Cooking gas discussion

Re: Removal of the subsidy on cooking gas?!!?!

Postby sMASH » January 22nd, 2021, 6:18 am

Postby matr1x » January 22nd, 2021, 6:18 am

daring dragoon wrote:i think they should remove the entire subsidies from everything, gas, electricity, food, water an also remove the social subsidies such as the discount on the TTEC bill is it under $100 or so a month, remove the food card and other social grants except disability, old age and anything with children. time to separate the men from the boys. time to make those who want go out to work and teif. it time to be fair to everyone. school is available to everyone from age 5 free of charge, if you pay attention and do the right things and keep the right friends you will do well in school, get a good job, have a good life. those who pay attention in school in these time are punished by being made to pay higher taxes so those who didnt pay attention can get subsidize gas, water,electricity rates, free food cards and grants etc, free free free for playing the arse in school.
time to remove everything, level the playing field and separate the men from the boys.

This here is what is wrong with Trinidad in a post.

Due to the distribution of wealth, or more accurately, the lack of source of funds or better yet, the lack of proper source of funds for the 1%, the wealth of Trinidad is badly managed.

There are cases where you can work your way out of poverty, if you can survive the gamut of bribery, racism (the public service hiring) and insane taxation, you are left with very little to work with.

You sound like either your mommy and daddy paid for everything or worse, you succeeded by trampling everyone along the way. If either of those are the case, HYMC

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 22nd, 2021, 6:25 am

matr1x wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:i think they should remove the entire subsidies from everything, gas, electricity, food, water an also remove the social subsidies such as the discount on the TTEC bill is it under $100 or so a month, remove the food card and other social grants except disability, old age and anything with children. time to separate the men from the boys. time to make those who want go out to work and teif. it time to be fair to everyone. school is available to everyone from age 5 free of charge, if you pay attention and do the right things and keep the right friends you will do well in school, get a good job, have a good life. those who pay attention in school in these time are punished by being made to pay higher taxes so those who didnt pay attention can get subsidize gas, water,electricity rates, free food cards and grants etc, free free free for playing the arse in school.
time to remove everything, level the playing field and separate the men from the boys.

This here is what is wrong with Trinidad in a post.

Due to the distribution of wealth, or more accurately, the lack of source of funds or better yet, the lack of proper source of funds for the 1%, the wealth of Trinidad is badly managed.

There are cases where you can work your way out of poverty, if you can survive the gamut of bribery, racism (the public service hiring) and insane taxation, you are left with very little to work with.

You sound like either your mommy and daddy paid for everything or worse, you succeeded by trampling everyone along the way. If either of those are the case, HYMC

Re: they not raising cooking gas price, till they raise it

Postby Redman » January 22nd, 2021, 7:07 am

What you should google Smash, is Khans entire response.

Start with Wade Marks first question....it's very informative.

Khan went on to explain that the GORTT collects a part of the gas/dieselsubsidy from producers of oil, however with the removal of the subsidy on fuel they are applying those funds towards subsidizing LPG.

Previously Petrotrin absorbed the cost.

Postby sMASH » January 22nd, 2021, 8:43 am

the mechanics of the pricing dont interest me. i agree with franky. they said they were weaning, then wean god dammit!!
in fact, put it in line with jamaica to make a profit from it. rowley need money to run the country.

im just stating that, when they come out with one set of talk on the podiums, and we forecast that they lying, u pnm knuckle draggers castigate it as fearmongering. then only to be proven correct after the elections.

how mi affie buy mi tank ah gyas...
leffff foot.... riiiite foot.

Postby Redman » January 22nd, 2021, 8:51 am

So the minister says they keeping the subsidy....it's an answer in parliament ...to a question from Mark..the minister provides detail.

You trying hard with this ZR Jr thing.
You failing

Postby sMASH » January 22nd, 2021, 9:23 am

wean!!!!
wait they not weaning? another lie?

Postby Habit7 » January 22nd, 2021, 11:14 am

sMASH wrote:https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=456758248821427

smash why you so gullible and susceptible to UNC lies? You can literally see where the edits are made to string a false narrative.

The Petroleum Levy normally would go towards the liquid fuel subsidy. But since the subsidy is being removed (a plan both UNC and PNM endorsed) the petroleum levy will now go towards the LPG subsidy we buy on the open market. Prior to that Petrotrin used to absorb the cost, but now that the refinery is down, we have to buy it on the open market. Min. Khan said the price will stay the same.

Rather than trying to call out the govt, why don't you call out Anil Roberts for pushing propaganda? I don't think you will, because you prefer the propaganda more than the truth.

Listen from 1:30:00

Postby sMASH » January 22nd, 2021, 11:36 am

wean... what the lil piggy say? WEANNNN!!!
wait and see.
remember they didnt continue the kamala laptop program, then they put back taxes, and the additional opt, then to remove it... for a small time.... pnm position wrt tax does shift like the electric slide.

Postby Rovin » January 23rd, 2021, 11:26 am

did they say how much it gonna raise by $5/10/15 ?

why d fork they didnt gradually raise it $2 each yr of d 5 yrs they in power rather than hit it a sizeable % ..... for some ppl $10 rise is plenty
Last edited by Rovin on January 23rd, 2021, 11:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » January 23rd, 2021, 11:27 am

guy smiley say in jamaica they pay full price of around $100 for a 20lb tank

Rovin wrote:did they say how much it gonna raise by -$5/10/15 ? .... why d fork they didnt gradually raise it $2 each yr of d 5
yrs they in power rather than hit it a sizeable % .....

Postby Rovin » January 23rd, 2021, 11:30 am

even a raise of $5\yr ppl wud not beat up ....

Postby pugboy » January 23rd, 2021, 11:33 am

agreed, i dont think many ppl will have a prob if it was 30-35

lpg price is something we dont even thing about or even food businesses factor much as an overhead cost

Postby matr1x » January 23rd, 2021, 11:44 am

Why we positively compare to Jamaica?

Maybe Jamaica wrong?

Postby Dave » January 23rd, 2021, 11:47 am

Multiplier effect would equate to plenty savings for the govt without many feeling the effect.
An even $30 would not be bad.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 23rd, 2021, 11:52 am

Redman wrote:What you should google Smash, is Khans entire response.

Start with Wade Marks first question....it's very informative.

Khan went on to explain that the GORTT collects a part of the gas/dieselsubsidy from producers of oil, however with the removal of the subsidy on fuel they are applying those funds towards subsidizing LPG.

Previously Petrotrin absorbed the cost.

This is making the rounds on social media
There is a video circulating with Minister of Energy and Energy Industries, Franklin Khan, with him appearing to explain a change to the cost of LPG (cooking gas) from about $20 to around $100. That video is edited and removed some critical parts of the Minister's speech made in the Senate on Tuesday.

The Minister was speaking about the Petroleum Production Levy and Subsidy Act which took revenue from oil companies to subsidise the liquid fuel in Trinidad and Tobago.  

To summarise what was said by Minister Khan:
- With the removal of subsidies on liquid fuels, the levy will be used to now cover the cost of LPG to the public.
- Previously, Petrotrin bore the brunt of the LPG subsidy, not the State.  That is, Petrotrin sold LPG at the price of 37 cents per pound, which cost people $20 plus delivery.
- NP now sources LPG on the open market from PPGPL.  The reference to $100 cost in Jamaica was to show the price comparison based on the international market price of Mont Belvieu to the $20 paid in Trinidad and Tobago.
- The exact transcript of the Minister's speech is below and explains that the price will be kept at $20
"So what we have done now and the revision of the legislation will come to the Parliament in about two weeks. We will now be calculating the price of LPG referenced to the international market price of Mont Belvieu, and that now we will still continue to sell it at $20 per cylinder. But the difference will now be classified as a subsidy and that money will be taken from the petroleum levy. And our calculation shows that the petroleum levy will own a bulk of it. So the petroleum levy will not go to waste with the liberalization of the liquid fuels."

You can access the Hansard here: http://www.ttparliament.org/hansards/hs20210119.pdf

You can hear the Minister's full statement on Parliament here, at around 1:30:00:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZsEje1kMBuM&t=5170s

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 23rd, 2021, 11:54 am

Dave wrote:An even $30 would not be bad.

Maybe not so much for households
But food businesses that buy LPG are going to raise their prices

Postby Dave » January 23rd, 2021, 12:25 pm

That's roughly $7 increase. Equates to what like $.50 increase overall or would it be like doubles going up by a dollar?

Postby bluefete » January 23rd, 2021, 2:05 pm

And it was the same PNM who said that Petrotrin was not closing down. ENT?????

That said: I have a SERIOUS problem when nasty people try to manipulate what was said ,by deleting parts of the speech to suit their agenda.,

Postby Habit7 » January 23rd, 2021, 2:10 pm

bluefete wrote:And it was the same PNM who said that Petrotrin was not closing down. ENT?????

That said: I have a SERIOUS problem when nasty people try to manipulate what was said ,by deleting parts of the speech to suit their agenda.,

Petrotrin has not closed down. It is still a subsidiary of Trinidad Petroleum Holdings Limited and has employees.

Postby pugboy » January 23rd, 2021, 2:18 pm

I would be curious to know how much natural gas in cubic feet is used to supply the cooking market

the way our gas wells are depleting and running at low pressures soon cooking gas might be the only viable product we can squeeze out of them

Postby pugboy » January 23rd, 2021, 2:20 pm

it varies though, depends on the type of food
a fried food place would have fryers running all the time vs a place cooking pot food like curry

Postby eliteauto » January 23rd, 2021, 2:57 pm

Fearmongering, saying it again so sMASH could quote again
lpg.jpg

Postby Habit7 » January 23rd, 2021, 3:23 pm

The funny thing is that they don't have a problem with ppl who sat down and purposefully edited a video to create a false narrative.

They are upset that you point it out.

Postby paid_influencer » January 23rd, 2021, 3:31 pm

if they had balls they would fix the price for a year. That statement is plenty words meaning absolutely nothing. Full of get-away words like "at this time". "it is expected", etc. Con man and PNM does use words like that.

Postby paid_influencer » January 23rd, 2021, 3:41 pm

Habit7 wrote:The funny thing is that they don't have a problem with ppl who sat down and purposefully edited a video to create a false narrative.

lol, was Rowley presenting a 'false narrative' when he told Petrotrin workers he was not shutting down Petrotrin

Do not believe the PNM. They are not working in your interest.

Postby paid_influencer » January 23rd, 2021, 4:01 pm

I know how this shait works now. Toss out a ridiculous figure, get people up in arms, clarify it is a subsidy, and look good when you raise it 50% instead of 500%

Postby bluefete » January 23rd, 2021, 4:11 pm

paid_influencer wrote:if they had balls they would fix the price for a year. That statement is plenty words meaning absolutely nothing. Full of get-away words like "at this time". "it is expected", etc. Con man and PNM does use words like that.

Now coming to say the same thing.

Postby bluefete » January 23rd, 2021, 4:13 pm

Habit7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:And it was the same PNM who said that Petrotrin was not closing down. ENT?????

Petrotrin has not closed down. It is still a subsidiary of Trinidad Petroleum Holdings Limited and has employees.

paid_influencer wrote:
Habit7 wrote:The funny thing is that they don't have a problem with ppl who sat down and purposefully edited a video to create a false narrative.

lol, was Rowley presenting a 'false narrative' when he told Petrotrin workers he was not shutting down Petrotrin

Do not believe the PNM. They are not working in your interest.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 23rd, 2021, 4:21 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Nah, they aint close it down....just sent up a few thousand people....small thing