Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

Swisha

Re: Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

Postby Swisha » November 17th, 2012, 9:30 am

lots of complaints on Digicel's fb page recently though...

Postby sharkman121 » November 17th, 2012, 9:41 am

complaints about what?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 17th, 2012, 9:45 am

dropped calls/phones losing service basically

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 17th, 2012, 9:50 am

wonder if they really paying their bills? my service has been up to par

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 17th, 2012, 9:54 am

My digi working relatively normal. One or two dropped calls now and then mainly if I'm on the highway but nothing to complain about

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 17th, 2012, 9:59 am

with the speeds Digicel customers getting with 4G, i seriously contemplating switching too.

but i dunno nah, somehow i jus feel more comfortable with bmobile :|

Postby sharkman121 » November 17th, 2012, 10:02 am

well ive been with bmobile all my life and generally comfortable, but the time comes when you really hadda evaluate the service you getting in comparison to the "other" network.

src1983

Postby src1983 » November 17th, 2012, 10:05 am

Never had a problem with Digicel service....

Even works great in Galeota

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » November 17th, 2012, 10:12 am

Works well all the time for me.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » November 17th, 2012, 10:13 am

You see what I like about digicel is that they don't back down and live competition, they aren't perfect but certainly... Anything tstt brings, they try to match it. I like that.

Postby rfari » November 17th, 2012, 10:38 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:You see what I like about digicel is that they don't back down and live competition, they aren't perfect but certainly... Anything tstt brings, they try to match it. I like that.

This. Honestly i dont expect much of a response from the competition.

Postby nervewrecker » November 17th, 2012, 10:50 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Nerve bb9300

Havent heard anything with black berry phones, mostly android and apple.

*shrugs shoulders*

No problems with digi here either, looking at the data plans for the tablets too, damn thats cheap!
I looking at the costs of data plans, I feel it better to have one that buy a phone card yes, much more benefits.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 17th, 2012, 10:54 am

yeah but that $129 5GB data plan is exactly that. data only, meant for tablets and laptops. dont think u will be able to get voice with one of those plans

Postby nervewrecker » November 17th, 2012, 11:09 am

With everyone on facebook, skype and all these other thingies, you can contact most people via that and talk via it too (unless is someone who like to call and talk for half day). I think most tab's capable of having a voice convo with someone (I think, donno if I missed something).

I meant the data plans for the phones though, looked at apps that let you talk for free via them, saw one named viber, looks promising.

Postby M_2NR » November 17th, 2012, 1:46 pm

Digicel issues?! Lmao. If they're in a service area where it constantly switches from 3/4G to EDGE, there might be slight issues depending on the phone, etc. I think they sorted out that though in general but I used to get that when they just launched. Since they sorted it out in my area, even voice quality is superb also (yea I on crap with that one, Digicel always had superior quality) :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 17th, 2012, 2:08 pm

M_2NR, i sent an email to d address u gave me same day and still waiting for a response :|

does Digicel even have CSRs via telephone? i've only been getting automated menus...

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » November 17th, 2012, 2:11 pm

yes they have live people....you just have to dig for it. choose an option to change your account or something and you'll get on to one.

Postby M_2NR » November 17th, 2012, 2:26 pm

Swisha wrote:M_2NR, i sent an email to d address u gave me same day and still waiting for a response :|

does Digicel even have CSRs via telephone? i've only been getting automated menus...

you tried their facebook page?

Postby rfari » November 17th, 2012, 2:29 pm

Swisha wrote:M_2NR, i sent an email to d address u gave me same day and still waiting for a response :|

Dial 100 then 4,6,0. Direct to customer care with listening to promos

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 17th, 2012, 2:35 pm

M_2NR wrote:

you tried their facebook page?

nah, just got thru to a CSR on the phone though.

was looking at the smart plan for $299+vat but that's only 2GB data (double data is only for one month)
would have preferred more data and less mins and sms tbh.

something like bmobile's plan for $275+vat with 5GB data.

still envying allyuh faux-G speeds though :oops:

Postby Stephon. » November 17th, 2012, 10:27 pm

Swisha wrote:with the speeds Digicel customers getting with 4G, i seriously contemplating switching too.

This so much. I seeing this thread and it sad to see what we getting compared to digicel but I honestly can't see myself going to digicel, I just can't bring myself to trusting them for some reason :/

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » November 17th, 2012, 10:36 pm

I got 20GB on my next Digicel sim

Postby rfari » November 17th, 2012, 10:37 pm

Stephon. wrote:
Swisha wrote:with the speeds Digicel customers getting with 4G, i seriously contemplating switching too.

This so much. I seeing this thread and it sad to see what we getting compared to digicel but I honestly can't see myself going to digicel, I just can't bring myself to trusting them for some reason :/

Ollur does still pay to access vmail?

Postby Stephon. » November 18th, 2012, 1:59 am

I won't know. The only people affected by small things like that are pre paid customers and I don't know what a phone card looks like lol

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » November 18th, 2012, 6:50 am

Swisha wrote:dropped calls/phones losing service basically

If the phone losing service it could be because it switching from 2 G to 3G happens to me alot but when I'm in doors I use 2 G outdoors 3G enable .

achillies

Postby achillies » November 18th, 2012, 9:36 am

Swisha wrote:lots of complaints on Digicel's fb page recently though...

Swisha, I can confirm the signal dropping issue, I thought it was my problem since I was running custom firmware, but I went back to completely stock firmware and was still experiencing the issue, the signal bar would just disappear and be replaced with a "circle with a line through it" like a no parking sign, then after a few seconds, signal would come back

src1983

Postby src1983 » November 18th, 2012, 10:10 am

Hi

How do u check how much data u used???

Postby M_2NR » November 18th, 2012, 11:18 am

Wait yea, I used to get that signal dropping a lot when they were testing. I get it off and on sometimes. Last time it happened was the day the electricity went because of NGC. I guess that's when we are jumping from tower to tower. I also got that when I was abroad to.

To check its *120*4# src

src1983

Postby src1983 » November 18th, 2012, 11:22 am

Cool thanks

Postby M_2NR » November 18th, 2012, 11:27 pm

intelMAX wrote::shock:

oh. Guys. Those prices. The 1GB for $86 etc. subject to these terms:

Enjoy lightning-fast internet on your tablet or laptop with Digicel 4G Broadband! Our 4G broadband service is designed to provide instant and easy access to the internet while on the go. With a Digicel 4G dongle, MIFI device or Tablet, and a 4G plan, you have access to wireless broadband wherever you go within our 4G coverage area. Choose either the 1 GB plan for TT86 or the 5 GB plan for only TT129. Plans are both prepaid and postpaid and valid for 30 days. Prices are Vat exclusive. Broadband plans above are specifically for Dongles, Mifi Modems and Tablets. Upon activation of plans, SIM will no longer have access to Voice and SMS services. Overage charges of 5c per MB apply when you exceed your data allowance. To activate a prepaid 4G Broadband plan visit our web selfcare portal at www.digiceltt.com/4G/selfcare or for postpaid visit a Digicel store.