Bars, Clubs & Sit-Down Restaurants banned until May 10th 2020

Re: Bars, Clubs & Sit-Down Restaurants banned until May 10th 2020

Postby hydroep » May 2nd, 2020, 8:44 am

The package looking good IMO but the proof is in the eating.

If that is a 4 bara/2 doubles kit, then yuh paying a $ 20 extra for the plastic. But if people really want doubles and they cyar cook, it's an option...:|
Last edited by hydroep on May 2nd, 2020, 8:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » May 2nd, 2020, 8:45 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:I realize most trinis are idiots.

They dont consider why things are more expensive and the extra costs at specific times.

I see people saying they hadda get 6 doubles for $30 and how 4 doubles is robbery. They eh considering that extra money and time hadda be spent on kits and individually packaging sauces. That eh mean nothing. They want it for the same $5.

I had some medical supplies land a few days ago, I pay about 20 times what the price was before covid. Plus I had to go through all.kinda headache to get it here because of trump's orders about not exporting medical supplies.....yet endless people talking about price gouging...how this item is normally $50.....how god will smite me.....

Same thing with groceries and all other products
People eh understanding that from the supply chain every single thing get more expensive.

Dhl price is 2 and 3 timed what it normally is as less planes flying and plenty logistics companies closed and it costing more to get documents done and clearances and customs checks.....

The very real danger of this comes when the gov't starts putting in price freezes. Then we will reach Venezuela level economic functioning.

Last night I had a dream. In the dream I was in foreign and went to a doubles man and wanted to buy, but the price was written on the wooden cart as $1.50 USD. I checked in my wallet, and I had a purple $20 TTD, a green $5 TTD and $1 USD, but they would not accept the TTD. So I went to another doubles man, and another, and they were all priced in USD.

I think the meaning of that dream is everything is based on international prices, whether we like it or not. If the USD price of channa, flour, etc, going up because of worldwide demand due to COVID19, then things either go up or we learn to do without.

Postby K74T » May 2nd, 2020, 9:58 am

hydroep wrote:The package looking good IMO but the proof is in the eating.

If that is a 4 bara/2 doubles kit, then yuh paying a $ 20 extra for the plastic. But if people really want doubles and they cyar cook, it's an option...:|
It's 8 bara/4 doubles

Postby pugboy » May 2nd, 2020, 10:09 am

ent allyuh does pay $40 for a glass with ice and a end of scotch

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 2nd, 2020, 12:41 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:I realize most trinis are idiots.

They dont consider why things are more expensive and the extra costs at specific times.

I see people saying they hadda get 6 doubles for $30 and how 4 doubles is robbery. They eh considering that extra money and time hadda be spent on kits and individually packaging sauces. That eh mean nothing. They want it for the same $5.

I had some medical supplies land a few days ago, I pay about 20 times what the price was before covid. Plus I had to go through all.kinda headache to get it here because of trump's orders about not exporting medical supplies.....yet endless people talking about price gouging...how this item is normally $50.....how god will smite me.....

Same thing with groceries and all other products
People eh understanding that from the supply chain every single thing get more expensive.

Dhl price is 2 and 3 timed what it normally is as less planes flying and plenty logistics companies closed and it costing more to get documents done and clearances and customs checks.....

The very real danger of this comes when the gov't starts putting in price freezes. Then we will reach Venezuela level economic functioning.

Last night I had a dream. In the dream I was in foreign and went to a doubles man and wanted to buy, but the price was written on the wooden cart as $1.50 USD. I checked in my wallet, and I had a purple $20 TTD, a green $5 TTD and $1 USD, but they would not accept the TTD. So I went to another doubles man, and another, and they were all priced in USD.

I think the meaning of that dream is everything is based on international prices, whether we like it or not. If the USD price of channa, flour, etc, going up because of worldwide demand due to COVID19, then things either go up or we learn to do without.

Last week a chick put up an add saying she was able to source 200 N95 masks and would be selling them or $50 each. Literally every post beating she up about price gouging.

When i checked the price of that model mask, the price in the quantity she bought was $4.25 US, shipping to get in Trinidad via DHL was about $100 US, add on customs, vat etc and you're looking a landed cost of roughly $40.

Chick was only making $10 per mask, and ontop of that was offering free delivery if you bought 4 or more masks.

Trinis too damn stupid and cheap sometimes.

Postby Chimera » May 2nd, 2020, 1:31 pm

Check this batch of idiots. Prices gone up all over the world but apparently it not suppose to rise locally.

Screenshot_20200502-132952_Facebook.jpeg
Screenshot_20200502-132949_Facebook.jpeg
Screenshot_20200502-132940_Facebook.jpeg

matix

Postby matix » May 2nd, 2020, 1:33 pm

maj. tom wrote:lol, Next thing yuh see Gary streaming on fb and bad talking Trinituner and how we does buy jockey shorts in Pennywise.

Postby Chimera » May 3rd, 2020, 11:22 pm

Check this next one
That looking like a kn95. Cost price is 3 to 4 us if you buying anything less than 10,000. . Before shipping.
Yet cunumunu complaining about $35 price
Screenshot_20200503-232030_Facebook.jpeg

Postby gastly369 » May 4th, 2020, 1:34 am

MaxPower wrote:We must emphasize to wear the masks properly as well.

Some of you wearing masks over your chin and neck and not the nose and mouth. What assness is this?

Trinis.....Triniiiiis allyuh be careful.
Ohgorrrrrrrr forehead mask is style dann

screwbash

Postby screwbash » May 4th, 2020, 4:07 am

gastly369 wrote:
MaxPower wrote:We must emphasize to wear the masks properly as well.

Some of you wearing masks over your chin and neck and not the nose and mouth. What assness is this?

Trinis.....Triniiiiis allyuh be careful.
Ohgorrrrrrrr forehead mask is style dann

yuh in see some ah dem wearing it it over they mouth and they nose open. lol.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 4th, 2020, 4:54 am

pugboy wrote:ent allyuh does pay $40 for a glass with ice and a end of scotch

daz small thing, if they could pay 5k on avg for ah piece ah cloth with some beads for ah day........they should not have a problem with new prices for food

Postby pugboy » May 4th, 2020, 6:38 am

that price high
i buy a lb lentils yesterday westbees for $6

Phone Surgeon wrote:Check this batch of idiots. Prices gone up all over the world but apparently it not suppose to rise locally.

Screenshot_20200502-132940_Facebook.jpegScreenshot_20200502-132949_Facebook.jpegScreenshot_20200502-132952_Facebook.jpeg

Postby Chimera » May 4th, 2020, 9:26 am

pugboy wrote:that price high
i buy a lb lentils yesterday westbees for $6

Phone Surgeon wrote:Check this batch of idiots. Prices gone up all over the world but apparently it not suppose to rise locally.

Screenshot_20200502-132940_Facebook.jpegScreenshot_20200502-132949_Facebook.jpegScreenshot_20200502-132952_Facebook.jpeg

that pack i posted is .78 KG.....1.7lbs

Postby K74T » May 4th, 2020, 1:39 pm

https://www.looptt.com/content/police-s ... ce-station

Police stop sale of pre-packaged doubles at service station

Police have stopped the sale of packaged ‘deconstructed doubles’ as well as other pre-packaged meals at a local service station due to the current COVID-19 regulations.

Andre James, Manager of St Christopher’s Service Station, said the doubles, which had been sold hot and packaged for safety, had been a hot seller but had to be stopped after officers visited them on Monday.

The service station was told by officers that the prepared meals, including their hot meals made in-house, were similar to what a restaurant would do and restaurant-type food was not permitted.

However, they were allowed to sell other Grab N’ Go items such as sandwiches.

James said although the development was disappointing, it showed that innovation is a good way to develop a product into something different while still maintaining health and safety requirements.

“In a way we helped ‘The Original Fat Boy Doubles’, who had a great idea, he was able to show that it is possible to diversify and adapt to a changing market.”

The doubles had been sold in a container with the bara and channa kept separate, so that customers could assemble their doubles themselves, to maintain freshness. The meal also came with condiments.

James said that around 250 packages (about 1,000 doubles) were sold on Monday morning before the sale of the items were stopped.

He added that they look forward to health and safety regulations which would help to guide food preparation guidelines for restaurants during the post-COVID-19 phase, as everyone would need to adapt to the ‘new normal’.

“Everyone has to change the way they do certain things. From inception, we stood out in terms of our health and safety measures. We were one of the first service stations to offer customers disposable gloves to pump their gas and we have always kept a clean, friendly, and secure location."

He also thanked customers for their support.

“Most people on social media had a positive response and we appreciate their support, including our new patrons, as they always come first.”

National Security Minister Stuart Young told Loop News he was not aware of this specific incident but said in unrelated circumstances there have been reports of restaurants trying to sell meals via other measures to get around the COVID-19 regulations:

"I have been told that some restaurants are operating and claiming that they are selling pre-packaged food, curbside pick up, and even frozen food service, this is an obvious attempt to get around the regulations which clearly state that restaurants are supposed to be closed. Persons should not breach the regulations which are measures designed to protect the population against the spread of COVID.”

According to the latest COVID-19 public health regulations, Clause 5 states: "For the avoidance of doubt, street vending of food and beverages and all retail food services (including restaurants in-house dining and take-away services) except discount stores, markets, supermarkets, fruit stalls or shops, vegetable stalls or shops, bakeries and ‘parlours’ for the provision of food or other necessities or life, shall be closed for operation during the period set out in regulation 10.”

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 4th, 2020, 1:42 pm

How is that different from the grab & go meals?

Postby pugboy » May 4th, 2020, 1:45 pm

none but ttps made a faux pas precedent with the sauce situation

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:How is that different from the grab & go meals?

Postby Dave » May 4th, 2020, 1:50 pm

Now it seems like victimisation. That's unfair.

antlind

Postby antlind » May 4th, 2020, 1:51 pm

pugboy wrote:none but ttps made a faux pas precedent with the sauce situation

Real jack-arse policing. They don’t have anything more important to do?

Postby pugboy » May 4th, 2020, 1:53 pm

Article say they only allowed sandwiches
One could argue two piece of fried bread with channa filling is a sandwich

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » May 4th, 2020, 1:59 pm

Not a doubles fan in the slightest, but that police action reeks of 'double-standard'.

Interesting that certain bakeries, supermarkets, groceries, and pharmacies are still being allowed to sell pre-packaged, prepared food (including sandwiches). What's the difference?

Gary and Stewie need to clarify, or else they have a lot more 'sweat' to ban.

Postby Slartibartfast » May 4th, 2020, 2:05 pm

antlind wrote:
pugboy wrote:none but ttps made a faux pas precedent with the sauce situation

Real jack-arse policing. They don’t have anything more important to do?

Somebody high up get horn by a doubles man. That's the only explanation I can see. They rather tank Prestige Holdings that allow one doubles person to abide by the regulations that they deemed acceptable. Now they stopping the sale of it prepackaged in a way that wasn't causing problems before. I mean, I wasn't going to buy the doubles but it was cool to see people come up with ideas to adapt to fill a need, even if it isn't a need I personally have.

It seems less and less like they looking to solve a problem and more and more like they just looking for one.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 4th, 2020, 2:06 pm

Dave wrote:Now it seems like victimisation. That's unfair.

Are you saying the TTPS is petty and vindicitve? shocked

Postby Dave » May 4th, 2020, 2:07 pm

No you did.
elec2020 wrote:

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 4th, 2020, 2:08 pm

Arcmanov wrote:Not a doubles fan in the slightest, but that police action reeks of 'double-standard'.

Interesting that certain bakeries, supermarkets, groceries, and pharmacies are still being allowed to sell pre-packaged, prepared food (including sandwiches). What's the difference?

Gary and Stewie need to clarify, or else they have a lot more 'sweat' to ban.

Some lawyers going to earn a few millions in the next few years due to this laisez-fare way the government and TTPS has tried to govern and restrict our rights without implementing an SOE

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 4th, 2020, 2:10 pm

Dave wrote:No you did.
elec2020 wrote:

Lol... nice response... also to be quite clear i was being sarcastic... the TTPS and COP have shown several times they are vindictive/hate when people try to stand up for their rights... example... the COP ridiculing lawyers for telling their clients that you a human being with rights that the government cant infringe upon just so... also we have seen countless newspaper stories where people win cases against the TTPS for trumped up charges

Postby Rovin » May 4th, 2020, 2:11 pm

allyuh men doh stick when it comes to a hot news story

i myself wasnt to going to buy any but only reason i can see it causing any problem is if it was causing a big crowd of ppl lining up or rushing to buy otherwise how it is different from packaged lunches that hilo sells daily ....

Postby Dave » May 4th, 2020, 2:13 pm

Touche, so was I lol.
elec2020 wrote:
Dave wrote:No you did.
elec2020 wrote:

Lol... nice response... also to be quite clear i was being sarcastic... the TTPS and COP have shown several times they are vindictive/hate when people try to stand up for their rights... example... the COP ridiculing lawyers for telling their clients that you a human being with rights that the government cant infringe upon just so... also we have seen countless newspaper stories where people win cases against the TTPS for trumped up charges

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 4th, 2020, 2:14 pm

WiEat has contactless food delivery

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 4th, 2020, 2:15 pm

Rovin wrote:allyuh men doh stick when it comes to a hot news story

i myself wasnt to going to buy any but only reason i can see it causing any problem is if it was causing a big crowd of ppl lining up or rushing to buy otherwise how it is different from packaged lunches that hilo sells daily ....

Is simple... cause their is one law for them... and another one for us... i also was not rushing for no doubles... but still equality... i could be wrong... again i could be wrong... but aint pricemart still selling pizza?

Postby Dave » May 4th, 2020, 2:24 pm

Linda's has frozen whole pizza now. But all the regular sandwiches can be had. Saw another bakery selling bake and sada with all the different toppings already made.
Go figure how packaged doubles is different. I however would never condone if there was mass gathering for it.