Chiney

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Chiney » December 2nd, 2010, 11:52 am

umm
thats technically correct... still FAIL tho

russell..... wam , u eh sellin the 52s yet?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 1:17 pm

Pios take a read:

60Hz vs. 120Hz vs. 240Hz vs. 480Hz - LCD Response Rate

First, a note about why LCD TV manufacturers are attempting to increase the effective refresh rate (also called response rate) on their televisions. Well, it stands to reason that there would be no increase if there were not a problem of some sort to begin with. For instance, you never hear of plasma TV manufacturers claiming increased Hz rate technology.

Indeed there is a problem – motion lag. Motion lag results when the images displayed on the screen are moving quickly, or in some cases panning side to side slowly. In the former, a subtle blur can be seen on the screen as the LCD TV frame rate conversion struggles to keep up with the speed of the programming content – sports action is a good example of this. In the second case, a jerky appearance called "judder" can appear as the LCD has a hard time accurately displaying the moving image even though it may be moving slowly. This results from a combination of the internal processing chips in the LCD TV and the response rate of the TV.

So manufacturers are doing all they can to eliminate or lessen the effects of these problems. They have recently increased the refresh rate or response time to 120Hz and 240Hz as a premium feature on some of the newest high end LCD TVs. How much does it help?

It does a great deal to cut down on motion induced artifacts – especially with fast motion scenes. It decreases motion lag and judder. However, there are nasty side effects you should know about. When viewing film and broadcast programming in 120Hz/240Hz we see unwanted background noise introduced. Many of the tricks movie producers and programmers employ to create depth and give background information a background look are unraveled and what results is a distracting lack of depth. Cinematography is impaired. In some film reproduction, the background set becomes so clear that you can see the cheap tricks used in the studio to create an effect of say stones in the background. With 120Hz/240Hz you can see that they are plastic. It causes unnatural appearance of the image popping out of the background especially in when foreground characters are moving slowly.

You might think this increase in detail of background information is a good thing, but it gives the content a kitschy, plastic, cardboard cutout look that is very unappealing. This is why we only recommend using the 120Hz/240Hz feature for sports programming and gaming where the increased information works to the viewers advantage. Thankfully, thus far manufacturers have introduced the 120Hz/240Hz feature as an option that can be turned off and on (though not with a discrete button on the remote control). In our recent reviews of the Samsung LN-52A850, the LG 47LH55, and the Samsung UN55B8000 we note instructions on how to turn the 120Hz/240Hz features off.

In 2009 the 240Hz rate specification worked in two ways. Some manufacturers used LED backlight manipulation as a mechanism which produced an "effective" 240Hz "appearance." This was a somewhat ridiculed claim by those manufacturers that produced a true 240Hz refresh rate. Those manufacturers produced a true 240Hz refresh rate by increasing the pixel activation speed in the LCD panels - thus redrawing the screen 240 times per second. Though it seems that this improvement would cut motion blur in half, our testing shows only a marginal decrease in motion blur from 120Hz. Some 120Hz, 240Hz, 480Hz technologies incorporate unwelcome background information into film based material and are only good for viewing fast motion sports programming. Fortunately, in all TVs that we have tested, the Hz rate feature may be turned off. We recommend this with certain manufacturers as of this writing. (See our reviews to find out which manufacturers we recommend this for).

"A higher Hz rate in the panel produces a picture with less motion artifacts during fast motion and side to side pannning"

Recently, at CES 2010 a couple of manufacturers have introduced a 480Hz specification on some LED-LCD TVs. As of this writing all of these specifications are of the LED backlight manipulation variety, as opposed to a true 480Hz refresh rate. Thus the question, "Does the 480Hz specification offer an improvement in TV viewing or is it just a stated numerical improvement that has no bearing on the performance of the TV." From our experience, unfortunately we will at this time will side with the latter stance. We will certainly review this new specification with scepticism, meanwhile giving it a fair shot. We suspect it will have about as much impact on picture quality performance as say a contrast ratio specification going from 2 million to 1, to 4 million to 1 - which we have proven as specification eyewash (see article Contrast Ratio: Are Manufacturers Specifications Important). Just because the specification is there, doesnt make it so.

So just to sum it up. In 2008 there was an increase from 60Hz rate to 120Hz rate in LCDs. In 2009 there were two varieties of Hz rate improvements to 240Hz, and in 2010 we saw a manipulated LED backlight specification to 480Hz inrtoduced. The improvement from 60Hz to 120Hz is the most significant of these and the one showing the most dramatic reduction in motion blue and a smoother side to side panning. The true 240Hz rate improvement in 2009/2010 gives a marginal increase of 30% better than the 120Hz. As of this writing we predict the 480Hz LED backlight manipulation specification will not yield an actual improvement in picture quality performance. A true 480Hz refresh rate has not been introduced. We believe this would improvement would result in a 15 to 20% improvement over the 240Hz rate spec.
http://www.lcdtvbuyingguide.com/lcdtv/120hz-240hz-60hz.html

The curve ball is that movies in cinema run at 24Hz!
in fact most top shelf blurays show the main movie at 24Hz too to simulate that cinematic effect that the movie directors and producers want you to see. Movies are often 24Hz and regular or even HD television broadcasts usually top out at 60Hz.

Plasma can run as high as 600Hz and will come down to 60Hz and 24Hz depending on what you are watching and the source you are watching it from

read this too
http://reviews.cnet.com/240hz-lcd-tvs-what-you-need-to-know/

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20100705104011AAKXlqK

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 2nd, 2010, 2:12 pm

nope. 120Hz is the best in terms of less motion blur and less price as well

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 6:17 pm

^ for watching sports on TV and playing video games on a LCD TV yes, 120Hz is just fine - plasma would still be best

the thing is for movie watching, the bluray disc will bring the TV down to 24Hz anyway so it doesnt matter there

What is much more important for movie watching is black levels and lighting. If you insist on buying LED make sure it is backlit and that it has local dimming. The more advanced the local dimming is the better.

In LCDs, blacklit LED with local dimming show the best - but hold up its not all good.

LED is LCD with LED lighting instead of the old CFFL fluorescent type lights - but it's still an LCD panel.

LCD panels keep the light on and makes the pixel black to block out light - that is how LCDs create black. Since the light stays on, the light can bleed out of the edges a bit and so the black ends up being not so black. Deep black is important in picture quality because without it the picture can look washed out and colours will look wrong.

example showing why deeper blacks make for better picture quality
The image on the left doesnt have the deep blacks of the image on the right and so it looks washed out. Most people with LCD or LED TVs dont have a top of the line plasma to compare their picture to so they just dont know better.

Instead of lighting the whole panel at once, local dimming uses areas of light on the panel and so it can switch off an area if there is a section of the screen that is dark in a scene in the movie - this offers better picture quality. However light from an adjacent area that is still on can spill over and ugly blooming. If you own an LED TV you wouldnt notice that it has ugly blooming on the picture until you watch the same thing on a plasma.

Plasma doesnt need backlighting because each pixel is a light, so when it's off it's off and there is no light to leak, three's just black - tath is why black levels on plasmas are so much better and by extension picture quality.

"How does one know when there is blooming on his LED-backlit LCD TV?

It is quite easy to demonstrate the blooming effect on LED-backlit LCD TVs that come with the local dimming function. You'll need to switch to a video input with no active signal, then pay close attention to the onscreen display. There should be a strong "haloing" effect around the white text, logo or symbol. As explained in our article, this is due to backlighting leakage which unnecessarily illuminates the fringes of lit pixels."

Plasmas dont have this issue and that is why dark movies like Harry Potter, Batman etc look much better on plasma.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 2nd, 2010, 6:59 pm

you are right Duane, when i compare the plasma to the LCD, the plasma pwns it big time. i watched recently-released movies, digitally remastered old movies (James Bond FTW) and played games on them and in all cases, the plasma out-performed the LCD. even my daughter noticed the difference.

LED is the rage now cos its much slimmer that the LCD and still cheaper / more power efficent than plasma. but if you consider PQ above all else, plasma is the way to go

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 8:22 pm

^ LEDs are the rage now because that is what the companies want to market
next might be OLED, QLED or LASER which has shown to be better than plasma

it's all marketing - know what you are buying and why you are buying it

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » December 2nd, 2010, 9:16 pm

biggy82 wrote:you are right Duane, when i compare the plasma to the LCD, the plasma pwns it big time. i watched recently-released movies, digitally remastered old movies (James Bond FTW) and played games on them and in all cases, the plasma out-performed the LCD. even my daughter noticed the difference.

LED is the rage now cos its much slimmer that the LCD and still cheaper / more power efficent than plasma. but if you consider PQ above all else, plasma is the way to go

007 showing good ?

RapToR

Postby RapToR » December 2nd, 2010, 9:31 pm

pioneer wrote:who wha lend me dey 007 bluray :|

you got a set last year to :?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 2nd, 2010, 10:44 pm

RapToR wrote:
biggy82 wrote:you are right Duane, when i compare the plasma to the LCD, the plasma pwns it big time. i watched recently-released movies, digitally remastered old movies (James Bond FTW) and played games on them and in all cases, the plasma out-performed the LCD. even my daughter noticed the difference.

007 showing good ?

if again it showing good? moms eh leave by me the whole w/end when i had now get them....she pop she popcorn, sit down and watch ALL :lol:

pioneer wrote:who wha lend me dey 007 bluray :|

what episodes yuh have? we cud make a lil swap 8-)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 11:26 pm

^ I think they do retail, not sure

I know that they do support and service outside their org. even if you bought it from the US you will get support and service from them.

what is the model number?

RapToR

Postby RapToR » December 3rd, 2010, 9:14 am

[quote="pioneer"]

Samsung PN58C6500 58-Inch 1080p Plasma HDTV (Black) - $20,000.00 - 6mts warranty

Samsung PN58C550 58-Inch 1080p Plasma HDTV (Black) - $15,000.00 - 6mts warranty

LG INFINIA 60PK750 60-Inch 1080p Plasma HDTV with Internet Applications - $15,000.00 ( from amazon ) - NO warranty ( can only offer warranty on samsung and sony only )

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 3rd, 2010, 9:30 am

Pioneer why you going for 5 series and 6 series
if you spending that kinda money better to go for the 8 series one time for the best in picture quality

PN58C8000
http://reviews.cnet.com/flat-panel-tvs/samsung-pn58c8000/4505-6482_7-34005775.html

I have the PN58B 8 series, this is the newer 3D version PN58C 8 series

Humes

Postby Humes » December 3rd, 2010, 8:19 pm

Question: How do the 700mb avi DVD rips from...sites of ill repute...look on HDTVs?

For that matter, how would Flow's normal digital cable look on a HDTV?

Yes, Duane, I know a real video enthusiast will purchase the DVD/BD if he really cares about video quality, but I'm still curious.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » December 3rd, 2010, 8:31 pm

700mb dvd rips dont look too bad..they dont look too good either, but its more than watchable

flow looks ok as well, but flow's native aspect ratio is 4:3
I actually find its not so bad.

Humes

Postby Humes » December 3rd, 2010, 8:38 pm

Cool.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 4th, 2010, 12:56 am

rodfarva wrote:700mb dvd rips dont look too bad..they dont look too good either, but its more than watchable

flow looks ok as well, but flow's native aspect ratio is 4:3
I actually find its not so bad.
ditto

remember both DVD and digital cable are still only 480i so it also helps if you have a receiver or player with an upscaler and video processor that will take the 480i source and upconvert it to 1080p properly - works wonders for FLOW digital cable, can look near to HD quality on some channels like Nat Geo, SPEED and BBC

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » December 4th, 2010, 2:39 pm

Sup fellas... i am considering buying those expensive high-end HDMI cords for like $400, however, does it really make that much quality difference over the low-end $75-$125 HDMI cords?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » December 4th, 2010, 2:49 pm

not one fart of a difference...

vex i wasted my cash to..steups

well u do pay to learn aye

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » December 4th, 2010, 5:22 pm

i had a feeling so..hopefully i get more opinions on the topic..cause i find it hard to shed out that $400 for a damn cord..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 4th, 2010, 5:48 pm

^ not really

there are good HDMI cables and there are bad ones.
You could get a cheap one that is bad or you can get a good cable at a decent price.
You dont have to spend US$150 on a Monster M-Class cable
You can get a decent cable from MediaBridge or Cables2Go for around US$12
Just make sure you get a HDMI High Speed cable

http://www.hdmi.org/manufacturer/hdmi_1_4/finding_right_cable.aspx

A standard HDMI cable does not fully support full HD at 1080p
You need a highspeed HDMI cable to do that and you definitely need highspeed to handle 3D

I probably spent too much on my cables because I went all the way and bought Monster M-Cass cables (I got them at a discounted price). Buying expensive doesnt mean the cable does more than a cheaper cable, it just means that you are guaranteed it will be a good quality cable with better quality control.
You buy an expensive TV, expensive player, expensive receiver and expensive blu-ray disc to get that full HD experience and then you buy a $4 cable - maybe it will work fine, maybe it wont.

I'd just feel safer NOT going ultra cheap.

http://gizmodo.com/266616/the-truth-about-monster-cable

Chiney

Postby Chiney » December 4th, 2010, 5:52 pm

well i didnt think i would of had to be that clear..

i mean its obvious when u see a cable that looks like the life has been sucked out of it..when u see it going for a ridiculous price and bad reviews.....

heck
as a matter of fact
all my cheap hdmi cables i buy from amazon via prime service, the have been thick and work great! ( v1.3b is the one he needs, unless he got a 3dreay tv and his receiver or watever like mine requires v1.4 for 3D pass through )

and i mean like $4.00 and $6.00 for cables...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 4th, 2010, 6:01 pm

^ there isn't really a 1.3 cable and a 1.4 cable
instead there are 1.3 devices and 1.4 devices
There is standard HDMI and Highspeed HDMI

we ALL need highspeed - 3D or not - unless we only plan to watch 720p or lower 1080i (not full 1080p)

thickness doesnt matter either - it's digital
there are very expensive, great quality slimline HDMI cables that are very thin.

check out the links I posted

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » December 4th, 2010, 6:38 pm

ok cool..well i guess i'll order the cables u suggested as i have standard hdmi cables.. thanks.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » December 4th, 2010, 7:10 pm

ok duane i guess u want to get real technical then..cant blame you

their are cables that support 1.3 and 1.4 device.. better??

http://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-High ... 007&sr=1-1

got a few of those..they work super

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001FR ... ss_product

and like 3 of those for the things close to the receiver.. like my Xtreamer Pro media player and streamer.... xbxo 360 ... ps3 ( really a blu ray player )

just an idea

guru

Postby guru » December 8th, 2010, 5:59 pm

So I had my HDTV hooked up to an APC ES 600 and it started flickering after a few weeks when the back-light was raised at all. Sent it in to repair (as it was under warranty) and they said they had to reset the power supply as the screen got a "surge". and to make sure it on a "proper" UPS or voltage regulator.

So lets work on the assumption that they are right.
Would a Monster HTS 950 / Monster HTS 1000 MKII be better over something like the Tripp Lite LC1200 1200W Line Conditioner w/ IsPRar Protection? or as i friend suggested, buy both?

RapToR

Postby RapToR » December 8th, 2010, 6:38 pm

guru wrote:So I had my HDTV hooked up to an APC ES 600 and it started flickering after a few weeks when the back-light was raised at all. Sent it in to repair (as it was under warranty) and they said they had to reset the power supply as the screen got a "surge". and to make sure it on a "proper" UPS or voltage regulator.

So lets work on the assumption that they are right.
Would a Monster HTS 950 / Monster HTS 1000 MKII be better over something like the Tripp Lite LC1200 1200W Line Conditioner w/ IsPRar Protection? or as i friend suggested, buy both?

Monster Home Theater PowerCenter HTS 1000 MKIII with Clean Power Stage 2

http://www.monstercable.com/productdisplay.asp?pin=4445

$1200.00 - Retail

$1000.00 - Wholesale

FREE Delivery <--- Almost Anywhere !!!

Richard - 680-3752

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » December 8th, 2010, 11:03 pm

if youre going to buy a plasma your best buy is to Buy a Panasonic!

Postby sharkman121 » December 8th, 2010, 11:14 pm

^ not necessarily, samsung and LG match or beat panasonics output atm.

I have a samsung but LG has really caught up in the past few yrs.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » December 8th, 2010, 11:23 pm

^^ that is true
i have been across the lines of alot of brands

LG, Vizio, Samsung, Sony..even sharp.. panasonic plasma as well

so far i am most impressed with SONY AND LG ... the sharp 55" my bro in law has in his HT room stands out very well in size and quality to go along with his klipsch rf 82s and matching center and rears...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 8th, 2010, 11:27 pm

^ Sony has been the least impressive to me

Panasonic, Samsung and LG are the best picture quality brands right now