Dohplaydat

Re: Carnival 2024

Postby Dohplaydat » February 14th, 2024, 6:29 pm

redmanjp wrote:
wing wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Road march right here.

is a nice song but cant touch DNA- didn't even come in the top 3 :roll:

DNA is not a fun road march song, if you measure actual vibes on stage Kes was.much better

Postby bluefete » February 14th, 2024, 7:18 pm

DMan7 wrote:Screenshot 2024-02-14 133733.jpg

You went to the school of white light and dead people orrr?

Postby bluefete » February 14th, 2024, 7:20 pm

K74T wrote:
wing wrote:
bluefete wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
bluefete wrote:Soca mafia working overtime to have Bunji win road march. Serious overtime.

The oldest conspiracy theory is still alive I see

LOL. You are not hearing what I am.
Lmao, homeboy hearing wrong as usual.

Were you on the road Mon and Tues? Did you hear the effort?

Did you know Bunji's song is allegedly on Monk's label? (Still trying to verify that though I got it from a supposedly good source).

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 14th, 2024, 7:26 pm

bluefete wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Screenshot 2024-02-14 133733.jpg

You went to the school of white light and dead people orrr?

The school of massy :lol:

wing

Postby wing » February 14th, 2024, 7:28 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
wing wrote:

DNA is not a fun road march song, if you measure actual vibes on stage Kes was.much better
It's just your opinion. Move on, maybe next year you will be satisfied. Better yet, compose a perfect road march song that appeals to everyone.

Postby Dave » February 14th, 2024, 8:05 pm

bluefete wrote:
K74T wrote:
wing wrote:
bluefete wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
bluefete wrote:Soca mafia working overtime to have Bunji win road march. Serious overtime.

The oldest conspiracy theory is still alive I see

LOL. You are not hearing what I am.
Lmao, homeboy hearing wrong as usual.

Were you on the road Mon and Tues? Did you hear the effort?

Did you know Bunji's song is allegedly on Monk's label? (Still trying to verify that though I got it from a supposedly good source).
Credits at the end of the video says Monk.

Postby bluefete » February 14th, 2024, 9:15 pm

Thanks Dave because I have not seen the video.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 15th, 2024, 6:20 am

wing wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
wing wrote:

It's just your opinion. Move on, maybe next year you will be satisfied. Better yet, compose a perfect road march song that appeals to everyone.

Just reporting as I see it. Road march competition is rigged.

wing

Postby wing » February 15th, 2024, 6:55 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
wing wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
wing wrote:

By whom? The so called mafia couldn't make bunji win. Teja probably had the song that more people liked, and you had a different song that you liked. It's ok that people's opinions count other than yours. Hopefully next year your choice will win. Anyway, by Friday all these songs will be consigned to the dustbin in favor of the dancehall and urban crap.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 15th, 2024, 7:04 am

wing wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
wing wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
wing wrote:

By whom? The so called mafia couldn't make bunji win. Teja probably had the song that more people liked, and you had a different song that you liked. It's ok that people's opinions count other than yours. Hopefully next year your choice will win. Anyway, by Friday all these songs will be consigned to the dustbin in favor of the dancehall and urban crap.

By people with their own preferences, it's not a public voting competition (and it shouldn't be either) is what I mean. And Teja song is good, but as a road march stage song, it's a bit dead.

All I'm saying is if you observe which song people are getting into the most on the stage, it's not DNA.

Postby pugboy » February 15th, 2024, 7:18 am

how they plan to deal with the continued band traffic jam ?

Postby Dizzy28 » February 15th, 2024, 9:50 am

My entire Carnival experience for 2024 was a hour in Jouvert in Bago.
IMO if I was a mas player Bunji really was the song I would have wanted to cross the stage with and not DNA. Carnival Contract hit different on a truck on the road. That's just me though.

Big up Mical Teja. The future of soca looks bright!!

Postby Les Bain » February 15th, 2024, 10:41 am

I didn't care for the millenial whoop element in DNA but this is another year of the musical trend that moved the Hot Song away from power soca rag flag jump and wave overkill.

Postby maj. tom » February 15th, 2024, 12:01 pm

The trend that local producers are picking up on is more the classic pop formula that was used for decades in the past. We are past the soca flag jump and wave era and the younger audience is going back to the 80s pop formula. Just like what's going on in America right now with the largest superstar and her call back to it in her album 1989 .

So let's get a major scale because it's happy vibes. Work out a chord progression on the idea and demo tune. And the producers would have worked with this to bring out this outstanding tune for the season. The formula works! The vibe is uplifting happiness.

I work it out to be E major chord progression in 1-6-4-5
But in E-flat to match his baritone voice range. E C#m A B

phpBB [media]

https://sndup.net/ph89/

Postby Monk BANzai » February 15th, 2024, 1:38 pm

wing wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
wing wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
wing wrote:

In yuh little bubble.. you DO KNOW that some dj's refused to play Bunji's song even on request by masqueraders right (inclusive of NCC sponsonred events)?..... just a reminder...may not be a cabal.... but prejudice was there..

:twisted:

Postby pugboy » February 15th, 2024, 2:10 pm

thank god yes
eradicating that rag nonsense also automatically means that the “artistes” need to be a bit better qualified to sing too
no more relying on “where yuh rag” shouting for lyrics

Les Bain wrote:I didn't care for the millenial whoop element in DNA but this is another year of the musical trend that moved the Hot Song away from power soca rag flag jump and wave overkill.

Postby Dave » February 15th, 2024, 3:34 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:
wing wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
wing wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
wing wrote:

In yuh little bubble.. you DO KNOW that some dj's refused to play Bunji's song even on request by masqueraders right (inclusive of NCC sponsonred events)?..... just a reminder...may not be a cabal.... but prejudice was there..

:twisted:
From the days when customs started accepting gifts...

Postby eliteauto » February 15th, 2024, 4:05 pm

So DNA man a relative newcomer was able to assemble a powerful anti-soca-mafia team strong enough to call shots with the road DJs? So he's the Spirit Mas of soca? Yeah ok

Postby pugboy » February 15th, 2024, 4:10 pm

well the mafia was studying books. eh

eliteauto wrote:So DNA man a relative newcomer was able to assemble a powerful anti-soca-mafia team strong enough to call shots with the road DJs? So he's the Spirit Mas of soca? Yeah ok

Postby maj. tom » February 15th, 2024, 4:35 pm

One song is about 128 bpm, and the other is about 148 bpm. Big difference for dancing stamina on the road. Plus the slower song is much more melodic. On it's own Carnival Contract is like a hip hop soca masterpiece. The video was shot in a high aspect ratio close to Cinemascope so it gave that premium viewing experience.

But alongside the competition for Road March he had to make room for another this year. Compare to last year when the Top 3 were all high >150 bpm songs and Bunji won with Hard Fete.

Postby redmanjp » February 15th, 2024, 5:15 pm

pugboy wrote:well the mafia was studying books. eh

eliteauto wrote:So DNA man a relative newcomer was able to assemble a powerful anti-soca-mafia team strong enough to call shots with the road DJs? So he's the Spirit Mas of soca? Yeah ok

and winning calypso monarch.

Postby redmanjp » February 15th, 2024, 5:16 pm

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 15th, 2024, 5:26 pm

maj. tom wrote:One song is about 128 bpm, and the other is about 148 bpm. Big difference for dancing stamina on the road. Plus the slower song is much more melodic. On it's own Carnival Contract is like a hip hop soca masterpiece. The video was shot in a high aspect ratio close to Cinemascope so it gave that premium viewing experience.

But alongside the competition for Road March he had to make room for another this year. Compare to last year when the Top 3 were all high >150 bpm songs and Bunji won with Hard Fete.

What was used to measure the bpm?

Postby maj. tom » February 15th, 2024, 5:40 pm

A tap tempo sampler and a mouse. You can try it yourself. You will get an approximate value. And then do it many more times to get an average.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 15th, 2024, 6:24 pm

redmanjp wrote:

Mical Teja also won Young Kings
https://newsday.co.tt/2024/02/01/new-yo ... n-of-love/

Postby eliteauto » February 15th, 2024, 6:32 pm

redmanjp wrote:

Mical Teja also won Young Kings
https://newsday.co.tt/2024/02/01/new-yo ... n-of-love/

With a song with the BPM of most EDM songs? Yeah definitely too slow for de road. And his song was played by one of the 2 winning Panorama bands.

This ain't a cartel this is obeah

Postby bluefete » February 15th, 2024, 6:46 pm

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carnival_Road_March

Road marches from 1834 - 2024. Look at the varying BPM's in each one. In earlier times, there was no - this too slow for the road. Good songs were played for road march as long as people like them.

Most interesting from 1956-2024.

Postby maj. tom » February 15th, 2024, 6:53 pm

I'm not saying there's a correlation to bpm and winning. I'm saying that this song bpm was just right with the right melody and tune for the road that the artist and producers worked very hard on and came up with a winning formula for 2024 compared to the next on the list. There is no mafia! It's just good music!

Postby pugboy » February 15th, 2024, 6:55 pm

them radio jocks who work for the mafia group was trying to justify their predictions based on bpm