Postby Redman » May 7th, 2016, 7:51 am

ingalook wrote:
Redman wrote:So we have:
sheeit cars allowed to come in
License office allowing anything to be licensed
you could buy your license
we get sheeit work on road construction
sheeeit work on road maintenance
On import e tax new tires...but not used tires.

....and 6 speed guns.

So if it is a:

2016 R35
with nice new Potenza RE-71r's on 4 corners
with an experienced driver
On a well maintained smooth piece of road

Should he be allowed to drive more than 80km?

So if you use some common sense....

Im just pointing out that blaming 'speed' for the 'carnage' on the road while all the above continue to remain in force is misguided.

The reason the Govt is up in every thing is that they continue to patch the end result instead of dealing with the problem at source.

Re: Petition to Increase Highway Speed Limit to 100-120km/h

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 7th, 2016, 9:42 am

I am worried about the high chances of falling asleep doing 80 on the SHH

Postby K74T » May 7th, 2016, 10:03 am

Well if that's your case, stay off the roads so you won't kill any innocents.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 7th, 2016, 10:55 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:I am worried about the high chances of falling asleep doing 80 on the SHH

You should probably go see a doctor then. Sounds like you have a vitamin deficiency or something.

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » May 7th, 2016, 1:04 pm

Good thing my car has cruise control, I wouldn't have to be watching down at the speedo all the time, then crashing cause I only watching my speedo.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 7th, 2016, 1:25 pm

amd-dude wrote:Good thing my car has cruise control, I wouldn't have to be watching down at the speedo all the time, then crashing cause I only watching my speedo.

Cruise control FTW.

Postby aaron17 » May 7th, 2016, 1:27 pm

And warning chime too

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2016, 1:30 pm

Manual transmission never gets boring.
Better yet when you have a bess sounding audio system.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 7th, 2016, 2:09 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Manual transmission never gets boring.
Better yet when you have a bess sounding audio system.

This!

Postby sMASH » May 7th, 2016, 2:11 pm

Time to spend moar time on the sound systems, cause I gonna be spending moAr time in meh vehicles.

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2016, 2:19 pm

I'll admit, its a bit boring to drive 65km/h and try to keep the needle there but I can manage. Once star947 playing I cool.
A good sounding audio system can keep you very happy no matter what.

On another note, more people on cellphone and texting, more than I ever saw.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » May 7th, 2016, 2:24 pm

Autonomous Cars that drive you around without you having to do anything can't come soon enough

Postby sMASH » May 7th, 2016, 2:57 pm

With burglar proof like jail, government spying in ur personal emails, self imposed curfews, no good way to enjoy a drive, always watching ur surroundings for potential assailants.... this isn't freedom more

Postby j.o.e » May 7th, 2016, 10:12 pm

sMASH wrote:With burglar proof like jail, government spying in ur personal emails, self imposed curfews, no good way to enjoy a drive, always watching ur surroundings for potential assailants.... this isn't freedom more

Oh the drama

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 8th, 2016, 12:39 am

I think the speed limit should remain at 80km/hr. if only out of personal experience, anyone here every navigate the San Fernando Interchange. That is a prime example of several things:
1 Trinidadians drive too fast
2 They are very inconsiderate, little to no driving etiquette
3 Our roads are not properly engineered, clearly too much was trying to be accomplished in too small and area
4 Not to mention the frequency and the ease with which potholes and roadway imperfections appear, case the down ramp of the interchange as it merges with the South Trunk Road going toward Gulf City

Petition to Increase Highway Speed Limit to 100-120km/h

Postby MaxPower » May 8th, 2016, 5:58 am

Not signing this crap.

Yall too blasted irresponsible. Could have never even abide by the 80km initially, now it have speed gun suddenly ppl wanna follow it and complain it too slow.

Leave it as 80km until the population can be responsible enough to maintain the limit. Then maybe we talk numbers.

Man get charge for 85? And? The fakin law say 80....yuh know if they say they had a tolerance for up to 5km, allyuh go do 86 and still bump gum...

No hundred for allyuh

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 8th, 2016, 7:23 am

sMASH wrote:With burglar proof like jail, government spying in ur personal emails, self imposed curfews, no good way to enjoy a drive, always watching ur surroundings for potential assailants.... this isn't freedom more

If arcelor mittal had do all that you wouldna say boo though.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 8th, 2016, 7:23 am

Preach it meh brother

ingalook

Postby ingalook » May 8th, 2016, 7:48 am

Numb3r4 wrote:I think the speed limit should remain at 80km/hr. if only out of personal experience, anyone here every navigate the San Fernando Interchange. That is a prime example of several things:
1 Trinidadians drive too fast
2 They are very inconsiderate, little to no driving etiquette
3 Our roads are not properly engineered, clearly too much was trying to be accomplished in too small and area
4 Not to mention the frequency and the ease with which potholes and roadway imperfections appear, case the down ramp of the interchange as it merges with the South Trunk Road going toward Gulf City

Ammm... Sorry but... What this have to do with anything?

I guess you are talking about "cross crossing"..

The POSTED speed limit on that interchange is 40km (maybe 30 thinking about it), in my experience for a large portion of the day people drive way less than than - you'd be lucky to cross it over 20km most times.

It was designed after the fact, the designers had very little room to work with an thus gave us what South people affectionaly call the " Confusion Bridge"

Any South person worth his salt will tell you that it was a boon to South, the traffic at that roundabout was no joke, and this is back when we had half the cars we have today

To date I think there has only ever been 2 fatalities on this interchange (twin girls) and they were actually going straight but had a Kant driver

Postby Gem_in_i » May 8th, 2016, 8:04 am

MaxPower wrote:Not signing this crap.

Yall too blasted irresponsible. Could have never even abide by the 80km initially, now it have speed gun suddenly ppl wanna follow it and complain it too slow.

Leave it as 80km until the population can be responsible enough to maintain the limit. Then maybe we talk numbers.

Man get charge for 85? And? The fakin law say 80....yuh know if they say they had a tolerance for up to 5km, allyuh go do 86 and still bump gum...

No hundred for allyuh

Well said! :arrow:

Postby j.o.e » May 8th, 2016, 8:17 am

#team80

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 8th, 2016, 8:22 am

j.o.e wrote:#team80

This like d new cyaptain America movie.

#team80

Who side allyuh on?

Postby DVSTT » May 8th, 2016, 9:14 am

Uwi engineering faculty intends to approach the ministry for a change in the speed limit. I really do hope that get through cuz its an hour to get to UWI from San Fernando vs 25 mins at 120.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 8th, 2016, 9:19 am

DVSTT wrote:Uwi engineering faculty intends to approach the ministry for a change in the speed limit. I really do hope that get through cuz its an hour to get to UWI from San Fernando vs 25 mins at 120.

So it takes you 58.3 % less time to reach uwi if you travel 50% faster than the speed limit?

Postby Morpheus » May 8th, 2016, 9:21 am

I kinda exceeded this morning......oops

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 8th, 2016, 9:48 am

EmilioA wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:I am worried about the high chances of falling asleep doing 80 on the SHH

You should probably go see a doctor then. Sounds like you have a vitamin deficiency or something.

Working 14 hour shifts can take its toll....then having to drive 80 km for an hour and a half in a turbo charged vehicle .is a receipe for disaster

U go see yuh doctor for stupidity k ....

Postby tr1ad » May 8th, 2016, 9:52 am

DVSTT wrote:Uwi engineering faculty intends to approach the ministry for a change in the speed limit. I really do hope that get through cuz its an hour to get to UWI from San Fernando vs 25 mins at 120.

What sh!t you talking

Postby j.o.e » May 8th, 2016, 9:56 am

#team80 rebukes this nonsense post