PariaMan

Re: CNG situation in south

Postby PariaMan » October 23rd, 2019, 11:44 pm

Postby sMASH » October 24th, 2019, 12:20 am

market forces demanding a price jump for the cng. if not, then suppliers will stop, and the whole ting fall apart....brap.

ttec supposed to increase rates as well. not sure how much that jump will be. they may still be a lil neck and neck.

US prices for natural gas would be higher than ours cause they buy from us, so u would have shipping and distribution costs.

Postby adnj » October 24th, 2019, 9:26 am

Your $33/100 km sounds about right.

Diesel engine vehicles are more efficient but typically heavier when compared to gasoline engine vehicles. So the expected fuel economy for an average diesel light truck, SUV, or passenger car is about the same as the average gasoline engine vehicle, 9 l/100 km.

At $3.41/liter - $30.69/100 km.

pugboy wrote:Diesel for a hilux is around $33/100km

adnj wrote:
vaiostation wrote:We should note that our electricity is heavily subsidized as well, so any move to full electric vehicles will in turn cause a major demand for this commodity, as well as more natural gas will be needed for t&tec.

We should compare our petrol, cng and electricity at unsubsidized rates to get a more accurate view on the issue and see which one is more viable in the long term.
I have no idea what the unsubsidized costs are in Trinidad in particular but in general the cost for either electric or CNG is about half of the cost for gasoline.

You should expect about 22kwh/100 km for a PEV, 9 LGE/100 km for CNG and 9 l/100 km for gasoline.

Current subsidized costs are 37¢/kwh or
$8.14/100 km for electric,
$44.73/100 km for Super,
$9.00/100 km for CNG
Last edited by adnj on October 24th, 2019, 9:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » October 24th, 2019, 9:33 am

More like fallen apart
And it’s really the market forces for the supplier not consumer as is usually the case

sMASH wrote:market forces demanding a price jump for the cng. if not, then suppliers will stop, and the whole ting fall apart....brap.

ttec supposed to increase rates as well. not sure how much that jump will be. they may still be a lil neck and neck.

US prices for natural gas would be higher than ours cause they buy from us, so u would have shipping and distribution costs.

Postby Redman » October 24th, 2019, 9:36 am

Well its time for us to pay the true costs of our consumables-or else nothing would make sense to any entity except the consumer

Postby sMASH » October 24th, 2019, 9:43 am

Redman wrote:Well its time for us to pay the true costs of our consumables-or else nothing would make sense to any entity except the consumer

i saying that since manning days. but u do it when u can absorb it and adjust, like back then. not like now when it WILL be a big hit.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 24th, 2019, 11:11 am

Disadvantage of CNG compared to hybrid and plug-in is that it requires infrastructure that does not fully exist at the moment

The sellers will then have extra cost to bear

Postby K74T » October 24th, 2019, 11:36 am

20191024_113532.jpeg

Postby The_Honourable » October 24th, 2019, 12:02 pm

Ramnarine: Cost of running CNG stations high

Postby K74T » October 25th, 2019, 2:36 pm

20191025_143349.jpeg

Postby MaxPower » October 25th, 2019, 3:25 pm

Raise the price of CNG...

Postby Ted_v2 » October 25th, 2019, 10:21 pm

coming to come, hold strain.

why u think they giving out free kits and having the market CNG fueled? just now they raising the price.

people so sweet with the savings eh. imagine a taxi driver going home with a hundred+ dollars a day by doing noting.

Postby adnj » October 26th, 2019, 9:21 am

Ted_v2 wrote:coming to come, hold strain.

why u think they giving out free kits and having the market CNG fueled? just now they raising the price.

people so sweet with the savings eh. imagine a taxi driver going home with a hundred+ dollars a day by doing noting.

There is usually a dual-fuel switch for a CNG conversion. If you run out of CNG, you switch over to Super.

Even if you pay $15,000 for the conversion yourself, the kit will pay for itself in about 40,000 km. That's about two years for the average driver.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 26th, 2019, 9:29 am

adnj wrote:

There is usually a dual-fuel switch for a CNG conversion. If you run out of CNG, you switch over to Super.

Even if you pay $15,000 for the conversion yourself, the kit will pay for itself in about 40,000 km. That's about two years for the average driver.
At current prices! What if the prices go up?

Postby sMASH » October 26th, 2019, 10:06 am

They say they not raising it till more people jump on. Not sure when is good enoygh

Postby adnj » October 26th, 2019, 10:49 am

PariaMan wrote:
adnj wrote:

At current prices! What if the prices go up?

Even if the price doubles to $2/LGE, the payback period is 3 years.

Postby maj. tom » October 26th, 2019, 11:43 am

Whoever has the CNG contract should get the plug-in EV household setup contract. See how the CNG futures would change overnight. It's obvious that plug-in EV is the current best solution for this small country by 2050, since petrol vehicles are banned in the EU and Japan from 2040. This means that we should be seeing the last petrol-hybrid cars in TT around 2050 (yeah right, this is PNM country who had the same foresight to abandon the £billion railway investments since 1870s and replace them with donkey-cart roads).
Currently a 2019 Tesla S has a 600 km range on full charge. That technology will only get better.

This would mean we should be focusing on developing that infrastructure, not only the household plug-in charger setups, plug-in ports across the country like how we have gas-stations, but more importantly the infrastructure to generate and distribute the electricity that will be required by 2050 for all these vehicles.

Postby adnj » October 26th, 2019, 11:51 am

maj. tom wrote:Whoever has the CNG contract should get the plug-in EV household setup contract. See how the CNG futures would change overnight. It's obvious that plug-in EV is the current best solution for this small country by 2050, since petrol vehicles are banned in the EU and Japan from 2040. This means that we should be seeing the last petrol-hybrid cars in TT around 2050 (yeah right, this is PNM country who had the same foresight to abandon the £billion railway investments since 1870s and replace them with donkey-cart roads).
Currently a 2019 Tesla S has a 600 km range on full charge. That technology will only get better.

This would mean we should be focusing on developing that infrastructure, not only the household plug-in charger setups, plug-in ports across the country like how we have gas-stations, but more importantly the infrastructure to generate and distribute the electricity that will be required by 2050 for all these vehicles.
With only about twelve CNG stations in the country, I agree with focusing on EVs for consumers. But for maxis, heavy trucks, buses, and even ferries, CNG is the most viable solution.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 26th, 2019, 2:11 pm

Actually China has a lot of electric busses

So why not us too
adnj wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Whoever has the CNG contract should get the plug-in EV household setup contract. See how the CNG futures would change overnight. It's obvious that plug-in EV is the current best solution for this small country by 2050, since petrol vehicles are banned in the EU and Japan from 2040. This means that we should be seeing the last petrol-hybrid cars in TT around 2050 (yeah right, this is PNM country who had the same foresight to abandon the £billion railway investments since 1870s and replace them with donkey-cart roads).

With only about twelve CNG stations in the country, I agree with focusing on EVs for consumers. But for maxis, heavy trucks, buses, and even ferries, CNG is the most viable solution.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 26th, 2019, 2:37 pm

PariaMan wrote:Actually China has a lot of electric busses

So why not us too

We just open Chinatown. Doh worry, we'll get there

Postby adnj » October 26th, 2019, 7:29 pm

viedcht wrote:

So why not us too

Because China manufactures about of 75% of all LiIon batteries on the planet and has excess hydroelectric generation capacity. More than half of the 100 smoggiest cities in the world are in China.

China is also the world's largest petroleum and gas products importer.

Trinidad is an oil and gas exporter with little excess electrical generation capacity at about 2 GW.

Next question.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 27th, 2019, 6:17 am

where does the safest cng installation?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 27th, 2019, 7:29 am

That CNG drive has already failed

We do no not have the infrastructure for it

To build the infrastructure will be too costly

To run the infrastructure is also costly

The subsidized price will have to go up

The payback time will then become to great

Plans are already afoot to install a solar power plant in Trinidad

We can do like Norway and embrace EV (even though they have oil and gas) or we can bury our heads in the sand

Postby 88sins » October 27th, 2019, 7:32 am

viedcht wrote:

So why not us too

knowing how bobol and racket and bad spending is the order of the day here, ask yourself this.
what would it cost to do this? expect a USD$300K bus to cost USD$3M. tax payers can't afford that kinda expense, when it have other things that just as important & would cost less.

time to promote peddle power to the public. even motorized bicycles. & those with kids or load can add a lil side car or a cart in the back.

I actually considering to build a motorized bike right now, cuz it would be more handy and more fuel efficient for my lil short runs when I going 2-3 km away than driving, weather permitting of course.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 27th, 2019, 7:38 am

We expect a big shift in EV adoption will start in the early 2020s, when vehicle manufacturers bring on new models, battery range improves, charging times reduce and when the cost of an electric vehicle meets the cost of a combustion engine vehicle

.Roy Williamson,vice president, advanced mobility, BP

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 27th, 2019, 7:57 am

Babwah also asked why, when fuel subsidy was removed for super and premium gas, government is still pumping $2 billion into funding the CNG initiative, which is benefiting only one company, which has a monopoly on the CNG business.

“Government has taken away the subsidy for liquid fuel that was benefiting all citizens, complaining that it was costing between $2 and $3 billion a year, but you are pumping a similar sum into CNG, which is benefiting a single company. Citizens are getting a raw deal

Newsday article

Postby maj. tom » October 27th, 2019, 7:59 am

nononononoooooo that is PNM value for money!! Elections 2020 proved it!

Postby pete » October 27th, 2019, 10:22 am

CNG is being subsidised that much? With so few CNG vehicles on the road I hope that's not correct..