$1100 ouch
Their prices seem to be going up all the time
This used to be $50 for a long time.

IMG_3397.JPG

eurogirl

Re: Where can you get good Steak Cuts eg rib eye, tomahawk, cowboy

Postby eurogirl » December 3rd, 2016, 9:37 pm

@ pug boy whats your storage method for brisket ?

can I emulate a smoker in my normal oven ? I should google tht unno :? What seasoning u use ? do you use tenderiser ? am I asking too much questions L ?

Also I make turkey burgers I brought 4lbs used 3lb my mom says it needs more salt but I don't like much salt it kills the flavour of the burger u don'tget the meat taste plus i like to make a salt crust on the outside of the burger . She wants me to over season it with tons of stuff but i wanted to keep it simple ..I dunno if this pic go load
turkey burgers.jpg

Postby pugboy » December 4th, 2016, 8:50 am

no you can't really emulate a smoker in a stove oven, maybe in a gas grill
the tenderizer is called time, smoker still going since 9pm and prob til 11am

google will have no end of smoked info

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » December 5th, 2016, 6:32 am

pugboy wrote:no you can't really emulate a smoker in a stove oven, maybe in a gas grill
the tenderizer is called time, smoker still going since 9pm and prob til 11am

google will have no end of smoked info

Hmmm I have seen products that can at the National hardware show this year.
Tasted smoked cheese , steaks with some little devices that emits smoke in an unlit grill with proper penetration of smoke flavor in 2-3 hrs
Surprised it didn't reach Trini yet,
Pizza ovens for ur grill , the out door section is real food for American tail gaters

Postby desifemlove » December 6th, 2016, 8:05 pm

can one can locally slaughtered cuts?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 6th, 2016, 9:32 pm

desifemlove wrote:can one can locally slaughtered cuts?
any butcher shop, by your local abattoir, supermarket, grocery etc

Postby desifemlove » December 6th, 2016, 9:54 pm

desifemlove wrote:can one can locally slaughtered cuts?
any butcher shop, by your local abattoir, supermarket, grocery etc

this is all the normal cuts? US or British?

Postby pugboy » December 6th, 2016, 10:30 pm

When Paul grant used to work at super quality supermarket endeavour
He used to do fancy cuts of local beef from sugar feed mills company
But they were all usual tough stuff.

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » December 15th, 2016, 5:11 pm

Blooms have Cast iron skillets
Got a kobi to try out

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2016, 6:31 pm

Excellent stores has been selling cast iron for a long time btw

I have found lately Blooms prices are no longer "a deal" in fact they are pretty much equal to Arties and Hadco
the only advantage is that their products tend to be individually packed for easy display and window shopping.

At Arties Diego Martin you often have to ask the butcher but he will also cut to suit for you also.
The Arties Maraval is much better displayed like blooms.

Hadco is where the majority of big restaurants get their supply from but is somewhat troublesome as they wont have small cuts for sale retail and you have to speak to a sales rep to roganize the sale. I used to purchase whole briskets from them in the past before Blooms opened.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 15th, 2016, 8:47 pm

I tried Paul's Steakhouse for the first time and I had (half of) a rare T-bone. Aside from the extra saltiness, it was a great tasting meal. I scraped off some of the seasonings at the top because they were distracting. I'm not familiar with other places and how their steaks taste, but it was tender and tasty enough for me to want to go again.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 19th, 2016, 8:33 pm

For those who still looking for cast iron pans

Bhagwansingh got the "lodge" brand in stock

Flat and grill type cast iron pans and enamel and regular dutch ovens

Prices start at 245 up to 1250....

Postby pugboy » December 19th, 2016, 8:41 pm

are those true cast iron or have some kind of coating on them ?
I have an uncoated ridged noname cast iron skillet,
if I don't clean it soon after it kinda rusts and the builtup oil coating flakes off and have to start over

Sunday gone I tried smoking a piece of new zealand beef clod/chuck(cheap stew meat)
was able to get it real tender like a 12hr smoked beef brisket but at half the price :)

Postby meccalli » December 19th, 2016, 9:12 pm

I sanded down a non stick wok and polished the metal, you always have to clean then just a quick re season to prevent the air moisture from accessing the raw metal.

Postby pugboy » December 19th, 2016, 9:27 pm

Yeah, the burnt bits are corrosive

Hope you didn't inhale any of the nonstick coating

Re: RE: Re: Where can you get good Steak Cuts eg rib eye, tomahawk, cowboy

Postby *KRONIK* » December 19th, 2016, 10:20 pm

pugboy wrote:are those true cast iron or have some kind of coating on them ?
I have an uncoated ridged noname cast iron skillet,
if I don't clean it soon after it kinda rusts and the builtup oil coating flakes off and have to start over

Yes
They are real cast iron
It rusts if you dry it right away or in areas where the "seasoning" was scrubbed out.
I put mine on the stove on very low heat for a few minutes after washing.

The coating is actually burnt vegetable oil.
They spray the raw cast iron with a film of oil and bake it until the oil burns off and forms a coating on the pot.

If you want to get the seasoning started on your pan:
Wash and scrub it clean
Heat up on stove dry off water
Let it cool to handle
Melt some cooken and brush over the whole pan (inside and out)
Put in oven on high heat.
This will get the process started.
If you use a scrubber designed for nonstick pans and maintain it. The seasoning actually stays quite good.

Postby SR » December 20th, 2016, 11:00 pm

Ribeye steak was good tonight by paul grant

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 20th, 2016, 11:04 pm

SR wrote:Ribeye steak was good tonight by paul grant
was? :cry:

Postby SR » December 20th, 2016, 11:12 pm

Sorry still is..... :)

Postby meccalli » December 21st, 2016, 5:09 am

pugboy wrote:Yeah, the burnt bits are corrosive

Hope you didn't inhale any of the nonstick coating

Nah, wet sanded it with some 220 under running water, teflon came out pretty easily.

*KRONIK* wrote:
If you want to get the seasoning started on your pan:
Wash and scrub it clean
Heat up on stove dry off water
Let it cool to handle
Melt some cooken and brush over the whole pan (inside and out)
Put in oven on high heat.
This will get the process started.
If you use a scrubber designed for nonstick pans and maintain it. The seasoning actually stays quite good.

I re season after every heavy use, i never liked the thicker layers of oil coating. I use a ring stove with my wok and just heat it up and deglaze everything with water then get it smoking hot and rub in some vegetable oil with a paper towel.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 21st, 2016, 12:04 pm

Thinking of doing a Turkey breast for Christmas (3/4 of my side and my wife's side family is vegetarians so no need for whole turkey). Decide to move away from the curry that is the norm home by me.
What's a good prep/cooking suggestion?

Postby *KRONIK* » December 22nd, 2016, 9:54 pm

Blaze this for dinner tonite.

SR wrote:Ribeye steak was good tonight by paul grant

Yes it was...

I had a piece of wifey own...was better than the T-bone

Postby pugboy » December 22nd, 2016, 10:38 pm

Sunday I grilling a beef picanha for xmas lunch

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 22nd, 2016, 11:11 pm

Allu still eating so much meat? Good luck with that colon cancer in a few years ....

HSA

Postby HSA » December 23rd, 2016, 1:04 am

drchaos wrote:Allu still eating so much meat? Good luck with that colon cancer in a few years ....

Y u doh hush yuh mc

Pablo660

Where can you get good Steak Cuts eg rib eye, tomahawk, cowboy

Postby Pablo660 » December 23rd, 2016, 5:41 am

And I was feeling to go there last night , I still hungry

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 23rd, 2016, 11:06 am

HSA wrote:
drchaos wrote:Allu still eating so much meat? Good luck with that colon cancer in a few years ....

Y u doh hush yuh mc

Yuh mean meh cancer free mc!

HSA

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Where can you get good Steak Cuts eg rib eye, tomahawk, cowboy

Postby HSA » December 23rd, 2016, 4:28 pm

drchaos wrote:
HSA wrote:

Y u doh hush yuh mc

Yuh mean meh cancer free mc!

Lol.....i love my beef....no way i can get cancer from a grass fed animal

Postby meccalli » December 23rd, 2016, 5:04 pm

Multiple studies exist and the link is sound with how heme is metabolized in the gut and affects the mucosa.. however, the context of a balanced diet changes things drastically. Flame grilling and searing red meat also doesn't help the cause with mutagens like HA's and PAH's. All things in balance and it really won't be an issue. There are bigger issues and reasons why you shouldn't consume beef, more specifically non local beef which falls along the lines of production systems that damages the global environment. I wallow in blissfully good steak but it's not something I eat every week.

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2016, 6:41 pm

Moderation. Is always key
History has shown that the various fads
(Low fat,more carb),(low carb, high protein) etc
Have not proven to be any magic health solutions