Ministers enjoy tax exemptions on cars

ProtonPowder

Re: Ministers enjoy tax exemptions on cars

Postby ProtonPowder » October 8th, 2020, 10:14 pm

bluefete wrote:Tuner CSI's. Is this real? The bottom right looks suspicious.

Also the address is a Lodge address - St. Andrews Lodge #4-6 Ruth Avenue, San 'Do.

damn
lmao.PNG

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 9th, 2020, 5:10 am

Post farris veejo deh...listen how chupid he sounds

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 9th, 2020, 5:43 am

wait or demand pnm /unc put up a crapaud for your constituency where ever it may be cause them supporters will vote for who or whatever pnm and unc put up cause how can you explain a porn start winning a seat in central among others, crapaud dont drive car so they wont need tax exemptions. POS does done be a lagoon when it rains so they go feel at home and them amount ah bell ringing and other spritual occurrences around the red house the play whey man know y the crapaud is 13.

Postby Redman » October 9th, 2020, 6:39 am

ProtonPowder wrote:

Also the address is a Lodge address - St. Andrews Lodge #4-6 Ruth Avenue, San 'Do.

damn

The Seukaran family living on Ruth ave for decades.

Down the street from the Naparima lodge.

Postby Redman » October 9th, 2020, 6:40 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Post farris veejo deh...listen how chupid he sounds

Yes he ballz that up

rebound

Postby rebound » October 9th, 2020, 6:47 am

Looks legit to me.

Postby pugboy » October 9th, 2020, 6:56 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Post farris veejo deh...listen how chupid he sounds

Postby Ben_spanna » October 9th, 2020, 8:45 am

Well yes, the man says a Porsche costs less than a toyota...
So one needs a porsche to drive around your constituency????
If MP's for their area actually lived in the area they shouldnt need anything more than a damn bicycle..... :roll:

Postby Dave » October 9th, 2020, 9:02 am

Sure the Toyota will have more up time than the Porsche.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 9th, 2020, 9:35 am

Ben_spanna wrote::lol:

Well yes, the man says a Porsche costs less than a toyota...
So one needs a porsche to drive around your constituency????
If MP's for their area actually lived in the area they shouldnt need anything more than a damn bicycle..... :roll:

Add to the fact that he grew up with a silver spoon in his mouth to a family politically affiliated for decades who also would have benefitted from the state largesse. Not to mention his recent property rentals.

I will never understand trinis fascination with living off of the state. Most ppl try to get as far away from the clutches of the state to protect themselves and their assets. Probably a colonial thing.

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 9th, 2020, 9:38 am

If some of us had 1 million dollars in a bank account, I'm sure some would be running by lifestyle to pickup a porsche because some of us dotish, have long eye and would do anything to prove a point but eating crix at home.

Also, if some of us had tax exemptions like them, we would have utilized it fully to buy whateva German vehicle comes to mind.

Currently I have $400. in my wallet. I could go in any grocery I want and buy whatever bread there is.

Now when you have 300 million dollars for the very minimum spread between a couple local banks, what kind of vehicle would you buy? A Toyota RAV4? Sheit, if I had 300 million and I've got everything else such as yachts, buildings, properties all over etc. I'll be inside Lifestyle myself buying 5 Porsches so my immediate relatives including my wife and I would enjoy premium German engineering too.

Postby pugboy » October 9th, 2020, 9:52 am

what’s your point ?

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 9th, 2020, 10:39 am

I think it’s a situation where, are we vex that they have such exemptions? Or are we truly vexed that we don’t have access to what they have?

To be fair, Jonny did not need to be a minister to drive a Porsche because if you had access to hundreds of millions (not saying you don’t), with that kind of coin, a $700k Macan is chick feed money to splurge a little on, as an example.

In the same way I have enough money to buy any bread I want in my wallet, on a larger (much larger scale), some of these ministers like Jonny can buy whatever vehicle they want.

We all like cars, after all this is trinituner, we don’t congregate here because we like to talk about flowers and pots. If any one of us regular joes...like me for example, became a govt minister, I too would want to cash in on some exemptions. Now I not saying go buy a Benz Maybach like rohani, I might have taken an X5 6 cylinder or a Cayenne 6 cylinder at the very max. But that’s just me.

I recall someone mentioned recently, if govt remuneration was poor then you would attract dregs and tiefing would be expected. When you attract rich professionals and business people, tiefing could be lessened. But I know this last paragraph could open up a soup of chaos.

Let the flames continue lol

Postby j.o.e » October 9th, 2020, 11:05 am

agent007 wrote:I think it’s a situation where, are we vex that they have such exemptions? Or are we truly vexed that we don’t have access to what they have?

To be fair, Jonny did not need to be a minister to drive a Porsche because if you had access to hundreds of millions (not saying you don’t), with that kind of coin, a $700k Macan is chick feed money to splurge a little on, as an example.

In the same way I have enough money to buy any bread I want in my wallet, on a larger (much larger scale), some of these ministers like Jonny can buy whatever vehicle they want.

We all like cars, after all this is trinituner, we don’t congregate here because we like to talk about flowers and pots. If any one of us regular joes...like me for example, became a govt minister, I too would want to cash in on some exemptions. Now I not saying go buy a Benz Maybach like rohani, I might have taken an X5 6 cylinder or a Cayenne 6 cylinder at the very max. But that’s just me.

I recall someone mentioned recently, if govt remuneration was poor then you would attract dregs and tiefing would be expected. When you attract rich professionals and business people, tiefing could be lessened. But I know this last paragraph could open up a soup of chaos.

Pretty much my opinion. Plenty sour grapes. Jobs have perks, this is a perk. Just like public service travelling officers etc. You can feel they’re taking advantage of it because it’s there to be taken advantage of. These exemptions didn’t suddenly appear yesterday.
If y’all don’t like it fine, suggest what it should be and put a cap on it. Very few of us would buy a Corolla in that position. I’m not in that position and I ain’t even buying a Corolla.

Postby teems1 » October 9th, 2020, 11:30 am

j.o.e wrote:
agent007 wrote:I think it’s a situation where, are we vex that they have such exemptions? Or are we truly vexed that we don’t have access to what they have?

Pretty much my opinion. Plenty sour grapes. Jobs have perks, this is a perk. Just like public service travelling officers etc. You can feel they’re taking advantage of it because it’s there to be taken advantage of. These exemptions didn’t suddenly appear yesterday.
If y’all don’t like it fine, suggest what it should be and put a cap on it. Very few of us would buy a Corolla in that position. I’m not in that position and I ain’t even buying a Corolla.

It shows how tone deaf these current politicians are.

Poor optics mean nothing to them. The average citizen is catching their arse yet they are purchasing million dollar vehicles and saving hundreds of thousands by paying no tax.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 9th, 2020, 11:47 am

Funny how Johnny "didn't need to be a minister" to drive a porsche yet he made sure he became one though and fought tooth and nail to remain an MP. That's the problem with trinis always assuming that people are "better" than gov't work. With that mindset people have this belief that these people are somehow doing the country a favour. What other position in Trinidad can compare to AG for "Johnny"? Don't be fooled alot of those people in parliament literally can't do better than what they have there.

Between Manning, Kamla and Rowley, what did any one of them achieve in their previous professions? Manning spent 41 years as a politician and died at the age of 69. Do you think he made any significant contributions to the field of geology which he probably worked in for about 5 years? Do you really honestly believed he remain a politician for 41 years because he was a patriot?
What case Tanty won before she went up for politics? Any at all? Rowley has a phd and that's admirable but basically that also usually means that the person is heading for a career in academia or consultancy.

If someone is wealthy as you are claiming then why do they need a tax break to procure a vehicle. The wealthy buy whatever vehicle, yacht or airplane they want. They spare no expenses. I can also guarantee that if those expemptions were not given then those cars would not have been bought.

The belief that the wages in politics needs to be high to attract worthy people is another falsehood. This is clearly the highest paying job that most of those people would ever have gotten in life. Without politics who gonna pay some of those characters you see in our parliament?

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 9th, 2020, 11:59 am

I not vex that they exempt
I too, would like a frosty, tall glass of tax exemptions in my life.

**reviews life decisions to avoid politics at all costs**

Capleton

Postby Capleton » October 9th, 2020, 12:09 pm

Just remember folks a PORSCHE Macan is still cheaper than TOYOTA Prado! Come to Lifestyle Motors, the dealership with the maddest rides with something for every lifestyle! XD

Postby Redman » October 9th, 2020, 12:10 pm

The simple fact is that them fkers ABUSING the facility.

Its a mechanism to move the value of the concessions into their pockets.

And thats what is happening.

Postby bluefete » October 9th, 2020, 12:10 pm

Postby maj. tom » October 9th, 2020, 12:19 pm

This man should legally change his name (again) to "Value For Money."

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 9th, 2020, 12:23 pm

Redman wrote:The simple fact is that them fkers ABUSING the facility.

Plain talk. It is also clear that they are using that facility to purchase vehicles for family members and friends. Imagine telling people to pay taxes when they doing everything possible to evade paying taxes. Madness

rebound

Postby rebound » October 9th, 2020, 12:30 pm

Simple. There are good arguments for and against but, sense should prevail with some sort of limit to the exemptions.
Redman wrote:The simple fact is that them fkers ABUSING the facility.

Postby Gladiator » October 9th, 2020, 12:35 pm

If I were PM I would put in a law to allow each citizen over the age of 21 the ability to purchase one tax exempted vehicle in their lifetime.

Postby 88sins » October 9th, 2020, 12:55 pm

Fun fact
There's hundreds, (might I dare say thousands) of people in private sector practice that make A LOT more in a month than a minister, even with salary and perks combined, and you won't ever see them fighting to get into politics or government. Because as far as they concerned, they gat a formula for making plenty money.
Why allyuh really feel impsbert and them in politics, and don't say patriotism, because there's nothing patriotic about them. A patriot doesn't like to know his people are suffering and his nation is in decline, and it's very evident by their actions and statements that these ratbullers don't care about the people or the nation. They in it for one purpose. Easy access to money so they could fix their people business, pips and perks. Don't believe it? Easy test to prove it.
The second you see laws in place so that politicians can be arrested, charged and incarcerated for misappropriation of public assets, and have their ill gotten gains seized as well as those assets belonging to their people who benefited from said misappropriation, you would see how quickly practically every man jack that claiming to be a patriot so thats why they in politics would abandon their political aspirations.
But as it is now and has always been, where you can do what you want and not have to answer to anyone, even when you're caught red handed with both your hands in the cookie jar and the cookie jar in your blasted pocket, expect more of the usual bs and the normal lack of accountability or responsibility.

Imho, a minister has zero need for a tax exemption for a vehicle when they are afforded a vehicle and driver by the state, with said vehicles maintenance expenses being covered by the taxpayer.
Solution to this nonsense? Ok, so you want to be able to buy an expensive vehicle and pay no taxes on it? Cool, np. Use that as your means of
conveyance. You will still have a driver, and the state can pay to maintain it via a fixed amount as a fuel and maintenance allowance.
But being allowed to buy a vehicle tax free to leave park up for 5 years until it sell for a profit, when you have a vehicle to take you everywhere that is paid for by the people, is folly.

But allyuh like it so, allyuh vote for that, and allyuh not telling them that what they doing is not right or even challenging them on the topic.

Capleton

Postby Capleton » October 9th, 2020, 12:56 pm

Gladiator wrote:If I were PM I would put in a law to allow each citizen over the age of 21 the ability to purchase one tax exempted vehicle in their lifetime.

You have my vote!

Postby Ben_spanna » October 9th, 2020, 1:10 pm

PAtriotic??

HAaaaaa!

The second any minister or their family sick, the first and foremost thing on their agenda is to get the fvk out of Trinidad and seek medical help elsewhere..... which part of that believes in anything in this country???

Postby pete » October 9th, 2020, 2:47 pm

Salary Review people said the exemption should have a cap of 170k in 2013. Taking inflation into account, push that to 250k now and leave it there. Still a good discount whether you buy a Prado, Cayenne or Maybach.

Sad thing is the companies that also buy these vehicles depreciate them to avoid taxes, should have a cap on that as well.

Postby eliteauto » October 9th, 2020, 5:15 pm

And as expected some of the UNC MPs exemption letters have been released. That tit-for-tat should keep the sycophants occupied until the next time

Postby pugboy » October 9th, 2020, 5:21 pm

The leakers need to tabulate properly

eliteauto wrote:And as expected some of the UNC MPs exemption letters have been released. That tit-for-tat should keep the sycophants occupied until the next time