Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 29th, 2010, 12:01 am

I'm just asking, but wouldn't a water conditioner/treatment take care of this problem?

chit8238

Postby chit8238 » March 29th, 2010, 1:02 am

No. These conditioners are usually formulated to neutralize chlorine and chloramines (not used in Trinidad). There are chemicals sold to modify the PH. Also, natural substances can be used to modify PH eg. peat can be used to acidify. Anyway, if this continues, gone are the good old days of letting water sit a couple of days and simply topping up.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 29th, 2010, 2:14 am

Thanks for that. What product do you recommend for pH balance (brand/description)?

I have to do a 25% water change on Saturday.

thetriniman

Postby thetriniman » March 29th, 2010, 9:09 am

All interested in high quality Kois can check Deochand - 328-0659.

Went by him this weekend - He really has some good stuff and nice person to deal with

djblademan

Postby djblademan » March 29th, 2010, 10:32 am

the low PH is ideal for me & Halfbreed, for we have discus & 6.0 is perfect for em...
as for others i am sorry to hear the situation...can probably try lowering the pressure when topping up/ refilling... the water running sslow will gradually adjust to the current PH of the overall tank (7.0) or if you have cichlids, try some seriosu potspoons of salt or use any high in calcim matter in the tank like dead corals etc....
but if your tank is 7.0 & wasa ph is even as low as 5.0, let the water run real real slow while topping up/refilling even as slow as 1 drop of water per second, it might take you 5 hrs to full up but it regulates the temp & Ph of the same in the tank & you will be fine...it worked for me so you can try it if you want...
regards...

Plants still for sale ppl...

link

Postby link » March 29th, 2010, 10:01 pm

I hve abt 20lbs of oyster shells ...$25/lb.......... :!:

slow323

oscars

Postby slow323 » March 30th, 2010, 10:46 am

hey i have 3 oscars that need a home approx 4-5 inches in length

its the regular grey ones, fish located in maraval

if anyone is interested please pm and bring a container to transport

o and the fish are free just come and take

Postby Razkal » March 30th, 2010, 11:53 am

^make that four, i also have one, between 5-6inches, very healthy and very free...enjoys playing with ping pong balls and eating mollies :|

need the tank it's in so i can have room for more angel spawns...

boogy910
Location: if i tell u i'll have to kill u, unless u have vodka

Postby boogy910 » March 30th, 2010, 4:42 pm

wat r good fish to go wit barbs (green, tiger, albaino, tin foil) and dainos? preferably small fish.

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » March 30th, 2010, 7:01 pm

norstar2k wrote:Thanks for that. What product do you recommend for pH balance (brand/description)?

I have to do a 25% water change on Saturday.

YOU CAN USE BAKING SODA TO RAISE D PH
MIX 1 TEASPOON IN 1 GALLON OF DECLORINATED WATER
AND DRIP INTO TANK WHERE THERE IS WATER FLOW AND
CHECK PH A COUPLE OF TIMES UNTIL ITS CORRECTED

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 30th, 2010, 7:18 pm

boogy910 wrote:wat r good fish to go wit barbs (green, tiger, albaino, tin foil) and dainos? preferably small fish.

Try this:

Some say these charts are unreliable, but I think it came from PETCO, so it 'should' be a good guide.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » March 30th, 2010, 7:56 pm

Did a 25% water change in my 46G tank sunday....fish are doing fine so far.
Also did water changes in my two 10G tanks this morning...tested the tap water first tho and got a 7.2-7.4PH *whew*

boogy910
Location: if i tell u i'll have to kill u, unless u have vodka

Postby boogy910 » March 31st, 2010, 6:49 pm

norstar2k wrote:
boogy910 wrote:wat r good fish to go wit barbs (green, tiger, albaino, tin foil) and dainos? preferably small fish.

Try this:

Some say these charts are unreliable, but I think it came from PETCO, so it 'should' be a good guide.

thanks hoss

Postby foss » April 2nd, 2010, 3:02 pm

does anyone happen to have an extra fish tank cover for a 48"x18''x18'' lying around collecting dust??

i have my tank setup a while now, but cuz i am not working i cannot afford a cover for my tank... if anyone can assist

please

netsket

Postby netsket » April 2nd, 2010, 8:05 pm

for those who never did a pH test before (like me) the safe range for freshwater fish is between 5.5 to 7.5 :wink:

sammy g

Postby sammy g » April 4th, 2010, 8:02 pm

i recently got a good spawn of tilapias and hopefully should be selling fingerlings in about three weeks. they should be fingerling size then or sooner so anyone interested just holla

Postby foss » April 4th, 2010, 8:03 pm

foss wrote:does anyone happen to have an extra fish tank cover for a 48"x18''x18'' lying around collecting dust??

i have my tank setup a while now, but cuz i am not working i cannot afford a cover for my tank... if anyone can assist

please

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 7th, 2010, 10:53 am

Did a test on my office tank using a Tetra EasyStrip 5in1.

NO3 - 50 ppm
NO2 - 10 ppm
GH - 280 ppm
KH - 180 ppm
pH - 7.6

Comments?

netsket

Postby netsket » April 8th, 2010, 8:31 am

WTK. Crushed Coral

where sells crushed coral at the best price?

price?

location?

cost?

contact?

Also, can crushed coral be used in a freshwater tank safely?

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » April 8th, 2010, 8:58 am

norstar2k wrote:Did a test on my office tank using a Tetra EasyStrip 5in1.

NO3 - 50 ppm
NO2 - 10 ppm
GH - 280 ppm
KH - 180 ppm
pH - 7.6

Comments?

Your PH Is Way to high.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 8th, 2010, 9:44 am

AGENT RORO wrote:

NO3 - 50 ppm
NO2 - 10 ppm
GH - 280 ppm
KH - 180 ppm
pH - 7.6

Comments?

Your PH Is Way to high.

I was wondering about that, but the chart lists 6.8-8.0 as NORMAL

Postby foss » April 8th, 2010, 10:25 am

foss wrote:
foss wrote:does anyone happen to have an extra fish tank cover for a 48"x18''x18'' lying around collecting dust??

please

netsket

Postby netsket » April 9th, 2010, 1:44 pm

netsket wrote:WTK. Crushed Coral

where sells crushed coral at the best price?

price?

location?

cost?

contact?

Also, can crushed coral be used in a freshwater tank safely?

????????

link

Postby link » April 9th, 2010, 3:36 pm

use oyster shells instead

link

Postby link » April 9th, 2010, 3:38 pm

norstar2k wrote:
AGENT RORO wrote:

NO3 - 50 ppm
NO2 - 10 ppm
GH - 280 ppm
KH - 180 ppm
pH - 7.6

Comments?

Your PH Is Way to high.

I was wondering about that, but the chart lists 6.8-8.0 as NORMAL

why rush things...it looks to me as though the tank is just about established...give things 2 days more & retest...u shud find abt 7.2 pH & slightly lower NO2

link

Postby link » April 9th, 2010, 6:25 pm

need a big, quality shubunkin female/s for breeding purposes....must be less than 12 mths old...
pls adv

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 9th, 2010, 11:30 pm

Thanks link.

link

Postby link » April 10th, 2010, 7:54 am

link wrote:need a big, quality shubunkin female/s for breeding purposes....must be less than 12 mths old...
pls adv

now that I'm looking back at this wtg...it seems more like an ad in the personals :lol: :lol: :lol:

chit8238

Postby chit8238 » April 10th, 2010, 10:13 am

link wrote:
link wrote:need a big, quality shubunkin female/s for breeding purposes....must be less than 12 mths old...
pls adv

now that I'm looking back at this wtg...it seems more like an ad in the personals :lol: :lol: :lol:

:) LOL. I agree!

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 10th, 2010, 10:18 pm

Agent Roro , a big thank you for your help today and this is a note and we'll see how long they last , i just put them in and it was enough , not packed but nearly, a very nice set up you have there , crystal clear water and those plants had me dreaming :oops: