Re: Tenants Vs Landlords

Postby pugboy » September 5th, 2023, 11:17 am

what grounds you used for eviction ?

Postby Chimera » September 5th, 2023, 11:26 am

had a tenant a time who when she left, stole everything from the doors to the light sockets to the sink faucet

Postby bluefete » September 5th, 2023, 1:40 pm

pugboy wrote:what grounds you used for eviction ?

Drive-by shooting was enough reason because it meant that someone in the house was a target. There were young children in the house at the same time and I did not want my name calling as the owner of a house in which little children were killed in a drive by.

I also used endangerment to nearby residents of the community.

Also damage to property caused by the bullets (inside and outside the house).

Postby MaxPower » September 5th, 2023, 3:35 pm

Is there a Sufferer thread we can merge this one with?

Just asking

Postby The_Honourable » September 5th, 2023, 4:50 pm

MaxPower wrote:Is there a Sufferer thread we can merge this one with?

Just asking

One of the greatest cheds: viewtopic.php?t=540707

Postby 88sins » September 5th, 2023, 7:38 pm

pugboy wrote:the last thing you want is police coming to search your apt because of a suspect living there or a tipoff
them popo does rip apart everything when they seaching, ceiling mashing up

boi, u see dat? worse yet if u renting it furnished. yuh couch, bed, everything go get mashup, because some of them fellas does get dey kix off mashin up ting

hadda be very careful who in yuh place boi. it go make it hard for the good ones, but what yuh go do?

Postby 88sins » September 5th, 2023, 7:46 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:had a tenant a time who when she left, stole everything from the doors to the light sockets to the sink faucet

Sounds like she was building something to live in and use your apartment as a free hardware. Is either that, or she REALLY didn't like you.

That's why it's good practice, as a landlord, if at all possible, to be present when tenants leaving, particularly to conduct your inspection. After inspection, and all good, look yuh deposit, and fare thee well.
Things damage and missing, what deposit? You will get what left after I fix the damage you did and replace what missing, if there's anything left.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 5th, 2023, 9:10 pm

Is it a good idea to rent out empty rooms in the same house you're residing at?
Is this a recipe for disaster?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 5th, 2023, 9:53 pm

AlphaMan wrote:Is it a good idea to rent out empty rooms in the same house you're residing at?

Madness

Postby supercharged turbo » September 6th, 2023, 1:16 am

One thing I could have never seen myself doing is building apartments for rent or renting out part of my house to strangers.Something about that financial investment is just not for me.Have a piece of land I'm currently developing and everyone in the area thinks it for apartments.Idk what giving them that idea but this thread just cement my thoughts on that topic.Idk how allyuh going through all that with people

Postby pugboy » September 6th, 2023, 7:49 am

many landlords really dont care, it is a business(as it should be)

they hire a property manager to deal with the issues of them sufferers and there is no connection between
the landlord's living standards and what they renting out

supercharged turbo wrote:One thing I could have never seen myself doing is building apartments for rent or renting out part of my house to strangers.Something about that financial investment is just not for me.Have a piece of land I'm currently developing and everyone in the area thinks it for apartments.Idk what giving them that idea but this thread just cement my thoughts on that topic.Idk how allyuh going through all that with people

Postby Chimera » September 6th, 2023, 8:00 am

It's a great investment to hand down to your kids as well. Basically guaranteed income and an asset that can be used for further development.

Postby Les Bain » September 6th, 2023, 11:02 am

AlphaMan wrote:Is it a good idea to rent out empty rooms in the same house you're residing at?

At best it would be very awkward.

Realistically, it's a terrible idea. I can't imagine such an arrangement involving the worst people I encountered in my renting days.

Postby The_Honourable » September 6th, 2023, 11:09 am

If you're in a deep financial hole and need some cashflow, it's a good idea.

Other than to that, NAH!!! Decline in privacy, higher chance of petty complaints, dealing with visitors/strangers, tenants pocket watching, and pet peeves you didn't know you have. According to the tenants you get their behaviors might be a turn off. If there are disagreements, there is the possibility it can get volatile. Worse if you are trying to get rid of them and now you have to live with that bad energy and tension in and around your own home.

Also when you start renting the same place you live, family members who looking for a place will pop up and expect you to "give them" the place, drop price, and several blighs. If you are too nice and lack assertiveness, they bold enough to take over.

Postby Rovin » September 6th, 2023, 11:34 am

plenty ppl live upstairs their house & rent their downstairs but i wouldnt advise renting out adjacent on d same level ...

Postby pugboy » September 6th, 2023, 12:00 pm

lol and the relatives will be counting your rent for you and refer to you as “have apartments”

The_Honourable wrote:Also when you start renting the same place you live, family members who looking for a place will pop up and expect you to "give them" the place, drop price, and several blighs. If you are too nice and lack assertiveness, they bold enough to take over.

Postby Chimera » September 6th, 2023, 12:21 pm

Lol u know the thing

A relative of mine have 10 apartments in aranguez and it gonna take him 15 years to see profit on it cuz of bank loans etc....but his relatives counting his rent money more than him

Postby pugboy » September 6th, 2023, 5:36 pm

Postby 88sins » September 6th, 2023, 7:10 pm

is a good idea.
if you like problems

Postby 88sins » September 6th, 2023, 7:23 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:One thing I could have never seen myself doing is building apartments for rent or renting out part of my house to strangers.Something about that financial investment is just not for me.Have a piece of land I'm currently developing and everyone in the area thinks it for apartments.Idk what giving them that idea but this thread just cement my thoughts on that topic.Idk how allyuh going through all that with people

Understandable. Is not really something for anybody and everybody. There's benefits, and headaches to it.
What I will say is this.
It's a solid secure investment, if you know how to do it right, and not just for yourself immediately. It's a business that can generate revenue to support you in your later years, and also a very good way to give future generations a head start.

If your parents say they leaving you 3-4 rental properties that can net you an easy 15-20K/month, yuh gonna tell them "nah, me eh able wid dat sell it an gimme de morney"?

Postby MaxPower » September 6th, 2023, 9:31 pm

Ewwww no, unless you desperate AF.

Me personally cannot stand the unhygienic habits of strangers in my home. If its not the old noise it’s the mess and the stench.

Postby j.o.e » September 7th, 2023, 11:32 am

Not a good idea in my opinion. Maybe on the rare case you get someone who works offshore or something. I mean 2 weeks on/ 2 weeks off kinda vibes.

Postby Chimera » October 21st, 2023, 10:44 am

chinda.jpg

i dunno na

you renting 20 years and supposedly everything in order....
that eh making sense...u cudda get a loan and buy a house instead of renting by now

but....look at her outlook on things na

and she want apartment that not taking deposit and allowing kids

she talking about nepotism and preference lol

of course a landlord would choose the best tenant for the place.....thats fairly obvious

Postby The_Honourable » October 21st, 2023, 3:33 pm

Chimera wrote:chinda.jpg

i dunno na

that eh making sense...u cudda get a loan and buy a house instead of renting by now

of course a landlord would choose the best tenant for the place.....thats fairly obvious

While I empathize with her a bit, and she does have a point with the person being unprofessional, 4 children and 20 years renting?

You're right, if she found a decent place and took a typical 30 year mortgage, she would have 10 years remaining. It would not be easy and she would have to hold plenty strain with 4 children but at least she would be on the homestretch.

Postby 88sins » October 21st, 2023, 3:53 pm

Chimera wrote:chinda.jpg

i dunno na

No deposit/deposit paid in installment + kids = HARD PASS
yuh want privacy? to view an apartment? No problem, that "privacy" go cost you a $500 non-refundable fee, and you need to make an appointment. With your appointment, you get 5 minutes grace, if you late, hard luck, I gone, pay another $500 and make a new appointment and learn to be on time/early and stop running on "trini time"

This way, yuh done kno, my place in order, I a good bit more serious than you, and I eh playing with my rent either. It eh have no "ahm, ah go handle yuh next 2 weeks boi boss, weh ah wukkin dey victimisin meh" in dis bidness

Postby paid_influencer » October 21st, 2023, 4:36 pm

lemme just chime in here, in defence of the worker...

she talking about renting an apartment, you wondering why she didn't take a loan to buy a house..

maybe, like most people on the island that live below the living wage, she couldn't afford to buy a house. Renting a fraction of a house (an apartment) is all she could afford from trading her labour.

and where are all the affordable houses in areas close to employment. (don't say HDC). the other day a man show me a plot of caroni land (2 acre) that zoned for agriculture and tell me he asking $500k, land alone, only thing you could do with it is hunt locust and snail. I want to know what kinda madness going on with land speculation that driving land prices into insanity, far and away from the level that the ordinary worker can afford.

Postby paid_influencer » October 21st, 2023, 5:21 pm

also the lady say "family of four"
so maybe two working adults and two children
her posts making her seem reasonable or at least considerate of the other party.

that first place she rented 20+ years ago would have been pre-kids, so likely a 1br or a studio. those types of apartments are normally less stringent about deposit and documentation. I really ent see anything there that so hard about what she asking, which is just a basic level of consideration.
381178368_122100703574058130_2408469217460616460_n.jpg

Postby pugboy » October 21st, 2023, 6:13 pm

boy small chirren does bring a diff dynamic to the place
i see a tenant get hopping vex because a next tenant chile throw some lil toy out their window upstairs and land on his car and scratch it.
plus the noise and playing in the common area etc

death365

Postby death365 » October 26th, 2023, 5:25 pm

Just leaving this here ... for future reference....

SmartSelect_20231026_172141_Loop%20News.jpg

Postby Chimera » October 26th, 2023, 8:27 pm

pugboy wrote:boy small chirren does bring a diff dynamic to the place
i see a tenant get hopping vex because a next tenant chile throw some lil toy out their window upstairs and land on his car and scratch it.
plus the noise and playing in the common area etc
Small kids mean flushed diapers and wipes. Damaged furnishings and walls. Clogged pipes.
Damage to other tenants property/vehicles. Then the whole risk of having children on the whole on premises.