,but still try to understand what I said in the first part,scn?Also check the editing I did on the last post.

Postby brams112 » December 2nd, 2012, 1:42 pm

Why dont people who commenting on prices buy land and build a home NOW to see how the value is calculated,because the kinds of boxes out there for the money the owners are calling,neil did you read further down the papers in the real estate section?would you pay your money for those houses that may not be as strong as the guy in question home.Anyway the proposals put forward were dealt with by the other guys,this is the best route for those who dont know south.Nice areial view dvstt.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » December 2nd, 2012, 1:57 pm

brams112 wrote:Why dont people who commenting on prices buy land and build a home NOW to see how the value is calculated,because the kinds of boxes out there for the money the owners are calling,neil did you read further down the papers in the real estate section?would you pay your money for those houses that may not be as strong as the guy in question home.Anyway the proposals put forward were dealt with by the other guys,this is the best route for those who dont know south.Nice areial view dvstt.

In most advertisements, you see the ASKing price for real estate, the SELLing price is much different. I also find it hard to see how much economic value a 7 billion dollar highway would add. How much foreign exchange is it going to bring in? In fact we paying OAS in US$ so it draining our foreign exchange.

Postby brams112 » December 2nd, 2012, 2:24 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:
brams112 wrote:Why dont people who commenting on prices buy land and build a home NOW to see how the value is calculated,because the kinds of boxes out there for the money the owners are calling,neil did you read further down the papers in the real estate section?would you pay your money for those houses that may not be as strong as the guy in question home.Anyway the proposals put forward were dealt with by the other guys,this is the best route for those who dont know south.Nice areial view dvstt.

In most advertisements, you see the ASKing price for real estate, the SELLing price is much different. I also find it hard to see how much economic value a 7 billion dollar highway would add. How much foreign exchange is it going to bring in? In fact we paying OAS in US$ so it draining our foreign exchange.

Where ur living mamoo,because it seems like you don't own ur own house.

Postby toyolink » December 2nd, 2012, 2:50 pm

What I do know;
-The commute from Point and P-O-S and many communities in between will be reduced and unproductive man hours saved.
-The viability of opening up the industrial potential of such places as La Brea would be improved.
-The ability to move citizens with critical care needs only available in North would be more viable.
-The economic life span of the highway would at least equal the butler/hochoy config.
-The prospects for business expansion into the deep south by domestic business interest would improve.
-The viability of residing in areas which appeared to be poorly served by easy access to North and Central will improve.
-The installation of infrastructure to stds. which are more closely inline with what prevails in the more developed cities and towns inT&T would experience a boost.
...Damn this issue moving into the realm of the absolutely ridiculous!

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » December 2nd, 2012, 3:02 pm

brams112 wrote:Where ur living mamoo,because it seems like you don't own ur own house.

I own real estate here and in the US. The point I was making is that no one would pay 4.1 million for that house in Penal unless it had some commercial potential. In fact I paid less for a 3 bdr condo in 900 Biscayne Bay in Miami in 2009. I really can't see how someone with over US$600k would buy a house in Penal over properties elsewhere.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » December 2nd, 2012, 3:04 pm

toyolink wrote:What I do know;
-The commute from Point and P-O-S and many communities in between will be reduced and unproductive man hours saved.
-The viability of opening up the industrial potential of such places as La Brea would be improved.
-The ability to move citizens with critical care needs only available in North would be more viable.
-The economic life span of the highway would at least equal the butler/hochoy config.
-The prospects for business expansion into the deep south by domestic business interest would improve.
-The viability of residing in areas which appeared to be poorly served by easy access to North and Central will improve.
-The installation of infrastructure to stds. which are more closely inline with what prevails in the more developed cities and towns inT&T would experience a boost.
...Damn this issue moving into the realm of the absolutely ridiculous!

All valid points but 1 methanol plant at a fraction of the cost of the highway is a better investment.

Postby maj. tom » December 2nd, 2012, 3:06 pm

^ and then the next 20 years with more than 200% increase in volume of traffic? what then?

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 2nd, 2012, 3:29 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:
brams112 wrote:Where ur living mamoo,because it seems like you don't own ur own house.

I own real estate here and in the US. The point I was making is that no one would pay 4.1 million for that house in Penal unless it had some commercial potential. In fact I paid less for a 3 bdr condo in 900 Biscayne Bay in Miami in 2009. I really can't see how someone with over US$600k would buy a house in Penal over properties elsewhere.

well stay your lil ass in miami and think everything is fine...

while the us real estate market fell drastically...trinidad's real estate never fell...ever....prices keep going up in trinidad for properties

Postby sMASH » December 2nd, 2012, 3:44 pm

maj. tom wrote:^ and then the next 20 years with more than 200% increase in volume of traffic? what then?

that is why i saying to not even go along the existent main road, but to do a separate route with room for expansion in the future

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » December 2nd, 2012, 4:37 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:well stay your lil ass in miami and think everything is fine...

while the us real estate market fell drastically...trinidad's real estate never fell...ever....prices keep going up in trinidad for properties

WOW, some real small minded people here...
You buy when the prices are low and not when they are high.... BTW, it is only the lower end of the Trinidad real estate that held up not the high end. Just talk to the banks and they will tell you how much high end developers are in default of their loans.

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 2nd, 2012, 5:15 pm

prices in san fernando keep going up...palmiste, gulf view, bel air...in fact penal and debe continue to go up and im talking about areas where the highway isnt affecting....

prices back in 2005 have doubled and tripled now..

just because you wouldn't purchase something in an area doesn't mean someone else won't....

Postby toyolink » December 2nd, 2012, 5:16 pm

The views of "neilsingh100" are noted with serious reservations.
My personal observation is that his validity on the basis of his flipant comparison of 1 methanol plant vs a major highway which expands the countries 'North-South' corridor speaks volumes.
He may wish to redeem himself my sharing his analysis in support of his pronouncement.
...A word to the wise --there are people here who are intimate with this specific topic!

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 2nd, 2012, 5:20 pm

construct a methanol plant and pull gas outta thin air to supply it.....at our constant consumption rate, the gas discovered at savonette will be consumed in less than 11mths.....

unless any more substantial discoveries, anything downstream would be shooting oneself in the foot.....

but looking at kublalsingh's past, attempt to build that now na....he would protest too

Postby brams112 » December 2nd, 2012, 5:21 pm

sMASH wrote:
maj. tom wrote:^ and then the next 20 years with more than 200% increase in volume of traffic? what then?

that is why i saying to not even go along the existent main road, but to do a separate route with room for expansion in the future

That is what they are trying to do boi,go another route,but connect everybody so they can just take a ramp and get to port of spain.

Postby brams112 » December 2nd, 2012, 5:28 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:

Right,,, now we are getting somewhere,your money has value for your investment,but the lil indian who worked his tail off so he can get comfortable in his home have to move away,yono you talking bull because i will not pay 600k's for a ply box when i could get something better here,gain an income form it without worring if a hard breeze bolw the house will crumble,anyway the value is what a valuator from nidco agrees with eh,betcha ur did't read that part 8-).