65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby redmanjp » May 9th, 2016, 9:39 am

^ not from what the Minister was saying this morning, didn't hear him mention anything base on vehicle capability

Postby j.o.e » May 9th, 2016, 9:47 am

abbow wrote:on another note....wouldnt it be good if they can have speed limits for different times.....

6 30 am - 8 30 am - 120 Km

830 am - 3 pm - 80 Km

3pm - 5pm - 120 km

5 pm - 6 30 am (next morning)- 80 km

Friday and Sat 5 pm - 6 30 am (next morning) - 65 Km

lol what would be the point of this ? Unnecessarily complicated for no justifiable reason

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 9th, 2016, 9:50 am

went POS last nite .. sunday evening 8pm traffic everybody driving 75 km/hr took me 37 mins from chaguanas to POS ... well at least no bad accidents fro the weekend

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 9th, 2016, 2:58 pm

mark2.0 wrote:My pickup is my personal vehicle, the family weekend ride,
Never carry anything in the tray.
So petition to have pickup P instead of T....

Who wit meh?

If they do that then the price of pick-ups will increase by quite alot.

This is why Pickups with 2.5 to 3.0 engines are so cheap where as fortuner's, captiva's and other large diesel P vehicles so expensive.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 9th, 2016, 3:13 pm

All dis beatup just because allyuh "T" jivers cant adhere to 65 km??? LMAO Hahahahahaha

Postby pete » May 9th, 2016, 3:18 pm

Reason pickups are so cheap is they are only subject to 10% duty vs those other vehicles which were subject to 40%.

Also the MVT on T vehicles is $2.50/cc vs $37.50/cc for the P vehicle that same size.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 9th, 2016, 4:17 pm

stillmatic wrote:My bad Lol...I forgot not every one knew about the amendment....I was just trying to clarify the with or without trailer part sry

Alyuh still cant read. That is an amendment to Section 50. The relevant section we talking about is section 62. You could see it in the upper right corner of drchaos attachment.

Re: RE: Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby sMASH » May 9th, 2016, 4:21 pm

BRZ wrote:All dis beatup just because allyuh "T" jivers cant adhere to 65 km??? LMAO Hahahahahaha

Just did 60 on a main road.... it was hard to keep it steady at that speed. And the revs was only 1500 rpm. Got a lot of vibration. Put it in a lower gear, and with no load, it just idling high. Not ideal.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 9th, 2016, 4:26 pm

sMASH wrote:Just did 60 on a main road.... it was hard to keep it steady at that speed. And the revs was only 1500 rpm. Got a lot of vibration. Put it in a lower gear, and with no load, it just idling high. Not ideal.

:| You sure you know how to drive a manual transmission vehicle?

It is really easy to do 50km/h on the main road in a Mitsubishi L200 4x4 pickup truck, Toyota Hilux4x4 pickup truck and Mazda BT50 4x4 pickup truck .

Postby sMASH » May 9th, 2016, 4:28 pm

Pretty much, but no load

arakaras

Postby arakaras » May 9th, 2016, 5:07 pm

I thought de 80 was bad but that 65 is crazy. Bess I sell meh van and buy two donkeys and a cart.

Postby De Dragon » May 9th, 2016, 5:19 pm

I've no problem complying with this or any law, but hopefully there will be some sort of empirical data to support/blank a speed limit increase.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » May 9th, 2016, 5:39 pm

Alyuh talking too much sense in here yes

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 9th, 2016, 8:30 pm

redmanjp wrote:If the speed limit is based on road design then it is the design itself that hasn't been updated in 30 yrs so it's the engineers to blame
my concern with the minister's statement is, did we spend billions of dollars to develop new under engineered highways?

Postby aaron17 » May 9th, 2016, 9:19 pm

megadoc1 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:If the speed limit is based on road design then it is the design itself that hasn't been updated in 30 yrs so it's the engineers to blame
my concern with the minister's statement is, did we spend billions of dollars to develop new under engineered highways?

They would probably say to cut cost in favor of leaving it at 80 and 50.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » May 9th, 2016, 9:38 pm

I think people who accept the new speed limits live 5-10m from home.
I feel sorry for those that have to drive north to south and vice versa every day
....that must be HELL!

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 9th, 2016, 9:53 pm

sMASH wrote:

Who wit meh?

I would disagree with that cause the ability for the vehicle to cross 2540 kg is still there. And toting that weight would affect ur ability to maneuver and brake.
So is either u modify ur registration to legally limit urself to 2540 or do a study to show that above 2540 eight is still safe above 65km/h

So is the weight and not weather is P or T.
Ok padna, well AudiQ7, Prado, BMW X5, all limo, Nissan patrol and so many more suppose to do 65km/h max..... All of them is heavier than a Toyota Hilux.

Postby sMASH » May 9th, 2016, 10:46 pm

No, not just weight. Vehicles registered to carry goods, that means 't' vehicles. So, t that under 2540 can go 80, t that below 2540 and carrying a trailer can go up to 65, and t that above 2540 65 with or without trailer.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 9th, 2016, 11:02 pm

So it's a weight factor we dealing with. In that case, vehicles mention in the above post the large suv is heavier than most of these pickup.

john005

Postby john005 » May 9th, 2016, 11:38 pm

Having vehicles at different speeds on the same roadway can actually be a hazard. Too many lane changes and will actually defeat the purpose or intention of enforcing the laws. Unless of course it is to raise revenue. The laws are way antiquated and need to be revised.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 9th, 2016, 11:52 pm

mark2.0 wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Who wit meh?

I would disagree with that cause the ability for the vehicle to cross 2540 kg is still there. And toting that weight would affect ur ability to maneuver and brake.
So is either u modify ur registration to legally limit urself to 2540 or do a study to show that above 2540 eight is still safe above 65km/h

So is the weight and not weather is P or T.
Ok padna, well AudiQ7, Prado, BMW X5, all limo, Nissan patrol and so many more suppose to do 65km/h max..... All of them is heavier than a Toyota Hilux.

No
Those pickups are designed to carry load, so their suspension is tuned completely differently to a passenger vehicle. They are more unstable at highway cruise speeds than AudiQ7, Prado, BMW X5 and the lot you mentioned.
Also they are rear wheel driven unless you lock the diff, and rear wheel is inherently less stable and more prone to oversteer.
In general they are less stable at higher speeds than your average P vehicle.

So its multiple factors with weight and the above.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 10th, 2016, 3:06 am

They are not all designed to carry load..... The Vigo comes with comfortable springs... New frontier has coil springs.
I believe you can have a van registered with P plates.... Just can't put anything in the tray.

My question is if there is an SUV built on the same platform as a pickup why should there be a difference in limits... E.g older model Ford Everest/Ranger; I know they have the same chassis, suspension components and brakes. Not sure how much the Dmax shares with the Mux.
Does the sheet metal over the tail make it that much "safer".

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 10th, 2016, 3:51 am

Vans ride like sheit imo. At least vans I have driven or been in made up to 2012. They not gonna change laws just cuz recently some vans may be riding slightly better.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 10th, 2016, 5:30 am

Suspension set up is very different for a van as compared to a suv. Cant believe ull trying to argue that point down..the point for the tray is for load.
The way trinis drive these things are completely irresponsible. Let them take a slower limit. To much unlawful driving patterns on the road right now

Postby j.o.e » May 10th, 2016, 5:42 am

Navara has the road handling and aerodynamics of a GTR ...... Doh try to argue with them

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 10th, 2016, 6:19 am

kamakazi wrote:They are not all designed to carry load..... The Vigo comes with comfortable springs... New frontier has coil springs.. . .

:| Do the MGWs of the Vigo and Frontier confirm this statement that you have made? Serious question!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 10th, 2016, 6:21 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
kamakazi wrote:They are not all designed to carry load..... The Vigo comes with comfortable springs... New frontier has coil springs.. . .

:| Do the MGWs of the Vigo and Frontier confirm this statement that you have made? Serious question!

Btw when you say that the roads here not engineered for certain speeds...can you provide some more details? Things like paving? Or more related to crash barriers? Etc?

Postby sMASH » May 10th, 2016, 6:26 am

j.o.e wrote:Navara has the road handling and aerodynamics of a GTR ...... Doh try to argue with them

Gtr is unsafe above 80

Postby j.o.e » May 10th, 2016, 6:46 am

sMASH wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Navara has the road handling and aerodynamics of a GTR ...... Doh try to argue with them

Gtr is unsafe above 80

Very

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 10th, 2016, 6:51 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Btw when you say that the roads here not engineered for certain speeds...can you provide some more details? Things like paving? Or more related to crash barriers? Etc?

The design speed that our newer highways were designed for (usually around 100km/h) dictates the minimum geometric standards to be used, such as, vertical curve radii (which affects stopping sight distance and overtaking sight distance ), horizontal curve radii (which affects sight distances for drivers and centrifugal forces to which vehicles and the occupants are subjected), and superelevation (banking) of curves (which affects the centrifugal forces to which occupants are subjected). For your information, our roads are designed according to AASHTO design standards which are what are used in the USA. So for people to say that our roads are "under-engineered" is misleading.

The design speed is defined as the maximum safe speed at which a driver/vehicle can traverse a section of highway when conditions are such that the design features of the highway govern, that is, low flows (free speeds), good weather. This is typically the 85th percentile speed at low flows (V85).

So the 100km/h used by the MOWT as the design speed would have been based on the traffic studies that they would have done to determine V85. Why the speed limit on the newer highways is not 100km/h may perhaps, and I stand to be corrected here, lie with the fact that we have very poor maintenance strategies with respect to our road infrastructure. So the properties of the road used in the design may not match what is actually constructed in the field. They may have also considered the local conditions and the frequency with which drivers have to stop/slow down for hazards (such as animals, pedestrians, vendors, south people drinking and eating on the shoulder of the highways on the weekends). They have given the driver a greater buffer in order to react to these types of situations.

In my opinion, the speed limit should remain at 80km/h based on the EXISTING road conditions (from a maintenance standpoint) and the, general, ignorant culture of drivers and pedestrians.

But then again, what do I know?