Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Yes
47%
No
53%

Total votes: 193

randolphinshan

Re: Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Postby randolphinshan » June 15th, 2019, 12:18 pm

zoom rader wrote:Meanwhile Chineses are still running immigration racket. Nearly all illegal chineses that enter here operate where the gangs fund their trip here and in turn they have to work to pay back what's owed.

In most cases they post back their passports to China so another set can enter, while they hop over to the US.

Racket after racket, Chinese are scum

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/cops-fre ... e628271449

Since Kamla and Manning sold out our sovereignty to China we are subservient to them. Chinese invested billions in this country and built Napa,Sapa and the Couva hospital you fools keep talking about.We do not own these places, China does.

Thank your hero Kams and Manning for that. They sold us out and China is now a major player in most of the Caribbean. So you cannot touch the Chinese with a Jhandi, better yet go do Arti for them because they own us. And go learn your Chinese ABC and stop posting nonsense on Tuner

Postby zoom rader » June 15th, 2019, 12:21 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Meanwhile Chineses are still running immigration racket. Nearly all illegal chineses that enter here operate where the gangs fund their trip here and in turn they have to work to pay back what's owed.

In most cases they post back their passports to China so another set can enter, while they hop over to the US.

Since Kamla and Manning sold out our sovereignty to China we are subservient to them. Chinese invested billions in this country and built Napa,Sapa and the Couva hospital you fools keep talking about.We do not own these places, China does.

Thank your hero Kams and Manning for that. They sold us out and China is now a major player in most of the Caribbean. So you cannot touch the Chinese with a Jhandi, better yet go do Arti for them because they own us. And go learn your Chinese ABC and stop posting nonsense on Tuner
Righttttt

Now kamala bring in Chinese when they were alrealy here from PNM leftovers.

Nice your PNM history on parr with your level of non intelligence

Investment Chinese are not the same as dutty Chinese restaurants, hoe houses and casinos owners

Eleitauto and rest of PNM numbskulls might agree with your misleading idiotic statement.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » June 15th, 2019, 12:53 pm

Hoping to see a espanol section on Tuner, or at least an espanol misc/classifieds.

Remember now, Spanish is the second most used language here. Not 'Jamaican' 'Guyanese' 'Vinci' or 'Grenadian'

I would have asked the same for Chinese, but remember they did not come here under the same circumstances, and many of them still have they links back home, while many of these people don't.

Also, ironic that the Guyanese woman quick to bawl how "dem Venezuelan rel violent" but like she forget bout this pedophile pest o wah?

http://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=434920

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/2013/08/04/deadly-obsession-with-a-trinidadian-girl/
Last edited by Blaze d Chalice on June 15th, 2019, 1:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Slartibartfast » June 15th, 2019, 1:11 pm

Wtf! On a separate note, why don't trinis like to say the actual names of people and places? Are they saying that the owner of buffet king took two people's passports and were forcing them to work for him? Because buffet king is the only chinese restaurant I know in Center Point Mall Chaguanas. Why are we treating Buffet King like it's lord Voldemort we talking about. Why not just say Buffet King?

... Buffet King

Postby MaxPower » June 15th, 2019, 1:25 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Also, ironic that the Guyanese woman quick to bawl how "dem Venezuelan rel violent" but like she forget bout this pedophile pest o wah?

http://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=434920

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/2013/08/04/deadly-obsession-with-a-trinidadian-girl/

Oh gosh dem Guyanese like some pest eh.

Sucks having the worst and irritating accent on the planet. Thought dem Penal khoolie accent was bad but wen a guyanese open they mouth is rel sour lemon face.

Postby zoom rader » June 15th, 2019, 1:58 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

Wtf! On a separate note, why don't trinis like to say the actual names of people and places? Are they saying that the owner of buffet king took two people's passports and were forcing them to work for him? Because buffet king is the only chinese restaurant I know in Center Point Mall Chaguanas. Why are we treating Buffet King like it's lord Voldemort we talking about. Why not just say Buffet King?

... Buffet King
Once a Chinese National owns money to another Chinese, they take your pass port and make you work it back for them.
They will even pawn you out to another Chinese bussines. Chinese will gamble other Chinese off to pay debts.

Chinese bussines pay to bring them here after some years working it off they then head to the US. In the meanwhile their passports are used else where to bring in others.

It's the same scam with the driving permits, where a group of them with share a permit. When they leave trini the petmit is passed on.

Postby pugboy » June 15th, 2019, 2:00 pm

Maybe because case ain't reach court yet and nobody want to be sued for libel

Slartibartfast wrote:

... Buffet King

Postby MaxPower » June 15th, 2019, 2:22 pm

I love the Chinese people and they have my support.

Cant blame them for playing the system....allyuh do the same.

But hey, just as the Venezuelans, its a jealous thing smh

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » June 15th, 2019, 2:25 pm

MaxPower wrote:I love the Chinese people and they have my support.

Jealous of what exactly? Having to uproot your life and be a second class citizen in Trinidad? Is only if you is some bess female things here will be nice, otherwise the majority suffering because of a few hoes (who have been here donkey years now).

Postby Slartibartfast » June 15th, 2019, 2:40 pm

pugboy wrote:Maybe because case ain't reach court yet and nobody want to be sued for libel

Slartibartfast wrote:

... Buffet King

How is that protecting them from libel? It's only libelous if it ia not true. And if it is libelous, we all already know they talking about Buffet King so how is not specifically mentioning their name giving them any added protection? Maybe somebody can explain how libel works to me becuase I'm wondering if my understanding of it is bad.

But even on tuner here people fraid to put names in their mouth as though the name have a obeah on it. Look at how people right here on tuner talk about "that used car dealer from central that was Ian Alleyne's friend but got killed" (talkin boit Sheron btw). Even when talking about straight facts people fraid to even say names. Why trinis fraidy fraidy so?

Postby RedVEVO » June 15th, 2019, 2:47 pm

l33t2 wrote:

Jealous of what exactly? Having to uproot your life and be a second class citizen in Trinidad? Is only if you is some bess female things here will be nice, otherwise the majority suffering because of a few hoes (who have been here donkey years now).

Second class citizen ?

They come to work .

They come to be progressive.

Like the Chinese, Indians, Syrians .

I should just say " The 1% ! "

Postby zoom rader » June 15th, 2019, 5:08 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
l33t2 wrote:

Second class citizen ?

They come to work .

Keep 1% out of this they are blood suckers, they only take and take and put nothing black in.

Postby Ben_spanna » June 15th, 2019, 8:40 pm

Have no fear zoom, I’m sure all those Chinese think the same disgusting eroding thoughts about you too.

Postby Redman » June 15th, 2019, 8:46 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
l33t2 wrote:

Second class citizen ?

They come to work .

Keep 1% out of this they are blood suckers, they only take and take and put nothing black in.

Freudian slip there Zoom

Postby zoom rader » June 15th, 2019, 8:52 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:

Have no fear zoom, I’m sure all those Chinese think the same disgusting eroding thoughts about you too.
https://youtu.be/y1g4MlkFZds

Postby K74T » June 15th, 2019, 9:18 pm

zoom rader have evostik triggered dey

Postby RedVEVO » June 16th, 2019, 1:23 am

RedVEVO wrote:
l33t2 wrote:

Second class citizen ?

They come to work .

Chinese,Indians, Syrians = 1 %

The other 99% is in Government .

Postby hydroep » June 16th, 2019, 1:34 am

After registration Venezuelans work, marry, shop
Gail Alexander

Gas­par­il­lo res­i­dent Verne and his Venezue­lan part­ner Jen­nifer will like­ly be head­ing for the al­tar since he said Jen­nifer was among the 400 who didn't suc­ceed in be­ing reg­is­tered last Fri­day.

"It might be the on­ly thing we can do since she's not well and even though she tried for reg­is­tra­tion she didn't make it and in any case, that's on­ly for a year," he told Guardian Me­dia yes­ter­day af­ter spend­ing a long Fri­day—up to 9 pm—with her at the South reg­is­tra­tion cen­tre.

Verne said Jen­nifer, 35, came to T&T legal­ly last Sep­tem­ber from Tu­cu­pi­ta. She reg­is­tered with the Unit­ed Na­tions as a refugee seek­ing asy­lum, but couldn't work. She de­cid­ed to ap­ply for the amnesty—fa­cil­i­tat­ing em­ploy­ment—when this was of­fered. "But last Fri­day at the South cen­tre, about 400 of them didn't get through since they had no forms. She was among them. Plen­ty peo­ple cried Fri­day when they shut the cen­tre and peo­ple told us the reg­is­tra­tion was over.

"She didn't go back since she has kid­ney is­sues and had an op­er­a­tion at the San Fer­nan­do Gen­er­al Hos­pi­tal to re­move kid­ney stones."

He said Jen­nifer has chil­dren in Tu­cu­pi­ta and they both send things back to her home­town for the chil­dren. "But she felt if she could work legal­ly she would have been able to send more things back to them. As it is now, since we're al­ready a com­mon-law man and wife, we ll prob­a­bly make it le­gal and she won't have to go through any more has­sle with lin­ing up, won­der­ing if she'll have a job af­ter a year or seek­ing refugee asy­lum."

Farm­ing, PriceS­mart shop­ping in Cen­tral

Ch­agua­nas Cham­ber pres­i­dent Vish­nu Char­ran and mem­bers con­firm an ap­prox­i­mate 25 per cent in­crease in vis­i­bil­i­ty of Venezue­lans in the area since reg­is­tra­tion be­gan and ex­pect more.

Char­ran said, "They're feel­ing safer now and peo­ple are job-seek­ing, fam­i­lies out shop­ping. They're main­ly seek­ing con­struc­tion and agri­cul­ture jobs and peo­ple are em­ploy­ing them from Cou­va to Cara­pichaima.

"One Cou­va busi­ness­man in a pep­per/pota­to farm em­ployed 15. Un­skilled Venezue­lan women have been seek­ing house­keep­ing jobs. Some lo­cals are of­fer­ing jobs out of com­pas­sion as well as due to lack of steady lo­cal labour for agri­cul­ture and con­struc­tion sec­tors.

"Cer­tain­ly oth­ers are wor­ried about safe­ty—and are cau­tious—af­ter see­ing re­ports of Venezue­lans and crime and one killing a woman. One per­son from a par­tic­u­lar Cen­tral vil­lage told me they're see­ing so many of them in their vil­lage, they're wor­ried."

Cham­ber mem­ber Bil­ly Ali said, "There's mixed sen­ti­ment. Some Cen­tral busi­ness peo­ple and res­i­dents are con­cerned about the Venes and crime. But their pres­ence has in­deed in­creased the labour pool, some busi­ness­men wish more of them can speak Eng­lish.

"They're al­ready con­tribut­ing eco­nom­i­cal­ly since we're see­ing them shop­ping in PriceS­mart, Busy Cor­ner, and Su­per­Pharm. They call lo­cal PH taxi when they need trans­port and some have opened small food busi­ness­es in En­deav­our, Long­denville, and Ch­agua­nas."

Pa­lo Seco 93 work­ing, some still in the bush

At least 28 out of the 93 Venezue­lans who were found in the Pa­lo Seco for­est a month ago are now reg­is­tered and work­ing, but there is still a group who are liv­ing off the grid in forest­ed ar­eas of the com­mu­ni­ty.

Res­i­dents of the area said last Wednes­day that those peo­ple have not sought to reg­is­ter, but are more fo­cused on work­ing where they can find em­ploy­ment and "buy­ing up bags of rice and flour" to send back to rel­a­tives in Venezuela.

Mem­bers of a Unit­ed Na­tions con­tin­gent which vis­it­ed some oth­er Venezue­lans in the area to­day, were ex­pect­ed to meet with the group in the for­est.

How­ev­er, some of those found in the for­est last month, who had been stay­ing at the Ir­win Park fa­cil­i­ty, sought reg­is­tra­tion and were ap­proved. Kim Quashie, as­sis­tant to Siparia cor­po­ra­tion chair­man Glen Ra­mad­har con­firmed this.

She said a fe­male Cunu­pia farmer em­ployed three and four are en­gaged in con­struc­tion work, both with room/board plus salary. One fe­male got a se­cu­ri­ty post with a $6,025 month­ly salary.

Three for­mer Venezue­lan sol­diers al­so got se­cu­ri­ty jobs, with one work­ing at Pen­ny­wise in La Ro­main. A for­mer col­lege pro­fes­sor is hop­ing to teach at any pri­vate school, but in the in­ter­im, he is work­ing on a farm, Quashie said.

An­oth­er got a job as a me­chan­ic in Pa­lo Seco. Quashie said oth­ers got con­struc­tion work and are be­ing paid be­tween $200-$250 a day. One man who is a bak­er got a job in Mara­bel­la. "Sev­er­al are go­ing for Sub­way in­ter­views in Pe­nal and we al­so have forms for them for KFC," she added.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/after-registration-6.2.864375.e601d7628f

Postby hydroep » June 16th, 2019, 1:43 am

Registered migrants say jobs hard to find
Kevon Felmine

While over 15,000 Venezue­lan mi­grants have been reg­is­tered to work in T&T for up to a year, those who have been here for months lament­ed that em­ploy­ment is hard to find.

It may be the Venezue­lan cul­ture to seek out help for their fel­low coun­try­men, but sev­er­al of those who have been here for months said they face stiff com­pe­ti­tion find­ing work. Mari­bel Moya, 36, said that af­ter pay­ing US$200 for the jour­ney from Tu­cu­pi­ta to Trinidad in search of em­ploy­ment back in May 8, she has found that jobs are hard to find.

The sin­gle moth­er of a 20-year-old daugh­ter said that be­cause of the num­ber of Venezue­lan mi­grants in T&T, there are on­ly so many em­ploy­ers that will hire them be­cause of the lan­guage bar­ri­er. "It is hard to find a job be­cause there are a lot of Venezue­lans here in Trinidad. It is com­pet­i­tive and very hard for us be­cause we have to help out our fam­i­lies back in Venezuela,” Moya said.

She was among sev­er­al mi­grants who spent the night out­side the Achie­vors Ban­quet Hall reg­is­tra­tion cen­tre in Dun­can Vil­lage, San Fer­nan­do. Po­lice said that im­mi­gra­tion per­son­nel fin­ished reg­is­ter­ing mi­grants at 4 am to­day. Mean­while, those who were left out on Fri­day evening will have to re­port to the Im­mi­gra­tion De­part­ment in San Fer­nan­do on Mon­day morn­ing.

Moya and Yelian­nis Med­i­na sat on chairs un­der a tent, tired and in need of wash­room fa­cil­i­ties. They brought with them a change of clothes as they did not have mon­ey to trav­el to their home in Ch­agua­nas, so they spent the last three nights sleep­ing out­side the reg­is­tra­tion cen­tre. At mid­night, they were giv­en the ap­proval to stay in T&T. Some­one was ex­pect­ed to pick them up at mid­night but did not and they did not have a phone to call. Since com­ing to Trinidad weeks ago, their fam­i­lies have not even heard from them, not know­ing whether they made it safe­ly across the dan­ger­ous Ser­pent’s Mouth.

"I feel hap­py be­cause I ac­tu­al­ly have my pa­pers. I can now look for work to main­tain my daugh­ter and fam­i­ly back in Venezuela. I need to work now be­cause my fam­i­ly over there are de­pend­ing on me to get work in or­der to main­tain them. My chil­dren go to school. As it is now, some­times Mon­day is school and Tues­day may not have be­cause of the sit­u­a­tion, but they are de­pend­ing on me. I am a sin­gle moth­er and want to work.”

It was not too long ago that Ed­ward Je­sus, 22, was study­ing at uni­ver­si­ty to be­come an en­gi­neer. The Tu­cu­pi­ta na­tive ar­rived in Trinidad two weeks ago and showed up for reg­is­tra­tion on Wednes­day. He and his friends got their ap­proval around 2 am and were wait­ing for a fel­low mi­grant, who got a job in Trinidad, to pick them up around 2 pm.
Je­sus’ par­ents re­mained in Venezuela while his sis­ter went to an­oth­er coun­try in search of work. Nei­ther he nor his friends found jobs. He said Venezue­lans have to com­pete with each oth­er for jobs. He said Trinidad was clos­er to Tu­cu­pi­ta as it took an es­ti­mat­ed eight hours to reach as op­posed to a day’s jour­ney to a South Amer­i­can coun­try.

While the Gov­ern­ment be­lieves the reg­is­tra­tion went smooth­ly, Ravi Bal­li­ram said his girl­friend ar­rived in the coun­try legal­ly this week and at­tempt­ed to reg­is­ter on­line. How­ev­er, he said that the on­line sys­tem was not work­ing prop­er­ly and by 11 am on Thurs­day, it had com­plete­ly shut down. De­spite hav­ing doc­u­ments, he is con­cerned about what hap­pens to those who were not al­lowed to reg­is­ter last night.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/registered-migrants-say-jobs-hard-to-find-6.2.864266.e238d2b200

screwbash

Postby screwbash » June 17th, 2019, 4:20 am

a trini man was robbed by 4 spanish men on jonny king road aranguez last week. wen d rest ah d 40000 cyah find wuk ah hope allyuh cud understand spanish wen dey say - robo tuh allyuh or understand a gun in yuh face, cause allyuh feel dem is human like we.

btw robo is spanish for robbery

Postby MaxPower » June 17th, 2019, 6:41 am

screwbash wrote:a trini man was robbed by 4 trini men on jonny king road aranguez last week. wen d rest ah d 40000 cyah find wuk ah hope allyuh cud understand spanish wen dey say - robo tuh allyuh or understand a gun in yuh face, cause allyuh feel dem is human like we.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » June 17th, 2019, 9:32 am

screwbash wrote:a trini man was robbed by 4 trini men on jonny king road aranguez last week. wen d rest ah d 40000 cyah find wuk ah hope allyuh cud understand spanish wen dey say - robo tuh allyuh or understand a gun in yuh face, cause allyuh feel dem is human like we.

And risk deportation? Their incentive to be a law abiding citizen is far greater than the average Trini eh.

Postby zoom rader » June 17th, 2019, 9:52 am

l33t2 wrote:

And risk deportation? Their incentive to be a law abiding citizen is far greater than the average Trini eh.
You will get a few PNM type people among the venes who will commit crimes. As soon as they are caught is to make them do some jail time and deport them. Not only to them but to all other Immigrants.

Postby redmanjp » June 17th, 2019, 10:29 am

l33t2 wrote:

it already have a couple venes get hold by ttps and a vene kill another vene d other day- and not to mention the vene gang that TTPS themself have information about that operating here in T&T

Postby hydroep » June 17th, 2019, 10:29 am

V’ZUELAN HINDU MARRIAGES
Richardson Dhalai

THE SANATAN Dharma Maha Sabha is concerned about Venezuelan migrants entering the country with Hindu marriage licences issued by a pundit in central Trinidad.

Pundit Lutchmidath Persad Maharaj, in a telephone interview yesterday, said there was an investigation of Venezuelans coming in from Cedros, presenting Hindu marriage licences.

These licences, he added, were being issued by a pundit from central Trinidad.

Maharaj, who is also the first vice-president of the Inter-Religious Organisation, said the Immigration Division has been contacted.

According to Maharaj, almost 100 people have produced marriage licences with that pundit’s registration.

He said this took place over an extended period of time and not during the recently concluded two-week registration period.

“There was an investigation going on because it meant the licence had to be shipped out of the country for them to be presenting it when they came in at the port in Cedros.” “It is a legitimate concern for the Maha Sabha,” he told Newsday.

He said marriage licences are only issued after a particular set of religious rituals were performed, such as pre martial counselling and the balancing of astrologies or the planetary influences.

“We would hope that the pundits’ practice the correct thing. Once you hold a Hindu marriage licence, the process of registering the marriage could only take place after the ritual is completed.”

“For every single marriage performed, and registered, both the husband and wife are supposed to be Sanatanist Hindu.

“It means for that marriage to be able to be recognised, you must have some type of ritual taking place whereby both the husband and wife engaged in a process of worship.”

He said a Hindu wedding was very “dynamic’ as it also required an input by members of the extended family and lasts for a period of three days.

“This is where the Maha Sabha has some serious concerns about those Venezuelans coming into the country with Hindu marriage certificates.”

However, he was unable to say if the Venezuelans entering TT with Hindu marriage licences were male or female.

Maharaj said the Maha Sabha has provided humanitarian assistance to Venezuelans in TT by providing meals to those who spent hours and days waiting to be registered over the last two weeks.

The registration process officially came to an end on Friday, and up to Saturday morning there were some still being processed.

“We believe in the humanitarian aspect and, in particular, the amount of children who have been suffering out there especially waiting in line for days,” he said, adding that some of the Maha Sabha’s temples had outreach programmes to assist Venezuelans. He said citizens had to understand that Venezuelans would not just leave their homes and families to come to TT knowing the challenges we face, but they had no choice. He said the situation should serve as a wake-up call for the authorities, since, he said, drugs and guns can easily enter TT the same way there has been an influx of foreigners landing on our shores.

“We need more stringent laws and regulations, because if a country cannot regulate people coming in such large numbers, could you just imagine things like guns, drugs, ammunition?”

“I think it is awake up call for those in charge, and not just the Government, but those who are to secure and protect our borders.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/06/17/vzuelan-hindu-marriages/

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » June 17th, 2019, 10:31 am

Vene criminals are different to most of these refugees. They have always been here and yes they'll probably recruit some of the new Venezuelans, but most of these migrants i met are normal folk not looking for trouble.

Postby hydroep » June 17th, 2019, 10:33 am

Close borders now to Venezuelan invasion

THE EDITOR: I am not saying to be inhumane to the plight of Venezuela, Yemen, Zambia or Afghanistan. But TT is not a dumping ground for starving refugees. We would never be a great or sustainable nation if we have a careless humanitarian approach without any restrictions, and are flooded by an unregulated invasion that has no lid or criteria whatsoever. The Rowley regime is wrong.

On November 7, 2018, National Security Stuart Young announced that “the Cabinet had taken a decision to restore 14 coast guard interceptor vessels back into service in the shortest possible time” to protect our coastlines. Five months later, he announced two vessels were sent to Tobago. What about the other 12? A nation without border protection has lost its sovereignty.

Today, Venezuela has daily press advertisements promoting the TT amnesty. My friends from many landing sites have confirmed that this week smugglers’ vessels have been arriving three-four times more than before. Landing sites where normally two or three vessels were entering our borders now have ten-15 vessels entering every night, each with 20 to 25 refugees.

We are registering ever increasing numbers of Venezuelans at the expense of our long-suffering citizens. We are being invaded while Cabinet welcomes them. Is this wise leadership or a gross national betrayal?

Who is going to employ our young when Venezuelans are willing to work for next to nothing to survive? Where will our vulnerable 20,000 school-leavers find jobs each year? There are more Venezuelans in TT today than there are Vincentians, Grenadians, Nigerians, Guyanese, Syrians and Chinese put together. Venezuelans now form the largest minority.

Fast food outlets are advertising for employees in Spanish. TT nationals would not work for the minimum wage because it is insufficient to survive in this economy. Businesses must be accommodating, innovative and productive to afford to employ our own people. These are our own children. What is the Rowley regime saying? That we should orphan our children and adopt others?

As business people we have a calling to corporate social responsibility and a higher moral duty to our country and our people. We must not remain silent but instead we are being encouraged to betray TT nationals and just say “we’ll employ Venezuelans because our people are lazy.” This discriminatory rubbish must stop now.

We must make TT strong first.

Open borders are wrong. Cabinet is failing us by knowingly doing nothing to protect our sovereignty.

Our healthcare system and public services cannot accommodate tens, possibly hundreds, of thousands of additional people. Remember, not all are registering; the Immigration Division has never been able to control illegal immigration and, inevitably, the Venezuelan invasion will snowball.

We have a duty to our people first. We must demand our borders are closed now.

The open-border Rowley Cabinet has led us down a path that will take generations to repair.

GARY ABOUD, St James

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/06/17/close-borders-now-to-venezuelan-invasion/

Postby Redman » June 17th, 2019, 11:00 am

Our borders cant be sealed....without interfering with cocaine trafficking.

Ergo our borders remain open.

VII

Postby VII » June 17th, 2019, 11:16 am

hydroep wrote:
V’ZUELAN HINDU MARRIAGES
Richardson Dhalai

THE SANATAN Dharma Maha Sabha is concerned about Venezuelan migrants entering the country with Hindu marriage licences issued by a pundit in central Trinidad.

Pundit Lutchmidath Persad Maharaj, in a telephone interview yesterday, said there was an investigation of Venezuelans coming in from Cedros, presenting Hindu marriage licences.

These licences, he added, were being issued by a pundit from central Trinidad.

Maharaj, who is also the first vice-president of the Inter-Religious Organisation, said the Immigration Division has been contacted.

According to Maharaj, almost 100 people have produced marriage licences with that pundit’s registration.

He said this took place over an extended period of time and not during the recently concluded two-week registration period.

“There was an investigation going on because it meant the licence had to be shipped out of the country for them to be presenting it when they came in at the port in Cedros.” “It is a legitimate concern for the Maha Sabha,” he told Newsday.

He said marriage licences are only issued after a particular set of religious rituals were performed, such as pre martial counselling and the balancing of astrologies or the planetary influences.

“We would hope that the pundits’ practice the correct thing. Once you hold a Hindu marriage licence, the process of registering the marriage could only take place after the ritual is completed.”

“For every single marriage performed, and registered, both the husband and wife are supposed to be Sanatanist Hindu.

“It means for that marriage to be able to be recognised, you must have some type of ritual taking place whereby both the husband and wife engaged in a process of worship.”

He said a Hindu wedding was very “dynamic’ as it also required an input by members of the extended family and lasts for a period of three days.

“This is where the Maha Sabha has some serious concerns about those Venezuelans coming into the country with Hindu marriage certificates.”

However, he was unable to say if the Venezuelans entering TT with Hindu marriage licences were male or female.

Maharaj said the Maha Sabha has provided humanitarian assistance to Venezuelans in TT by providing meals to those who spent hours and days waiting to be registered over the last two weeks.

The registration process officially came to an end on Friday, and up to Saturday morning there were some still being processed.

“We believe in the humanitarian aspect and, in particular, the amount of children who have been suffering out there especially waiting in line for days,” he said, adding that some of the Maha Sabha’s temples had outreach programmes to assist Venezuelans. He said citizens had to understand that Venezuelans would not just leave their homes and families to come to TT knowing the challenges we face, but they had no choice. He said the situation should serve as a wake-up call for the authorities, since, he said, drugs and guns can easily enter TT the same way there has been an influx of foreigners landing on our shores.

“We need more stringent laws and regulations, because if a country cannot regulate people coming in such large numbers, could you just imagine things like guns, drugs, ammunition?”

“I think it is awake up call for those in charge, and not just the Government, but those who are to secure and protect our borders.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/06/17/vzuelan-hindu-marriages/

Maria Alehandra Florencia Vásquez Singh .

DTAC

Postby DTAC » June 17th, 2019, 11:20 am

New Venuezuela Flag.jpg
New TT Flag.jpg

Oh gad oi!