Car ploughs into cyclists on Beetham killing two, injuring many

Re: Car ploughs into cyclists on Beetham killing two, injuring many

Postby timelapse » November 26th, 2018, 9:04 am

crazybalhead wrote:No the car hit them. In your example, did a cyclist hit your car?

Hypothetically yes.

Postby crazybalhead » November 26th, 2018, 10:15 am

timelapse wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:No the car hit them. In your example, did a cyclist hit your car?

Hypothetically yes.

"if a cyclist had swerved and caused a car to crash"

Ok, maybe I misunderstood. IF a cyclist swerves into your car, then you may have to take that person to court under a civil suit to get compensated. It would depend heavily on the subjectivity of the police report, the decency of the cyclist, and your patience to go through the justice system.

Postby pugboy » November 26th, 2018, 10:34 am

Yeah, there is no provision for insurance claim as cyclists don’t have insurance

This is certainly a gray area since to allow a non insured vehicle to operate on same roads questionable

Postby timelapse » November 26th, 2018, 12:34 pm

^ Thats where I was headed with this.
Bicycle insurance if you want to use the highway, some sort of identification number/registration, inspection and everything thing else involved with a car. Just for the highway alone, other roads they could get a bligh

Postby Slartibartfast » November 26th, 2018, 2:20 pm

timelapse wrote:^ Thats where I was headed with this.
Bicycle insurance if you want to use the highway, some sort of identification number/registration, inspection and everything thing else involved with a car. Just for the highway alone, other roads they could get a bligh
That's actually a really good idea. I'm sure that could be made to work once the details hashed out.

Postby SMc » November 26th, 2018, 2:30 pm

in Barbados a registration plate for bicycles is a norm..and possibly a requirement

Postby pugboy » November 26th, 2018, 2:42 pm

Yeah but which insurance company going to give coverage for a bike with the knowledge that they may have to make a payout if cyclist hit a cayenne and cause accident?

Postby Slartibartfast » November 26th, 2018, 2:48 pm

pugboy wrote:Yeah but which insurance company going to give coverage for a bike with the knowledge that they may have to make a payout if cyclist hit a cayenne and cause accident?
Insurance companies that like money I'm guessing. Besides a tiida with bald tires is much more dangerous and they are able to get insurance. They will obviously need to get their actuarial experts to come up with the insurance premium, payments and terms.

Postby timelapse » November 26th, 2018, 2:56 pm

pugboy wrote:Yeah but which insurance company going to give coverage for a bike with the knowledge that they may have to make a payout if cyclist hit a cayenne and cause accident?

Then they shouldn't be on the road.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 27th, 2018, 10:51 am

Doh mind registration and insurance idea for bicycles, if the culture changes to allow better roadsharing.

Postby MG Man » November 27th, 2018, 3:42 pm

Old car doing 20kph on he highway is a dangerous hazard
Bunch of cyclists with escort on highway huh a hazard?

Postby SMc » November 27th, 2018, 4:49 pm

^^yes you are a hazard...in more ways that one can list.

On another note I post picture just for you in the 'random car thread'- no thanks, no response no nothing, I feel a break-up is due in the new year ...right now I more bitter than piece of unboiled mauby bark.

Postby pete » November 29th, 2018, 1:42 pm

MG Man wrote:Old car doing 20kph on he highway is a dangerous hazard

Those cyclists doing more like 35-40kph tho.

Postby MG Man » November 29th, 2018, 8:32 pm

pete wrote:
MG Man wrote:Old car doing 20kph on he highway is a dangerous hazard

Those cyclists doing more like 35-40kph tho.

even so, same principle applies

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » November 30th, 2018, 6:55 am

Same company that insures vehicles which are far more likely to be in an accident.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 30th, 2018, 8:59 am

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 30th, 2018, 9:00 am

^ that was taken from the MOWT page on FB

Postby adnj » November 30th, 2018, 7:21 pm

Rights or not, I would never ride any of my bicycles on the UBH.

I prefer a big, ratchetty truck that looks like it's hit other cars before.

Postby maj. tom » December 2nd, 2018, 5:39 am

wait, a bicycle is classified as a vehicle now?
so... insurance? driving test? licence? vehicle inspection? safety standards?
what utter corrupt fvckery is this all of a sudden?

I don't even understand why people in their right minds would be fighting for rights to ride a bicycle on the highway! Would they do this on the I-95? The ON-401? The UK-M5? The Bundesautobahn 10?
Why these idiots WANT to ride on a highway? They should want to be safe and stick to the main roads. I don't even get this!

Is Trinidad a real place?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 2nd, 2018, 10:39 am

maj. tom wrote:wait, a bicycle is classified as a vehicle now?

You obviously did not read the provisions of Chapter 48:50 before typing that. Those requirements pertain to motorised vehicles, not bicycles.

maj. tom wrote:I don't even understand why people in their right minds would be fighting for rights to ride a bicycle on the highway! Would they do this on the I-95? The ON-401? The UK-M5? The Bundesautobahn 10?
Why these idiots WANT to ride on a highway? They should want to be safe and stick to the main roads. I don't even get this!

According to Michael Phillips, former national cyclist, on a radio programme last week, according to the accident statistics for Trinidad, more fatalities to cyclists occur on the secondary and tertiary roads than on the highways. Michael Phillips himself got knocked down (in a hit and run) by a truck while riding down Chaguaramas. I have no issues with cyclists on the highway if they are properly escorted (outriders front and rear), and if they are riding during non-peak hours.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » December 3rd, 2018, 10:28 am

SMc wrote:in Barbados a registration plate for bicycles is a norm..and possibly a requirement

In the good old colonial days, police would actually stop bicyclists to check license and make sure your light working.

https://youtu.be/JI49-i-QFl4

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » December 3rd, 2018, 10:30 am

maj. tom wrote:wait, a bicycle is classified as a vehicle now?

I don't even understand why people in their right minds would be fighting for rights to ride a bicycle on the highway! Would they do this on the I-95? The ON-401? The UK-M5? The Bundesautobahn 10?

THIS!

Postby Dizzy28 » December 3rd, 2018, 10:56 am

Capture.JPG

Couldn't help but read this is Espinet's voice!!

Postby adnj » December 3rd, 2018, 12:15 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:According to Michael Phillips, former national cyclist, on a radio programme last week, according to the accident statistics for Trinidad, more fatalities to cyclists occur on the secondary and tertiary roads than on the highways. Michael Phillips himself got knocked down (in a hit and run) by a truck while riding down Chaguaramas. I have no issues with cyclists on the highway if they are properly escorted (outriders front and rear), and if they are riding during non-peak hours.

I don't believe that there is causality between secondary road travel and bicycle fatalities. You will more likely find a correlation between fatalities and miles traveled along with traffic speed.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 3rd, 2018, 12:55 pm

adnj wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:According to Michael Phillips, former national cyclist, on a radio programme last week, according to the accident statistics for Trinidad, more fatalities to cyclists occur on the secondary and tertiary roads than on the highways. Michael Phillips himself got knocked down (in a hit and run) by a truck while riding down Chaguaramas. I have no issues with cyclists on the highway if they are properly escorted (outriders front and rear), and if they are riding during non-peak hours.

I don't believe that there is causality between secondary road travel and bicycle fatalities. You will more likely find a correlation between fatalities and miles traveled along with traffic speed.

I just repeated what the man said on the radio programme.

Anyway, the average width of a traffic lane on a secondary road varies from 3.0m to 3.5m, even narrower on a tertiary road. The lane width on the highway is 3.65m. On a secondary road, there is very little to no shoulder. On the highway, the outer shoulder is around 2.0m. It is illegal for cyclists to ride on a sidewalk, therefore, on secondary and tertiary roads there is a smaller buffer distance between motor vehicles and cyclists. Furthermore, where you don't have traffic congestion, from my own observation a high percentage of motorists exceed the speed limit on secondary roads.

Considering the foregoing, I could believe the accident statistics without seeing them myself.

Postby timelapse » December 3rd, 2018, 3:25 pm

So I could come down the CRH on my skateboard then, or a hoverboard? What about a motorised rickshaw?Donkey cart?Home-built chopper motorcycle? Motorised lawnmover?ATV? Well after the flood , I can't ask about jet skis...
You see where I going with this?

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » December 3rd, 2018, 3:41 pm

^^^Once you have enough money for politicians to gargle ya balls, you could ride whatever you want, wherever you want.
The laws can be changed for the right price.

Postby De Dragon » December 3rd, 2018, 3:57 pm

ek4ever wrote:
SMc wrote:in Barbados a registration plate for bicycles is a norm..and possibly a requirement

In the good old colonial days, police would actually stop bicyclists to check license and make sure your light working.

https://youtu.be/JI49-i-QFl4

And if you didn't have either, your tyres being deflated, and you walking home! :lol: :lol:

Postby teems1 » December 3rd, 2018, 4:10 pm

At the end of the day it comes down to the risk associated with cycling.

Just because it's legal to cycle on the CRH doesn't mean it's a good idea.

Having unprotected sex with Saucy Pow isn't illegal, but the risk isn't worth it.

Postby adnj » December 3rd, 2018, 5:13 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
I just repeated what the man said on the radio programme.

Anyway, the average width of a traffic lane on a secondary road varies from 3.0m to 3.5m, even narrower on a tertiary road. The lane width on the highway is 3.65m. On a secondary road, there is very little to no shoulder. On the highway, the outer shoulder is around 2.0m. It is illegal for cyclists to ride on a sidewalk, therefore, on secondary and tertiary roads there is a smaller buffer distance between motor vehicles and cyclists. Furthermore, where you don't have traffic congestion, from my own observation a high percentage of motorists exceed the speed limit on secondary roads.

Considering the foregoing, I could believe the accident statistics without seeing them myself.

I've worn out more than my share of bicycle tires on no-shoulder two-lane roads with 100 km/h speed limits from the mountains to the desert that are just like what you are describing with one exception: no traffic.

In my unfortunate experience, the best place to get struck by a motor vehicle is in moderate city traffic where drivers are turning, parking and not paying as much attention.

teems1 wrote:At the end of the day it comes down to the risk associated with cycling.

Just because it's legal to cycle on the CRH doesn't mean it's a good idea.

Without a police escort, there is zero likelyhood that I would.