Taste of Carnival 2022

Redress10

Re: Carnival 2022 - Would it stil be on?

Postby Redress10 » August 18th, 2021, 12:02 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:We can have carnival once people vacinate.

Massive parties and fetes happening all summer in the UK and US

What the US/UK do with their citizens is their business. We are still in the middle of a pandemic is carnival is not a priority. If we can't reopen fully without covid restrictions and mask wearing is still mandatory then realistically we can't have carnival.

Carnival is a unique experience to us and the region. Can't compare it to US/UK events etc.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 18th, 2021, 12:27 pm

Redress10 wrote:

What the US/UK do with their citizens is their business. We are still in the middle of a pandemic is carnival is not a priority. If we can't reopen fully without covid restrictions and mask wearing is still mandatory then realistically we can't have carnival.

Carnival is a unique experience to us and the region. Can't compare it to US/UK events etc.

Indoor fetes happening in the UK right now bruh.

This was last weekend:
https://www.instagram.com/p/CSuMTHioa42 ... _copy_link

You can do this once people are vaccinated. It hinges on that, that's all I'm saying.

Postby hover11 » August 18th, 2021, 12:57 pm

Vaccinate NOTHING
Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

This was last weekend:

You can do this once people are vaccinated. It hinges on that, that's all I'm saying.

Postby Ben_spanna » August 18th, 2021, 1:07 pm

We do NOT have the clinical capacity to do what first world countries are allowing, we do not want to overwhelm the medical system with covid, and put additional non covid patients on the line too.

We need more of the population to steup up and take the vaccine, its the only way we can try to return to some form of normalcy . until that happens we will continue with more and more deaths and more and more people suffering from long covid.

Postby timelapse » August 18th, 2021, 1:17 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:I will say this again introverts, carnival, fetes and clubs can reopen once we get vaccinated.

Lollapalooza has shown "no evidence" of being a COVID superspreader event, Chicago health official says

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/covid19-no ... on-arwady/

We actually have enough vaccines now to vacinate the whole country by February.

If you antivaxers want to tank the economy further and kill innocent people go right ahead.
Not that I support carnival, but you are right.
The problem is packed streets and venues with intoxicated people jamming up on each other.
Super spreader event doesn't even describe what can happen.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 18th, 2021, 1:23 pm

timelapse wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:I will say this again introverts, carnival, fetes and clubs can reopen once we get vaccinated.

Lollapalooza has shown "no evidence" of being a COVID superspreader event, Chicago health official says

If you antivaxers want to tank the economy further and kill innocent people go right ahead.
Not that I support carnival, but you are right.
The problem is packed streets and venues with intoxicated people jamming up on each other.
Super spreader event doesn't even describe what can happen.

If we're all vacinated, nothing much will happen.

We have to get back to normal at some point and vacination is the key.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 18th, 2021, 2:05 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

This was last weekend:

A couple of things. Vaccines are there so that you can get back to a sense of "normalcy". Normal meaning employment, grocery shopping, school for the children etc. There is nothing "normal" about carnival. At carnival the STD and pregnancy rates go up. That already shows that carnival is a public health case by itself. Mixing it with covid is just stupid.

Vaccines are there to stem the virus spread. This nothing more than an additional protection mechanism that goes along with hand sanitizer, social distancing and mask wearing. Remove anyone of those things and your protection levels decrease and your chance of contracting covid increases. Carnival essentially removes all of those protections. So before we even get to carnival we are going to require very low and possible non existant levels of covid in the population.

You keep referencing places such as the UK and USA. Most people in the developed world considered their response to covid as failures so they are not viewed as success stories. Those countries do not care about the lives of their citizens and consider them expendable. Contrast that with New Zealand's drastic response when they got a single case.

Another thing is carnival is non existant in UK. That indoor fete that you mentioned had a little bit of people. It is no different to the hundreds of illegal raves that take place all over the uk daily. The caribbean population is very small in the UK so caribbean events will never be viewed as "mass" events. So that fete may not have been a big deal anyhow. Our carnival pack thousands of people in confined spaces for weeks upon weeks. A single person with covid would have multiple opportunities to infect hundreds and possibly thousands of people over a couple of weeks. Stop comparing weeks of partying to one off fetes and festivals.

Is it really worth it?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 18th, 2021, 2:19 pm

And Easter in tobago did not cause out spike

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 18th, 2021, 2:43 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

This was last weekend:

A couple of things. Vaccines are there so that you can get back to a sense of "normalcy". Normal meaning employment, grocery shopping, school for the children etc. There is nothing "normal" about carnival. At carnival the STD and pregnancy rates go up. That already shows that carnival is a public health case by itself. Mixing it with covid is just stupid.

Vaccines are there to stem the virus spread. This nothing more than an additional protection mechanism that goes along with hand sanitizer, social distancing and mask wearing. Remove anyone of those things and your protection levels decrease and your chance of contracting covid increases. Carnival essentially removes all of those protections. So before we even get to carnival we are going to require very low and possible non existant levels of covid in the population.

You keep referencing places such as the UK and USA. Most people in the developed world considered their response to covid as failures so they are not viewed as success stories. Those countries do not care about the lives of their citizens and consider them expendable. Contrast that with New Zealand's drastic response when they got a single case.

Another thing is carnival is non existant in UK. That indoor fete that you mentioned had a little bit of people. It is no different to the hundreds of illegal raves that take place all over the uk daily. The caribbean population is very small in the UK so caribbean events will never be viewed as "mass" events. So that fete may not have been a big deal anyhow. Our carnival pack thousands of people in confined spaces for weeks upon weeks. A single person with covid would have multiple opportunities to infect hundreds and possibly thousands of people over a couple of weeks. Stop comparing weeks of partying to one off fetes and festivals.

Is it really worth it?

Yes

Postby hover11 » August 18th, 2021, 2:50 pm

So you think it is wise to bring ppl from all over the world with delta and lambda etc have them mix wine and jam for 2 consecutive days from sun up to sun down .....nothing there hinting how that could be a terrible idea hmmm.... well damm
Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

This was last weekend:

Is it really worth it?

Yes

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 18th, 2021, 2:52 pm

hover11 wrote:So you think it is wise to bring ppl from all over the world with delta and lambda etc have them mix wine and jam for 2 consecutive days from sun up to sun down .....nothing there hinting how that could be a terrible idea hmmm.... well damm
Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

This was last weekend:

Is it really worth it?

Yes

Once they're all vaccinated and have negative PCRs duh.

Postby hover11 » August 18th, 2021, 2:58 pm

The same PCR that highly unreliable and vaccinated where they can still carry the virus ....may God have mercy on our souls if you were our PM
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:So you think it is wise to bring ppl from all over the world with delta and lambda etc have them mix wine and jam for 2 consecutive days from sun up to sun down .....nothing there hinting how that could be a terrible idea hmmm.... well damm
Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

This was last weekend:

Is it really worth it?

Yes

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 18th, 2021, 3:01 pm

hover11 wrote:The same PCR that highly unreliable and vaccinated where they can still carry the virus ....may God have mercy on our souls if you were our PM
Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

This was last weekend:

Is it really worth it?

Yes

If we continue to beat up over "cases" we'll never have another carnival as the vaccines don't prevent infection and only work for maximum 8 months

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 18th, 2021, 3:50 pm

The only way carnival could work is if you have those visitors quarantined for 10-14 days before beimg released into the population. You would also have to restrict flights and have a possible cut off date for all flights and close all the borders again. That simply is the only way you can guarantee a "safe" carnival with minimal disease spread.

DPD playing fast and foolish. We just had olympics which was a bio secure environment and vaccinated athletes still got covid and had to be sent home etc.

Postby timelapse » August 18th, 2021, 3:58 pm

De man loves his carnival, to each his own.
It just not very probable at this point, but who knows?

Postby j.o.e » August 18th, 2021, 4:25 pm

Postby redmanjp » August 18th, 2021, 4:29 pm

Redress10 wrote:The only way carnival could work is if you have those visitors quarantined for 10-14 days before beimg released into the population. You would also have to restrict flights and have a possible cut off date for all flights and close all the borders again. That simply is the only way you can guarantee a "safe" carnival with minimal disease spread.

DPD playing fast and foolish. We just had olympics which was a bio secure environment and vaccinated athletes still got covid and had to be sent home etc.

and this only addresses imported cases- what about community spread we already have?

the only way is to vax 80% of the population and it eh looking like we will reach there by then. even so u need a few months to plan a carnival. bands have to design and make costume. all now they done already do that and launch.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 18th, 2021, 4:34 pm

Redress10 wrote:The only way carnival could work is if you have those visitors quarantined for 10-14 days before beimg released into the population. You would also have to restrict flights and have a possible cut off date for all flights and close all the borders again. That simply is the only way you can guarantee a "safe" carnival with minimal disease spread.

Again, why do all this? They're vaccinated, negative PCR, we're vaccinated.

Allyuh don't realize just an average day in a big city is far more of a 'super spreader" event than Carnival.

Ever been on the London tube in rush hour? Ever been on the NY subway and go to all those big restaurants, bars and clubs.

Allyuh people rel fraidy with this now.

Carnival can't even compare to the "super spreader" event that was the Eurocup final in the UK, where every man had house lime, pubs packed and outdoor viewing spots packed. Yet since then freedom day has come and the cases in the UK have been dropping......with everything being open.

And why? Cuz most of their population has been vaccinated.

We need to get there.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 18th, 2021, 4:35 pm

redmanjp wrote:

and this only addresses imported cases- what about community spread we already have?

the only way is to vax 80% of the population and it eh looking like we will reach there by then. even so u need a few months to plan a carnival. bands have to design and make costume. all now they done already do that and launch.

Costumes already designed and lots of things ordered, lots of bands will be making the rest locally so don't expect much extravagant costumes this year if we have carnival.

And yes we need to get to 80% but the way trinis moving it seems we'd be lucky if we cross 60%.

People will no longer be able to blame the government, they got the vaccines, move your ass and get vaccinated so we can return to normal.

Postby Les Bain » August 18th, 2021, 4:46 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Allyuh don't realize just an average day in a big city is far more of a 'super spreader" event than Carnival.

Ever been on the London tube in rush hour? Ever been on the NY subway and go to all those big restaurants, bars and clubs.

Carnival can't even compare to the "super spreader" event that was the Eurocup final in the UK, where every man had house lime, pubs packed and outdoor viewing spots packed. Yet since then freedom day has come and the cases in the UK have been dropping......with everything being open.

We need to get there.

Can't compare them first world countries with their matching healthcare systems and Covid vaccines, IMO.
Even so, they still regularly have mini lockdowns when the spike heads upwards.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 18th, 2021, 4:55 pm

Les Bain wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

We need to get there.

Can't compare them first world countries with their matching healthcare systems and Covid vaccines, IMO.

Not disagreeing but if we're vacinated hospitalisations will be far lower than they are right now.

We do need to consider top up doses around Nov/Dec.

Postby redmanjp » August 18th, 2021, 5:59 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Les Bain wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

We need to get there.

Not disagreeing but if we're vacinated hospitalisations will be far lower than they are right now.

We do need to consider top up doses around Nov/Dec.

only if you manage to convince not only a whole set of vaccine hesitant ppl but staunch anti-vaxxers. the threshold for herd immunity is no longer 60-70%. cases when down with previous variants in countries with that. but then delta came along and changed that. it's perhaps 80% now. the higher we go the more it will slow down. it already slowed down at less than 25% fully vaxxed!

Postby zoom rader » August 18th, 2021, 10:40 pm

rexsmith wrote:The PM said carnival 2022 may not happen
I go vote the red government if a law is made to ban carnival for life.

It's the downfall of this cont tree

CB Style

Postby CB Style » August 19th, 2021, 3:20 am

You will vote for them but then all dem sweaty Guntas might riot. I don’t know which one worst…lol

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » August 19th, 2021, 3:52 am

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 19th, 2021, 6:01 am

carnival season is a big money maker from copyrite money to selling bottle water in the street. no other season in TT generates that amount of money.

Postby Dave » August 19th, 2021, 6:02 am

Our borders will never be truly closed so allowing them in, quarantining and closing will never work.

Postby zoom rader » August 19th, 2021, 7:05 am

daring dragoon wrote:

carnival season is a big money maker from copyrite money to selling bottle water in the street. no other season in TT generates that amount of money.
All this carnival and have a look at the quality of our life. Crime, corruption, rude and nasty people, public servants that dont work.

You never see Singapore have these problems.

Postby hover11 » August 19th, 2021, 7:17 am

The amount of money the government spends on carnival far exceeds that though
daring dragoon wrote:

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 19th, 2021, 10:07 am

hover11 wrote:The amount of money the government spends on carnival far exceeds that though
daring dragoon wrote:

Has anyone done the math? Because I routinely show in previous threads how much money is spent, circulated as well as comes in via forex for carnival. It's a lot! (in around a billion TT if you factor in money spent during the entire season). Not to mention all the music revenues and money promoters make in the other Carnivals across the caribbean.

Even if there's a small loss (which is doubtful), the fact is, Carnival is an industry that employers thousands year round! It is a vital part of our economy and something that we need to develop and grow even further.