pioneer wrote:mitch wrote:"single-string" side? again u need to prove u know nothing about football.
pioneer, quick question:
How many Man. Utd. players were in the running for Player of the Year vs. the number of Barca players?
*jeopardy theme*
Who gives a sh1t?
When missi is locked down and his game crippled, does barca win?
*nuu nee nuu nuu, nuu nee nuu*
pioneer wrote:mitch wrote:"single-string" side? again u need to prove u know nothing about football.
pioneer, quick question:
How many Man. Utd. players were in the running for Player of the Year vs. the number of Barca players?
*jeopardy theme*
Who gives a sh1t?
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11945_6772340,00.html wrote:
Xavi facing 10 days out
Barca vice-captain likely to be fit to face Arsenal at Camp Nou
By Francisco Acedo Last updated: 22nd February 2011
Barcelona midfielder Xavi will be out for seven to 10 days after scans revealed minor muscle damage to his left leg.
The Spanish maestro has played in almost every game for the Catalan giants this season and has taken the captain's armband recently in the absence of the injured Carles Puyol.
He should be in line for a return to the starting line-up in time for the visit of Arsenal in the second leg of their UEFA Champons League last-16 tie on 8th March, which the Gunners lead 2-1.
"Xavi Hernandez has a slight calf strain in his left leg and is expected to be
out for around seven to 10 days," the club confirmed on their official website.
"The midfielder will miss La Liga matches against Real Mallorca and Valencia if the recuperation time is the maximum set by medical staff."
The 31-year-old joins Puyol and goalkeeper Victor Valdes on the club's injury list, with full-back Dani Alves also suspended for their match against Mallorca.
idlemind wrote:Wayyyy as if it couldnt get more worse...more bad news.http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11945_6772340,00.html wrote:
Xavi facing 10 days out
Barca vice-captain likely to be fit to face Arsenal at Camp Nou
By Francisco Acedo Last updated: 22nd February 2011
Barcelona midfielder Xavi will be out for seven to 10 days after scans revealed minor muscle damage to his left leg.
The Spanish maestro has played in almost every game for the Catalan giants this season and has taken the captain's armband recently in the absence of the injured Carles Puyol.
He should be in line for a return to the starting line-up in time for the visit of Arsenal in the second leg of their UEFA Champons League last-16 tie on 8th March, which the Gunners lead 2-1.
"Xavi Hernandez has a slight calf strain in his left leg and is expected to be
out for around seven to 10 days," the club confirmed on their official website.
"The midfielder will miss La Liga matches against Real Mallorca and Valencia if the recuperation time is the maximum set by medical staff."
The 31-year-old joins Puyol and goalkeeper Victor Valdes on the club's injury list, with full-back Dani Alves also suspended for their match against Mallorca.
RASC wrote:
Yeah but I still feel like we have enough depth and talent to hold off both mallorca and valencia. It's better now than later... let them get their rest. We need them 100% for the Arsenal game + the two other classicos.
We have enough depth bro.
http://www.timeslive.co.za/sport/soccer/article922164.ece/Puyol-to-lead-Barca-fightback-against-Arsenal wrote:
Puyol to lead Barca fightback against Arsenal
Feb 18, 2011 1:41 PM | By Duncan Shaw, Sapa-dpa
Barcelona’s key man in the March 8 Champions League showdown against Arsenal will not be Lionel Messi, Andres Iniesta or Xavi.
Instead, according to the Catalan media on Friday, it will be a 32-year-old defender with a dodgy left knee who has not played for three weeks now.
In 1099, during the siege of Valencia, the Christian leaders decided to put the dead body of legendary warrior ’El Cid’ — killed the day before in a skirmish with the Moors — on his famous white horse Babieca, in order to raise the morale of the troops.
Barca have a similar plan with Carles Puyol, in order to turn around Wednesday’s 2-1 defeat at Arsenal — even if the veteran captain is not a hundred percent fit.
Catalan radio station RAC-1 on Friday commented that “Puyol will force himself to be fit for the second leg, by sheer strength of character.”
Mundo Deportivo, for its part, claimed that Puyol will play in the March 8 showdown “save an accident or a spectacular relapse.”
The sports paper stated that “the presence of the captain has been a vital question,” especially given that Gerard Pique, Puyol’s usual partner in the centre of defence, is suspended for the clash.
Puyol suffered a twisted left knee, which has since developed into tendinitis, in the January 29 league defeat of Racing Santander.
Without him, the Barca defence failed to shut out Sporting Gijon - in the 1-1 draw that ended Barca’s record-breaking run of 16 straight league wins — and looked porous against Arsenal.
Mundo Deportivo pointed out that in Barca’s four defeats this season in all competitions — against Sevilla, Hercules, Betis and Arsenal — Puyol has been absent.
The principal problem here is that Barca completely rely on the Puyol-Pique partnership — which helped Spain to win the World Cup — without really having a ’Plan B’ for when either or both is absent.
In Gijon Pep Guardiola brought in Gabriel Milito, but the Argentine veteran looked slow and shaky after three months out injured.
Against Arsenal he moved Eric Abidal from left-back into the centre, but this meant bringing in at left-back Maxwell, who has rarely been as effective as Abidal down the left.
Guardiola has been looking for a younger replacement for Puyol but has, in the past two years, rejected Martin Caceres, Henrique and — most expensively — Dmytro Chygrinsiky, after casting his highly critical eye over them. This summer Guardiola will continue his search.
An online poll taken by Mundo Deportivo showed, on Friday, that 55 percent of readers believe him to be “irreplaceable.”
Rival daily Sport, meanwhile, commented on Friday that “Puyol is one of those players who gives character to a team. His winning personality is contagious for his team-mates, and (with him) at the back there is always order and decision...He was sorely missed in the Emirates Stadium.”
Puyol has become a legendary, immensely popular ’El Cid’ figure at Barca over the years, thanks to his never-say-die attitude, his indomitable spirit and his evident qualities of leadership.
Unlike the handsome, composed Pique, Puyol is not a very aesthetic defender and he usually finishes a game covered in mud - and sometimes blood also.
Like Messi, Iniesta and Xavi, Puyol — who hails from a small town in Lerida province — is a product of Barca’s famous youth academy. He made his debut in 1999 and for several years was Barca and Spain’s first-choice right back.
Coach Frank Rijkaard converted him into a sweeper after 2003, and from that key position Puyol has captained Barca to four Liga titles and two Champions Leagues.
Now his only concern is to get himself fit for the March 8 showdown.
Other fans can only buy tickets in person from the FC Barcelona ticket offices and FNAC and Carrefour stores as long as they provide an ID card or passport. For security reasons, tickets cannot be sold to people of English nationality.
"I don’t know, I can keep an orange up for maybe 60 touches and 140 with a tennis ball. It’s all about practice !”
Have you been a footballer since the cradle?
“Yes, I started when I was 3 - we are a family of footballers, my brother, my cousins …. I started and I just loved it”.
You could always talk football with your Dad couldn’t you?
“Yes, we always talked about the game, he loved football and always talked about it with me and with my brother too”.
pioneer, quick question:
*jeopardy theme*
Who gives a sh1t?
pioneer wrote:What was the problem there?...he was focused on the ball and the wigan man got in his way...that's pretty insignificant.
But is you keep callin up Rooney name, why most if not ALL your posts always lead to "so what would Rooney do..."
It seems you're in a constant State of Tote. You need to get that checked.
And as i keep saying, football is a TEAM game, not individual greed and fantasy. The best team wins, not the best player. So i don't see your point saying Rooney "only has 6 goals". Why not talk bout his versatile role on the TEAM? Does missi or villa ever drop back in defense to do anything?...drink water self?
You starting to sound real illiterate and fanatical.
pioneer wrote:Blaze?...1-0?
If thaz wha you consider ah "blaze" then allyuh real delusional.
What Inter did to allyuh, was simply epic. Explain de emoness that took place after nah? Valdez vs Jose?water sprinklers?
Ent when allyuh "blaze" we, we take it an gone...like true champions. No fight, no argument, no bottle peltin etc etc etc.
But fear not, typical barcaboysa emoness will show again when Arsenal show allyuh de exit
http://www.fcbarcelona.com/web/english/noticies/futbol/temporada10-11/02/26/n110226115983.html wrote:26.02.2011 23:18
Keita: “I try to do my best for the team”
www.fcbarcelona.cat
Seydou Keita was in the starting line up for the Mallorca game and he put in a typically quality performance to help achieve what he called” a very important” 0-3 win.
Photos: Miguel Ruiz-FCB.
Keita played the full 92 minutes in the win over Mallorca, taking over from the injured Xavi in midfield. At the end of the game , Keita commented: “this was a very important win and scoring three goals too! As well as the seven tackles and 92 successful passes from the 99 he attempted, he set up Messi’s opener with a clever lob over the defence.
Importance of the squad
Keita wasn’t looking to hog the headlines though and he insisted: “every time I play I try and do my best for the team … we are a team and tonight other players played and did well – we won and that’s what counts”.
Below are some of the other players’ post-match comments:
José Manuel Pinto
“I’m happy about the three points and it’s always good to keep a clean sheet”
“We can’t be as fluent as we want to be every day, but then we pulled ourselves together and it all went right for us”.
“The job of defending is done by all the team, not just the defence”.
“It’s good that we can show that even though we have many players ruled out, we can all show we are 100%”
Martín Montoya
“I am very happy to have made my debut with the first team and to have had this opportunity”.
“I was a bit nervous beforehand, but once you get on the pitch the nerves go and you calm down”.
“It was hard work in the first half, Mallorca were sitting back and leaving very little space, whilst in the second half we were able to use the ball better. Once we had scored the first, the others soon came along”.
David Villa
“I’m especially happy because it was an important win at a difficult ground. I’m pleased with the result and the goal”.
“[Speaking of his run of four games scoring] I’m happy that my luck is holding out”.
“The game against Valencia will be one of the hardest in the league, but it’ll be great for me to go back there after all the great times I had there”.
“[Speaking of his goal] it’s not easy to get a one on one with the keeper and Busquets great pass put me through on Aouate and I was lucky enough to score”.
Gerard Piqué
“It was hard to get going in the first half, but Leo’s goal calmed us down and Villa’s strike finished them off”.
“Whoever plays, we perform at the highest level”.
“We’ll go to Valencia with the same idea of playing with pressure up front, keeping the ball and sticking to our own ideas. We are ready for Wednesday”.
“We prefer having two games a week, so that we are better prepared and we don’t lose our focus”.
Andrés Iniesta
“Mallorca are always dangerous”.
“I’ve captained the team a few times, but it’s always special to wear the armband”.
“We found it hard to enter into the dynamic of the game, but after the goal we relaxed and dominated better”.
“If we want to keep the distance between us and Madrid, we have to win in Valencia”.
Does missi or villa ever drop back in defense to do anything?...drink water self?
mitch wrote:lol like i keep saying, this troll probably dont even watch football cos he obviously talks out of Rooney's ass
pioneer wrote:Small ting...but he more confused today it seems
As a FAN of football i doh care who winning, it's entertaining no doubt
unlike these emo fanboys who as clearly and recently scene in the CL cuz their team went out they chose to be a bunch of sourpusses
Now it lookin like de sourpussin continuing to the world cup...which is sad really
1puss