HAIRSTYLE ROW: Mom threatens legal action against school

Re: HAIRSTYLE ROW: Mom threatens legal action against school

Postby Gladiator » June 29th, 2023, 11:12 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Failure by both the parents and the school.

If the school has rules about hairstyles, and the parents did not abide by the rules over the course of the students stay at the school - failure.

If the school did not enforce their own rules during the students time at their desks, they should not conveniently apply rules for graduation. Failure

trendy hairstyle is a rite of passage for puberty and teenage rebellion, boys will have that and push the envelope as far as they can. It's not their fault that the system failed them and their parents too.

This is just symptomatic of Trinidad's culture of rules and laws. We all break it (speeding, tint, a plethora of MVRTA violations as the norm), but when they conveniently enforce it we have an issue. Same failure on both sides.

That's correct... growing up I always wanted a Mohawk hairstyle, the school didn't allow it and neither my parents. Now I am an adult and can do whatever I want but bald like a new born baby so can't even try to grow one :(

Postby MaxPower » June 29th, 2023, 11:33 am

Abide by the rules and stop using the race card.

Can i wear a jeans to a uniform requiring school and cry discrimination?

Rules are rules and part of the learning process and adult grooming is to learn to follow these rules regardless of what you think or “identify” yourself as.

I blame the school management, the parents AND the students for allowing this thug like and UNprofessional dress code. Where is the discipline?

If we allow this then you will have NO case when a student or parent chooses to disobey other dress code items.

Anyways, carry on with the third world problems. If everyone did their blasted job both at home and at work we wont be having these issues.

Postby Rovin » June 29th, 2023, 12:41 pm

from d onset u cannot allow kids to gradually go wayward, teachers & parents need to correct something d instant u see it

back in my days - when u go to sign up rules are laid down from day 1 in writing so right there & then u & ur parents know what u getting into, if u doh like it find another school, doh try no smart thing now\later cause d school not going to bend any rules for u

rules must be obeyed from day 1 & also always enforced from day 1 - any infringement a note is instantly given to u to give ur parents as a notice or worst yet parents have to come to school with u 1st thing in d morning or u cannot come into school until d matter has been sorted out ... no negotiations & they quick to inform u if u dont comply well find another school

but sometimes like in this situation rather than all d drama that they know will come out of it, let d boys graduate on stage jes to avoid d problem since u wont see most of them in ur school anymore, but dont allow d next set of kids coming up to be unruly cause 1 year from now will be d same dilemma ...

Postby alfa » June 29th, 2023, 12:52 pm

Interestingly enough some of these same youths may go on to join the protective services and will gladly shave everything without complaint

Postby Chimera » June 29th, 2023, 12:59 pm

people does conform if it have consequences

they know they leaving the school so they didn't care .

i doh see the issue with none of them fellas hair though, everyone more or less looking neat and thats their hairstyle.....their parents doh see a issue with it.

i wonder if when entering these schools in form 1 if they have pictures of certain types of hair style and say it banned

Postby nemisis » June 29th, 2023, 1:08 pm

MaxPower wrote:Abide by the rules and stop using the race card.

Rules are rules and part of the learning process and adult grooming is to learn to follow these rules regardless of what you think or “identify” yourself as.

I blame the school management, the parents AND the students for allowing this thug like and UNprofessional dress code. Where is the discipline?

If we allow this then you will have NO case when a student or parent chooses to disobey other dress code items.

Anyways, carry on with the third world problems. If everyone did their blasted job both at home and at work we wont be having these issues.

Ent!! Schools need to make it clear that there is no acceptable hairstyle for curly hair. It should be a Buzz cut.

Stop Pretending any of these styles are neat and suitable in school or any workplace
Baby Afro Haircut
Mini Coils
Twist-Out
High and Tight
Short Dreads with a Fade
Bold Afro
Dreadlocks with Blonde Tips
All-Over Curls
High Top Fade
Straightened Hair and Short Braids
Ponytail Dreadlocks
High and Tapered
Cropped
Blocky
Medium-Length Dreadlocks
Natural
Angled Top With Fade
Curly Top
Mini Dreads With Fade
Waves and Low Fade
Tall Flat Top Taper
Long Twists and Fade
Curls and Temple Fade
All-Over Curls

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » June 29th, 2023, 1:11 pm

MaxPower wrote:Abide by the rules and stop using the race card.

This is an absolutely idiotic comparison. There is an obvious difference between jeans and *people hair*.

Also how are *any* of these hairstyles thug like and unprofessional?

Postby MaxPower » June 29th, 2023, 1:58 pm

ed360123 wrote:This is an absolutely idiotic comparison. There is an obvious difference between jeans and *people hair*.

Idiotic?

Well if you want to speak idiocy, let me ask you this because clearly you miss the whole point which is exactly why we have this issues because of a lack of basic understanding.

Are jeans i.e attire and hairstyles covered in the same dress code section of the approved manual? Or do we have a separate section for clothes and hairstyle? FYI, they are in the same section.

Therefore, seeing that your smart self has no issues with these hairstyles which are not in accordance with the rules, then you should not have an issue if someone was to wear a white vest, a 3/4 pants worn well below the waistline with a Fubu jockey showing for school.

For your comments and corrections.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 29th, 2023, 2:00 pm

The school actually does have a manual with illustrations of acceptable and not acceptable hairstyles.

I found it weird they did but it exists
Phone Surgeon wrote:people does conform if it have consequences

i doh see the issue with none of them fellas hair though, everyone more or less looking neat and thats their hairstyle.....their parents doh see a issue with it.

i wonder if when entering these schools in form 1 if they have pictures of certain types of hair style and say it banned

Postby Dave » June 29th, 2023, 2:15 pm

Trinity students have always pushed the envelope when it came to uniform and hair styles.
Has always been happening. I'm sure like any other school just different avenues are explored by the student to see what they can get away with and it's always a group effort.
We have all been there and done that.
Who is right and who is wrong?
School indoctrinates a certain culture.
It's just like religion...up to interpretation and once not up to ones likeness then everyone is against you!

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » June 29th, 2023, 2:19 pm

ed360123 wrote:This is an absolutely idiotic comparison. There is an obvious difference between jeans and *people hair*.

Idiotic?

Well if you want to speak idiocy, let me ask you this because clearly you miss the whole point which is exactly why we have this issues because of a lack of basic understanding.

Are jeans i.e attire and hairstyles covered in the same dress code section of the approved manual? Or do we have a separate section for clothes and hairstyle? FYI, they are in the same section.

Therefore, seeing that your smart self has no issues with these hairstyles which are not in accordance with the rules, then you should not have an issue if someone was to wear a white vest, a 3/4 pants worn well below the waistline with a Fubu jockey showing for school.

For your comments and corrections.
Hair is literally part of people body and black hair specifically has a history of discrimination.

The same does not apply to jeans and jokey shorts.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » June 29th, 2023, 2:20 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:The school actually does have a manual with illustrations of acceptable and not acceptable hairstyles.

Yeah, here's the photo for those interested.
img_6514.jpg

Postby Les Bain » June 29th, 2023, 2:29 pm

ed360123 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:The school actually does have a manual with illustrations of acceptable and not acceptable hairstyles.

Yeah, here's the photo for those interested.img_6514.jpg

Look at that. Yeah, school at fault for allowing them boundary pushers go til they got I.D parade hair, but the parents equally at fault for leaving it up to school admin to slap a brakes on their kids.

Postby maj. tom » June 29th, 2023, 2:32 pm

But in 2023, why? Why are any of those unacceptable? Why any hairstyle like those matters at all in a school?

Because that manual was written in the 1990s when The Fresh Prince, the Wu-Tang Clan and the Black Album represented rebel against the establishment?

Postby Les Bain » June 29th, 2023, 3:01 pm

Manning wasn't rocking unacceptable cut #1 at one point?

Postby Chimera » June 29th, 2023, 3:21 pm

Les Bain wrote:Manning wasn't rocking unacceptable cut #1 at one point?

manning went Pres Sando. u cudda rock Ras and Afro in PCS without issue

Postby j.o.e » June 29th, 2023, 3:25 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Les Bain wrote:Manning wasn't rocking unacceptable cut #1 at one point?

manning went Pres Sando. u cudda rock Ras and Afro in PCS without issue

As a ex student I can confirm that once upon a time dreads were considered a no go. The school has moved past those days

Postby Chimera » June 29th, 2023, 3:35 pm

how long you talking about?

when i was there 20 years ago u cudda rock ras and dreds

Postby redmanjp » June 29th, 2023, 3:52 pm

if u are genuinely Rastafarian then u exempt as there are religious exceptions

Postby redmanjp » June 29th, 2023, 4:07 pm

according to this students were warned repeatedly and were flouting the rules for over a year

https://newsday.co.tt/2023/06/28/education-minister-hairstyle-issue-at-trinity-college-unfortunate-regrettable/

Postby paid_influencer » June 29th, 2023, 5:43 pm

the rules racial tho

they did the correct thing by organising, standing together and drawing attention to their cause non-violently.

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2023, 5:54 pm

think probably by next wednesday this bruha gets forgotten again

Postby MaxPower » June 29th, 2023, 5:55 pm

ed360123 wrote:Hair is literally part of people body and black hair specifically has a history of discrimination.

The same does not apply to jeans and jokey shorts.

My brother, regardless of the history,

Hair and attire are all part of a dress code and should be abided by. You can cry all the discrimination you want and have the whole of BLM and still get mash up in court for what is written in black and white.
Last edited by MaxPower on June 29th, 2023, 5:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » June 29th, 2023, 6:00 pm

pugboy wrote:think probably by next wednesday this bruha gets forgotten again

hopefully next year graduating class show up 100% in dreadlocks

let them segregate the whole school outside

unity is strength

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2023, 6:12 pm

how those with straight hair doing dat ?

Postby redmanjp » June 29th, 2023, 7:19 pm

ed360123 wrote:Yeah, here's the photo for those interested.img_6514.jpg

the 2nd 'unacceptable' one look a lot like all the 'good boys'.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 30th, 2023, 2:53 pm

I'll admit, as 'racist' (realist) as I am , this kinda messed up.

The boys had neat platted/braided hair. Not everybody wanna be bald

But then again, injuns does get frig up by teachers for having gel in their hair. Even if a mohawk or front spike was low you used to get blast

Postby MaxPower » June 30th, 2023, 3:02 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:I'll admit, as 'racist' (realist) as I am , this kinda messed up.

But then again, injuns does get frig up by teachers for having gel in their hair. Even if a mohawk or front spike was low you used to get blast

ruff,

We all know it looks neat, but it is against the rules.

Now if the school were to allow them to graduate on the grounds that it was neat plats/braids, then they will have to allow someone with a neatly tucked white vest and perfectly ironed jeans as well.

We encourage this nonsense and these students will go into the workplace with the same mentality.

Follow the rules.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 30th, 2023, 3:13 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:I'll admit, as 'racist' (realist) as I am , this kinda messed up.

ruff,

We all know it looks neat, but it is against the rules.

Now if the school were to allow them to graduate on the grounds that it was neat plats/braids, then they will have to allow someone with a neatly tucked white vest and perfectly ironed jeans as well.

We encourage this nonsense and these students will go into the workplace with the same mentality.

Follow the rules.

fair point

Postby bluefete » July 1st, 2023, 6:26 am

Were they wearing their hair like this all through Form 5/6 and the school then decided to follow the rules only for graduation?