POST-CARNIVAL 2023 Question (page 7)

Re: CARNIVAL 2023

Postby Monk BANzai » February 18th, 2023, 11:57 am

steups.... look.... hold some heauxes in these carnival streets...

The rest here....
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?van ... 0087771517

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 18th, 2023, 12:15 pm

Welcome back sir rasta

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » February 18th, 2023, 1:06 pm

Postby MaxPower » February 18th, 2023, 2:45 pm

Aye Trinis how are you all enjoying the festivities?

I take it were are partaking responsibly and utilizing all waste disposal options. In the wine, jam and grind, we must be cognizant of our environment.

Have a safe Carnival and a productive post work day.

Rx

Postby Rx » February 18th, 2023, 7:01 pm

Banzai!!!

Niceeee.....

Postby goalpost » February 18th, 2023, 7:48 pm

Hearing not do good things about Machel fete.

Postby gastly369 » February 19th, 2023, 12:59 am

goalpost wrote:Hearing not do good things about Machel fete.
Same ppl going take loan or thief to go in 2024

Postby pugboy » February 19th, 2023, 4:10 am

i live in woodbrook, didn’t hear much
slept right thru
like they had technical issues

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 19th, 2023, 6:19 am

From reading some reviews, listening to a few stories...

One word: gobar!!!!either way machel still end up with a nice piece ah dinero

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 19th, 2023, 7:21 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

From reading some reviews, listening to a few stories...

One word: gobar!!!!either way machel still end up with a nice piece ah dinero

I never liked Machel Monday, always felt too slow, poor flow from performer to performer, too performative (lots of fake pandering to the audience) and too much stand up vibes from the crowd, also some of the worst bars ever.

Compare a fete like that to some of the big wet fetes, two completely different types of events.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 19th, 2023, 7:48 am

Went a few years running with the better half. Always did not like the layout and logistics, access to refreshments and the bathroom.

Letters to the Editor Today and New Reports, give accounts of what occurred. One patron said they took over 2 hours to reach the stadium north from the south of the stadium.

Postby hover11 » February 19th, 2023, 9:03 am

If Machel decided to have a show again come next month, I’m sure it’ll be sold out again, despite all the complaints.Funny how people would complain about a line at a public service institution when conducting business but have no problem waiting two hours for a gate to open and be quite fine with it.

wing

Postby wing » February 19th, 2023, 9:09 am

hover11 wrote:If Machel decided to have a show again come next month, I’m sure it’ll be sold out again, despite all the complaints.Funny how people would complain about a line at a public service institution when conducting business but have no problem waiting two hours for a gate to open and be quite fine with it.
The last few posts were literally about people complaining about waiting for hours without explanation.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 19th, 2023, 9:12 am

Sums it up
IMG-20230219-WA0018.jpg

Postby maj. tom » February 19th, 2023, 11:27 am

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/machel-montano-40-logistical-issues-butsoca-artistes-performance-saves-the-day-6.2.1637402.b4d8e26703

There was a traffic nightmare along Wrightson Road as patrons were anxious to see Montano's first concert on home soil since staging his last Machel Monday show in 2020. If you were one of those patrons who listened to Montano's urgings to reach the stadium at the 6 pm opening time, you might have been able to get a good park. Some of the usual parking venues were either closed or pre-booked. It left patrons parking on the surrounding grass, pavements or far away street where there was no security.

If you purchased a ticket for the Diamond tier, you had secured parking with a private entrance. However, many had to forsake their parking because of long queues and other issues with getting into the venue.

Those who arrived at 6 pm lined up outside the stadium waiting for the gates to open. Patrons complained heavily, but there was a lack of information from the promoter. The gates eventually opened at 9 pm. But it was not until 10 pm that the show started, which included a few underwhelming opening acts. There were some frustrating periods when a DJ would play long sessions of old soca, leaving the audience standing still.

Those in general admission voiced their displeasure openly. After the drama outside, the sound system was inadequate for the section in the back. Understanding what the artistes were saying was often challenging, and even though there were screens at the front of the stage, it was too far for proper viewing.

Patrons took their displeasure with the event to social media, with several calling the concert a failure. Some were displeased with the Afrobeats. Some wished they kept their ticket money and used it for another event or stayed home.

"Dear Machel, this is by far the worst concert I have even been to in my life," one social media user wrote.
Another patron complained about the late opening of the gates and insufficient parking.
"I ended up not even getting inside because, absolutely no parking. One set of traffic and nobody could go anywhere. I wasted my good money on overpriced tickets. When I saw him in Barclays in NYC, the experience was the complete opposite."

I find it amusing that all these problems were just purely Trini venue incompetence and terrible organization. The promoter who is supposed to handle the crowd, etc. and Event Management who would oversee the rig and sound crew for the stadium full of sheit, but I sure they get paid the full amount. Any other place and event in the world Machel doing a show...no problem. But in Trinidad for the biggest event of the year.....

CARNIVAL 2023

Postby MaxPower » February 19th, 2023, 11:31 am

And you Trinis fall for it every single time.

It good for allyuh.

Money well spent tho, enjoy the investment returns.

Btw….how come waiting in the License Office for hours doesn’t make headlines?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 19th, 2023, 11:33 am

maj. tom wrote:
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/machel-montano-40-logistical-issues-butsoca-artistes-performance-saves-the-day-6.2.1637402.b4d8e26703

There was a traffic nightmare along Wrightson Road as patrons were anxious to see Montano's first concert on home soil since staging his last Machel Monday show in 2020. If you were one of those patrons who listened to Montano's urgings to reach the stadium at the 6 pm opening time, you might have been able to get a good park. Some of the usual parking venues were either closed or pre-booked. It left patrons parking on the surrounding grass, pavements or far away street where there was no security.

If you purchased a ticket for the Diamond tier, you had secured parking with a private entrance. However, many had to forsake their parking because of long queues and other issues with getting into the venue.

Those who arrived at 6 pm lined up outside the stadium waiting for the gates to open. Patrons complained heavily, but there was a lack of information from the promoter. The gates eventually opened at 9 pm. But it was not until 10 pm that the show started, which included a few underwhelming opening acts. There were some frustrating periods when a DJ would play long sessions of old soca, leaving the audience standing still.

Those in general admission voiced their displeasure openly. After the drama outside, the sound system was inadequate for the section in the back. Understanding what the artistes were saying was often challenging, and even though there were screens at the front of the stage, it was too far for proper viewing.

Patrons took their displeasure with the event to social media, with several calling the concert a failure. Some were displeased with the Afrobeats. Some wished they kept their ticket money and used it for another event or stayed home.

"Dear Machel, this is by far the worst concert I have even been to in my life," one social media user wrote.
Another patron complained about the late opening of the gates and insufficient parking.
"I ended up not even getting inside because, absolutely no parking. One set of traffic and nobody could go anywhere. I wasted my good money on overpriced tickets. When I saw him in Barclays in NYC, the experience was the complete opposite."

I find it amusing that all these problems were just purely Trini venue incompetence and terrible organization. The promoter who is supposed to handle the crowd, etc. and Event Management who would oversee the rig and sound crew for the stadium full of sheit, but I sure they get paid the full amount. Any other place and event in the world Machel doing a show...no problem. But in Trinidad for the biggest event of the year.....

It's incredible the difference a promoter makes. Looking back at Soaka till sunrise a month ago, no traffic whats so ever. Probably the most efficient security, cooler check and wrist band check entry I've seen in any event world wide.

Vibes was totally on point, excellent DJs building the hype and energy.

I am in no way associates with WOW Events, them actually doh like me at all, but their operations at fetes is almost flawless.

Postby eliteauto » February 19th, 2023, 11:37 am

MM should go back to the post carnival Ash Wednesday show he used to have at Zen. I'm a fan and enjoyed those kind of low volume concerts. Maybe at NAPA. Never went a Machel Monday or the show Friday but me and my team have made money of every one of those shows. Double M FTW

Postby pugboy » February 19th, 2023, 1:09 pm

tell dem, every time
sheep

MaxPower wrote:And you Trinis fall for it every single time.

It good for allyuh.

Money well spent tho, enjoy the investment returns.

Btw….how come waiting in the License Office for hours doesn’t make headlines?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 19th, 2023, 1:18 pm

Yuh see that uk tourist who was shot in that double murder on the avenue....Give it some time and wait for the backlash

Postby hover11 » February 19th, 2023, 1:28 pm

She was discharged, there are many travel advisories against travel to here so ppl come here at their own risk, I guessing she was aware of this.

Postby pugboy » February 19th, 2023, 2:17 pm

johnny q getting licks for the sound system, laundry used to use rent a amp for donkey years

Postby MaxPower » February 19th, 2023, 2:25 pm

hover11 wrote:She was discharged, there are many travel advisories against travel to here so ppl come here at their own risk, I guessing she was aware of this.

She was aware, but yet still T&T convinced her to come saying it was “safe”.

She wasn’t in Laventille or Maloney…she wasn’t in a secluded area. And look what happened.

VII

Postby VII » February 19th, 2023, 2:47 pm

F@kin pests...

Postby paid_influencer » February 19th, 2023, 3:13 pm

carnival have some good points but now is also the showcase of the worst of t&t. crime, violence, racialism, alcoholism, adultery, exploitation, irresponsibility -- yes it have tourists who want to indulge here but it ent good for the country. from tonight people getting aids and unplanned pregnancies as little gifts of carnival

Postby pugboy » February 19th, 2023, 4:58 pm

she was in the south beach of the caribbran

hover11 wrote:She was discharged, there are many travel advisories against travel to here so ppl come here at their own risk, I guessing she was aware of this.

She was aware, but yet still T&T convinced her to come saying it was “safe”.

She wasn’t in Laventille or Maloney…she wasn’t in a secluded area. And look what happened.

Postby MaxPower » February 19th, 2023, 5:04 pm

hover11 wrote:If Machel decided to have a show again come next month, I’m sure it’ll be sold out again, despite all the complaints.Funny how people would complain about a line at a public service institution when conducting business but have no problem waiting two hours for a gate to open and be quite fine with it.

Trinis should be the last people on this planet to be complaining about “waiting”.

Postby pugboy » February 19th, 2023, 5:41 pm

Yeah but the ppl who going machel aren’t the same ppl lining up at licensing office

Postby MaxPower » February 19th, 2023, 6:25 pm

pugboy wrote:Yeah but the ppl who going machel aren’t the same ppl lining up at licensing office

Ummmm what?

Postby bluefete » February 19th, 2023, 9:05 pm

ABSOLUTE CRAP singing on my TV for Calypso Monarch right now.

Some woman only schreeching. Me ent know who.