Home Security measures and solutions

Re: Home Security measures and solutions

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 12th, 2024, 4:47 pm

Heads up.
Wyze have a bogo right now with the floodlight pro and get a floodlight free. Gotta pay with Amazon prime to get it tho

Postby Chimera » July 12th, 2024, 5:02 pm

Post the link nah . Not seeing it on my end

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 12th, 2024, 6:04 pm

Postby nervewrecker » July 12th, 2024, 7:28 pm

Well I pulled the trigger on a set of timers, switches and sensors to do the first wave of automation.
Will keep updating as I go along.

Postby nervewrecker » July 15th, 2024, 9:13 pm

Anyone onlined led floodlights vs purchasing locally? Any particular brand tend to be reliable or to look into?

Installed a pair of 200 watt flood lights I got at allied industrial that cost about $450.00 a pop and they do some damage so far.

nick639v2

Home Security measures and solutions

Postby nick639v2 » July 15th, 2024, 9:51 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Anyone onlined led floodlights vs purchasing locally? Any particular brand tend to be reliable or to look into?

Installed a pair of 200 watt flood lights I got at allied industrial that cost about $450.00 a pop and they do some damage so far.

You pretty much safe with most..

locally stay away from the green and volner brand and you’ll be good, and if you importing then stick to the led chip type vs cob

Postby pugboy » July 15th, 2024, 10:06 pm

who sells the volner brand?

Postby alfa » July 15th, 2024, 10:35 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Anyone onlined led floodlights vs purchasing locally? Any particular brand tend to be reliable or to look into?

I recently bought two from Modern to replace the green energy crap that I had installed previously. Seems to be working good so far but a bight pricey, however you get 5 years warranty. Brands are Radiantlite and CTI. Prices range from $500 to $1000 for a 100W

demented

Postby demented » July 18th, 2024, 12:44 pm

pugboy wrote:who sells the volner brand?

Target Solutions are the local dealer for Vollner. However I noticed there are two grades of the vollner at other places, one is European standard and one is cheap Chinese.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 18th, 2024, 1:19 pm

demented wrote:
pugboy wrote:who sells the volner brand?

Target Solutions are the local dealer for Vollner. However I noticed there are two grades of the vollner at other places, one is European standard and one is cheap Chinese.

None European… All is rebranded Chinese and the “European” they refer to is pretty much a website made to facilitate their product. Hint hint the baba by ali-man has exceptional replicas inno

Postby nervewrecker » July 20th, 2024, 5:11 pm

Installed two of the tongou TO-Q-SY1-JWT relays today and they work well with the app.

One turns on the contactor for the water heater for 15 mins in the morning and 10 mins in the evening to save electricity.

The other controls power to the motion sensor for the spot lights. It becomes active 6pm and inactive 6am.

These are in the testing phases.

trinislick

Postby trinislick » July 21st, 2024, 6:14 am

I’ve had good results with a combination of smart cameras, a robust alarm system, and motion-sensor lights. They’re all easy to set up and really help keep an eye on things. Got the parts from Amazon.

Postby pugboy » July 21st, 2024, 9:39 am

what’s the meaning of “good results” ?

trinislick wrote:I’ve had good results with a combination of smart cameras, a robust alarm system, and motion-sensor lights. They’re all easy to set up and really help keep an eye on things. Got the parts from Amazon.

demented

Postby demented » July 22nd, 2024, 8:18 am

nervewrecker wrote:Installed two of the tongou TO-Q-SY1-JWT relays today and they work well with the app.

One turns on the contactor for the water heater for 15 mins in the morning and 10 mins in the evening to save electricity.

The other controls power to the motion sensor for the spot lights. It becomes active 6pm and inactive 6am.

These are in the testing phases.

Nice, where did you source the relays? I find they looking too pricey on Amazon.

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2024, 7:51 pm

Amazon self. Nothing like that locally any side I ask. I get fed up asking around

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2024, 9:00 pm

Nifty little device, Ignore the hack wiring, I already have panel boxes etc.

Yes I have a contactor controlling the water heater. You can set schedules and the current consumption log shows when the device is active through the spikes in current usage. So you can reference it to your cams.

I like the fact that I can control things from anywhere. A ups would keep wifi online and an atf (there are din rail mounted units) can separate cams, sensors, relay bank and lighting from the grid in case they cut the power.

Right now switched lights are on the same circuit with sensors but the sensor out feeds the light switch out contact or direct to the light (same phase of you running a separate line so its not a short circuit of someone turns on the switch). I have yet to put these on relays so you can switch on individual lights at will or have them come on at random times besides the motion sensor activation.

Screenshot_20240722_204941_Smart Life.jpg
Screenshot_20240722_204840_Smart Life.jpg
Screenshot_20240722_204817_Smart Life.jpg
20240721_204535.jpg
20240721_204102.jpg

Postby pugboy » July 22nd, 2024, 9:14 pm

very nice logging info, gonna order a couple to play with.

only catch is they are cloud based, when internet down etc it is unpredictable what happens.

where did you mount the rail ?
inside a box or something ?

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2024, 9:25 pm

Yes, I got some pvc boxes from Modern Electrical. I think they are 9x9 so they can fit an entire bank and it has room to wire neatly.

There are dedicated din rail enclosures from Amazon as I can't find those here but my concern was room to swing wires.

There are also din rail mounted contactors on Amazon from the same geya line that are about $12usd that can fit nicely and can separate flood lights from domestic with a 220v supply to them but be triggered by the same circuit as the domestic lights. Flood lights run cooler at 220v so they should last longer. I honestly won't put more than 10A on them for longevity. Took a chance with the tongou relays as we have a lot of merchandise on the market in use like small cams. The geya smart switch is almost 3 times the price.

Contactors can control a solenoid to move a door latch back and forth to lock or unlock burglar proofing. I haven't done much research on the brushless motors and how best I can control them to open and close doors as yet.

Postby nervewrecker » July 22nd, 2024, 9:38 pm

pugboy wrote:very nice logging info, gonna order a couple to play with.

only catch is they are cloud based, when internet down etc it is unpredictable what happens.

where did you mount the rail ?
inside a box or something ?
The only thing affected when net is down is the remote controlling from the phone. To my knowledge once programmed the program should stick once the net is down like a plc. I haven't tested one yet but will try this weekend or an evening if I get home early.
I opted for these as it's less than a plc and you can custom build a ra k for anywhere or if someone wants one tailor it to suit their need.

Postby Ben_spanna » July 23rd, 2024, 9:49 am

Hate to break this to you, but been saying this for years, with the current tend of Hand powered battery tools, that include band saws, grinders and other cutting tools that can get through steel, all you can do slow them down and hopefully give ourself enough warning to either make a scene or get out to safety.
The best way is to fortify your entry points into your homes.
Theres a local company CASFAB making steel doors that cater from light duty(still heavy and fireproof) to Attack resistant all the way up to Ballistic resistant(that have been locally tested) that have been tested .

Postby Chimera » July 23rd, 2024, 2:07 pm

spend a 400-600 a month on a security response company and they will go rob yuh neighbour instead of risking robbing you

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 23rd, 2024, 2:15 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Nifty little device, Ignore the hack wiring, I already have panel boxes etc.

Yes I have a contactor controlling the water heater. You can set schedules and the current consumption log shows when the device is active through the spikes in current usage. So you can reference it to your cams.

I like the fact that I can control things from anywhere. A ups would keep wifi online and an atf (there are din rail mounted units) can separate cams, sensors, relay bank and lighting from the grid in case they cut the power.

Right now switched lights are on the same circuit with sensors but the sensor out feeds the light switch out contact or direct to the light (same phase of you running a separate line so its not a short circuit of someone turns on the switch). I have yet to put these on relays so you can switch on individual lights at will or have them come on at random times besides the motion sensor activation.

20240721_204102.jpg20240721_204535.jpgScreenshot_20240722_204817_Smart Life.jpgScreenshot_20240722_204840_Smart Life.jpgScreenshot_20240722_204941_Smart Life.jpg

Very cool!!!

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 23rd, 2024, 9:13 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:https://www.wyze.com/collections/buy-with-prime-wyze-prime-day

https://www.wyze.com/products/floodligh ... ity-bundle

discount applied when checking out with prime. I just bought 2 bundles.

14Lb shipping weight
Total Aeropost charges = 450TTD
Govt Charges = 0
~2400TTD for 4 floodlight cameras is excellent

Postby nervewrecker » August 5th, 2024, 8:41 pm

Anyone using radar sensors? I am looking for one to use a switch that gives an output when it detects human movements and preferably can filter out cats and dogs or can adjust the sensitivity to such. Wired 110/220V supply and out for simplicity in integration.

Postby pugboy » August 5th, 2024, 8:44 pm

modern burglar alarm pir sensors supposed to be pet proof
you can hack them to trigger a relay or something
i know somebody who has one to turn on light in a bathroom when you walk in

nervewrecker wrote:Anyone using radar sensors? I am looking for one to use a switch that gives an output when it detects human movements and preferably can filter out cats and dogs or can adjust the sensitivity to such. Wired 110/220V supply and out for simplicity in integration.

Postby nervewrecker » August 5th, 2024, 9:10 pm

You have a model for me to look into?

The two sensors I got from modern electrical work great so far but I'm seeing smart sensors that can be dedicated to human detection alone and you can get feedback on your phone or logged data as to the times it was activated. What I don't need is something with an interval between when it times out and can be activated again. Some have an interval as a safety for if you turning on motors etc. I run my units to a contactor and use them for controlling lighting.

Postby pugboy » August 5th, 2024, 9:22 pm

no i never played with them but i would suggest use a brand name one like dsc or honeywell

Postby MaxPower » August 5th, 2024, 9:34 pm

Chimera wrote:spend a 400-600 a month on a security response company and they will go rob yuh neighbour instead of risking robbing you

Wait,

The security response company will rob the neighbor or the bandit?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 6th, 2024, 6:30 am

Security measure #1
IMG-20240802-WA0135.jpg

Postby pugboy » August 6th, 2024, 8:41 am

malinois ?