Re: Masqueraders fork out $5,000 - $15,000 to play Mas

Postby Les Bain » January 24th, 2019, 10:50 am

justheretoreadthecomments wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:
MG Man wrote:I spend more on cars that aren't worth half the money I throw into them...to each his own

that isn't bad spending,that's an investment.
buy really old models & fix them up & keep them long enough for them to be considered antiques & then sell them for a premium worth plenty more than you spent.

I'm a hoarder. I doh sell nuttn
Seriously tho, probably only one car in my little collection is worth serious money, and only if I ship it back to the UK
The MGBs are worth ok money but I've sunk more into them than they'd sell for, and well the F is a money pit I paid waaaaay too much for, because I really wanted it...can't even give that car away
Carnival you spend money and have nothing to show for it, except a baby

Buying a car or having a hobby then you got stuff you can show or even have a side income

A couple things, Chet,
Not everyone who parties for carnival drops a child 9 months later
Not everyone values possessions
People are happy to pay for experiences. I see no problem here

You on chit. All my bredren wha play mass drop a chile October gone. Everybody dropping chile. Man, woman... and children to. Can't forget kiddies carnival. All they boys and girls does end up preggers

lol lol and i heard this old man in the gym saying that people play mas for 2 days and wake up with HIV :shock: :shock: :shock: What? lol

That eh hard to believe. Some people does kiss they wife goodnight then wake up dead the next morning.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » January 24th, 2019, 11:18 am

mero wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So when yuh spend ah 7k on ah costume...it could sell back oarrr??
Shakes stop reaching nah.

When yuh spend that some money to go merica to pose & take pics in Times Square for yuh ig , it could sell back oarr?
America is not a valued nation to visit, India is far better

Check these betis out,

Indian traffic cops way kool than trini cops

https://youtu.be/60ItP99P8i4

Them beti nice.

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 24th, 2019, 12:57 pm

Carnival season really cast a spell on people. Spend thousands upon thousands for a vice yet they possibly renting an apt, have no car, always like to borrow and loaf off people and then have the audacity to tell the world what is moral, spiritual and ethical etc...and on ash Wednesday ask for forgiveness from the revelry and brainwashing ourselves into thinking that we're forgiven and God is a fool.

Postby Chimera » January 24th, 2019, 1:52 pm

shakes i ent guh lie boy......
yuh life sounding real boring

you is one of them raj who does put 100k in music in a vehicle to go carshow for other men to admire you and get plenty bounce?

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 24th, 2019, 1:52 pm

agent007 wrote:Carnival season really cast a spell on people. Spend thousands upon thousands for a vice yet they possibly renting an apt, have no car, always like to borrow and loaf off people and then have the audacity to tell the world what is moral, spiritual and ethical etc...and on ash Wednesday ask for forgiveness from the revelry and brainwashing ourselves into thinking that we're forgiven and God is a fool.

Lol ok there hater

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 24th, 2019, 1:54 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:shakes i ent guh lie boy......

you is one of them raj who does put 100k in music in a vehicle to go carshow for other men to admire you and get plenty bounce?

And if the man really wanted good Sound Quality, you don't even need more than 10k. He all about the them decibel gains trying to our boom the other man. To each his own but that is far more pointless than spending on Carnival.

Postby Chimera » January 24th, 2019, 1:58 pm

i guess he could sell back the music eh.....and he will always have the memories of all the bounce and ploi and bodows he collected...........

allyuh fellas need to play mas ONCE...just ONCE in your life.....
it will change you

the thing right here in your home country...u dont need to fly anywhere, u eh need to rent anywhere to stay,.....just buy your costume......

Postby SMc » January 24th, 2019, 1:58 pm

Les Bain wrote:
That eh hard to believe. Some people does kiss they wife goodnight then wake up dead the next morning.

Wake up dead :D you liming with zombies or what

Miktay

Postby Miktay » January 24th, 2019, 2:17 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:i guess he could sell back the music eh.....and he will always have the memories of all the bounce and ploi and bodows he collected...........

it will change you

the thing right here in your home country...u dont need to fly anywhere, u eh need to rent anywhere to stay,.....just buy your costume......

And yuh need to play mas with the right section...

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 24th, 2019, 3:13 pm

Miktay wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:i guess he could sell back the music eh.....and he will always have the memories of all the bounce and ploi and bodows he collected...........

it will change you

Section or band? Section only matter for stage.

I've been parties all over the world, Carnival in T&T is something special and different. Some of best times of my life have been playing mas.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 24th, 2019, 3:40 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:shakes i ent guh lie boy......

boring is an understatement

Miktay

Postby Miktay » January 25th, 2019, 12:25 pm

l33t2 wrote:
Miktay wrote:

it will change you

Section or band? Section only matter for stage.

I've been parties all over the world, Carnival in T&T is something special and different. Some of best times of my life have been playing mas.

Section=people.

Yuh need to play with the right ppl.

Postby Chimera » January 25th, 2019, 1:00 pm

U cud.go and play mas by yourself with no friends or family and still have a great time.

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » January 28th, 2019, 2:19 pm

l33t2 wrote:
agent007 wrote:Carnival season really cast a spell on people. Spend thousands upon thousands for a vice yet they possibly renting an apt, have no car, always like to borrow and loaf off people and then have the audacity to tell the world what is moral, spiritual and ethical etc...and on ash Wednesday ask for forgiveness from the revelry and brainwashing ourselves into thinking that we're forgiven and God is a fool.

Lol ok there hater

Lmao but it is the truth though, nobody could prove him wrong.
Trini's does lose they sheet and get hot under they collar when someone bring up the obvious hypocrisy.
Trini's don't question, they just accept because culture.

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » January 28th, 2019, 2:23 pm

Exactly. And when you point this out everybody vex as if it is not the truth.
Is just a rinse-and-repeat thing for them.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 28th, 2019, 2:31 pm

QuietGiant wrote:

Lol and even if this is the case for some, how it bothering you?. At least these ppl spending money locally stimulating the economy.

Postby Chimera » January 28th, 2019, 2:46 pm

yup

clothes stores, make up artists, taxi men, shuttle services, food places, security companies, guest houses, private home owners, jewellery makers, clothes designers does real make their name in what is an other wise very slow January/February

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » January 28th, 2019, 2:56 pm

l33t2 wrote:
QuietGiant wrote:

Lol and even if this is the case for some, how it bothering you?. At least these ppl spending money locally stimulating the economy.

It's not bothering me, i'm just pointing out the obvious from what i (and clearly others) observed.
I'm not telling people how to spend their money, they could do whatever with it, it's theirs - but i am stating the obvious.
People who like carnival outnumber those who don't, but it doesn't make my point wrong.

Postby Les Bain » January 28th, 2019, 2:57 pm

Carnival lovers have Carnival Season.
Who eh like carnival have a 4 day weekend and decent traffic come Ash Wednesday.

What's the problem?

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » January 28th, 2019, 3:18 pm

No one said it was a problem, because it isn't.
Pointing out something obvious doesn't automatically mean someone hates it, it's just out of observation.

Postby pugboy » January 28th, 2019, 4:28 pm

You not allowed to make obersvations here yo
Will be deemed hating
It’s big business, don’t mess with it
Just like how limpbert fraid to tax them and casinos

Postby wagonrunner » January 28th, 2019, 4:40 pm

people people
no need for the sour grapes. allyuh could be in thing too.

this and a mek it happen and yuh inside.

Postby matr1x » January 29th, 2019, 12:10 am

With the amount of vene in the country, getting a good wine more of a realistic option. Most of them heffers think they wining but the just jiggling fat.

Getting a wine from a vene will have you smiling

Postby MG Man » January 29th, 2019, 10:40 am

matr1x wrote:With the amount of vene in the country, getting a good wine more of a realistic option. Most of them heffers think they wining but the just jiggling fat.

Getting a wine from a vene will have you smiling

I AM NOT A HEFF......oh you mean dem gyal dem.....yeah boy is true :lol:

Miktay

Postby Miktay » January 29th, 2019, 2:50 pm

True. Zolanas put dong a sweet wine.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 29th, 2019, 3:15 pm

If is one thing, i rate how bold the island finance ad campaigns are. They take the things that trinis would be most vocally against borrowing for, where people shame to admit they borrow, and plaster the ads in your face.

People hadda catch, it keeps the economy alive i guess.

Postby mero » January 29th, 2019, 3:39 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:If is one thing, i rate how bold the island finance ad campaigns are. They take the things that trinis would be most vocally against borrowing for, where people shame to admit they borrow, and plaster the ads in your face.

On a real doe, what wrong taking a loan to do something for your satisfaction? Why a loan has to be for car and house only?

If kwame or harrilal take a 10k to play mas from when they 18 yrs old, pay it back in a year or so, and repeat. By the time they 25-30 wouldn't they have a really good standing with the bank?

More so over someone who now coming to try and buy a car or land?

Realise trinis and 2nrs especially have this skin up nose, watch dem nah mentality

Postby De Dragon » January 29th, 2019, 3:52 pm

mero wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:If is one thing, i rate how bold the island finance ad campaigns are. They take the things that trinis would be most vocally against borrowing for, where people shame to admit they borrow, and plaster the ads in your face.

On a real doe, what wrong taking a loan to do something for your satisfaction? Why a loan has to be for car and house only?

If kwame or harrilal take a 10k to play mas from when they 18 yrs old, pay it back in a year or so, and repeat. By the time they 25-30 wouldn't they have a really good standing with the bank?

More so over someone who now coming to try and buy a car or land?

Realise trinis and 2nrs especially have this skin up nose, watch dem nah mentality

I think mixed in there is some genuine concern particularly for those who can't afford it, or that it be spent on some type of investment.

Postby pugboy » January 29th, 2019, 4:01 pm

Island finance is not to be confused with bank type loans though

Their rates are very high because they know that the market they are targeting are ketch arsers
They cater for a large number of loan defaulters

So clearly it would appear that they have a perception of the financial habits of these folks
(Which would be considered hating here) :lol: :lol:

Postby skylinechild » January 29th, 2019, 4:33 pm

it will change you

"i live my life a quarter BODOW at a time, . from the 1st BOW to the last DOW.....nothing else matters.....not the shop...the morgage... my team and their bull sh!t......... For those ten seconds or less.... I'm free" :|