Re: Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby trini sales » June 22nd, 2017, 7:29 pm

Any hsse vacancies. Pm meh.

Postby nervewrecker » June 22nd, 2017, 10:04 pm

tr1ad wrote:guys,
received an offer, so it looks like i'll be back out in the working world soon after almost 8 months... with wife and two kids; it has been tough....

will update the thread with any vacancies i come across in the energy sector.

Congrats.
Hope is by me :D

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » June 22nd, 2017, 10:46 pm

received an offer, so it looks like i'll be back out in the working world soon after almost 8 months... with wife and two kids; it has been tough....

Congrats.
Hope is by me :D

Nah. He going la brea

PapaC

Postby PapaC » June 22nd, 2017, 10:57 pm

One mre off the list!!! Congrats.

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » June 22nd, 2017, 11:21 pm

Quick question guys.... Wrt the petrotrin operator program...... Which is better..... The apprenticeship or trainee program?

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 23rd, 2017, 12:55 am

Depends on your experience level. An apprentice program is more in-depth than a trainee programme. Trainees would be basically given a crash course in the operation while the apprentice would be given a more holistic and all rounded about he operation. eg a trainee would be told that you open X and Y to send to tank A. An apprentice would be told the same thing but given a complete breakdown of all the equipment and chemicals used and why.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 23rd, 2017, 1:00 am

Congrats .

gencon

Postby gencon » June 23rd, 2017, 6:08 am

Well you beat me back dred, is 14 months now and I still sucking salt. Well you know my skillset so let me know if anything comes up. All the best.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » June 23rd, 2017, 8:07 am

phreakazoid wrote:Quick question guys.... Wrt the petrotrin operator program...... Which is better..... The apprenticeship or trainee program?

Apprentice is really for people who have no experience.
Trainee Operator program is for people who have about 3 years experience (know the basics about plant operations and instrumentation). It should be noted that you are hired permanent, unlike the apprentice.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » June 23rd, 2017, 8:10 am

Congratulations!!!

Postby nervewrecker » June 23rd, 2017, 9:42 am

trinidrift wrote:Depends on your experience level. An apprentice program is more in-depth than a trainee programme. Trainees would be basically given a crash course in the operation while the apprentice would be given a more holistic and all rounded about he operation. eg a trainee would be told that you open X and Y to send to tank A. An apprentice would be told the same thing but given a complete breakdown of all the equipment and chemicals used and why.

The apprenticeship programe is not what it used to be.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 23rd, 2017, 10:22 am

trinidrift wrote:Depends on your experience level. An apprentice program is more in-depth than a trainee programme. Trainees would be basically given a crash course in the operation while the apprentice would be given a more holistic and all rounded about he operation. eg a trainee would be told that you open X and Y to send to tank A. An apprentice would be told the same thing but given a complete breakdown of all the equipment and chemicals used and why.

Well that is what my dad went through years ago so I was just sharing

Postby nervewrecker » June 23rd, 2017, 5:34 pm

trinidrift wrote:

Back then it was approx 5 years. Apprentices had responsibility to handle and put into situations where they had to take the lead in order to demonstrate how competent they were. They had driving privileges and knew how to use tools. They knew manners and employee relations.

Last set of apprentices mostly get classroom training for the two year duration and some just float through with the intention of getting a permanent job after. Had one that knows every tool name but cant seem to use any.

Went to work with a supervisor that was an apprentice long ago. Super proud to have an apprentice with him. Expecting a certain level of competency and skill.
Apprentice come out with all his brand new gear looking sharp. Couldn't use any and couldn't start to do the job. This Is everyday stuff we talking about and the programe never touched on it.

Don't get me wrong, have some impressive ones but I just saying the programe is not what it used to be.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 23rd, 2017, 6:07 pm

trinidrift wrote:

Back then it was approx 5 years. Apprentices had responsibility to handle and put into situations where they had to take the lead in order to demonstrate how competent they were. They had driving privileges and knew how to use tools. They knew manners and employee relations.

Last set of apprentices mostly get classroom training for the two year duration and some just float through with the intention of getting a permanent job after. Had one that knows every tool name but cant seem to use any.

Went to work with a supervisor that was an apprentice long ago. Super proud to have an apprentice with him. Expecting a certain level of competency and skill.
Apprentice come out with all his brand new gear looking sharp. Couldn't use any and couldn't start to do the job. This Is everyday stuff we talking about and the programe never touched on it.

Don't get me wrong, have some impressive ones but I just saying the programe is not what it used to be.

So true especially those that have a high THEORETICAL background with 0 experience to back it up who argues every request! That just pisses me off!

Postby nervewrecker » June 23rd, 2017, 6:30 pm

trinidrift wrote:

So true especially those that have a high THEORETICAL background with 0 experience to back it up who argues every request! That just pisses me off!

Aye, like yuh know de fella? Hahaha

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 23rd, 2017, 6:37 pm

It's possible

DreamWeaver

Postby DreamWeaver » June 25th, 2017, 6:57 am

Just saw Kevin Ramnarine post on facebook that we are less than 2 weeks away from first gas from Juniper yet the public is clueless as to how this gas is being distributed. Anybody hear anything? MHTL is all alight with ideas to restart their down plants too. I was also curious as to the rate of the nat gas extracted. They can't just drill from day one and get to rated 590mmscf/d and that would last til 2019 right? one would think the nat gas extraction rate would be like a normal distribution curve. Incidentally, I think ALNG needs about 732mmscf/d to get back to full rates (assuming they are at 30% curtailment as indicated in the media). TROC was supposed to supply 200 mmscf/d to ALNG so that should put it at 532mmscf/d. Denovo is stalled so can't count on their supply at the moment. Somehow it seems like the gas supply is still short so I not sure if MHTL hoping to get some favoritism from NGC

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 25th, 2017, 8:50 am

As far as I know bptt goal is to hit 4bmscf/d. So juniper along with all the reworked/newly drilled wells is supposed to be the big push towards that. Their priority is ALNG so my guess would be as good as yours.

eaw_375

Postby eaw_375 » June 25th, 2017, 8:56 am

trinidrift wrote:As far as I know bptt goal is to hit 4bmscf/d. So juniper along with all the reworked/newly drilled wells is supposed to be the big push towards that. Their priority is ALNG so my guess would be as good as yours.

4bmscf/d is total Trinidad supply by 2022/2023 not just bptt, depends heavily on Venezuela supply from Dragon and Loran/Manatee as well

DreamWeaver

Postby DreamWeaver » June 25th, 2017, 9:25 am

eaw_375 wrote:
trinidrift wrote:As far as I know bptt goal is to hit 4bmscf/d. So juniper along with all the reworked/newly drilled wells is supposed to be the big push towards that. Their priority is ALNG so my guess would be as good as yours.

4bmscf/d is total Trinidad supply by 2022/2023 not just bptt, depends heavily on Venezuela supply from Dragon and Loran/Manatee as well

I actually saw an article in Business Guardian a few weeks ago where "bpTT regional president disagreed with the suggestion that the company's gas would be better used in the downstream sector and not exported as LNG". He said something about sending gas where there is greater profit but as far as i know, the price of commodities can change daily and nat gas is supplied through contracts that span years. They can't possibly predict commodity prices over years so they know where to send their gas. Methanol price, for example, is high right now, but when more US methanol plants come onstream with all the shale gas, i bet that price is gonna nosedive. Already seeing low ammonia price for the year so far. lng isn't immune either.

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » June 26th, 2017, 6:46 am

airuma wrote:Can someone please post the current labour rates for Petrotrin. Back in 2009, a labourer was earning as much as a welder in a private company (around $34/hr i think) and they were still juicing overtime. Workers in these 24hr run plants arrange to stay home when their shift starts on a holiday so their co-worker will benefit from the double time rate. Petrotrin is the most inefficient company in Trinidad and Tobago and even though the inefficiency may start at the head, it certainly will not stop there.

Take a look here to see how their labour rates measure up against other energy service companies
http://energynow.tt/blog/how-do-petrotr ... rgy-sector

Labourer working for $77 ah hour in Petrotrin 600 ah day 3000 ah week

car

Postby car » June 26th, 2017, 7:56 am

superstainless1250 wrote:
airuma wrote:Can someone please post the current labour rates for Petrotrin. Back in 2009, a labourer was earning as much as a welder in a private company (around $34/hr i think) and they were still juicing overtime. Workers in these 24hr run plants arrange to stay home when their shift starts on a holiday so their co-worker will benefit from the double time rate. Petrotrin is the most inefficient company in Trinidad and Tobago and even though the inefficiency may start at the head, it certainly will not stop there.

Take a look here to see how their labour rates measure up against other energy service companies

Better then a janitor in PETROTRIN.

Postby nervewrecker » June 26th, 2017, 8:36 am

Yes, $3k a week and they work one week every month or sometimes two months.
They have to tote heavy equipment in bush, dig hole, dig trench, carry material, cut bush, run from snake, jep etc etc. Sometimes in h2s areas. Aware yourself of the dangers of h2s.

Now compare that salary to what masons, carpenters, cupboard men, tile men and the likes and tell me if the laborer salary is anything to talk about.

Pretty sure you typing on a pc your mom bought you in an ac room somewhere. You hear salary and feel you entitled to that.

Postby nervewrecker » June 26th, 2017, 8:46 am

Ah man send me this and say to ask yuh if yuh wah de wuck.
Laborer job is to clean these panels.
Yuh wah it bro?

Cutting bush in areas where squatters thieving current and it have many live wires running through the bush. Chop one and dead.

Send application Image

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 26th, 2017, 8:50 am

Dude I have ah padna does do that and I thought I had a dangerous job but that guy earned my respect

PapaC

Postby PapaC » June 26th, 2017, 9:04 am

Hence why it is never good to watch another man salary. You never know what he doing to get it. Or why he did to get it in the first place.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 26th, 2017, 9:11 am

PapaC wrote:Hence why it is never good to watch another man salary. You never know what he doing to get it. Or why he did to get it in the first place.

PREACH BROTHER PREACH!

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » June 26th, 2017, 9:31 am

PapaC wrote:Hence why it is never good to watch another man salary. You never know what he doing to get it. Or why he did to get it in the first place.

nervewrecker wrote:Yes, $3k a week and they work one week every month or sometimes two months.
They have to tote heavy equipment in bush, dig hole, dig trench, carry material, cut bush, run from snake, jep etc etc. Sometimes in h2s areas. Aware yourself of the dangers of h2s.

Now compare that salary to what masons, carpenters, cupboard men, tile men and the likes and tell me if the laborer salary is anything to talk about.

Pretty sure you typing on a pc your mom bought you in an ac room somewhere. You hear salary and feel you entitled to that.

Say it louder for the people in the back!!!

eitech

Postby eitech » June 26th, 2017, 10:06 am

nervewrecker wrote:Ah man send me this and say to ask yuh if yuh wah de wuck.
Laborer job is to clean these panels.
Yuh wah it bro?

Cutting bush in areas where squatters thieving current and it have many live wires running through the bush. Chop one and dead.

Send application Image

Wdma. Daz exposed live conductors dey

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » June 26th, 2017, 10:09 am

Yes, $3k a week and they work one week every month or sometimes two months.

Nervewrecker i working inside Petrotrin atm Forest Reserve so i am aware of the dangers an no im not in my mom pc rite now trust meh for this week gone the labourers had it tuff after the storm carrying ladder up hills an down hills to get the job done an im not the type to cry down ppl pay i think they deserved it