Re: Questionnaire On Corruption in T&T

Postby Soul Collector » March 15th, 2020, 11:13 pm

Done. Good luck.

matix

Postby matix » March 15th, 2020, 11:56 pm

Done, will like some verbal discussions.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 16th, 2020, 5:13 am

best survey deh OP, I welcome verbal discussions....when I finish with you, your head will explode...and I have the facts to back it out

Postby Dizzy28 » March 16th, 2020, 9:21 am

Done!!

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 16th, 2020, 10:09 am

done

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » March 16th, 2020, 10:35 am

Done.

Postby MG Man » March 16th, 2020, 10:51 am

done..and I took it (mostly) seriously

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 16th, 2020, 11:02 am

Completed

Sundar

Postby Sundar » March 16th, 2020, 1:10 pm

Completed.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 18th, 2020, 10:14 am

Hey everyone, thanks for all the responses! I think I'm up to about 120 responses so far. I will most likely be interviewing Dr. Luis Guio Suarez today or tomorrow so make sure to fill out the questionnaire if you haven't already and if you have the time.

Dr. Guio is from Colombia where he published his PhD thesis which was titled" How to Combat Corruption: Social and Judicial Aspects" and he is an expert on fighting corruption

Below are some talking points I hope to get to during the podcast. If you guys have anything you want asked, let me know below and I will bring it up.

Based on his thesis
1) How do you define corruption
2) The 4 types of corruption
3) The 17 factors of corruption and what is needed for it to thrive
4) The purpose of taxes
5) Taxes - who should be paying and how much should be paid
6) a. What should taxes be used for. What shouldn't it be used for (scientific research, exploration, sports teams, preservation of history and culture, museums)
b. What should citizens expect in return for the taxes they pay
c. What social programs should be included (healthcare, pension, education)
7) How should all of this be decided and who should be the person decided how to charge and spend taxes
8) What are the ideal systems that need to be set up to keep corruption at bay

Talking points I want his opinion based on, that weren't in his thesis summary
1) How should a nation's natural resources be managed and how should benefits be shared among the population
2) What can a country's population do if they suspect corruption but have little to no support from the judicial branch
3) How much of a correlation is there with public distrust and corruption (i.e. how valid is public perception and popular opinion)
4) What fiscal responsibilities should governments have? Wouldn't it be good for countries to use taxes to open up new revenue streams (like manufacturing plants, transshipment points, banking, higher education etc.) What level of risk should be allowed and who should decide this

If you guys got anything else you want discussed. Let me know!
Last edited by Slartibartfast on March 18th, 2020, 11:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » March 18th, 2020, 10:16 am

Make sure you and your guest strictly observe the COVID-19 hygiene and sanitary rules for this interview eh.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 18th, 2020, 10:27 am

maj. tom wrote:Make sure you and your guest strictly observe the COVID-19 hygiene and sanitary rules for this interview eh.

This one is being done over skype because he is in Colombia. Sadly that means the video and audio quality may be a bit worse for this one.

But if it goes well I may do more skype sessions until we finish dealing with COVID19.

Postby Redman » March 18th, 2020, 11:19 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Hey everyone, thanks for all the responses! I think I'm up to about 120 responses so far. I will most likely be interviewing Dr. Luis Guio Suarez today or tomorrow so make sure to fill out the questionnaire if you haven't already and if you have the time.

Dr. Guio is from Colombia where he published his PhD thesis which was titled" How to Combat Corruption: Social and Judicial Aspects" and he is an expert on fighting corruption

Below are some talking points I hope to get to during the podcast. If you guys have anything you want asked, let me know below and I will bring it up.

Based on his thesis
1) How do you define corruption
2) The 4 types of corruption
3) The 17 factors of corruption and what is needed for it to thrive
4) The purpose of taxes
5) Taxes - who should be paying and how much should be paid
6) a. What should taxes be used for. What shouldn't it be used for (scientific research, exploration)
b. What should citizens expect in return for the taxes they pay
c. What social programs should be included (healthcare, pension, education)
7) How should all of this be decided and who should be the person decided how to charge and spend taxes
8) What are the ideal systems that need to be set up to keep corruption at bay

Talking points I want his opinion based on, that weren't in his thesis summary
1) How should a nation's natural resources be managed and how should benefits be shared among the population
2) What can a country's population do if they suspect corruption but have little to no support from the judicial branch
3) How much of a correlation is there with public distrust and corruption (i.e. how valid is public perception and popular opinion)

If you guys got anything else you want discussed. Let me know!

So I would get his take on how a modern transparent financial system(Banking,Company Registry,Land Registry,Tax Authority Compliance Authority etc etc etc) are in the persecution of corruption etc.

Postby bluefete » March 18th, 2020, 12:11 pm

Done. Good luck.

Postby SMc » March 18th, 2020, 2:26 pm

Done- but can you change the gender option to male or female-we are all 'mankind'

Postby MG Man » March 18th, 2020, 2:34 pm

SMc wrote:Done- but can you change the gender option to male or female-we are all 'mankind'

gender is a significant factor in many socioeconomic issues

Postby SMc » March 18th, 2020, 2:58 pm

SMc wrote:Done- but can you change the gender option to male or female-we are all 'mankind'

I know, I'm not asking him to remove gender specification but Male or Female is more appropriate a selection than Man or Woman given how the question was put forward, I not disregarding the survey as being relevant as I filled it out-otherwise I wouldn't have bothered

The reason I highlighted is that it looks as though it was jut taken off a survey template and the survey hadn't been tweaked correctly- it may have though.

On another note we still meeting up tonight? ill bring the nipples-you bring the oil

Postby skylinechild » March 18th, 2020, 4:21 pm

completed

Postby rspann » March 18th, 2020, 4:50 pm

Wonder what MG put for gender.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 19th, 2020, 9:49 am

Redman wrote:So I would get his take on how a modern transparent financial system(Banking,Company Registry,Land Registry,Tax Authority Compliance Authority etc etc etc) are in the persecution of corruption etc.

I'm not entirely sure what you are asking. Do you want to hear his take on how the are implicated in corruption or how they help fight corruption? I will try to bring it up if I can.

Postby Redman » March 19th, 2020, 11:03 am

A Robust financial system-with real oversite reporting and follow up-how important is that in fighting all types of corruption and indeed crime.
So Fighting corruption

Postby Slartibartfast » March 19th, 2020, 12:27 pm

Redman wrote:A Robust financial system-with real oversite reporting and follow up-how important is that in fighting all types of corruption and indeed crime.
So Fighting corruption

Yeah that is one of the things needed to fight corruption. I could send you his thesis summary if you like. But this should come up when we are talking about the 17 factors of corruption.

SMc wrote:

I know, I'm not asking him to remove gender specification but Male or Female is more appropriate a selection than Man or Woman given how the question was put forward, I not disregarding the survey as being relevant as I filled it out-otherwise I wouldn't have bothered

The reason I highlighted is that it looks as though it was jut taken off a survey template and the survey hadn't been tweaked correctly- it may have though.

On another note we still meeting up tonight? ill bring the nipples-you bring the oil
So, you gonna laugh for this one but I originally had it as Male/ Female but someone requested I change it because those are "sex" not "gender". Gender is apparently man/woman. I'm sure if the group with all the letters refers to gender or sex (LGBTTQQIAAP).

I actually did the entire survey from scratch so the fact that you consider it good enough to be confused for a template shall be taken as a compliment :lol: