PEP Policy Discussion

reboot2020

Re: PEP Policy Discussion

Postby reboot2020 » May 22nd, 2020, 1:34 pm

Some of the discussions the PEP has been having via their Plain Talk series during this lockdown period:

#PlainTALK - An Interview with Nirad Tewarie, CEO of AMCHAM T&T

#PlainTALK - Activists Assemble!

#PlainTALK - An Interview with 2 Time Caribbean and T&T Footballer of the Year, David Nakhid

#PlainTALK - A One on one with former Senator and Attorney-at-law, Wayne Sturge

#PlainTALK - The Science of Politics - A Plain talks with senior political scientist Dr. Bishnu Ragoonath

#PlainTALK - The Economic Future of Trinidad and Tobago. An interview with Dr. 'Bhoe' Tewarie

#PlainTALK - An Interview with Member of Parliament, Prakash Ramadhar

#PlainTALK - Feeding the Nation

Postby pugboy » May 22nd, 2020, 2:17 pm

Wha is latest with the mark he buss the other day about Newman george losing his us visa?

Postby paid_influencer » May 26th, 2020, 8:40 pm

PEA with Vernon De Lima and Wayne Sturge

https://www.facebook.com/peptrinbago/vi ... 208881721/

a political leader we can be proud of

Postby Slartibartfast » June 24th, 2020, 11:14 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Our democracy is broken because we are not using it properly. We vote based on who we think will win the next election which is the dumbest thing we can do. This is why 3rd parties cannot get a proper foothold.

VexXx Dogg wrote:I had some older research from about 10 years ago on the democratic systems and a couple alternatives jumped out.

The westminster democracy, or the variant that we have is a dead end IMHO. We keep beating a dead horse and making the same mistakes and expect different outcomes.

When I was reading, I found Lijphart's work on consocationalism and consensus democracies to be quite interesting. The experts can chime in here.

Looks like we were on the right track. Looks like Ranked Choice Voting may be something to look in to.

Postby pugboy » June 24th, 2020, 12:06 pm

so pea was spreading fake news with this

pugboy wrote:Wha is latest with the mark he buss the other day about Newman george losing his us visa?

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 24th, 2020, 12:10 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Our democracy is broken because we are not using it properly. We vote based on who we think will win the next election which is the dumbest thing we can do. This is why 3rd parties cannot get a proper foothold.

VexXx Dogg wrote:I had some older research from about 10 years ago on the democratic systems and a couple alternatives jumped out.

The westminster democracy, or the variant that we have is a dead end IMHO. We keep beating a dead horse and making the same mistakes and expect different outcomes.

When I was reading, I found Lijphart's work on consocationalism and consensus democracies to be quite interesting. The experts can chime in here.

Looks like we were on the right track. Looks like Ranked Choice Voting may be something to look in to.

Oooh, very cool stuff.
My current research is more coroporate governance than politics, but politics remains a very interesting area.

Postby paid_influencer » June 28th, 2020, 3:31 pm

We big time now !!!!

half-syrian Jesus going on National media tonight to announce candidates. I am ready!

https://www.facebook.com/peptrinbago
84284595_1180594538982952_1981593655404986184_n.jpg

Postby K74T » June 28th, 2020, 3:53 pm

Lmao

Postby matr1x » June 28th, 2020, 4:17 pm

The video was good....until he went to the doofus. Aoc is looking for her next meal ticket.

The problem with Democrats is its numbers versus quality

Postby paid_influencer » June 28th, 2020, 8:10 pm

10 minutes in and I still ent hear PEA speak

this is good and bad'

Postby zoom rader » June 28th, 2020, 9:23 pm

PEP should focus on demographics that suit them or split some PNM vote.

Dem top vike ke vike, I don't see them as having any chance yet. Maybe 2030

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 28th, 2020, 9:51 pm

paid_influencer wrote:We big time now !!!!

half-syrian Jesus going on National media tonight to announce candidates. I am ready!

Nice man.
He can't complain about media blackout now - that was a crutch for quite some time

reboot2020

Postby reboot2020 » July 3rd, 2020, 6:30 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:We big time now !!!!

Nice man.
He can't complain about media blackout now - that was a crutch for quite some time

According to party page that was a paid broadcast. The blackout hasn't been lifted. One challenger has to spend 35K to get their message out when any fly by night party deemed to be non-threatening gets free and unearned media coverage for every utterance. That is unfair no matter who you support.

Partial slate announced, More on the way. :

Postby paid_influencer » July 5th, 2020, 8:03 pm

PEP on tv live now