Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby ismithx » September 26th, 2014, 12:31 pm

^^ seconded. CM11 FTW

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » September 26th, 2014, 6:12 pm

So Android ppl thé LG g flex yes or no pros and cons cons from a local perspective. Thanks in advance

Postby Trini Hookah » September 26th, 2014, 7:10 pm

I'd choose a G2 over the flex.

Or a G3 if you could go the extra mile.

Postby Spitfir3 » September 26th, 2014, 7:58 pm

specs on both those phones are virtually identical
difference is the screen gflex-6"
g2-5.2"
and despite the gflex having the bigger screen the g2 screen is superior boasting a true hd display and much higher ppi

all that said with the gflex you're basically paying for design and to look crips

Postby stev » September 26th, 2014, 9:06 pm

moving from a stock android phone feels weird :/

just got the Z2 a few hours ago and already I'm thinking about putting a custom rom. :lol:

removed bloatware and using google now launcher.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 26th, 2014, 9:34 pm

Lol I know them feels bruh.

Bloatware is a PITA

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » September 27th, 2014, 6:30 am

stev wrote:moving from a stock android phone feels weird :/

just got the Z2 a few hours ago and already I'm thinking about putting a custom rom. :lol:

That's awesome stev! How do you find it works so far??

Postby stev » September 27th, 2014, 11:02 am

Mr.Bollywood wrote:

very nice! noticing subtle (faster) differences in speed compared to the N5 in terms of animation and browsing.

noticed it gets warm pretty fast though :/ not that bad. does your Z2 heat up quickly? probably its the amount of stuff i have running on it. i still didnt disable some of those heavy Sony services....that will explain the high RAM usage as well (1.7GB out of 3GB normally)

overall I'm loving it so far.....washed the phone twice for no reason at all. :lol:

Postby Ted_v2 » September 27th, 2014, 11:08 am

Price?

Postby stev » September 27th, 2014, 11:20 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Price?

i ended up paying $4000 for everything with warranty....was getting it for $3500 from someone else but no warranty + extras

-phone
-charging dock
-Charger
-USB OTG Cable
-Headphones

...out of box customization is awesome though....plus I'm still yet to go tru all the enhancements Sony included.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 27th, 2014, 7:27 pm

ek4ever wrote:Tuners ... have a factory unlocked HTC One but cannot get wifi tethering to work. Do you need to add this to your mobile plan? When wifi tethering fails I get a message to contact at&t. The phone shows AT&T when it starts up ... but it's factory unlocked not international unlocked. Is this the issue? If so is there a fix or workaround? I tried some wifi tethering apps but no luck....all other features work fine.

did you try just using a generic tethering app from playstore instead of att? sometimes the restrictions are just in the app.

Postby stev » September 27th, 2014, 8:32 pm

bluesclues wrote:
ek4ever wrote:Tuners ... have a factory unlocked HTC One but cannot get wifi tethering to work. Do you need to add this to your mobile plan? When wifi tethering fails I get a message to contact at&t. The phone shows AT&T when it starts up ... but it's factory unlocked not international unlocked. Is this the issue? If so is there a fix or workaround? I tried some wifi tethering apps but no luck....all other features work fine.

did you try just using a generic tethering app from playstore instead of att? sometimes the restrictions are just in the app.

@bluesclues - see highlighted area. lol

i remember this being a separate thread that was locked....the problem can be fixed by installing a custom ROM (i think). AT&T does not allow tethering for free i believe.

guys i'm feddup of clock widgets....whats a nice widget for my homescreen?

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » September 27th, 2014, 9:07 pm

Someone take my lg flex from me naa please lol the size is starting to piss me off

Postby S_2NR » September 27th, 2014, 9:25 pm

u didnt know it was that big tho :lol:
i just checked because i was never interested in it but wtf, thats a tablet yes

Postby Trini Hookah » September 27th, 2014, 9:34 pm

That's quite a price for an older phone though.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » September 27th, 2014, 9:55 pm

Yep n thats the thing the phone holding price. Cheapest in stores are 4500, and if u import it yur self its around 3800 sealed, its on par with newer devices tho.
http://m.gsmarena.com/lg_g_flex-5806.php

Postby ismithx » September 27th, 2014, 11:00 pm

stev wrote:
bluesclues wrote:

@bluesclues - see highlighted area. lol

i remember this being a separate thread that was locked....the problem can be fixed by installing a custom ROM (i think). AT&T does not allow tethering for free i believe.

guys i'm feddup of clock widgets....whats a nice widget for my homescreen?

if you want something highly customizable that cna make nice homescreens, try UCCW or Zooper Widget, they have communities that make some pretty nice designs that you can put on your phone. Else if you're looking for something basic and simple, try chronos

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » September 27th, 2014, 11:03 pm

stev wrote:
Mr.Bollywood wrote:

very nice! noticing subtle (faster) differences in speed compared to the N5 in terms of animation and browsing.

noticed it gets warm pretty fast though :/ not that bad. does your Z2 heat up quickly? probably its the amount of stuff i have running on it. i still didnt disable some of those heavy Sony services....that will explain the high RAM usage as well (1.7GB out of 3GB normally)

overall I'm loving it so far.....washed the phone twice for no reason at all. :lol:

Yea man, my Z2 heats up pretty quickly with serious intensive processing!

The day I was setting it up and downloading and multitasking everything, It got up to 42 degrees Celsius, without any influence from AC or anything, but apparently it's not an issue because Sony hasn't released anything saying is a defect, but that was the highest it ever got, it runs really smoothly, efficiently and fast now

The battery life has been calibrated, I get a solid day of use with heavy usage, not the same longgggggg battery life from the G2, but I'll get accustomed to the Z2's battery life

By chance stev did you receive the High quality, noise cancellation headphones that Sony provides with it?

Out of the box I realised like a week after that my headphones are just regular Sony ones. I was looking forward to hearing the quality In the premium headphones, but apparently that's not to be.

Postby nervewrecker » September 27th, 2014, 11:42 pm

Something eating battery life in my nexus 7.

I have a battery app that monitors the usage and it has had a steady decline over the last 24 hours. Almost 80% gone just so.

The app however does not let me know which apps are responsible for the drain. Can you guys recommend one for me?

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » September 27th, 2014, 11:51 pm

Most of those battery apps tend to do more damage than anything else, I'd say uninstall the app and install Greenify and use the stock battery monitor to see what's using most battery

Postby nervewrecker » September 28th, 2014, 12:02 am

What's odd is that the battery info shows that its the transparent weather clock.
That has been there almost as long as I have had this tab and never had battery issues. Its responsible for a whopping 49% of the drain.

Postby stev » September 28th, 2014, 12:20 am

Mr.Bollywood wrote:
By chance stev did you receive the High quality, noise cancellation headphones that Sony provides with it?

no, i got the normal headset. box contents are country / region specific from what i saw on XDA. some are packaged with a case, others with a smart band etc. i think we got the dock charger but no noise cancelling headphones.....I got an OTG cable as well (didnt expect that)

ismithx wrote:if you want something highly customizable that cna make nice homescreens, try UCCW or Zooper Widget, they have communities that make some pretty nice designs that you can put on your phone. Else if you're looking for something basic and simple, try chronos

Thanks!!!

been using UCCW for a looong time...uninstalled today because the new update is annoying (cant get rid of notification and widgets are distorted)

trying out zooper at the moment

nervewrecker wrote:What's odd is that the battery info shows that its the transparent weather clock.
That has been there almost as long as I have had this tab and never had battery issues. Its responsible for a whopping 49% of the drain.

happened to me with UCCW widget all of a sudden (few weeks ago)....turns out that there was a problem with the weather updating / syncing.

clearing cache / deleting app data didnt fix it. I had to uninstall + delete from "my apps" on google play. worked fine after I installed it again....probably a bug (never investigated after i got it working again).

also, you sure its not google services that draining it?

Postby nervewrecker » September 28th, 2014, 12:48 am

Google services take 14%, I can live with all that

Postby Spitfir3 » September 28th, 2014, 1:49 am

dam i wish i could get the z2 hell even the z1 but sadly my budget atm won't allow so i'll have to go for the poor man's z1 aka the xperia sp

cherish it stev, cherish it forever
yours sincerly,
sony fanboy

Postby Trini Hookah » September 28th, 2014, 6:45 am

That's still a really good phone bai

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » September 28th, 2014, 8:51 pm

The z1 is a bess phone. Spec wise not much has changed between the three zs

Postby nervewrecker » September 29th, 2014, 10:01 pm

This getting out of hand.

I used to charge this tab once a week

Postby Ted_v2 » September 29th, 2014, 10:54 pm

Ha. Mines need full charge everyday. I get roughly 9 hours out of it. Movies mostly with torrents so I'm still satisfied

Postby Trini Hookah » September 29th, 2014, 11:50 pm

My tab does go 2 weeks without charge. Only use it for document viewing etc.

Postby dougla_boy » September 30th, 2014, 8:55 am

mi nexus was bess on that....charge it once a week....and i used it for document viewing, a few movies while i inna red band and the occasional porn.....the tab 2 7" is real tata....wifi off and watching a movie and battery running down like whoa........i need a new tab yes