Landlords - Moratorium on Rent Payment ?

Re: Landlords - Moratorium on Rent Payment ?

Postby rspann » March 24th, 2020, 4:02 pm

You the wrong sex to rent from 88sins anyhow.

Postby pugboy » March 24th, 2020, 4:35 pm

you between a rock and a hard place indeed

nismotrinidappa wrote:When a landlord doing crap and not maintaining a place.. And you tell them about it and they screw up their face. Or they say doh worry ah go fix it next week . Then you get Fed up and want to move out. Next landlord only drinking rum cussing he mother fighting he brother and falling down. Poor maintenece as well. Remote gate not working and scraping your car when you driving out and asking you who fault is that.you move again. u feel landlords doing a reference letter for me to give 88 sins?

Postby zoom rader » March 24th, 2020, 4:38 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:When a landlord doing crap and not maintaining a place.. And you tell them about it and they screw up their face. Or they say doh worry ah go fix it next week . Then you get Fed up and want to move out. Next landlord only drinking rum cussing he mother fighting he brother and falling down. Poor maintenece as well. Remote gate not working and scraping your car when you driving out and asking you who fault is that.you move again. u feel landlords doing a reference letter for me to give 88 sins?
Then leave and stop complaining, take your deposit and on your way.

You get wat you pay for.

Stop paying $500 rents

Postby 88sins » March 24th, 2020, 4:42 pm

I maintain my property very well. The principle i live by in life is easy to follow. If it not good enough for me, it not good enough for nobody. But I understand what you mean, I personally seen some fowl coop ppl saying they have available for rent, and I will say this much. Many people are limited by their means AND their minds. This applies to how and where you live as well, and many will accept inferiority and mediocrity because they think they can't do better or don't deserve better for whatever reason.

Regarding a potential tenants lack of references, that's not my problem. They need to keep looking elsewhere. I already have somewhere very comfortable and convenient to lay my head, and in all total honesty I have zero need or desire for their money, or any other tenants money. Hence the reason why it will remain unoccupied till I dead.

Postby rspann » March 24th, 2020, 7:02 pm

88sins , pm RedV yuh no. He looking for somewhere to live rent free because he resigned his first job and the second one close down. He say the PM say no rent for six months.

Postby rspann » March 24th, 2020, 7:08 pm

Nanny have ah old door , hanging down , on one apt that everytime they close that door ,it does shake the whole neighborhood.

Postby rspann » March 24th, 2020, 7:11 pm

Wey op? He is a deadbeat father ? Only making threads and abandoning them ?

Postby 88sins » March 24th, 2020, 7:38 pm

rspann wrote:88sins , pm RedV yuh no. He looking for somewhere to live rent free because he resigned his first job and the second one close down. He say the PM say no rent for six months.

he don't qualify on 4 points
1-he ain't female
2-he eh wukkin nowhere
3-I eh renting it out anymore, cuz I prefer my privacy & I don't need the money
4-(& last but MOST IMPORTANTLY), by his own statement implied that he want to pay rent wit he bamsee, & I DEFINITELY have ABSOLUTELY NO use for a local abused rectum :lol:

Postby rspann » March 24th, 2020, 7:42 pm

Look on the positive side . When you done with him , everybody will be relieved of that pest.

Postby 88sins » March 24th, 2020, 7:59 pm

prefer to avoid problems if at all possible, not enthusiastic about actively looking for them
besides, d way he abandon dis ched I suspect he already figure out he should quit being a PITA

Postby Chimera » March 24th, 2020, 8:07 pm

88sins wrote:prefer to avoid problems if at all possible, not enthusiastic about actively looking for them
besides, d way he abandon dis ched I suspect he already figure out he should quit being a PITA

month end coming up, he must be gone to shave,bathe and powder up to pay the rent.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » March 24th, 2020, 8:09 pm

When you see ad saying 2 bedroom apt for rent newly built , hot and cold water, gated, ac, washroom, remote gate, cameras, you really expect a place of a standard and landlord of a standard. However sometimes tenants are deceived and landlords are deceived.

Postby Monk BANzai » March 24th, 2020, 8:53 pm

88sins wrote:Last time I rent out my place it was a brief tenancy, but my vetting process was a bit more stringent than yours

I need a jl with details of how long the prospective tenant working there, their employment status, & their gross income rounded up to the nearest $'000. That, references from the last 3 land lords, if you don't have that & you now starting to rent, someone with assets has to stand security for you (mother or father), in case you mash up my place beyond what the security deposit will cover. & conditions were very particular as well as strict.
MUST be single female, no children, over 25 y.o., (but if you have a bf is not a problem, just make sure he know the ONLY person to occupy and reside on the premises is the tenant, if he sleep over even one night, yuh out IMMEDIATELY), no gambling, no narcotics, no loud music at late hours, no gatherings/parties/crowds. Got a nice girl to take it too, she only stayed 11 months but to this day she does still call me from time to time.

some ppl go say I outta timing for not allowing a bf/anyone else to stay, that she pay she rent so she could have who she want there. I don't care about those ppl opinion (or anybody else opinion actually) but I have my reasons for ALL my terms & conditions & they only as negotiable as me directing you outta my property.

not stringent at all.. this is standard procedure for the properties we rent/lease out. Trouble free living. And i'm sure you've had a good experience to date.

Worse i've had was a tenant who had a ADHD child that the mother would lock up all day while she went to work. Took a neighbor to call and point it out to us and we had to do the "Xtrail with blue lights and Child Services" bit to evict her...and that is purely due to the fact we didnt have eyes on that property. We've since installed CCTV cams with feeds to my phone to monitor. Who vex lorse. My property. My investment.

Postby rspann » March 24th, 2020, 9:14 pm

With those requirements ,isn't it very hard to find tenants that fit the bill, and maybe leading to vacant apts from time to time? What kind of occupancy rates do you get with those measures?

Postby 88sins » March 24th, 2020, 10:40 pm

Depends on your perspective. Which you prefer
The occasional lack of occupancy but when you do find a tenant you both comfortable in the long run

Or

You always have a random @$$h0le in your app that can barely pay the rent and providing you with a never ending supply of problems.

Postby pugboy » March 25th, 2020, 6:18 am

right now I have a vacant 1br apt on a property I own

simply because the other two tenants are good tenants and dont give no trouble to pay.
but one of them is a real fussy fella and easily ticked off if somebody sneeze too close to his car.
he does pass a hand broom over his car bumper when he reach home.
they also appreciate less persons on the compound

I rather the peace of less headache and good paying tenants right now.

Postby rspann » March 25th, 2020, 6:37 am

I run it as a business and none is where I living ,so I rent anybody who could afford it and deal with problems as they arise. I usually have 100% occupancy because of locations.

Postby 88sins » March 25th, 2020, 6:55 am

rspann wrote:I run it as a business and none is where I living ,so I rent anybody who could afford it and deal with problems as they arise. I usually have 100% occupancy because of locations.

as many do.
but if you screen your tenants properly, the only "problems" you will have to deal with are routine building maintenence issues

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » March 25th, 2020, 6:56 am

pugboy wrote:right now I have a vacant 1br apt on a property I own

simply because the other two tenants are good tenants and dont give no trouble to pay.
but one of them is a real fussy fella and easily ticked off if somebody sneeze too close to his car.

I move in a place... real nice and quiet.3 apts with middle one vacant that I now get.. man parking in my spot. He vex he have to move he car.. it's a new place in a new development so other houses kinda far away .. I locking gate according to contract. He unlocking it. And quarreling I locking out he children. So I get one set of keys and made a copy for my wife. Them operating with one and too cheap and lazy to make another. After I move in then my family see is a miserable man who cut down his last landlord tree because the leaf falling on his car. We know the last landlord and get the full rundown. Eventually we had a situation and I had to get police. I tell landlord this man breaching your contract in various ways. Landlord sticking really long. So I tell the landlord either you put him out or I moving out but I not going to be around that madman. Long story short he dead now and I move out . Now I find a best steal of a deal with all the things I looking for.

Rspann sounding like a good landlord.
Banzai sounding like he only looking for expatriates
88 sins sounding like he go trip off on tenants so he done with that headache
Zoom rader sounding like them miserable old tanty kinda landlady

Postby pugboy » March 25th, 2020, 7:00 am

is not only in rental compound place yuh does find them kinda ppl
in many big shot gated communities the residents who give the most trouble and dont pay the maintenance fees are the least you would think so and driving the IML type cars.

Postby zoom rader » March 25th, 2020, 7:16 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:

I move in a place... real nice and quiet.3 apts with middle one vacant that I now get.. man parking in my spot. He vex he have to move he car.. it's a new place in a new development so other houses kinda far away .. I locking gate according to contract. He unlocking it. And quarreling I locking out he children. So I get one set of keys and made a copy for my wife. Them operating with one and too cheap and lazy to make another. After I move in then my family see is a miserable man who cut down his last landlord tree because the leaf falling on his car. We know the last landlord and get the full rundown. Eventually we had a situation and I had to get police. I tell landlord this man breaching your contract in various ways. Landlord sticking really long. So I tell the landlord either you put him out or I moving out but I not going to be around that madman. Long story short he dead now and I move out . Now I find a best steal of a deal with all the things I looking for.

I doh rent injun and that's all, dem too fusy. Injun does want to drink and then cuss the other tenants . PNM ppl does pay dey rent cause dem grow up in that culture.

Postby 88sins » March 25th, 2020, 8:52 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:

to be clear
I don't "trip off" so easy eh, but I know I cannot tolerate dotish ppl. thus the screening process. & as previously mentioned, the only reason I eh continue is because like I said before, I really do not need the $$, & I value my privacy.

But you see that tenant cutting down tree business? IDK why ppl like to interfere with things in ppl place nah. had a bro-in-law staying downstairs in moms house, man say he going to chop down the plum tree & the caimete tree, cuz the "blocking his view". I let him kno one time, them trees there since before he was an itch in he fadda crotch, and that for every chop he put on any tree, I personally same time gonna put 2 chop on him.
All of a sudden, the view wasn't that important anymore when he see I sharpening the gilpin right behind him

Postby bluefete » March 25th, 2020, 9:51 am

Mods, ah thought allyuh say Zoom is racist??

rspann wrote:I renting anybody. The ones who come nice could turn out bad, and the ones who you think pass all requirements could be the bad ones. Generally I don't get many delinquents.
I doh rent injun, dem always have a sad story and always complaining for everything. Dem feel they smart.

bluefete wrote:
I doh rent injun and that's all, dem too fusy. Injun does want to drink and then cuss the other tenants . PNM ppl does pay dey rent cause dem grow up in that culture.

Postby Monk BANzai » March 25th, 2020, 10:28 am

rspann wrote:With those requirements ,isn't it very hard to find tenants that fit the bill, and maybe leading to vacant apts from time to time? What kind of occupancy rates do you get with those measures?

All units are occupied 90% of the time (10% is that time to clean/reset a living space to our standards....you'd be surprised how some ppl keep their bathrooms..we'd also take that time to service the A/C units).. shortest run we've had is 6 months to a couple who tried to use the apartment to run a IMl/Coffee shop....The units in the gated commune last longer becuz of where it is.... Longest is going on 3 yrs. Some folk prefer that rent life as opposed to the responsibilities that come with property ownership. They may be part of a family with a large catchment area resource-wise.

I've learned not to judge. And to answer the OP's original question: yes I've extended the Moratorium to those who I know will be in difficulties 3 months down the line.

Have a meeting with the institutions this week into next week on how we as property owners are going to benefit on our end.

Postby Monk BANzai » March 25th, 2020, 10:33 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:

LOl... No.. but i run it as a business...not an opportunity to fling meh iron becuz i name Landlord....i don't get them horror stories the others saying. Contract plain and simple..if yuh cyar understand it..then yuh doh need to be on my property. My 9-5 does not allow for me to be "donning slippers and short pants" to go deal with your ignorant ass.

Postby bluefete » March 25th, 2020, 11:18 am

Monk BANzai wrote: And to answer the OP's original question: yes I've extended the Moratorium to those who I know will be in difficulties 3 months down the line.

Have a meeting with the institutions this week into next week on how we as property owners are going to benefit on our end.

If the moratorium is 3 months and they restart paying rent, how are they going to catch up with their payments?

Postby bluefete » March 25th, 2020, 11:31 am

Bajans doh play. 3,000 disconnections for not paying water rates.

So Rihanna could donate $1.2 million but Massy could only donate $250,000.00.

Coronavirus: Barbados announces $20M “survival” stimulus package; landlords told not to evict
By Barbados Today

March 22, 2020

Mottley

(BARBADOS TODAY) — A $20-million “survival” stimulus package was announced Friday night by the Prime Minister to provide critical assistance to thousands of people and businesses in light of the expected calamity from the coronavirus crisis.

She has enlisted the social welfare system, the private sector, banks and pop icon Rihanna in the effort.

In a three-hour speech to wrap up debate on the Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure which was later passed as the Appropriation Bill, Mottley announced the immediate establishment of a Household Survival Programme to help more 1,500 vulnerable families.

Under this stimulus package, Government would provide up to $600 per month to each family through the Welfare Department.

There will also be a 40 per cent increase in all rates and fees paid by the Welfare Department to individuals.

“These funds must be the subject of urgent action,” said Mottley.

At the same time, Mottley said Government has asked the private sector to match that stimulus package through an Adopt-a-family programme, where those who earn more than $100,000 annually (over 5,200 people), would also provide up to $600 per month to the fund for families in need.

The fund, which is to be in place for an initial three to six months for the Adopt-a-Family programme was launched Friday at CIBC FirstCaribbean Bank, Mottley announced, adding that details of how to access it would be released in the coming days.

Prime Minister Mottley said: “This Household Survival programme of $20 million in the first instance will be topped up if it is not enough.

“The most important thing is for people to keep their heads above water. It is not a kill cow. I wish I could do more. But the important thing now is not to leave anybody behind.

“I am happy to announce that the Massy Foundation has already agreed to seed that Fund with the sum of $250,000 immediately in the first instance.”

Superstar Rihanna has pitched in $1.2 million to buy ventilators as the country seeks to shore up its medical treatment capacity for the respiratory illness, the Prime Minister revealed.

Additionally, companies that keep at least three quarters of their workforce will be deferred from paying three months of employers’ National Insurance Scheme (NIS) contributions.

She also announced that after meetings with the Barbados Bankers’ Association over the past two weeks it was agreed there would be a six-month moratorium on all existing loans and mortgages for individuals and businesses who are directly impacted by COVID-19.

Mottley also announced that the Barbados Water Authority would be turning on over 3,000 taps that have been disconnected.

“It is the view of my Government that now is not the time to talk about money when people are at risk of being victims of a pandemic.

“Therefore, immediately I am asking the Barbados Water Authority to turn back on the water for all of those customers for the next three to six months,” said Mottley, who added that she was equally asking those customers to start paying what they can on their arrears.

Those were among a gamut of “survival” supporting measures outlined by Mottley to help Barbadians “keep their heads above water” as the country begins to feel major effects from the COVID-19 outbreak that originated in Wuhan, China in late December.

Several hotels, tour companies and other tourism-related services have started to close their doors putting thousands of workers on the bread line or dramatically reducing work hours, as countries close their borders to non-nationals and airlines start to ground flights.

Other industries, including transport, retail, stand-alone restaurants and beauty parlours, are also beginning to face hardship as the island recorded its first cases of the COVID-19 – six on island and one on a cruise ship docked off the shores as of Friday.

The survival measures also include the following:

· Sagicor has donated two temperature scanners for the Grantley Adams International Airport and one for the Bridgetown Port

· Courts Barbados has donated a number of beds for the quarantine facility

· Government will facilitate the private sector officials to upskill and invest in training “so they can come back stronger” after the crisis

· Government will facilitate and fast track a number of private sector investments that are ready to be done.

· With $145 million in the Severance Payment und and $19 million in the Unemployment Fund, Mottley said: “If push come to shove, at the appropriate time we will recapitalize the Unemployment Fund if it comes under pressure.”

· Workers placed on short-week will get 60 per cent of their earnings for the days they are not working

· It is recommended that tourism-related firms participate in the national training initiative

· Commercial banks have agreed to offer temporary working capital financing options for corporate and small businesses who are directly affected by COVID-19

· Government will refinance the Small Hotel Investment Fund with $20 million to allow small hotels to borrow “and blend with other funds” and refurbish their properties during the down period, and they will pay interest rate of 3.5 per cent instead of five per cent

· Individuals in the creative industry (entertainers, musicians, artists, dancers) will benefit from $1 million that will be taken from the Arts and Sports Development Fund and placed under a special programme

· Over 200 licensed beach vendors will have the opportunity to register with the National Conservation Commission and benefit from the $600 per month under the House Mitigation Unit

“I am also calling on all landlords to desist from putting out anybody at this stage and remind us that at this stage this is a entreaty and a request,” said Mottley, who indicated that if it was required she would go back to Parliament to “convert the request into law”.

She said Government may have to return to Parliament to discuss the “domestic food security food programme”, though insisting that there was enough food supply to take the island through the COVID-19 pandemic for several months.

The Prime Minister said her administration would be encouraging the Barbados National Oil Company Limited (BNOCL) and the Barbados Light and Power (BL&P) “to engage in a hedging exercise to lock in the currently low oil prices for a period of up to two years”.

Mottley said Government has also committed to speeding up hundreds of millions of dollars of capital projects that would also provide employment for some of those now affected by the COVID-19.

The Prime Minister said: “I don’t know if this is going to be enough, but I do know that whatever it takes to keep Barbadians heads above the water this Government shall do it.”

https://www.stlucianewsonline.com/coron ... -to-evict/

Postby rspann » March 25th, 2020, 11:55 am

Monk BANzai wrote:
rspann wrote:With those requirements ,isn't it very hard to find tenants that fit the bill, and maybe leading to vacant apts from time to time? What kind of occupancy rates do you get with those measures?

All units are occupied 90% of the time (10% is that time to clean/reset a living space to our standards....you'd be surprised how some ppl keep their bathrooms..we'd also take that time to service the A/C units).. shortest run we've had is 6 months to a couple who tried to use the apartment to run a IMl/Coffee shop....The units in the gated commune last longer becuz of where it is.... Longest is going on 3 yrs. Some folk prefer that rent life as opposed to the responsibilities that come with property ownership. They may be part of a family with a large catchment area resource-wise.

I've learned not to judge. And to answer the OP's original question: yes I've extended the Moratorium to those who I know will be in difficulties 3 months down the line.

I decided from the beginning that if it's a genuine case , meaning proof of loss of income /job , unable to access the govt assistance etc, I will waive completely , others will get a moratorium.. I don't see how some of them going to catch back up. I not taking prayers though , you must bring documentary proof.

It's true about some people preferring rent life , it's less responsibility for them.

Postby 88sins » March 25th, 2020, 12:27 pm

rspann wrote:
Monk BANzai wrote:

I decided from the beginning that if it's a genuine case , meaning proof of loss of income /job , unable to access the govt assistance etc, I will waive completely , others will get a moratorium.. I don't see how some of them going to catch back up. I not taking prayers though , you must bring documentary proof.

It's true about some people preferring rent life , it's less responsibility for them.

MANY think that, living by the "life is short, enjoy it while it lasts & don't worry about tomorrow because you may never live to see it" philosophy
those tend to change tune real quick when they realize, life ain't that short, and the possibility of becoming a pensioner & STILL having to pay rent is a real probability. at that stage, yuh either live in a old shack somewhere or try to get into St. Vincent de Paul

Ain't nothing sadder in this life, than a "man" (who may have either worked or skiffled all his life) that finally reached old age & is well into his 70's, that HAVE to get up & go to a job & if he loses said job is raw ketchass he facing

Postby rspann » March 25th, 2020, 5:21 pm

The only thing sadder than that is making a thread and not coming to post on it. But you there watching.
Screenshot_20200325-171847.png