Re: Is T&T Ready To Be Cashless?

Postby zoom rader » November 27th, 2024, 10:01 pm

j.o.e wrote:
pugboy wrote:going cashless will allow govt full control
just like how they do with usd

You think the govt doesn’t have control of your bank accounts ?
You think the govt can’t phase out your cash ?
Yall really need to take off the tin foil hats.
If you don’t want to use a digital system that’s fine, just allow a system for those who are willing to.
The developed countries want nothing to do with cashless BS.

Quoting India is pack of BS

Wrong again Zoomie

Which countries are closest to a cashless society?

It’s difficult to quantify this question and provide a definite answer, especially as the studies on this are hard to carry out across numerous countries. Typically, we’re relying on each country’s data and approach to cashless payments. But based on current data trends, we can say that the following countries are the closest to becoming cashless:

Norway

Norway has an unbanked population of 0%, meaning every single citizen has a bank account. Only around 2% of payments in the country are made with cash.

With 32 ATMs per 100,000 people, Norway is currently one of the most likely countries to become a cashless society.

Finland

Finland has similar numbers to Norway, with 0% of the population being unbanked and 37 ATMs per 100,000 people. The Bank of Finland estimates that banknotes will no longer be in use by the end of 2029.

Sweden

Sweden was the first country to issue banknotes, however, it is now one of the leading countries to use mobile payments. Sweden’s usage of mobile payments is also very high, accounting for around 20% of transactions. Currently, only 1% of payments in the country are made with cash.

According to some predictions, Sweden should already be cashless, but that hasn’t happened yet, largely due to elderly people still using it.

Following in the steps of Finland and Norway, 0% of its population is unbanked.

China

Compared to the other countries on this list, a lot of China’s population is reliant on cash. However, in 2020, the Chinese government rolled out an experiment to see how well digital currency would function. This experiment was so successful that it is now expected that China will become a cashless country in the near future.

Digital payments are so popular that China has now made it easier for foreign visitors to make cashless payments. Previously, a Chinese bank account was needed to use popular payment apps Alipay and Wechat, however, visitors can now link their bank account to these apps.

New Zealand

New Zealand boasts a hefty 54 ATMs per 100,000 people and has an unbanked population of 1%. However, the cyclone that hit NZ in February has exposed the risks of cashless payments as cash machines and payment services were wiped out. New Zealanders found themselves unable to buy necessities, forcing the central bank to reconsider the importance cash can play in societies.

United Kingdom

In the UK, 17% of consumers prefer paying by cash, however, this is a much larger figure compared to other countries on this list. Despite this, the UK is still one of the leading countries for cashless payments which is why many businesses are considering whether or not to go cashless.

The UK has one of the highest ratios of ATMS, with 99 ATMs per 100,000 people.

Even doing 20% of your transactions digitally is very good. So there will be room for the people who like the old school way. Simple.

None of them have gone cashless, rubber talk

Try harder

Postby paid_influencer » November 27th, 2024, 10:39 pm

can we not post chatgpt without quotation marks

bc it hallucinates

it is a program that is very good at writing convincing lies

flag it as such

Postby paid_influencer » November 27th, 2024, 10:52 pm

like this for example

j.o.e/chatgpt wrote:Finland

The Bank of Finland estimates that banknotes will no longer be in use by the end of 2029.

no source is quoted, and we don't know who, when or where that claim was made and under what context. the claim comes from chatgpt so you have to actually go ahead and do the research to get that contextual information.

now that's fine. it could be appropriate, but you have to go through the trouble of doing that research. not just blindly copy/pasting.

especially if it is a really long blob like that one with multiple claims therein.

Postby zoom rader » November 27th, 2024, 11:17 pm

paid_influencer wrote:like this for example

The Bank of Finland estimates that banknotes will no longer be in use by the end of 2029.

no source is quoted, and we don't know who, when or where that claim was made and under what context. the claim comes from chatgpt so you have to actually go ahead and do the research to get that contextual information.

now that's fine. it could be appropriate, but you have to go through the trouble of doing that research. not just blindly copy/pasting.

especially if it is a really long blob like that one with multiple claims therein.
Idiots like Joe are born every day.

He's only pushing a PNM agenda.

Physically buying with cash makes you think twice about spending ur hard earned cash.

The banks are pushing this nonsense cause they stand to make billions, but they won't tell you this.

Its a psychological trick to use cards, digital money and credit cards. The banks play this game with you.

Postby zoom rader » November 27th, 2024, 11:18 pm

Postby zoom rader » November 27th, 2024, 11:20 pm

https://www.surrey.ac.uk/news/cash-king ... less-world

Cash is king ,

But Idiots like Joe are hoodwinked on PNM & the banks propaganda

Postby zoom rader » November 27th, 2024, 11:22 pm

Postby j.o.e » November 28th, 2024, 6:25 am

j.o.e wrote:

If you don’t want to use a digital system that’s fine, just allow a system for those who are willing to.

Wrong again Zoomie

It’s difficult to quantify this question and provide a definite answer, especially as the studies on this are hard to carry out across numerous countries. Typically, we’re relying on each country’s data and approach to cashless payments. But based on current data trends, we can say that the following countries are the closest to becoming cashless:

Norway

Norway has an unbanked population of 0%, meaning every single citizen has a bank account. Only around 2% of payments in the country are made with cash.

With 32 ATMs per 100,000 people, Norway is currently one of the most likely countries to become a cashless society.

Finland

Finland has similar numbers to Norway, with 0% of the population being unbanked and 37 ATMs per 100,000 people. The Bank of Finland estimates that banknotes will no longer be in use by the end of 2029.

Sweden

Sweden was the first country to issue banknotes, however, it is now one of the leading countries to use mobile payments. Sweden’s usage of mobile payments is also very high, accounting for around 20% of transactions. Currently, only 1% of payments in the country are made with cash.

According to some predictions, Sweden should already be cashless, but that hasn’t happened yet, largely due to elderly people still using it.

China

Compared to the other countries on this list, a lot of China’s population is reliant on cash. However, in 2020, the Chinese government rolled out an experiment to see how well digital currency would function. This experiment was so successful that it is now expected that China will become a cashless country in the near future.

Digital payments are so popular that China has now made it easier for foreign visitors to make cashless payments. Previously, a Chinese bank account was needed to use popular payment apps Alipay and Wechat, however, visitors can now link their bank account to these apps.

New Zealand

New Zealand boasts a hefty 54 ATMs per 100,000 people and has an unbanked population of 1%. However, the cyclone that hit NZ in February has exposed the risks of cashless payments as cash machines and payment services were wiped out. New Zealanders found themselves unable to buy necessities, forcing the central bank to reconsider the importance cash can play in societies.

United Kingdom

In the UK, 17% of consumers prefer paying by cash, however, this is a much larger figure compared to other countries on this list. Despite this, the UK is still one of the leading countries for cashless payments which is why many businesses are considering whether or not to go cashless.

Even doing 20% of your transactions digitally is very good. So there will be room for the people who like the old school way. Simple.

Try harder

Again no one is saying NO cash…… but you can introduce more cashless options. India is NOT cashless, UK is not cashless. Allyuh could move a mc goal post bai lawd.

Postby j.o.e » November 28th, 2024, 6:26 am

Physically buying with cash makes you think twice about spending ur hard earned cash.

The banks are pushing this nonsense cause they stand to make billions, but they won't tell you this.

Its a psychological trick to use cards, digital money and credit cards. The banks play this game with you.

Are you suggesting you don’t use cards zoom ? Not even debit cards ?

Postby paid_influencer » November 28th, 2024, 7:22 am

j.o.e wrote:Again no one is saying NO cash…… but you can introduce more cashless options. India is NOT cashless, UK is not cashless. Allyuh could move a mc goal post bai lawd.

the end goal is cashless tho

Postby j.o.e » November 28th, 2024, 7:52 am

You all take so much comfort in pieces of paper that the Govt tells you is worth something that you deposit in banks and turns into ones and zeros (digital)

Postby zoom rader » November 28th, 2024, 8:57 am

j.o.e wrote:You all take so much comfort in pieces of paper that the Govt tells you is worth something that you deposit in banks and turns into ones and zeros (digital)
Cash is King

The banks know that cards makes you spend uncontrollably and wild purchases to make them money

Cash in ur pocket makes u think about spending ur money

Postby zoom rader » November 28th, 2024, 9:07 am

j.o.e wrote:

Are you suggesting you don’t use cards zoom ? Not even debit cards ?
I have only two cards. One is a trini, and the other is foreign. I only use them for airline tickets. The local card is very rarely used.

Absolutely no credit cards

My Tennants pay in cash only. My day to day purchases are in cash only. I pay my odd jobs men in cash.

Postby zoom rader » November 28th, 2024, 9:13 am

j.o.e wrote:You all take so much comfort in pieces of paper that the Govt tells you is worth something that you deposit in banks and turns into ones and zeros (digital)
Yes, and Impsberts spy's on injuns and make statements that people have massive monies in the bank.

Banks & PNM are not to be trusted.

This ideal of a cashless society is to have control over you and spy on your spending.

PNM will soon introduce cooperate taxes on your bank account as they do in the UK on ur savings & investments. Its coming

Postby zoom rader » November 28th, 2024, 9:27 am

j.o.e wrote:

Wrong again Zoomie

Norway

Finland

Sweden

China

New Zealand

United Kingdom

Try harder

Again no one is saying NO cash…… but you can introduce more cashless options. India is NOT cashless, UK is not cashless. Allyuh could move a mc goal post bai lawd.
Nobody not moving any goal post

Fact is there are no cashless societies.

PNM pushing this agenda cause they want control of your cash.

The banks stand to make millions on ur doubles purchases.

Brexit in the UK happened because Europe had a control on how the Uk spent their money.

Brexit is the same as a Cashless society where someone has control over you. Europe had control over UK. Where Europe told them what they cant and can do.

A cashless society will have the same effect and the banks will do whatever they want as they control ur moment.

Idiots like you Joe will never understand how much power ur cash has. By going cashless u give up that right and 1% owns u.

Postby zoom rader » November 28th, 2024, 9:28 am

Tuner is really filled with females mid sections on going to a cashless society.

Fvcking idiots every day

Postby timelapse » November 28th, 2024, 5:38 pm

zoom rader wrote:Tuner is really filled with females mid sections on going to a cashless society.

Fvcking idiots every day

Zoom bhai, I heard a piece of wisdom lately.
Don't waste your time helping men up to the top of the mountain if they don't want to see the view.

Postby zoom rader » November 28th, 2024, 9:22 pm

timelapse wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Tuner is really filled with females mid sections on going to a cashless society.

Fvcking idiots every day

Zoom bhai, I heard a piece of wisdom lately.
Don't waste your time helping men up to the top of the mountain if they don't want to see the view.
Old injun people worked for peanuts, they never had Credit cards, debit cards or loans.

They saved and brought lands in cash, no loans.

Present day people making far more than old injuns , they have umpteen Credit , Debit cards bank loans and are always broke.

But now you have more idiots than before preaching a cashless society while owning the banks on loans, mortgage and credit cards.

You see how stupid this country is.

Postby paid_influencer » November 28th, 2024, 9:34 pm

them old injun people had the advantage of several oil booms tho

present day young injun people entering a country with a failed economic system

the smart ones will recognise that and cut their cloth accordingly. live with their parents. use old car or travel. dont use credit cards for anything other than forex conversion and 100% ignore "points".

the most dotish ones are the ones with big education, fancy careers, big salary, starbucks and pricesmart loyalty cards, vacations abroad, and all the trappings of debt - credit cards, cars loans, mortgage, etc. they ent realize that lifestyle is designed by capital to strangle them.

you live in a third-world island with a failed economy. time to take off the sunglasses and understand the reality of your situation

edit: happy thanksgiving everyone also!

Postby zoom rader » November 28th, 2024, 9:48 pm

paid_influencer wrote:them old injun people had the advantage of several oil booms tho

present day young injun people entering a country with a failed economic system

the smart ones will recognise that and cut their cloth accordingly. live with their parents. use old car or travel. dont use credit cards for anything other than forex conversion and 100% ignore "points".

the most dotish ones are the ones with big education, fancy careers, big salary, starbucks and pricesmart loyalty cards, vacations abroad, and all the trappings of debt - credit cards, cars loans, mortgage, etc. they ent realize that lifestyle is designed by capital to strangle them.

you live in a third-world island with a failed economy. time to take off the sunglasses and understand the reality of your situation
Knife & fork Indians bro , Panday knew he was saying.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 4th, 2024, 10:55 am

Central Bank approves new e-money issuer

THE Central Bank has issued a provisional registration to e-money issuer WamNow Technologies Ltd, (WamNow), the bank said in a release on December 2.

"Under the terms of the provisional registration, WamNow will be allowed to enlist new customers in a controlled environment, monitored by the Central Bank," the release said.

WamNow is a privately-owned financial technology company, incorporated in February 2021.

It provides digital wallet payment services to individuals and micro-enterprises. The company’s wallets also store e-currency and allow for digital transfers and payments in TT.

Speaking to Newsday in October, the TT Financial Centre (TTIFC) said going cashless, in the eyes of the government, means people will have a combination of options, including cash, cards, online payments, mobile wallets and e-money to make and receive payments.

WamNow joins companies such as Pay Wise Ltd, PESH Money Ltd, and the Telecommunications Services of TT Ltd's PAYPR as companies authorised by the Central Bank to facilitate cashless transactions.

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/12/03/centra ... ey-issuer/

Postby zoom rader » December 4th, 2024, 11:10 am

^^ PNM pushing private companies to control ur money

See the level of

solarkh

Postby solarkh » December 4th, 2024, 11:10 am

WamNow?

Postby paid_influencer » December 4th, 2024, 7:35 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:WamNow joins companies such as Pay Wise Ltd, PESH Money Ltd, and the Telecommunications Services of TT Ltd's PAYPR as companies authorised by the Central Bank to facilitate cashless transactions.

all these companies have stupid names wdmc

Postby paid_influencer » December 19th, 2024, 7:56 am

Scotiabank T&T to close two more branches in digital push
Dec 17, 2024

SCOTIABANK Trinidad and Tobago will close its San Juan and Cunupia branches in February, bringing the total number of branch and service centre closures to five within four years.

As a result of the closures, Scotiabank’s San Juan customers will now have to travel further east to the Tunapuna branch for in-branch transactions, while Cunupia customers will need to visit the Chaguanas branch.

“As we continue to evolve in response to our clients’ changing preferences, our commitment to digital transformation drives us to achieve greater efficiencies and growth. In recent years, we have observed a significant decrease in the number of transactions conducted within our branches, as more customers opt for digital solutions for their everyday banking needs,” Pazos stated.

https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... 6dcd7.html

pretty soon you would just have a card and a cloud oui. fully digital

Postby zoom rader » December 19th, 2024, 8:58 am

paid_influencer wrote:
Scotiabank T&T to close two more branches in digital push
Dec 17, 2024

SCOTIABANK Trinidad and Tobago will close its San Juan and Cunupia branches in February, bringing the total number of branch and service centre closures to five within four years.

As a result of the closures, Scotiabank’s San Juan customers will now have to travel further east to the Tunapuna branch for in-branch transactions, while Cunupia customers will need to visit the Chaguanas branch.

“As we continue to evolve in response to our clients’ changing preferences, our commitment to digital transformation drives us to achieve greater efficiencies and growth. In recent years, we have observed a significant decrease in the number of transactions conducted within our branches, as more customers opt for digital solutions for their everyday banking needs,” Pazos stated.

https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... 6dcd7.html

pretty soon you would just have a card and a cloud oui. fully digital
Remember when they killed the cheque book in favour of Credit cards and debit cards

Postby 88sins » December 19th, 2024, 10:19 pm

That cashless bs aside

Baby steps people, baby steps.

A third world country, globally known as for the most part as being extremely corrupt, going cashless, long before major global economic players even trying to tip a toe into taking that direction, and that doesn't raise at least one red flag for you? Ok.
A known crooked corrupt diseased and disgusting "guavamint" that enjoying endless tax breaks and exemptions while demanding the rest of the population "pay their fair share",& yuh cool with that right?

gtk

Postby zoom rader » December 19th, 2024, 10:37 pm

88sins wrote:That cashless bs aside

Baby steps people, baby steps.

A third world country, globally known as for the most part as being extremely corrupt, going cashless, long before major global economic players even trying to tip a toe into taking that direction, and that doesn't raise at least one red flag for you? Ok.
A known crooked corrupt diseased and disgusting "guavamint" that enjoying endless tax breaks and exemptions while demanding the rest of the population "pay their fair share",& yuh cool with that right?

gtk
Tell that to parrots like PNM lick arses like wing & joe

Postby MaxPower » December 20th, 2024, 6:07 am

i_code_and_stuff wrote:my 2c:

- no society is ever ready for any sort of technological progress, that doesn't mean we shouldn't try

A normal society and a Trini society is two totally different things.

Postby zoom rader » December 20th, 2024, 7:35 am

Just think the PNM knows how much $$ u all have in ur bank accounts.

Impsberts said ppl have plenty money.

Dunna Crooks said old age pensioners have over 25k.

PNM is spying on the general public and invading peoples banks accounts.

For the PNM to be spying on people accounts means they are after your money