The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Sinz

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Sinz » October 20th, 2014, 2:56 pm

So.... about ordering from Google Store. Anyone ever did it?

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » October 20th, 2014, 10:52 pm

Sinz wrote:So.... about ordering from Google Store. Anyone ever did it?

Yeah. Need to use a VPN to access the store and you need an international credit card to order

Sinz

Postby Sinz » October 21st, 2014, 11:03 am

kerwinishere wrote:

Yeah. Need to use a VPN to access the store and you need an international credit card to order

So if I were to change the billing address to that of my skybox on my credit card, will that be enough? Also, any recommendations for a proven working VPN that I can use for free?

Postby stev » October 21st, 2014, 12:02 pm

Sinz wrote:
kerwinishere wrote:

So if I were to change the billing address to that of my skybox on my credit card, will that be enough? Also, any recommendations for a proven working VPN that I can use for free?

Initially you can use hotspot shield (free version) to access the play store via your web browser.

I am not sure if you will be able to purchase anything without setting up your Google wallet account (you can use your skybox address).....this is a bit of problem because google has to verify your identity before allowing u to use our wallet account to make purchases......right now i cant use mine cuz they want a US ID card and social sec. number from me :|

once u connect to google play (via VPN) activate Google music and any other services u want.....after that u wont need to use a VPN to access the US play store via browser.

Postby RASC » October 21st, 2014, 3:21 pm

NEXUS 6

NEXUS 9

Sinz

Postby Sinz » October 21st, 2014, 7:52 pm

stev wrote:Initially you can use hotspot shield (free version) to access the play store via your web browser.

I am not sure if you will be able to purchase anything without setting up your Google wallet account (you can use your skybox address).....this is a bit of problem because google has to verify your identity before allowing u to use our wallet account to make purchases......right now i cant use mine cuz they want a US ID card and social sec. number from me :|

once u connect to google play (via VPN) activate Google music and any other services u want.....after that u wont need to use a VPN to access the US play store via browser.

US ID card and social security??? Is that a problem unique to you, or is that something that they're asking everyone for now?

Postby Trini Hookah » October 21st, 2014, 8:22 pm

I feel this Nexus thing eh for u bai Sinz. Have some nice Blu in mobile.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 21st, 2014, 8:24 pm

Dai nuh for you bredda.

Postby RASC » October 21st, 2014, 8:43 pm

Nexus 6 & 9 hands on and all Yuh NEXUS fanboys ain't even a peep. Still talking about Nexus 4... Wham big phone scare y'all or what :lol:

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » October 21st, 2014, 8:53 pm

Peep.

Postby stev » October 21st, 2014, 9:49 pm

Sinz wrote:
stev wrote:Initially you can use hotspot shield (free version) to access the play store via your web browser.

US ID card and social security??? Is that a problem unique to you, or is that something that they're asking everyone for now?

not unique to me. a lot of people outside the US have the same problem. not sure if anyone here got past it.

Sinz

Postby Sinz » October 21st, 2014, 10:23 pm

Man bawl Blu phone yes. lmao!

Well if Google playin up, there's always eBay. Gettin it one way or the other. -__-

Postby nervewrecker » October 21st, 2014, 10:29 pm

But some of them blu phones Bess. Dead serious!

S_Pollock

Postby S_Pollock » October 21st, 2014, 10:32 pm

Yep d life pure xl is a powerhouse, decent camera too coming from a blu.

Sinz

Postby Sinz » October 21st, 2014, 10:59 pm

Is Nexus or nun

Postby RASC » October 21st, 2014, 11:25 pm

Loving my BLU 5.5S
Phone drop and break? No biggie $1200 back in the game brand new phone in the morning.

Willing to try the new line of Android One's outta India.

$105usd... Anyone was able to order one on this side of the globe?

Postby Trini Hookah » October 21st, 2014, 11:40 pm

I considering one of the new Lenovos

S_Pollock

Postby S_Pollock » October 21st, 2014, 11:47 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:I considering one of the new Lenovos

Which 1 d vibe z2 pro. ...

Postby M_2NR » October 22nd, 2014, 11:25 am

Padna of mine upgraded from a z1 to a z3. night and day yes. He getting an average of 6-7hrs SOT with mixed usage. Plus for a phone that is 152g it doesn't feel like it. It feels iPhone-esque. And the stereo speakers are not half as bad as what reviewers make it out to be.

Postby nervewrecker » October 22nd, 2014, 5:54 pm

Sinz wrote:Image

Is Nexus or nun

But its just a few steps behind the nexus. Id rate them a step behind the Samsung s3 which is not bad at all. I actually prefer it over the s3 truth be told.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » October 22nd, 2014, 7:43 pm

Anyone here attempted to change the screen on a 2013 Nexus 7?
Or can point me in the direction of someone to do it?
Thinking to attempt it on my own though.

Postby stev » October 22nd, 2014, 9:03 pm

PapaC wrote:Anyone here attempted to change the screen on a 2013 Nexus 7?
Or can point me in the direction of someone to do it?
Thinking to attempt it on my own though.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hAlNuGrGDuU

So I charged my phone to 100% and decided to really test Sony's power saving mode.

switched on stamina mode + extended battery mode and used my phone as normal.

used my phone mostly for reading comics, very little use of processor demanding apps aside from facebook :/

still cant believe I actually pulled this off after 22 hours (WIFI Only):

Screenshot_2014-10-22-20-57-52.png

max i normally get with normal - heavy usage is 24+ hours with 4.5 hours SoT

phone lagged like hell with the extended battery mode on though.

Stock 4.4.2 ROM + Kernel. - Used Xposed boot manager to disable some bloatware as well

Sinz

Postby Sinz » October 22nd, 2014, 11:26 pm

nervewrecker wrote:But its just a few steps behind the nexus. Id rate them a step behind the Samsung s3 which is not bad at all. I actually prefer it over the s3 truth be told.

Dan, what model u talkin about that's "a few steps behind the nexus" but "a step behing the s3"? Those phones are nowhere close in specs or performance. I highly doubt that even tho some of the specs of the high end models might be the same or similar to the N6, that the performance will be the same.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 23rd, 2014, 6:05 am

Just the processor and the screen spec is lacking i thinks

Postby RASC » October 23rd, 2014, 10:14 am

Sinz wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:But its just a few steps behind the nexus. Id rate them a step behind the Samsung s3 which is not bad at all. I actually prefer it over the s3 truth be told.

Dan, what model u talkin about that's "a few steps behind the nexus" but "a step behing the s3"? Those phones are nowhere close in specs or performance.

You really don't know what you're talking about...I suggest you just keep your thoughts to yourself right now.

Sinz

Postby Sinz » October 23rd, 2014, 10:24 am

RASC wrote:You really don't know what you're talking about...I suggest you just keep your thoughts to yourself right now.

LMAO!!! :lol: Well you proved my statement wrong with this astounding fact. I guess I stand corrected genius smh.

Postby RASC » October 23rd, 2014, 11:23 am

That's right. Keep quiet. Genius talking here...

Postby M_2NR » October 23rd, 2014, 11:47 am

sell that chit and buy a z3 hoss.

Postby stev » October 23rd, 2014, 12:01 pm

M_2NR wrote:stev
sell that chit and buy a z3 hoss.

boy i rel tempted to. Will decide once the official 4.4.4 releases within the next 2 weeks or so for the Z2.

although wanna buy a Nexus 9 in December so i might hold out on the Z3

speedist

Postby speedist » October 23rd, 2014, 12:18 pm

Sinz wrote:Image

Is Nexus or nun

But its just a few steps behind the nexus. Id rate them a step behind the Samsung s3 which is not bad at all. I actually prefer it over the s3 truth be told.

Hadda rate up the blu phones. Friend didn't want one. Got her a studio 5.0 ce. Now she can't shut up about it. It actually running faster than my s4. Stock android 4.4 > samsung bloatware. I doth begin to tote. Want to try flashing custom roms now. :oops:
Last edited by speedist on October 23rd, 2014, 12:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.