The Religion Discussion

Kasey

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby Kasey » November 20th, 2012, 6:17 pm

^^He will not underdstand. His mind closed, like one ah dem suicide bombers. He lives his life ONLY for the purpose of percieved reward in the afterlife. He says that everynoe else is wrong, just like everyone else says that it is he that is wrong. His mind cannot understand beyond that. He doesnt know that the real fact, is that he is wrong. He will NEVER understand, as that is how he was born (not too smart).

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 20th, 2012, 6:39 pm

AdamB wrote:
AdamB wrote:^^^
That is because humans cannot define what GOD is based on an IF or man's intellect.

SMASH understood that Christian creed is based on ignorance.

Most of mankind disbelieve.

Most of religious people worship the Creation.

Most of mankind don't KNOW GOD.

Most of mankind will be in the FIRE.

Best of luck with numbers, it will be crowded and hot down there.
very judgmental :|

Not judgmental, FACT.
the only fact here is that you are being judgmental

marlener

Postby marlener » November 20th, 2012, 6:48 pm

Crossdrilled,I don`t think that your statement of being in paradise and detachment is accepted by the average hindu,maybe a personal opinion/choice, I asked ten random hindus their opinion.

Postby MG Man » November 20th, 2012, 8:15 pm

marlener wrote:Crossdrilled,I don`t think that your statement of being in paradise and detachment is accepted by the average hindu,maybe a personal opinion/choice, I asked ten random hindus their opinion.

wow
remarkable statistics
You should work for MFO!

marlener

Postby marlener » November 20th, 2012, 8:51 pm

well check the ratio 10: what.As far as you know is it an accepted fact? You appear to be an educated,well informed guy.

Postby DFC » November 20th, 2012, 10:08 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
Why not be happy no matter what your circumstances? You willl be in a constantly blissful state. Detach from earthly wants and desires, nd free your mind. Detachment is not ignorance.

That's the CRUX of Hindu & Buddhist TPhilosophy.

All misery stems from desires, fulfilled and unfulfilled.
By practicing Detachment , you free yourself from misery, pain, attachment etc.

The goal of Detachment, is to realize Samadhi, and to be a Samadarsi-or one who finds everyone equal, who envisions the supreme Self in all beings and all beings in the Self.

The Bhagavad Gita explains the principle of equanimity thus: "Attachment and aversion by sense organs for respective objects are natural; let no one come under their sway; they are his foes…notions of heat and cold, of pain and pleasure have a beginning and an end, are impermanent in nature…bear them patiently…be contented with whatever comes without effort, remain unaffected by pairs of opposites".

marlener wrote:Crossdrilled,I don`t think that your statement of being in paradise and detachment is accepted by the average hindu,maybe a personal opinion/choice, I asked ten random hindus their opinion.

Marlener, as i've stated before, Detachment, and Bliss is the main goal of Hinduism / Buddhism.
Go out and ask some more educated Hindu's.

Postby MG Man » November 20th, 2012, 10:18 pm

noooooooooooo
Marlener haz le stats

marlener

Postby marlener » November 21st, 2012, 6:44 am

Still didn`t answer eh.I am not saying that it isn`t the crux or the goal,I am saying it isn`t the situation presently,the average hindu does not feel that they are in paradise.A couple pages back someone was saying that things will get sooo much better in the near future and science will do this and that,which I am not denying.In a state of bliss and in paradise this is not the situation.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 21st, 2012, 9:48 am

DFC wrote:The Bhagavad Gita explains the principle of equanimity thus: "…be contented with whatever comes without effort".

So persons must sit and scratch all day...and then BE CONTENTED!!

Make no effort and BE CONTENTED!!

These "principles" are designed to keep people DOWN. If you ACT and make PROGRESS, then you might want to break the barriers of that CASTE SYSTEM.

Postby MG Man » November 21st, 2012, 9:55 am

screw that sheit...........I still have a few more cars on my to-own list before I drop dead

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 21st, 2012, 9:58 am

crossdrilled wrote:
AdamB wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:
AdamB wrote: But if GOD is everything and everything is GOD, then are they already in Paradise?

Correct.

That's what I call BLISSFUL IGNORANCE!

Why not be happy no matter what your circumstances? You willl be in a constantly blissful state. Detach from earthly wants and desires, nd free your mind. Detachment is not ignorance.

Detachment is being oblivious to what is going on around you. It is not only ignorance, it is foolishness. Those of you talking about it, I AM CERTAIN, do not practise it!!

Why don't you detach from the internet and Trinituner? These are earthly desires that you can do without. So if you detach from them, then you will faster find that blissful state you crave. No, you will not, it is only HINDU PHILOSOPHY and because you were born hindu, you must agree with it, don't critique it and defend it. But you will critique everything else...

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 21st, 2012, 10:05 am

DFC wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:

That's the CRUX of Hindu & Buddhist TPhilosophy.

All misery stems from desires, fulfilled and unfulfilled.
By practicing Detachment , you free yourself from misery, pain, attachment etc.

The goal of Detachment, is to realize Samadhi, and to be a Samadarsi-or one who finds everyone equal, who envisions the supreme Self in all beings and all beings in the Self.

The Bhagavad Gita explains the principle of equanimity thus: "Attachment and aversion by sense organs for respective objects are natural; let no one come under their sway; they are his foes…notions of heat and cold, of pain and pleasure have a beginning and an end, are impermanent in nature…bear them patiently…be contented with whatever comes without effort, remain unaffected by pairs of opposites".

Marlener, as i've stated before, Detachment, and Bliss is the main goal of Hinduism / Buddhism.
Go out and ask some more educated Hindu's.

But like you know everything about Hinduism and you not hindu!! You know more about hinduism than the 10 hindus Marlener polled!!!

The reality is that the average hindu:

doesn't know about hindu philosophy,

doesn't know about and haven't read the hindu scriptures

just say they does fast before divali (but most don't)

just calls the pundit to do the puja (and done the story).

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 21st, 2012, 10:36 am

AdamB wrote:The reality is that the average hindu:

judgmental again

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 21st, 2012, 10:51 am

judgmental again

Then prove me wrong!!

Postby RBphoto » November 21st, 2012, 10:54 am

AdamB wrote:Detachment is being oblivious to what is going on around you. It is not only ignorance, it is foolishness. Those of you talking about it, I AM CERTAIN, do not practise it!! ..

Detachment does not mean lack of observation, lack of ambition or even lack of social interaction.

Detachment simply means not taking the goings on in the world about you personally. You have your sphere of influence in what you say, do and think. Outside of that, you can't tell if a bird will crap on you, get hit by a car, fall into a drain or fall in love (The former is less painful though). If you accept that the world is not fair, and the circumstances that you endure that are independant of your personal action are beyond your control, and you devote all your energy to what you can do whitin your spere of influence, what is there to be unhappy about? Live life to the fullest to the best of your abilities (Strive for excellence) and don't let any negative cause you grief. Why won't you be in heaven living like that?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 21st, 2012, 2:05 pm

AdamB wrote:

judgmental again

Then prove me wrong!!
There is that brilliant logic showing itself again.

You are the one making the claim, therefore the burden of proof is on you!
I don't need to prove you wrong, you need to prove that you are right.

The claim I made is that you are being judgmental. I therefore would be responsible for proving that you are, which is easily accomplished by reading your claims.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » November 22nd, 2012, 12:44 am

duane you trying to reason with a wall

Postby Chimera » November 22nd, 2012, 7:17 am

Postby DFC » November 22nd, 2012, 8:37 pm

In other news...

Mother 'beat son, 7, to death then set fire to his body' because he struggled to learn the Koran off by heart

Sara Ege, 32, is accused of beating her son Yaseen to death because he was struggling with his Islamic studies, then setting fire to his body
The boy's death was treated as an accident until a post-mortem examination revealed Yaseen died before the blaze broke out at the family home in Cardiff
Cardiff Crown Court was told Ege beat Yaseen with a stick and a hammer and locked him in a shed when he failed to recite Koran passages

A mother brutally beat her seven-year-old son to death with a stick then set his body on fire because he was struggling to commit passages from the Koran to memory, a court was told.
Sara Ege, 32, is alleged to have beaten Yaseen Ali 'like a dog' for failing to recite passages from the religious text, before burning his body at the family home in Cardiff to try and cover up what she had done.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... z2D08YC53y

British Islamist to issue fatwa against Malala Yousufzai

A new British-based Islamist group plans to meet in Islamabad to issue a religious decree against a Pakistani schoolgirl shot by the Taliban, accusing her of supporting “occupying” US forces.

The move against Malala Yousufzai, 15, is likely to provoke outrage. In the days following her shooting in October, she became an international icon and world leaders pledged to support her campaign for girls’ education.

“There will be a fatwa issued regarding Malala Yousufzai taking into account the full story of her injury including her public statements in support of the occupying U.S. army in the region and mocking of key symbols of Islam such as hijab and jihad,” said Abu Baraa, a senior member of Shariah4Pakistan.

http://www.aaj.tv/2012/11/british-islamist-to-issue-fatwa-against-malala-yousufzai/

:( :( :(

Poor Malala, will go to hell, and Sara Ege will go to Heaven.

d spike

Postby d spike » November 23rd, 2012, 3:54 am

AdamB wrote:
The Jews believe that they ONLY are the CHOSEN people who will go to heaven.

What absolute rubbish is this?????
Where do you get your information from??

Oh, yes, I forgot... the cheap, mimeographed sheets handed out by zealots who spend more time spreading hate than learning...

d spike

Postby d spike » November 23rd, 2012, 4:04 am

The Jews refer to themselves as the "Chosen" people... this has NOTHING to do with going to heaven.
(There was even a Jewish sect, the Sadducees, that didn't believe in "heaven".)
By being "Chosen", they were referring to being the group of people from whom the Messiah would spring.

(sigh)
Ignorance is a helluva thing.

I have been experiencing problems with my internet service, so my responses will not be as timely as I would like.

AdamB, regarding the concept of dance in worship, David danced before the Ark of the Covenant... try and find out where the phrase "Lord of the Dance" comes from... and next time, do your research before talking rot.

d spike

Postby d spike » November 23rd, 2012, 4:54 am

AdamB wrote:
d spike wrote:
AdamB wrote:DSpike,
Well he said he wasn't a hindu but making bold claims about what they can do with regard to worship.

And...?
I do not belong to quite a few religions of which I can speak with authority on.

Islam is certainly not one.

Don't assume this simply because I do not discuss it. In a public forum such as this, it makes no sense to discuss a religion as that serves no purpose except to polarize and be divisive.
On the other hand, your ignorance of most of the religions you speak of is quite clear. Perhaps YOU should heed your own advice and not speak of that which you do not know.

AdamB wrote:
d spike wrote: If there were proof for a religious belief then it would be a fact, and would not require faith to believe.

I was speaking of proof from the scriptures of the religion.
Are you saying that Christianity and those religions in which you have "authority" have NO PROOF FOR THEIR DOCTRINES / BELIEF SYSTEM FROM THEIR HOLY SCRIPTURES?

No, my little empty one. I'm saying that you do not understand the meaning of the word "proof".
Of course the basis for a religion is found in the scriptures they uphold. How silly can you get?

AdamB wrote:I don't expect anyone to take info on Islamic doctrine from you, so why should I take Hindu doctrine from a non-hindu. My standards are higher than others, for which I make no apology.

There is a lot in life that you in your little bubble will not expect.
It is a pity that you don't maintain your standard of education as high as you claim to maintain whatever other standards you were gabbing on about...

AdamB wrote:
AdamB wrote:Two statements are WRONG:
1. People (not only hindus) can worship GOD anyhow they want. Who says otherwise need to provide proof!

d spike wrote:He did not say ONLY Hindus can worship in such a fashion. Why do you impute that which is not there? All he said was what Hindus do - he never said no one else does.

I did not impute anything. Let me make myself clear, I AM SAYING THAT NO ONE CAN WORSHIP GOD ANYHOW THEY WANT, PROOF IS NECESSARY FOR WORSHIP.

Yes, you did impute that he was speaking exclusively about Hindus, when you wrote:
AdamB wrote:People (not only hindus) can worship...

If you really wish for clarity, then perhaps you should first learn how to use the language you attempt to wield in such an ungainly fashion.

AdamB wrote: Can you prove that anyone in the Bible worshipped GOD using singing and dancing?

You cannot be serious.
First of all, this shows that your knowledge of the Bible is limited to just knowing it exists.
The Psalms are songs of praise, meant to be used for that very purpose! (In case you are unaware - as you surely seem to be - the Psalms are an ENTIRE book in the Bible.)
The Bible speaks of characters (including the Israelites led by Moses, Mary, and the father of John the Baptist) singing canticles (an old word for songs) in praise of God.
Secondly, the sentence itself makes little sense... How can I prove that what was written more than two thousand years ago actually occurred? (For that is what is being asked... again, learn to use the language.)

AdamB wrote:Show me the word OMNIPRESENT in the Bible.

Good grief. Just because a word isn't in the Bible doesn't mean that it is wrong. Besides, it is a compound word made of an English root word and a Latin prefix. Why would you think that would be in a compilation of books, most of which were written before either language became common in the area the books originated?

AdamB wrote:Yuh putting words in my mouth? Did I say GOD was AFFECTED by filth?

Again, you implied it by what you were suggesting.

It is quite clear to those who view your posts, that you lack the ability to discuss religion publicly.
This is due to your intolerance of other religious beliefs - which causes a lack of respect, and ultimately, ignorance; and
your clumsy and ineffective grasp of language - which causes whatever you are saying to lack clarity.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » November 23rd, 2012, 7:48 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:duane you trying to reason with a wall

No, a wall would be more intelligent than AdamB. Dont give the wall a bad name.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 23rd, 2012, 11:56 am

d spike wrote:The Jews refer to themselves as the "Chosen" people... this has NOTHING to do with going to heaven.
(There was even a Jewish sect, the Sadducees, that didn't believe in "heaven".)
By being "Chosen", they were referring to being the group of people from whom the Messiah would spring.
There are many different interpretations:
The following section contains information from the Jewish Encyclopedia, originally published between 1901-1906, which is in the public domain.
According to the Rabbis, "Israel is of all nations the most willful or headstrong one, and the Torah was to give it the right scope and power of resistance, or else the world could not have withstood its fierceness."[2]

"The Lord offered the Law to all nations; but all refused to accept it except Israel."

(sigh)
Ignorance is a helluva thing.

I have been experiencing problems with my internet service, so my responses will not be as timely as I would like.

AdamB, regarding the concept of dance in worship, David danced before the Ark of the Covenant... try and find out where the phrase "Lord of the Dance" comes from... and next time, do your research before talking rot.

Do you dance naked / half-naked before the Lord as well? Well this might explain what occurs in churches these days!

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 23rd, 2012, 12:05 pm

Dspike,
You say GOD is OMNIPRESENT, I ask for proof, you post this:

Good grief. Just because a word isn't in the Bible doesn't mean that it is wrong. Besides, it is a compound word made of an English root word and a Latin prefix. Why would you think that would be in a compilation of books, most of which were written before either language became common in the area the books originated?

Well show me the equivalent of OMNIPRESENT in the Hebrew / Greek / Aramaic / Latin / English translation!!

Are you saying there is NO PROOF!!!???? (FOR SOMETHING THAT YOU FUNDAMENTALLY BELIEVE ABOUT GOD)

Kasey

Postby Kasey » November 23rd, 2012, 12:34 pm

^^where is ur proof again? Other than the napkin, and 'trusted' ole men in dresses?

Postby DFC » November 23rd, 2012, 8:46 pm

Story Time.

This is excerpted from a speech given by Swami Vivekananda to the Parliament of Religions.

The speech was entitled, "Why we Disagree"

Once upon a time, there lived a frog in a nice, deep well. It had lived there for a long time. It was born there and brought up there. This frog, every day fed on the worms and bacilli that lived in the water of the well, and became a fat frog with a lot of energy.

Well, one day another frog that lived in the sea came and fell into the well. Our well frog asked the sea frog, "Where are you from?"

"I am from the sea." Answered the sea frog.

"The sea!" exclaimed the well frog, "How big is that? Is it as big as my well?", and he took a leap from one side of the well to the other.

"My friend", said the sea frog, "how do you compare the sea with your little well?"

Then the well frog took another leap and asked, "Is your sea so big?"

The shocked sea frog exclaimed "What nonsense you speak, to compare the sea with your well!"

"Well, Well," said the well frog, "nothing can be bigger than my well; there can be nothing bigger than this; He then shouted, "this fellow is a liar, turn him out."

That is the problem with Religious Fundamentalists, they sit in their little well thinking that the whole world is their little well.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 23rd, 2012, 10:29 pm

^^^Since we rely of proofs / evidences, Islam may be the only religion not based on NANCY STORIES. Others, it may seem, gobble them up....

Kasey

Postby Kasey » November 23rd, 2012, 11:44 pm

yea, it based on the bible.

d spike

Postby d spike » November 24th, 2012, 12:42 am

AdamB wrote:Dspike,
You say GOD is OMNIPRESENT, I ask for proof, you post this:

Well show me the equivalent of OMNIPRESENT in the Hebrew / Greek / Aramaic / Latin / English translation!!

Are you saying there is NO PROOF!!!???? (FOR SOMETHING THAT YOU FUNDAMENTALLY BELIEVE ABOUT GOD)

Personally, I fail to see the point in posting scriptural basis for Christian beliefs.
If someone really wants to know the answer for some deeply personal query, is Trinituner is the place he should look?
It is NEVER relevant to quote scripture to support a religious belief of the faith that created those very scriptures, when one is taking part in a multi-religious discussion - specifically when the point being supported is creating conflict.
When one considers your views, AdamB, with regard to the belief that Judeo-Christian scriptures have been tampered with, how could my producing scriptural quotes be of value in a discussion with you?

Anyway, to avoid you spewing any more nonsense about a lack of "proof", here you are:
Jeremiah 23:24
I Kings 8:27
Ps 139:5
Ps 139:7-10
Jer 23:23-24
Matt 18:20
Matt 28:20

And to quote one of your preferred sources, Wikipedia:
To both mainstream Jewish and Christian religions, God is omnipresent; however, some heterodox branches, such as the Jehovah's Witnesses, reject omnipresence. However, the major difference between these monotheistic religions and other religious systems is that God is still transcendent to His creation and yet immanent in relating to creation. God is not immersed in the substance of creation, even though he is able to interact with it as he chooses. He cannot be excluded from any location or object in creation (Thomas C Oden "The Living God: Systematic Theology Vol 1 pg 67). God's presence is continuous throughout all of creation, though it may not be revealed in the same way at the same time to people everywhere. At times, he may be actively present in a situation, while he may not reveal that he is present in another circumstance in some other area. The Bible reveals that God can be both present to a person in a manifest manner (Psalm 46:1, Isaiah 57:15) as well as being present in every situation in all of creation at any given time (Psalm 33:13-14). Specifically, Oden states (pg. 68-69) that the Bible shows that God can be present in every aspect of human life:
• God is naturally present in every aspect of the natural order, in every level of causality, every fleeting moment and momentous event of natural history...(Psalm 8:3, Isaiah 40:12, Nahum 1:3)
• God is actively present in a different way in every event in history as provident guide of human affairs (Psalm 48:7)
• God is in a special way attentively present to those who call upon his name, intercede for others, who adore God, who petition, who pray earnestly for forgiveness (Gospel of Matthew 18:19, Book of Acts 17:27)
• God is judicially present in moral awareness, through conscience (Psalm 48:1-2, Epistle to the Romans 1:20)
• God is bodily present in the incarnation of his Son, Jesus Christ (Gospel of John 1:14, Colossians 2:9)
• God is mystically present in the Eucharist, and through the means of grace in the church, the body of Christ (Ephesians 2:12, John 6:56)
• God is sacredly present and becomes known in special places where God chooses to meet us, places that become set apart by the faithful remembering community (1 Corinthians 11:23-29) where it may said: "Truly the Lord is in this place" (Genesis 28:16, Matthew 18:20)"
In the Judeo-Christian religions, God is omnipresent in a way that he is able to interact with his creation however he chooses...
While contrary to normal physical intuitions, such omnipresence is logically possible by way of the classic geometric point or its equivalent, in that such a point is, by definition, within all of space without taking up any space.

The omnipresence of God is one of the most basic theological points regarding the attributes of God. If you believe that God is truly infinite and omnipotent, then limiting Him to a space, or a time, makes Him finite. Whereas infinity addresses the location of God's presence in terms of limitations, omnipresence addresses the location of God's presence in terms of extent.

If you cannot understand this most basic theological concept, then exactly what sort of finite creature are you praying to?