No more credit card payment at gas stations.... Cash only!

Re: No more credit card payment at gas stations.... Cash only!

Postby Monk BANzai » October 26th, 2016, 5:41 pm

Postby Redman » October 26th, 2016, 5:42 pm

Redman wrote:Whats ridiculous profits?
Generally the EBITDA WITH a convenience store is 10-15%

The gross margin in terms of cents per liter has been fixed for more than 10 years.

You all are seeing the product of a life time of involvement in the business and the dynamics of 2nd generation ownership of the businesses.

Its a great business....but make no mistake -it fcuking hard.

I think his point is that even though the margin is fixed, the increase in sales volume should have offset it.

Its still lopsided thinking unless you bring expenses into the equation-and in ignorance of whether the increases in volume were able to offset the increases in ALL expenses.

A fixed margin.
Increasing Volume.
Increasing Expenses?

Whats the net???

Its easy to vilify business men when you only see the positives.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 26th, 2016, 5:43 pm

Redman wrote:Whats ridiculous profits?
Generally the EBITDA WITH a convenience store is 10-15%

The gross margin in terms of cents per liter has been fixed for more than 10 years.

You all are seeing the product of a life time of involvement in the business and the dynamics of 2nd generation ownership of the businesses.

Its a great business....but make no mistake -it fcuking hard.

I think his point is that even though the margin is fixed, the increase in sales volume should have offset it.

correct is right

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » October 26th, 2016, 5:43 pm

Are we forgetting that every expense a business incur reduces Chargeable Income? I would really like to hear from the BIR.
Anyone working in a gas station can you say if your NIS is being paid? Some of the operators are downright wicked and cash transactions can hide shady business.
Gas station operators needs to examine their business model, location, operating hours, etc and come up with strategies to be profitable.
While they are becoming unprofitable, how many are willing to sell their franchise, or licence or whatever it is called. Just a though

Postby Redman » October 26th, 2016, 5:44 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Image

And this just killed the move.

Of course NP negotiated lower rates with the other state enterprise FCB.

Owner dealers dont have that leverage.

Postby pugboy » October 26th, 2016, 5:47 pm

So stations are run by 3 factions ?
Unipet(individually owned?)
Np wholly owned
Np owner privately owned

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 26th, 2016, 5:48 pm

Source?

Postby Redman » October 26th, 2016, 5:49 pm

pugboy wrote:So stations are run by 3 factions ?
Np wholly owned
Np owner privately owned

NP has 3 models

Company owned Company operated. NP owned and opped.
Company owned Dealer operated -NP owned but private operated
Dealer owned Dealer operated-private sector owne and opped

Postby Monk BANzai » October 26th, 2016, 6:23 pm

silent_riot wrote:

Source?

still verifying Silent..actually got caugt posting something out of "social emotion"

discussion was going well till the "dem government/this government" talk started...was actually learning unlike other threads.

smh.

Postby Dave » October 26th, 2016, 7:11 pm

Which are these stations then?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 26th, 2016, 7:37 pm

I giving it a couple of weeks before we begin hearing of gas stations robberies

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 26th, 2016, 9:20 pm

786 Accounting wrote:The Best and easiest way to cook accounts is too implement a cash only system , I am not saying this is the fact here eh lol.

*cough cough* Licensing Office *cough cough*

Postby Redman » October 26th, 2016, 9:27 pm

^^^^^^
Any audit would use delivery receipts,and the totalizers on the pumps to assess the accuracy of the deposits.

Neither of which the dealer has control over...ask the gypsy

Postby desifemlove » October 26th, 2016, 9:34 pm

nah, this is BS. costs have increased, granted, but by that much? Gas is somthing that is of high demand, people need to drive cars, and firms need to use vehicles. These people just being scampish and dotish that's all.
Good on NP for keeping it the same, nothing the Petroleum Association can do to them.

Postby desifemlove » October 26th, 2016, 9:39 pm

pugboy wrote:So stations are run by 3 factions ?
Np wholly owned
Np owner privately owned

franchisees should be subisised and any tax rises won't affect them.

greedy association.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 26th, 2016, 9:42 pm

Need a list of "credit" stations!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2016, 9:47 pm

but long time now MANY privately owned stations always only take cash. Either that or their Linx machine never working.

Postby pugboy » October 26th, 2016, 10:00 pm

True, the beat up is really towards the newer style self serve stations

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2016, 10:49 pm

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 26th, 2016, 10:58 pm

Motorists will still be able to use electronic payments at Unipet's gas stations.

Unipet's CEO Dexter Riley told Loop that they have not made any policy decisions regarding the decision to stop taking electronic payments. 

From Friday, service stations around the country are expected to cease electronic payments.

The decision, said Robindranath Naraynsingh, President of the Petroleum Dealers' Association, was taken because the margins available to dealers from the sale of gas are too small.

"An Unipet, we are continually reviewing our cost structure, we have not made a policy decision with respect to that call for action. Our first approach is to find cost cutting measures that won’t adversely impact the public," said Riley.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 26th, 2016, 10:59 pm

I heading only by Unipet or np owned stations.

IDK123

Postby IDK123 » October 26th, 2016, 11:00 pm

When last you went in a gas station and see a pump attendant ? I not saying that there aren't gas stations that have pump attendant but most are only man by a few cashier. So I and everybody else is doing the work of the pump attendant for free.

When last you went to a gas station and some ask you if you want your wind screen clean or check your oil level ? And still they can't make a profit without cutting down on staff who else is there to get rid off ? Maybe one cashier instead of 2

Re: RE: Re: No more credit card payment at gas stations.... Cash only!

Postby Dizzy28 » October 26th, 2016, 11:25 pm

IDK123 wrote:When last you went in a gas station and see a pump attendant ? I not saying that there aren't gas stations that have pump attendant but most are only man by a few cashier. So I and everybody else is doing the work of the pump attendant for free.

When last you went to a gas station and some ask you if you want your wind screen clean or check your oil level ? And still they can't make a profit without cutting down on staff who else is there to get rid off ? Maybe one cashier instead of 2

Guppys in San Juan have like 5 attendants assisting you at the pump.

Postby adnj » October 27th, 2016, 12:39 am

Hyperion wrote:Has anyone done a study on the number of vehicles on the road in TT over the past 10 years?

Just evidenced by the volume of traffic on the road 7 days a week, once could assume that the demand for fuel probably quadrupled in that time.

There is not much recent statiscal nation data for Trinidad.

This is the road sector equivalent energy usage in Trinidad

This is the total number of vehicles per 1000 people

Postby *KRONIK* » October 27th, 2016, 6:05 am

IDK123 wrote:When last you went in a gas station and see a pump attendant ? I not saying that there aren't gas stations that have pump attendant but most are only man by a few cashier. So I and everybody else is doing the work of the pump attendant for free.

Lemme see....

Gas station opposite KFC in valsayn
Valsayn opposite superpharm
St helena
El soccorro
Shops of trincity

All these gas stations have attendants who either pump for you or assist you.

clintus

Postby clintus » October 27th, 2016, 6:33 am

I could be wrong but aren't Gas station owners already making their profit from the rent of property to NP

Postby Dizzy28 » October 27th, 2016, 7:01 am

clintus wrote:I could be wrong but aren't Gas station owners already making their profit from the rent of property to NP

Yea you are wrong.

Postby Redman » October 27th, 2016, 7:05 am

No.
While there are instances where the owner of the land rents to NP,these are very few.
In the main ,the owner dealers operate the site...and there is no rental income from the station.

There are stations that are owned by NP but operated by a private co/individual.

There.would be a Rental arrangement based on the throughput

baigan

Postby baigan » October 27th, 2016, 7:06 am

Like 5 mins away from me there is a gas station with a few attendants. I like it...if you can use your card without getting out the car would be perfect... but I just pay the cash so I won't have to get out the car : P
I think the whole self serving thing is slower...

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » October 27th, 2016, 7:31 am

Storm in a tea cup.
It will be over soon.