The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

outlaw101

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby outlaw101 » April 4th, 2011, 6:50 pm

guys i need some help,want to knw if digicel prepaid data service will work for Liveprofile,facebook,msn etc on this phone????
thanks for the help in advance

rookie

Postby rookie » April 4th, 2011, 11:11 pm

Got the sAMsung t mobile t959 vibrant the avatar model android for about 2 weeks since i unlocked it and this sheit is better than the iphone have to say all i need is that link to update it to 2.3 right now iam at 2.1 any real android techs around??

Parvin

Postby Parvin » April 5th, 2011, 12:14 am

Can anyone provide a simple guide on how to root the htc Aria?

And what's a good ROM to install?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 5th, 2011, 8:58 am

check xda forums,
guys with desire hd ever get problems where the phone randomly cut off. read up on xda may be a sim card prob where the card moves out of place.
taped it down this morning. no more probs thus far. between last night and this morning it cut off 5 times

Parvin

Postby Parvin » April 5th, 2011, 9:24 am

Kinda confusing to me since I am new to android.

Anyone here did the procedure and can help?

I got a branded AT&T aria with a load of crap. And i dont know where/what is a good custom ROM for it.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 5th, 2011, 9:52 pm

App review: SPB Shell 3D for Android

As we all know, the beauty of Android stems from the fact that you get a wide variety of choices when it comes to devices and interface, though the latter can sometimes be a double-edged sword. Luckily, users who are fed up with their bloated Android UI but don't want to (or can't) mess around with ROMs now have another easy solution. Joining the handful of Android launchers is SPB's Shell 3D app, which installs as a replacement (but removable) home screen that comes with some nifty widgets (radio switches, backlight dimmer, weather forecast with a 3D chart, clock with over 60 skins, world time with a 3D globe, etc.) and resizeable folders.

As you can see above, the highlight of the show here is a cool-looking 3D carousel for switching between up to 16 panels, and you can trigger it by either tapping or horizontally dragging the bottom-center button. Whilst in carousel mode, you can also rearrange the panels, change their colors, or flick away excess panels. All of this required no manual reading on our end, so it's safe to say that this is a pretty intuitive app. Read on to see what the performance is like.

We've been playing with Shell 3D on our Xperia Play, Nexus S, and Dell Venue for a few days, and we're still surprised by its butter-like smoothness -- SPB claims that the app is rendered consistently at 60fps on most modern Android devices. The only time we see this app hiccup is when we throw in the Pictures panel (for displaying Flickr's pictures of the day), so while this feature is a nice touch, we tend to keep it tucked away for minimal irritation. Other than that, we enjoy casually spinning the carousel or flicking between the panels for the subtle 3D transition effect, without significantly affecting battery life as well.

As for the app list, it's simply a vertical scrolling list with springy effects when you hit the top or bottom, but there's also a nice addition here: apps that already have a shortcut added to a panel are marked with a little home icon. That said, there's another side to this: for some reason, SPB decided that we shouldn't be allowed to add the same shortcut to multiple panels, which can be annoying for those who want maximum accessibility to the most frequently used shortcuts. For an app costing $14.95, this shouldn't be too much to ask for, right? But otherwise, Shell 3D is a pretty neat add-on for those looking to breathe new life into their Android phones.

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 5th, 2011, 10:01 pm

Google's new cloud-based Android Music app leaks out

Wondering what Google's answer to Amazon's cloud music player for Android will look like? Then it would seem you now have your answer --the Tech From 10 website somehow managed to receive a developer version of the Android Market, which allowed it to download Android Music 3.0 and try it out for themselves. That site's unfortunately down at the moment (along with the download of the app itself that it was providing), but it doesn't look like there's too many surprises to be found. Things are almost identical to the existing Android Music player in terms of appearance, while the settings menu has expectedly been augmented with various streaming-related options. Android Market itself has also apparently been tweaked slightly, and the developer version included a few other surprises as well, including new camera and desk clock apps.

Engadget

outlaw101

Postby outlaw101 » April 6th, 2011, 6:30 am

http://www.bestandroiddownloads.com/
i knw u all prolly know of this site already but just figured i'd post it still..!!

outlaw101

Postby outlaw101 » April 7th, 2011, 10:49 pm

anyone running gingerbread yet?

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » April 7th, 2011, 11:00 pm

Does anyone know how to enable the call function / EDGE mobile network and the Android Market on Android 2.1 Eclair on samsung Jet S8000?

I am using JetQui bootloader , 03.pre1 platform with Jet kernel

i cannot seem to figure that out but i got everthing else working including wifi ...

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 8th, 2011, 7:44 am

goin to flash to gingerbread this weekend
revolution HD

achillies

Postby achillies » April 8th, 2011, 5:46 pm

Had it running on my Magic, gone with HTC Sense now, 2.2

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 8th, 2011, 7:00 pm

gotta love competition and the price wars that ensue! $450? tempted i am...

Acer's Iconia Tab A500 soaks up the WiFi rays, hits shelves April 24th for $450

Ladies and gentlemen, the days of spending $600 for an Android Honeycomb tablet are nearly done -- on April 24th, the Acer Iconia Tab A500 will wash that price away with waves of brushed aluminum. That's when the WiFi-only version of Acer's Android 3.0 tablet will hit Best Buy and online retail for $450 sans contract, but with the same basic raft of specs as the WiFi-only Motorola Xoom: a dual-core 1GHz Tegra 250 SOC, a 10.1-inch 1280 x 800 LCD screen, 1GB of RAM, a 5 megapixel camera around back and a 2 megapixel imager up front, HDMI-out, not to mention a pair of 3260mAh batteries that Acer claims are capable of eight full hours of life while playing HD video. Sure, it's a wee bit thicker and heavier and only sports half the flash storage (16GB), too, but if you're attracted to shiny things, look for our review in the coming weeks -- or wait until this summer to get one with AT&T. PR after the break.

Update: As Acer mentioned in its press release, pre-orders for the device are beginning exclusively at Best Buy today, and you can now get your order in online.

Engadget

Parvin

Postby Parvin » April 8th, 2011, 8:52 pm

Used ROM Manger to root and install 'Liberated Aria (Froyo 2.2)' ... working good so far.

wickedtrini

Postby wickedtrini » April 9th, 2011, 11:33 am

Got a HTC wildfire....think I want d desire now. anyone care to share how well it works and if there are any better I can get?

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » April 9th, 2011, 3:44 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:goin to flash to gingerbread this weekend
revolution HD

i installed gingerbread yesteday on the JEt s8000 and it seemed fresh ....the only thing i didnt really like wass how small the icons and font was compared to Eclair ...wanted to try the live wallpapers option but i didnt have enough time ...also wifi was not able to get wifi working so i jus rest it down ...will digg up more in it in a couple weeks time.

Crucial

Postby Crucial » April 9th, 2011, 7:46 pm

rookie wrote:Got the sAMsung t mobile t959 vibrant the avatar model android for about 2 weeks since i unlocked it and this sheit is better than the iphone have to say all i need is that link to update it to 2.3 right now iam at 2.1 any real android techs around??

Did you try updating with the Kies software? I believe 2.2 is out for the Vibrant.

2.3 isn't officially released for that model, but you can download and install a custom ROM from XDA.

outlaw101

Postby outlaw101 » April 11th, 2011, 2:12 pm

anyone knw if the bb data service digicel will work on htc phones? if so wat is the apn settings?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 11th, 2011, 3:56 pm

web.digiceltt.com....and leave everything else blank.

outlaw101

Postby outlaw101 » April 12th, 2011, 5:03 am

i tried this but this keeps taking money from my fone on my htc mytouch 4g,does anyone know of a way to use the bb social plan for internet like u can on the iphone? and if so how???
PLEASE HELP HERE
P.S-also i would like to ask how long would 50mb last if only used for instant messaging via,fb,msn,liveprofile etc????/

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 12th, 2011, 11:00 am

ummm u cant use the social plan for internet....the social plan just filters the packets to only social site throught the blackberry servers...u need the full bb internet plan for like $200 and i think u hadda register it on any bb first...i cant give u a definite answer on if u hadda register it first

outlaw101

Postby outlaw101 » April 12th, 2011, 3:31 pm

shaq when i mean internet i mean using it for msgn apps like msn,fb,im+ and liveprofile...etc

ANYONE ELSE KNOW OF THIS?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 12th, 2011, 5:57 pm

still wont work.....the social thing is tightly linked to the bb servers....other devices just use the open net to push content to ur phone.....but the 50MB plan could last u the rest of the week depending on how u use it..for light browsing and fb app then u could make out with the 50mb each week...just turn off auto sync...when u go to sleep and get up ur phone might burn through that like wow

achillies

Postby achillies » April 12th, 2011, 7:10 pm

I wouldn't recommend Digicel if you dont take an Unlimited Data plan

I was using the Bmobile social package on my Magic and i had access to everything for $30 per week, all messengers and also browsing (albeit very slow)

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 12th, 2011, 7:58 pm

achillies wrote:I wouldn't recommend Digicel if you dont take an Unlimited Data plan

I was using the Bmobile social package on my Magic and i had access to everything for $30 per week, all messengers and also browsing (albeit very slow)

hmmmm so u getting all the internet services for the social plan???? btw do u need to use a berry first or u could do everything on the android?

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » April 12th, 2011, 10:03 pm

So finally entered the Andriod game :)

Also bought a little buddy for my desk at work, hope nobody sprang it. :\

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 12th, 2011, 10:41 pm

^nice 8-)

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » April 12th, 2011, 11:14 pm

Captainzaak wrote:So finally entered the Andriod game :)

Also bought a little buddy for my desk at work, hope nobody sprang it. :\

Where yuh get dat lil green guy form?

Postby r3iXmann » April 13th, 2011, 10:15 am

im back betchessss!! got my captivate a while ago :mrgreen:

put on invisible shield and otterbox one time

though i find the invisible shield doesnt seem to fit properly for some reason :?

looks slightly odd..ah well

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 13th, 2011, 10:24 am

finally getting rid of the N1 for real this time

*patiently awaits the Galaxy SII*