Re: Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby tr1ad » June 26th, 2017, 11:27 am

superstainless1250 wrote:
airuma wrote:Can someone please post the current labour rates for Petrotrin. Back in 2009, a labourer was earning as much as a welder in a private company (around $34/hr i think) and they were still juicing overtime. Workers in these 24hr run plants arrange to stay home when their shift starts on a holiday so their co-worker will benefit from the double time rate. Petrotrin is the most inefficient company in Trinidad and Tobago and even though the inefficiency may start at the head, it certainly will not stop there.

Take a look here to see how their labour rates measure up against other energy service companies
http://energynow.tt/blog/how-do-petrotr ... rgy-sector

Labourer working for $77 ah hour in Petrotrin 600 ah day 3000 ah week

Yes, $3k a week and they work one week every month or sometimes two months.
They have to tote heavy equipment in bush, dig hole, dig trench, carry material, cut bush, run from snake, jep etc etc. Sometimes in h2s areas. Aware yourself of the dangers of h2s.

Now compare that salary to what masons, carpenters, cupboard men, tile men and the likes and tell me if the laborer salary is anything to talk about.

Pretty sure you typing on a pc your mom bought you in an ac room somewhere. You hear salary and feel you entitled to that.

Everyone does assume big money without the true backstory or conditions

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » June 26th, 2017, 12:13 pm

tr1ad wrote:
airuma wrote:Can someone please post the current labour rates for Petrotrin. Back in 2009, a labourer was earning as much as a welder in a private company (around $34/hr i think) and they were still juicing overtime. Workers in these 24hr run plants arrange to stay home when their shift starts on a holiday so their co-worker will benefit from the double time rate. Petrotrin is the most inefficient company in Trinidad and Tobago and even though the inefficiency may start at the head, it certainly will not stop there.

Take a look here to see how their labour rates measure up against other energy service companies

They have to tote heavy equipment in bush, dig hole, dig trench, carry material, cut bush, run from snake, jep etc etc. Sometimes in h2s areas. Aware yourself of the dangers of h2s.

Now compare that salary to what masons, carpenters, cupboard men, tile men and the likes and tell me if the laborer salary is anything to talk about.

Pretty sure you typing on a pc your mom bought you in an ac room somewhere. You hear salary and feel you entitled to that.

Well said buddy

mbr

Postby mbr » June 26th, 2017, 12:21 pm

Everybody sees the money but no one sees the work that goes into earning it

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 26th, 2017, 12:49 pm

yeah that might be certain cases but there is plenty people who work there and do little to nothing.

InsanityReigns

Postby InsanityReigns » June 26th, 2017, 12:54 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:yeah that might be certain cases but there is plenty people who work there and do little to nothing.

Buh daz the whole of Trinidad yuh talking bout.

Postby nervewrecker » June 26th, 2017, 6:52 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:yeah that might be certain cases but there is plenty people who work there and do little to nothing.

Older ones from the older culture that got a job when they were scavenging for employees. That's back when salary was dog money.
Newer generation is a different kettle of fish and very intelligent. Most temporary staff in there have at least a bachelor's degree, there is one with a masters in petroleum engineering. 90% are very willing people

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 26th, 2017, 6:56 pm

Older ones from the older culture that got a job when they were scavenging for employees. That's back when salary was dog money.
Newer generation is a different kettle of fish and very intelligent. Most temporary staff in there have at least a bachelor's degree, there is one with a masters in petroleum engineering. 90% are very willing people

I agree the people with long service generally are underqualified but the newer generation that is going in is not only qualified on paper but some have real world experience to back it up

Postby nervewrecker » June 26th, 2017, 7:04 pm

trinidrift wrote:

I agree the people with long service generally are underqualified but the newer generation that is going in is not only qualified on paper but some have real world experience to back it up

Yup.
Is only a handful that does bring down the reputation if the place. Men liming by bar in work clothes on, some with company vehicle.
Remember seeing two by a bar some years back. Was telling myself watch them nah, what i wouldn't do for that job eh. And i would never disgrace the company like that. :(

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » June 26th, 2017, 7:16 pm

superstainless1250 wrote:Nervewrecker i working inside Petrotrin atm Forest Reserve so i am aware of the dangers an no im not in my mom pc rite now trust meh for this week gone the labourers had it tuff after the storm carrying ladder up hills an down hills to get the job done an im not the type to cry down ppl pay i think they deserved it

We apologize pal..you made it sound as though you were part of the papercut crew (see my earlier post)..choose your words better next time :lol:

tr1ad, congrats buddy. It's hard knowing there are people out there who are so bad minded that they'd wish for an energy company or any company to close down or send home employees and prevent a man from putting bread on the table, all in the name of 'I don't find they deserve that salary'. Congrats again, all the best.

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » June 26th, 2017, 7:21 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
superstainless1250 wrote:Nervewrecker i working inside Petrotrin atm Forest Reserve so i am aware of the dangers an no im not in my mom pc rite now trust meh for this week gone the labourers had it tuff after the storm carrying ladder up hills an down hills to get the job done an im not the type to cry down ppl pay i think they deserved it

We apologize pal..you made it sound as though you were part of the papercut crew (see my earlier post)..choose your words better next time

tr1ad, congrats buddy. It's hard knowing there are people out there who are so bad minded that they'd wish for an energy company or any company to close down or send home employees and prevent a man from putting bread on the table, all in the name of 'I don't find they deserve that salary'. Congrats again, all the best.

Bro i was a former Arcelormittal employee an my comrades an i use to work dam hard to get the job done only to know we where fired on March 11th 2016 i will never cry down nor will i be jealous of a man's earning i respect employees pay

Postby nervewrecker » June 26th, 2017, 8:43 pm

Joshie23 wrote:

We apologize pal..you made it sound as though you were part of the papercut crew (see my earlier post)..choose your words better next time

Bro i was a former Arcelormittal employee an my comrades an i use to work dam hard to get the job done only to know we where fired on March 11th 2016 i will never cry down nor will i be jealous of a man's earning i respect employees pay

You on tank farm?

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » June 26th, 2017, 8:46 pm

Noo Electrical department in Forest

Postby nervewrecker » June 26th, 2017, 8:49 pm

They hire new people 0.o

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » June 26th, 2017, 9:13 pm

nervewrecker wrote:They hire new people 0.o

Noo just there for a month o so

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 27th, 2017, 10:39 am

tr1ad wrote:

Well said buddy

yess yessss flicking tell them!!!
buh there are those out there will continue to talk their talk that they 'hear a mansay' or 'have a padna'

and about those older generations- Back in their time the only ambition you had to posses was the drive to get yourself out your house and sign up to be an apprentice and thats it, you inside :lol: :lol: :lol:

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 27th, 2017, 11:10 am

Monkey Man wrote:
tr1ad wrote:

Well said buddy

yess yessss flicking tell them!!!
buh there are those out there will continue to talk their talk that they 'hear a mansay' or 'have a padna'

and about those older generations- Back in their time the only ambition you had to posses was the drive to get yourself out your house and sign up to be an apprentice and thats it, you inside

True

gencon

Postby gencon » June 27th, 2017, 12:57 pm

i know a petrotrin pipe fitter, he makes an 3000 per week sometimes more.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » June 27th, 2017, 4:46 pm

Anyone got called for the apprenticeship program in petrotrin yet?
I did my interview last week and the hr person said that they would start calling people in soon since the apprenticeship program itself is going to begin in july.
So I'm just curious to see if anyone on here got through.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 27th, 2017, 5:17 pm

Nope. I still waiting to do the exam

InsanityReigns

Postby InsanityReigns » June 27th, 2017, 5:23 pm

instantfrugality wrote:i know a petrotrin pipe fitter, he makes an 3000 per week sometimes more.

Pipe fitters in petrotrin is hard work. men does get soak down with kerosene, crude and always have to be doing fresh air masks. My neighbor is a pipe fitter suffering with psoriasis on he hands because of some of them chemicals. So to me 3000 is too little when yuh suffering because of some occupational hazard and can't wuk again.

Postby nervewrecker » June 27th, 2017, 5:38 pm

Have a tuner who works with the pipe fitters, laborer.
All behind god back they does be. He says all over does be sore with wuck. Does get a lil off base allowance and work not steady. Does what he has to do to put food on the table for his daughter. If you all see how adorable she is you will understand how he could do it without fuss.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 27th, 2017, 6:38 pm

I respect anyone who is LEGALLY hustle everyday to put a meal in their belly.

Postby nervewrecker » June 27th, 2017, 7:24 pm

My dad worked on the rig many many moons ago as a general laborer. Worked shift.
When he moved to production full time I used to go to work with him at nights. Learned a lot about forest reserve and grand ravine area.
I know too well what it was like growing up with very little and a parent whom was rarely there.
I remember the coveralls dirty with crude. Dirty gloves, boots, dirty everything.

Forest reserve isnt what it used to be though. :(

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 27th, 2017, 7:28 pm

True. Now petrotrin police eh even letting you "take ah shortcut" through the area

car

Postby car » June 27th, 2017, 7:29 pm

trinidrift wrote:True. Now petrotrin police eh even letting you "take ah shortcut" through the area

Yep. You have to get a pass to exit the back FR gate.

Postby nervewrecker » June 27th, 2017, 8:35 pm

I meant in the day it was bright and full of life.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 27th, 2017, 8:38 pm

Yea men fishing hunting working

Postby tr1ad » June 27th, 2017, 8:48 pm

dan is when yuh on night shift (skinner rig 10) as a labourer in forest... and the mud shaker giving trouble.... boots on and in the shaker with yuh coveralls at 2am is pressure

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 27th, 2017, 8:49 pm

Dat is pressure

gencon

Postby gencon » June 27th, 2017, 9:33 pm

InsanityReigns wrote:
instantfrugality wrote:i know a petrotrin pipe fitter, he makes an 3000 per week sometimes more.

Pipe fitters in petrotrin is hard work. men does get soak down with kerosene, crude and always have to be doing fresh air masks. My neighbor is a pipe fitter suffering with psoriasis on he hands because of some of them chemicals. So to me 3000 is too little when yuh suffering because of some occupational hazard and can't wuk again.

i made a mistake , he makes 4000 to 8000 per week depending on how much overtime he put in, he said sometimes he turns down overtime to be with his family.