Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby RedVEVO » May 12th, 2017, 9:29 pm

PNM Tuner again ? Are you people daily paid ? Wait, wait a CEPEP Union Rep ?

Who de ass reading all that you just copy and paste ?

The forum discussion is "Property Tax" not Lawyers .

Again,

Axe the Tax

gundeleroy2k

Postby gundeleroy2k » May 12th, 2017, 10:39 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^

PNM Tuner again ? Are you people daily paid ? Wait, wait a CEPEP Union Rep ?

Who de ass reading all that you just copy and paste ?

The forum discussion is "Property Tax" not Lawyers .

Again,

Axe the Tax

Lol

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 12th, 2017, 10:57 pm

RedVEVO wrote:Happy Friday Grenadian ! A Grenadian with a new PNM card !

Everybody knows you need "Heavy T" to buy a Ford Ranger 2.2 and Ford Ranger 3.2

So you could not afford it ? Bank did not approve loan ? It is Friday drink some rum !

Oh and yes I am a poor hard working young Tiger. I see you highlighted the word "poor."
No shame to being poor . It humbles a person. Makes you work hard.

But I know one thing. Yes, I will continue with my agenda :)

The Property Tax is unfair.

The form the Gov't is asking you to sign is illegal.

Talk to your MP !

Axe the Tax .

You know that a 2.2 ranger needs a heavy but you can't read and comprehend simple written text? Priorities yes!

There is no shame in being poor but continuing to do so and reveling it in like you do is disgusting. Choosing to stay in poverty not only affects you but all those around you. Its downright irresponsible. If you not generating wealth then you an the people that think like you are the ones dragging this country down.
Poor people work hard ... The rich and the future rich work smart.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 12th, 2017, 10:59 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
rspann wrote:Anand Ramlogan is carrying the Gov't to court over the property tax, also a group of lawyers is doing the same thing in south. The south group has Avery Sinanan and Jagdeo Singh among them. They have given the gov't until the 18th to respond.

F***ing best news I hear today. These are the top attorneys - Our next Gov't !

Join us in Court "spanner man" !

Even if you wearing the rubber slippers and short pants :roll:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby RedVEVO » May 13th, 2017, 4:04 am

To All Tuners :

Property Tax Issues :

1. The Constitutional claim:

"the Government was simply motivated to collect as much money as it could by collecting property taxes as opposed to collecting the taxes according to law " { Guardian 13/5/2107}

2. The Legal Process claim:

"the courts review the implementation process of the controversial tax " { Guardian 13/5/2107}

"under the 2009 act, the deadline for the filing of any VRF (valuation return form) was April 1, 2010 .. "

The Property Tax is unfair and Illegal.

The VRF the Gov't is asking you to sign is illegal.

Talk to your MP !

Axe the Tax .

Postby RedVEVO » May 13th, 2017, 10:16 pm

To all Tuners

Read the following, and try best to understand :

" .... Ramlogan said it is clear that a step had been taken to send the notice, which is subject to the supervisory jurisdiction of the High Court, “with the court able to quash the decision and declare it unlawful.”

In addition, he said because the Summary Offences Act establishes a limitation period of six months from the time the complaint was made, “it is not now possible to prosecute anyone who fails to make a return” by May 22.

In any event, he said with April 1, 2010 having come and gone, the only power the commissioner has is under Section 6(2) is to call upon the owner to file a return, failing which they may be liable to conviction under this section.

Ramlogan said “the Minister cannot simply bypass parliament and impose a new deadline without amending Section 6.” This, he said, “is a most serious violation of the most basic principles of constitutional law and has left our client with the indelible impression of arrogant dictatorship ... " { Guardian 13/5/2107 }

The Property Tax is unfair and Illegal.

The VRF the Gov't is asking you to sign is illegal.

Talk to your MP !

Axe the Tax .

Postby matr1x » May 14th, 2017, 9:03 am

I want to know how much land the drug kingpin aboud had.

Also, will anyone riot when their land is seized at the end of the 5 years?

Postby RedVEVO » May 14th, 2017, 2:44 pm

Why you want to know ?

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 14th, 2017, 2:52 pm

18447493_1081116635366647_4793385049328235500_n.jpg

:D :D :D :D

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 14th, 2017, 7:35 pm

matr1x wrote:I want to know how much land the drug kingpin aboud had.

Also, will anyone riot when their land is seized at the end of the 5 years?

Which Aboud you speaking about?

Postby matr1x » May 14th, 2017, 9:27 pm

The old man who pushing up daises.

Postby RedVEVO » May 15th, 2017, 3:16 pm

... " Earlier today, Valencia local government councillor Simone Gill advised residents that the demolitions conducted in a joint effort by members of the defence force and the police service, were done on the instruction of the Commisioner of State Lands.

Gill said "unoccupied structures" that were located on forest reserve were demolished. "
{ Guardian 15/5/2017}

Again Gov't wants to know where squatters are located.
Not for tax as in "property tax" but for eviction.

The Property Tax is unfair.

The form the Gov't is asking you to sign is illegal.

Talk to your MP !

Axe the Tax .

Postby The_Honourable » May 15th, 2017, 4:32 pm

Squatters? Illegal? Kick dey ass out.

Hope the commissioner don't back down.

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 15th, 2017, 4:35 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Squatters? Illegal? Kick dey ass out.

Hope the commissioner don't back down.

Exactly why i have to work so hard to pay for land over..500k and these fool just go and squat on government land for free...what is good for one must be good for all.....

Postby RedVEVO » May 15th, 2017, 4:46 pm

Land distribution in TT is unfair.

Why kick them out ? These are poor, and they technically own it .
Do they bother you ?

You rather see homeless families on the streets ?

And if people have $500K for Land . Well you OK.
You are not poor and destitute .

AstonMartV

Postby AstonMartV » May 15th, 2017, 4:54 pm

Do they bother you ?

Please don't reproduce

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 15th, 2017, 4:55 pm

Why kick them out ?
Do they bother you ?

Why would u take something that does not belong to you....same way everyone works hard to purchase their properties...what are these ppl excuse...what....are they lazy and didnt seek interest in their own future....they are not bothering me but they are stealing...its a crime....and this is what most of them voted for a change...so the ppl are sowing wat they reap....i dont support any political parties...and this is what the ppl of Trinidad want to put a man who dont have any common sense in power....kams didnt do a good job either but the country was in a 100% better state when she was in power...ppl had jobs and she believe in giving back to the ppl....but not this clown....so most of them who got put out is their own who put them out...i wonder if they still red and ready....its sad the government should of just work out a payment plan for these ppl so they cud of pay as they live on it but this is what u get when u have a circus running the country....

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 15th, 2017, 4:57 pm

AstonMartV wrote:

Do they bother you ?

Please don't reproduce

NO U DONT REPRODUCE CAUSE THEY WILL BE JUST LIKE THESE PPL BANDITS...someone should come an squat in your property let's see how you will like it....

Postby RedVEVO » May 15th, 2017, 4:58 pm

You mean like in no agriculture or no produce ?

Why you care ?

You shopping in high style at Massy or PriceSmart ?

Postby RedVEVO » May 15th, 2017, 5:02 pm

Government Land belongs to everybody.
That is why I use the work "technically own it "

If we had fair Gov't land distribution then you will not have squatters.

And if you own "private land" and you have squatters - well you really a bay rum alcoholic or smoking
Styro containers to allow that to happen.
Last edited by RedVEVO on May 15th, 2017, 5:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby eliteauto » May 15th, 2017, 5:08 pm

walk in a Police Station, pick up a law book and walk out, if they stop you tell them you "technically own it" see what happens, let us know

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 15th, 2017, 5:08 pm

Well the government doesnt think that...they have a plan to oppressed poor ppl and that what they are doing....instead of open the children hospital d open d bryan lara stadium...instead of buying hospital beds they bought golf carts....instead of cutting their own salaries they cut jobs and increase their's...no government will never have the ppls bess interest...government =organise crime....if you didnt know...and I'm not surpise the government did this to those ppl...but as i said this is what the ppl voted for....

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 15th, 2017, 5:11 pm

eliteauto wrote:

walk in a Police Station, pick up a law book and walk out, if they stop you tell them you "technically own it" see what happens, let us know

Postby RedVEVO » May 15th, 2017, 5:13 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Squatters in TT more smart than anybody .

Police Stations do not have "law book" they have squatters.

There are glorified HDC housing for free or dormitories for TTPS.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 15th, 2017, 5:26 pm

sinister_14 wrote:

Well the government doesnt think that...they have a plan to oppressed poor ppl and that what they are doing....instead of open the children hospital d open d bryan lara stadium...instead of buying hospital beds they bought golf carts....instead of cutting their own salaries they cut jobs and increase their's...no government will never have the ppls bess interest...government =organise crime....if you didnt know...and I'm not surpise the government did this to those ppl...but as i said this is what the ppl voted for....

Which poor in this country oppressed? Free education up to a tertiary level, dirt cheap electricity and water, food card, Cepep wok, super easy to tax evade at a low level, easy to squat and take government land without any issues.

Rich and middle class have it hard. When man want to buy a new car with a 3.0 V6 and government keep sending MVT up, premium gas real expensive, People hadda start paying for tertiary education while the poor man get ah free pass, If yuh poor and squatting what property tax you hadda pay?

Famous words : Mo money Mo problems!

Postby RedVEVO » May 15th, 2017, 5:36 pm

You know you do NOT have to pay "property tax" on your cardboard box home ?
Last edited by RedVEVO on May 15th, 2017, 5:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hydroep » May 15th, 2017, 5:36 pm

sinister_14 wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

When it comes to land ownership the law doesn't view squatting as outright theft. Ever hear that possession is 9/10 of the law? Well squatters make use of something called "adverse possession" which in its simplest form gives a trespasser the right to own land provided that he/she can prove unchallenged use of it for a specified period of time (I think it's 18 years in Trinidad and Tobago).

And it's not just the squatters eh. Some "upstanding", "well to do", "hardworking", "educated", "tax paying" citizens does be involved in this chupidness as well. Anyone who constructs a fence thereby enclosing someone else's property as their own is trying to make use of this provision in the law.

In this case, the law is really an ass.

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 15th, 2017, 5:37 pm

drchaos wrote:
sinister_14 wrote:

Which poor in this country oppressed? Free education up to a tertiary level, dirt cheap electricity and water, food card, Cepep wok, super easy to tax evade at a low level, easy to squat and take government land without any issues.

Rich and middle class have it hard. When man want to buy a new car with a 3.0 V6 and government keep sending MVT up, premium gas real expensive, People hadda start paying for tertiary education while the poor man get ah free pass, If yuh poor and squatting what property tax you hadda pay?

Famous words : Mo money Mo problems!

You are right in so many ways...i take back that statement...and i will stand corrected this government only want to oppressed the middle class in this country...

Postby RedVEVO » May 15th, 2017, 5:42 pm

You learning quick now Grenadian .

Middle class going towards low income class.

You destroy the middle class .. well is crime and havoc and mayhem.

If you notice the crime people are targeting the middle class because
they are the vulnerable ones.

And the rich who have left TT long long time getting richer e.g. TSTT/ Massy deal.

The Property Tax is aimed at the middle class. And low income class to a certain extent .

Axe the Tax

Postby The_Honourable » May 15th, 2017, 6:07 pm

Do they bother you ?

You trying to rationalize a criminal act. They technically own nothing. Until they have a certificate of comfort or acquired a deed through adverse possession (squatters rights), KICK DEY ASS OUT.

If squatters move on your private land with lights, water and directv, you would be singing a different tune.

The families are not going to die. You never hear a child dead because the commissioner kick the family out state lands. It have many trinidadians who were homeless, got a job, paid rent, acquired a piece of land LEGALLY and built a simple house. Yes it is not easy, but it takes perseverance.