Brace For Very High Grocery Prices

Redress10

Re: Brace For Very High Grocery Prices

Postby Redress10 » October 31st, 2017, 7:07 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:It might very well be easier to just buy the cow instead of trying to figure it all out.

Some people afraid of a cow , they cowherd :D

If I could get a cow and milk it everyday and pasteurise my milk myself I would do it. No lie

Postby RedVEVO » October 31st, 2017, 7:14 pm

Redress10 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:It might very well be easier to just buy the cow instead of trying to figure it all out.

Some people afraid of a cow , they cowherd :D

If I could get a cow and milk it everyday and pasteurise my milk myself I would do it. No lie

Goat milk better.

Mix with cow's milk and you will get " half and half "

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 31st, 2017, 7:23 pm

I AM 120% SURE THAT THIS GOVERNMENT WOULD BE AIMING TO TAKE OF SOME OF THE SUBSIDIES ON COOKING GAS....the mere fact that it was reported...it is definitely being considered.

now you all would see ridiculous food prices

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 1st, 2017, 2:06 am

hydroep wrote:LOL...so I went in de usual bakery...$ 18.00 for a loaf of bread. Yes, $ 18.00...buh de lady say it is a "heavy" loaf...

Heavy...with what lead?

Postby Les Bain » November 1st, 2017, 7:26 am

Numb3r4 wrote:
hydroep wrote:LOL...so I went in de usual bakery...$ 18.00 for a loaf of bread. Yes, $ 18.00...buh de lady say it is a "heavy" loaf...

Heavy...with what lead?

Buyer's remorse.

Postby maj. tom » November 1st, 2017, 8:25 am

heavy like filler like they used in WWII rationing? Fillers like potatoes, oats and wheat husks... to sawdust in Germany.

Postby eliteauto » November 3rd, 2017, 10:55 am

RedVEVO wrote:
eliteauto wrote:hear nah some of allyuh could overthink stuff seems only foreign could process milk, fresh milk is milk straight from the cow anything else is processed, be it homogenized or pasteurized and T&T does that well, so this whole " Not sure about the quality and safety in Trinidad and if belly pains will ensue after consumption" is either yuh have poor guts or fooling yuhself. University Field Station milk is delicious $25-30 a bottle, very creamy and has a rich taste even the 2% is not bad. Moo is supposedly 100% not reconstituted milk, it does taste creamier than say Nestle however I never tasted the 100% blue box from Nestle to do comparison

Where that selling for $25 ?

It is $60 :shock:

It so creamy , you can add some to the bath water in the tub.
And play with the rubber ducky all night ..

You getting robbed very very badly, a bottle of milk at the UFS itself is $24, groceries go as high as $32, where do you pay $60?

Postby RedVEVO » November 3rd, 2017, 4:25 pm

eliteauto wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
eliteauto wrote:hear nah some of allyuh could overthink stuff seems only foreign could process milk, fresh milk is milk straight from the cow anything else is processed, be it homogenized or pasteurized and T&T does that well, so this whole " Not sure about the quality and safety in Trinidad and if belly pains will ensue after consumption" is either yuh have poor guts or fooling yuhself. University Field Station milk is delicious $25-30 a bottle, very creamy and has a rich taste even the 2% is not bad. Moo is supposedly 100% not reconstituted milk, it does taste creamier than say Nestle however I never tasted the 100% blue box from Nestle to do comparison

You getting robbed very very badly, a bottle of milk at the UFS itself is $24, groceries go as high as $32, where do you pay $60?

Massy Stores .. You know formerly " Hi Lo "

And Goat Milk is $72 !!! :shock:

So we went to the Central Market and bought a Goat.
But when we came home we realize it had only one ear .
So we named him Van Goat .

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 4th, 2017, 9:10 am

RedVEVO wrote:
eliteauto wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Yuh getting milk from a billy goat? :lol

Postby RedVEVO » November 5th, 2017, 5:29 am

Miktay wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
eliteauto wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

It's a process.
Billy Bob Van Goat first.
Angelina comes after.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » November 5th, 2017, 8:43 am

I have one that looks kinda Mexican, named him Goatierez...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 5th, 2017, 10:28 am

High prices for Christmas.

Postby eliteauto » November 5th, 2017, 10:59 am

this is where a smart and competitive business culture would benefit the consumer, instead we have collusion and cartels

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 5th, 2017, 12:45 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
Miktay wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
eliteauto wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

It's a process.
Billy Bob Van Goat first.
Angelina comes after.

Cool. Best of luck to Brangelina.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 5th, 2017, 12:46 pm

eliteauto wrote:this is where a smart and competitive business culture would benefit the consumer, instead we have collusion and cartels

No cartel can exist without the direct or indirect suport of Big Gubbament.

Postby bluefete » November 5th, 2017, 1:49 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:High prices for Christmas.

Don't they dig out our eyes anyway, at Christmas?

This is an opportunity for the local producers to show what they can do.

There should be less reliance on foreign input for local goods.

Postby Chimera » November 6th, 2017, 8:10 pm

Any of you guys have a recent grocery bill they could post up? Like a full month end grocery shopping. Want to compare some stuff with local and foreign prices

fireworks

Postby fireworks » November 6th, 2017, 9:33 pm

Corned beef powered milk and toilet paper real expensive in Walmart

Postby Chimera » November 10th, 2017, 2:59 pm

Lamb shoulder now $35 a lb up from $24

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 11th, 2017, 9:09 am

as I said in the farmers ched...walk with money in the market...the most ridiculous prices I ever saw was this morning...this is what we need to expect from the measures and taxes put in place by this gov't

tomatoes : $18 per lb
baigan: $15 per lb
cucumber $12 per lb
pepper $2 for 1

and the sheit continues

boxy

Postby boxy » November 11th, 2017, 9:16 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:as I said in the farmers ched...walk with money in the market...the most ridiculous prices I ever saw was this morning...this is what we need to expect from the measures and taxes put in place by this gov't

cucumber $12 per lb
pepper $2 for 1

and the sheit continues
Lol so I guess the fact that they traditionally use floods as a means to raise prices has nothing to do with it.

boxy

Postby boxy » November 11th, 2017, 9:21 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Any of you guys have a recent grocery bill they could post up? Like a full month end grocery shopping. Want to compare some stuff with local and foreign prices
I meant to start a separate thread where you guys post up pics of items in the grocery and we compare prices. I made a rounds through
Tru Valu (trincity)
Food master (omeara)
Maharaj West side (Arima)
Xtra Foods (Omeara)
I tried to take as much pics as possible of similar items across the board I'm just really lazy to sort through them. If I know u guys will be up for this I don't mind getting it started that way we know which grocery digging out eye and by how much each month they plan on raising priced

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 11th, 2017, 9:25 am

^ that’s a good idea Boxy!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 11th, 2017, 1:29 pm

boxy wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:as I said in the farmers ched...walk with money in the market...the most ridiculous prices I ever saw was this morning...this is what we need to expect from the measures and taxes put in place by this gov't

cucumber $12 per lb
pepper $2 for 1

and the sheit continues
Lol so I guess the fact that they traditionally use floods as a means to raise prices has nothing to do with it.

It doh be so bad one time jed...most farmers actually blaming the increase in the cost of diesel

Postby Chimera » November 13th, 2017, 9:56 pm

so looking at boxy's pricelist in his new thread
i haven't found any food item that makes sense importing at all

Postby sMASH » November 13th, 2017, 10:20 pm

Inshan goin and start to sell groceries jess now.
I feel he's just eating for the containers to come in.

Postby Chimera » August 14th, 2018, 9:53 pm

Elite you ever brought in the barrel of food alone?