Re: Importing a hybrid vehicle in Trinidad

Postby kjaglal76v2 » April 5th, 2017, 8:45 am

His followers are even more stupid than Ian Alleyne followers

Postby pete » April 5th, 2017, 8:52 am

They changed the law from 1800cc to 2000cc?

Postby sMASH » April 5th, 2017, 9:14 am

kjaglal76v2 wrote:His followers are even more stupid than Ian Alleyne followers

:( if u meet them in person... they could rival twiggy.

Importing a hybrid vehicle in Trinidad

Postby K74T » April 5th, 2017, 9:22 am

Them ingas mad

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 5th, 2017, 9:59 am

pete wrote:They changed the law from 1800cc to 2000cc?

yes they did
but i dont know whats going to happen this budget.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 5th, 2017, 7:25 pm

Everybody knows dealers make a mint on consumers heads.....even him made millions selling his roll on roll.off.....so.I don't understand his point now.....

Postby rspann » April 5th, 2017, 7:28 pm

When he start to bring them in, they would be good then.

Postby Morpheus » April 5th, 2017, 7:34 pm

LoL ENT.

Postby pugboy » April 5th, 2017, 7:34 pm

What ever happen to all the tapes he was supposed to release and bring down the pp?
Lol

Work_to_own

Postby Work_to_own » April 5th, 2017, 11:24 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:well i tried searching online for availability of parts and it not that easy to find.
i know its new but i dont want stress in a few years time .
i presently have a nissan and i got to say it is the easiest vehicle to get parts for.

I currently have a navara but I am importing a Honda vezel hybrid and I am not worried.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » April 6th, 2017, 12:20 am

rspann wrote:When he start to bring them in, they would be good then.

That is like a certain car dealer in Chaguanas, called to ask if the axio he have is hybrid, he start to bash hybrid saying that is headache and stay away from that etc, a few months later I pass and what I see park up in the lot, a Honda Accord hybrid

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2017, 7:05 am

anybody done any comparisons(cost etc) between getting a hybrid vs cng car(city etc) ?

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 6th, 2017, 9:23 am

I'm awaiting to see the cost, options and trim of Massy's xtrail hybrid before I make my decision.

Postby toyolink » April 6th, 2017, 10:24 am

In principle hybrid vehicle make good economic sense.
Our domestic challenge is really about pricing, warranties (and dealer assurances), availability of proper service standards and availability of key parts (network electronics in particular).
We must remember that our location in the international supply chain does impact on speed with which certain service issues can be addressed.
CVT transmissions were a nightmare and we have come a long way, maybe the same curve would apply to hybrids.
BTW, those of us who like the throaty song of an engine do have to adjust in many instances.

ACT DA FOOL

Postby ACT DA FOOL » April 6th, 2017, 10:33 am

Interesting discussion. I'm also considering the purchase of a RORO Hybrid vehicle. Specifically the X-Trail Hybrid. As per discussion with this vendor, he indicated that there are companies locally that service these hybrid vehicles. As to whom, he didn't say.

The Vehicle costs $185k.

https://www.facebook.com/commerce/produ ... 118971608/

Views and opinion welcomed.
starline.PNG

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 6th, 2017, 10:34 am

toyolink wrote:BTW, those of us who like the throaty song of an engine do have to adjust in many instances.

^^This!!!

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 6th, 2017, 10:36 am

pugboy wrote:anybody done any comparisons(cost etc) between getting a hybrid vs cng car(city etc) ?

One disadvantage of the cng is the trunk space, and with the xtrail the battery is under the back seat .

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 6th, 2017, 10:37 am

ACT DA FOOL wrote:Interesting discussion. I'm also considering the purchase of a RORO Hybrid vehicle. Specifically the X-Trail Hybrid. As per discussion with this vendor, he indicated that there are companies locally that service these hybrid vehicles. As to whom, he didn't say.

The Vehicle costs $185k.

https://www.facebook.com/commerce/produ ... 118971608/

Views and opinion welcomed.

I would recommend you spend the extra 15 thousand and get a new one than a 2 year old vehicle

Postby sMASH » April 6th, 2017, 11:22 am

If due to the high temperature climate, batteries need replacement/rejuvenation(if at all possible) every 3 years or so, that could become a lucrative service market.
Its only really the battery pack which will set those vehicles apart from their contemporaries.

Postby toyolink » April 6th, 2017, 12:12 pm

sMASH wrote:If due to the high temperature climate, batteries need replacement/rejuvenation(if at all possible) every 3 years or so, that could become a lucrative service market.
Its only really the battery pack which will set those vehicles apart from their contemporaries.

You may wish to look a bit further eg inverter system and smart controllers.

ACT DA FOOL

Postby ACT DA FOOL » April 6th, 2017, 2:37 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:
I would recommend you spend the extra 15 thousand and get a new one than a 2 year old vehicle

You might be right. However, is there really a $200k X-Trail Hybrid?

Also, does anyone know if TTTL would be selling the C-HR soon? Its sexy..

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » April 6th, 2017, 6:42 pm

ACT DA FOOL wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:

http://crism.com/stock/carlist.shtml?ma ... al&code=tt

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » April 6th, 2017, 6:52 pm

Can a hybrid vehicle work if the battery stops working?

Postby Morpheus » April 6th, 2017, 6:56 pm

I heard they use the battery pack to start. It eh ha no Track and Diehard battery...

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2017, 8:39 pm

So hybrids gas electric cars and petrol cng cars are under the same tax waiver ?
As long as honda dealer sells at that 200k price point the roro gonna use same figure and rake their profits as inshan say

Postby eliteauto » April 6th, 2017, 10:36 pm

City price dropped with the arrival of the Ioniq.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 6th, 2017, 11:03 pm

ACT DA FOOL wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:

Look on page 4 I posted a quote . Thats new from the firm in Japan .
But it takes 2.5 months to get here . Thats one month to get the car for the firm and the 6 weeks to ship clear to/ in Trinibad

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » April 7th, 2017, 11:26 am

Will the firm honor any warranty?

Postby 16 cycles » April 7th, 2017, 11:37 am

some toyota reps (T'dad) said yesterday that they want to halt ppl importing the CR-H as they not obligated to service it as a priority compared to locally bought cars....

new corolla comes with 7 airbags @ 222k

222k for a corolla - 222k...yeah 222k.... :drinking:

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » April 7th, 2017, 1:00 pm

I see Inshan have a fb vid telling people not to buy hybrids ,he more sounding like carburetor mechanics back then when they were telling people to avoid fuel injection vehicles