Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » April 10th, 2010, 10:20 pm

norstar2k wrote:Did a test on my office tank using a Tetra EasyStrip 5in1.

NO3 - 50 ppm
NO2 - 10 ppm
GH - 280 ppm
KH - 180 ppm
pH - 7.6

Comments?

fresh or salt

netsket

Postby netsket » April 10th, 2010, 10:39 pm

anyone using crush coral for their freshwater tank?

doh really see the difference of oyster compared to coral

:?

Postby foss » April 10th, 2010, 10:42 pm

netsket wrote:anyone using crush coral for their freshwater tank?

doh really see the difference of oyster compared to coral

the difference is clear, clear eyes :|

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 11th, 2010, 3:02 am

SHARIFF wrote:
norstar2k wrote:Did a test on my office tank using a Tetra EasyStrip 5in1.

NO3 - 50 ppm
NO2 - 10 ppm
GH - 280 ppm
KH - 180 ppm
pH - 7.6

Comments?

fresh or salt

Fresh

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 11th, 2010, 12:52 pm

any pet stores open on a sunday?
my hood bulbs just blew

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » April 11th, 2010, 1:01 pm

^go LED :mrgreen:

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 11th, 2010, 1:02 pm

pricey?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » April 11th, 2010, 1:28 pm

^depends on if you get a kit or if its a DIY job.
The initial cost would probably be more expensive than reg. bulbs, but i guess never having to change bulbs after would be the upside to it. Also you wont have as much heat over the tank....which may or may not be a good thing depending on what fish you're keeping i guess.

And well you might save a little on yuh light bill :lol: :lol:

haterforever

Postby haterforever » April 12th, 2010, 7:52 am

i'm new to the fish tank hobbyand looking to build my first fish tank. i have a custom-made tank, 26.5 x 12.5 x 12.5'. any recommendations as to where to get a cover or who to go by to build one. and what is an estimate of the cost?

Postby UML » April 12th, 2010, 8:02 am

haterforever wrote:i'm new to the fish tank hobbyand looking to build my first fish tank. i have a custom-made tank, 26.5 x 12.5 x 12.5'. any recommendations as to where to get a cover or who to go by to build one. and what is an estimate of the cost?

PM Colin David

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 12th, 2010, 2:53 pm

Who sells kits similar to the one below in Trinidad? NuImage tanks are nice but very expensive.

I have the Aqueon Deluxe 20 kit from Funky Pets. but I want a tank appx. 36x18x18.

The AD20 Kit Includes:
* Glass Aquarium with Black Trim (24 x 13 x 17)
* QuietFlowâ„¢ Power Filter 20
* Filter Cartridge
* Deluxe Fluorescent Hood
* Fluorescent Bulb
* Submersible Heater
* Aquarium Set-up and Care Guide
* Water Conditioner
* Digital Thermometer
* Premeium Fish Food
* Fish Net

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » April 12th, 2010, 5:52 pm

^you can check the store in grand bazaar.
Nu Image tanks are way overpriced...infact...almost everything inside there is...i try to avoid them. :|

Postby UML » April 12th, 2010, 11:10 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^you can check the store in grand bazaar.
Nu Image tanks are way overpriced...infact...almost everything inside there is...i try to avoid them. :|

fuh realllllllllll...i do too

BTW have a question for those with aquariums with the overflow box

How do you prevent ur floating fish food from going straight down into the sump?!!!

Do I have to change fish food to one that sinks?!!!

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 13th, 2010, 12:36 am

Thanks 2NR Smurf. You wouldn't have their name by chance?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 13th, 2010, 12:41 am

haterforever wrote:i'm new to the fish tank hobbyand looking to build my first fish tank. i have a custom-made tank, 26.5 x 12.5 x 12.5'. any recommendations as to where to get a cover or who to go by to build one. and what is an estimate of the cost?

I noticed Funky Pets in Trincity Mall has covers in varying sizes. You could check them. 640-8341.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » April 13th, 2010, 5:42 am

norstar2k wrote:

Thanks 2NR Smurf. You wouldn't have their name by chance?

South Beach Aquariums - 663-0836

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 13th, 2010, 9:01 am

^^^Thanks a lot 2NR Smurf!

Postby foss » April 13th, 2010, 9:27 am

foss wrote:does anyone happen to have an extra fish tank cover for a 48"x18''x18'' lying around collecting dust??

i have my tank setup a while now, but cuz i am not working i cannot afford a cover for my tank... if anyone can assist

please

:(

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 13th, 2010, 10:14 am

norstar2k wrote:Who sells kits similar to the one below in Trinidad? NuImage tanks are nice but very expensive.

I have the Aqueon Deluxe 20 kit from Funky Pets. but I want a tank appx. 36x18x18.

The AD20 Kit Includes:
* Glass Aquarium with Black Trim (24L x 13W x 17H)
* Filter Cartridge
* Fluorescent Bulb
* Submersible Heater
* Water Conditioner
* Digital Thermometer
* Premium Fish Food
* Fish Net

South Beach Aquariums has the following kits:

Aqueon Deluxe Aquarium Kit 29 - $1,6XX
30L x 13W x 19H

The AD29 Kit Includes:
* Size 29 Glass Aquarium
* Power Filter 20
* Large Filter Cartridge
* 24" Deluxe Fluorescent Hood
* Fluorescent Bulb
* 100 Watt Submersible Heater, Shatter- Resistant
* Accurate +/- 1º
* Set-Up and Care Guide
* Water Conditioner
* Premium Fish Food
* Fish Net
* Digital Thermometer

Aqueon Deluxe Aquarium Kit 55 - $2,6XX
48L x 13W x 21H

The AD55 Kit Includes:
* Size 55 Glass Aquarium
* Power Filter 55
* Large Filter Cartridge
* 24" Deluxe Fluorescent Hood (x2)
* Fluorescent Bulbs
* 100 Watt Submersible Heater, Shatter- Resistant
* Accurate +/- 1º
* Set-Up and Care Guide
* Water Conditioner
* Premium Fish Food
* Fish Net
* Digital Thermometer

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » April 13th, 2010, 10:30 pm

UML wrote:

How do you prevent ur floating fish food from going straight down into the sump?!!!

use a powerhead to divert d feed

haterforever

Postby haterforever » April 14th, 2010, 8:09 am

norstar2k wrote:Who sells kits similar to the one below in Trinidad? NuImage tanks are nice but very expensive.

The AD20 Kit Includes:
* Glass Aquarium with Black Trim (24 x 13 x 17)
* Filter Cartridge
* Fluorescent Bulb
* Submersible Heater
* Water Conditioner
* Digital Thermometer
* Premeium Fish Food
* Fish Net

what's the price of the ad20 in funky pets?

Postby UML » April 14th, 2010, 8:31 am

SHARIFF wrote:
UML wrote:

use a powerhead to divert d feed

I putting it right next to the overflow box...right?

that would not negatively affect the overflow process.....right?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 14th, 2010, 12:08 pm

haterforever wrote:what's the price of the ad20 in funky pets?

$1220. Nil stock in TCM.

chris600

Postby chris600 » April 14th, 2010, 12:28 pm

hey guys im looking for rubber pond liner (EPDM pond liner)
any one know where i might be able to find some??...checked a couple hardwares nun so far... :?
help appreciated

thetriniman

Postby thetriniman » April 14th, 2010, 12:52 pm

Chris600
check

Cowboys - san fernando
ft farfan
agri shop in aranguez
peakes
bhagwansinghs has pond liners but the pvc type
what size are you looking for

chris600

Postby chris600 » April 14th, 2010, 1:10 pm

thanks 'thetriniman' ..the pond will be 10feet X 5 feet max....bean shape and 4-5 feet deep .....where in sfdo is cowboys???

thetriniman

Postby thetriniman » April 14th, 2010, 1:32 pm

cowboys is behind gulf city kfc on the road by superpharm and fcb

chris600

Postby chris600 » April 14th, 2010, 1:37 pm

thetriniman wrote:cowboys is behind gulf city kfc on the road by superpharm and fcb

^thx alot sir.....i buried a half of water tank in my yard(pics sumwhr on d thread)...an d kois getting 2 big 4 it...need some more space,didnt wanna go concrete since the dirt in my yard does crack alot in the dry season...will post some pics of the build when i get started
thx again :wink:

link

Postby link » April 15th, 2010, 4:48 am

if u line hole with foundation plastic then cast, cracking because of soil movement in the dry season will be eliminated. Of course, pondliner is more cost effective :idea:
rgds

heavy rollers

Postby heavy rollers » April 15th, 2010, 9:22 pm

anyone know where i can get Hagen Fluval 5 series canister filters?
and anyone hav experience with them?

Last edited by heavy rollers on April 16th, 2010, 11:28 am, edited 2 times in total.