Gas prices in Trinidad & Tobago

kjaglal76v2

Re: Look Trouble Now: Gov't plans to remove gas subsidy

Postby kjaglal76v2 » March 24th, 2016, 10:16 am

Dizzy28 wrote:I have seen people lament that Maxis/public transport are inefficient in this thread. However for the past 4 months I have been working PoS having worked elsewhere in the country all my life. I dreaded the move to PoS. However since we have moved I have been traveling with Maxis on the PBR on most days. My average time to work from leaving home with maxis is 45 mins however on the odd days I drive its 1.5 hrs. On evenings it actually takes the same 45 mins and that includes the wait in City Gate and thing. (I live Tunapuna)

Basically public transport isn't as bad as its made out to be. Most of the Maxis are air conditioned, they are reliable and its much faster than driving.

And I have a fairly brand new Crossover doing 5,200kms at home so I'm not bound by public transport.

now try that to go diego/valley, PBR is the only effecient route in trinidad

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 24th, 2016, 10:16 am

Until they unsubsidize electricity too :fadein:

Postby zoom rader » March 24th, 2016, 10:24 am

OK enough of the ole talk.

Here's my stance on government gas plans.
They going in the right directions and I agree with them.

However since we paying more for crappy cars that cost twice as much, then they gonna have to drop import duties on cars, especially lager engine cars.

You want a big engine car then pay gas price for it or take the Train.

Postby Habit7 » March 24th, 2016, 10:29 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Even habit gone quiet yes.

You should learn not everything you should put your mouth in. Whether Howai or Imbert, both advocated for the removal of the fuel subsidy. It is the prudent thing to do now that oil is low (but slowly climbing). It is better to take the 40%-60% increase now rather than end up like Venezuela and have to make an even more difficult decision to increase by 6,000%

Also for those who promoting a green revolution consider that electric cars in TT are natural gas cars:

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 24th, 2016, 10:31 am

Habit7 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Even habit gone quiet yes.

You should learn not everything you should put your mouth in. Whether Howai or Imbert, both advocated for the removal of the fuel subsidy. It is the prudent thing to do now that oil is low (but slowly climbing). It is better to take the 40%-60% increase now rather than end up like Venezuela and have to make an even more difficult decision to increase by 6,000%

Also for those who promoting a green revolution consider that electric cars in TT are natural gas cars:

Venezuela was a special case...not the norm.

Postby zoom rader » March 24th, 2016, 10:33 am

^^^ This time Habit7 right for a change.

But.....

PNM MC they need to get rid of Maxi fluffy

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 24th, 2016, 10:41 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote: PNM setting thing straight, correct. And people are now realizing what straight and correct really mean, the chaos eh start yet. A massive load of sh!t is slowly but surely creeping up onto that fan and when it hits everybody gonna be brown and ready.

i do not agree that pnm are setting things straight. so marlene and jearlene get light up. did they have a choice considering the show they both put on? while everything was hidden in a backroom rowley was defending marlene. stay there and feel he didnt know what she do. ppl on the street know what she do before he? the party leader? the question is where do u draw the line because all ministers would be guilty of helping family members, friends and even strangers to get a 'link up'. its kind of part of the job. but some with resillient ethical background wouldnt have with a 10 foot pole help any direct and frequent associates. the straight players.

but setting things straight? by using outdated economic recovery measures that have proved an overall failure since it just kicks the bucket further down the road but then the bucket does be bigger and more full? there will come a point when we try to kick the bucket and we buss we toe and it aint move. these taxing measures and the revenues they recover will be mismanaged to futility. and the work and sacrifices of the citezenry will be in vain if the foreign exchange issue is not dealt with. if the pnm does not diversify the economy to provide jobs and export to counter the rate of usd drainage trinidad will find itself in a debt hole of seemingly exponential decline.

there is no way that taxing the citizens heavily and raising the cost of living during a cycle of growing unemployment is going to increase gdp anywhere near sufficient enough to counter import demand and requirements. what it will do is give pnm money to 'boost' the economy with some megaproject(s) as they usually do. export diversification and development of the tourism sector are whats needed. besides an upgrade to a million outdated legislation that make this country a prime target for international smartmen.

but based on the angle the pnm seems to be attacking this from, the overall trend and effect is clear. Inflation! the price of doubles WILL be affected.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » March 24th, 2016, 10:53 am

Inflation is One thing, this Sudden Onslaught of Senseless Killings and Murders during RObberies and the police, Army and Minister of NAt ASecurity Silence is what worries me.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » March 24th, 2016, 11:32 am

how GREAT IS THE PNM now

Postby K74T » March 24th, 2016, 11:35 am

Still greater than the last administrathieves

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 24th, 2016, 12:12 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:I have seen people lament that Maxis/public transport are inefficient in this thread. However for the past 4 months I have been working PoS having worked elsewhere in the country all my life. I dreaded the move to PoS. However since we have moved I have been traveling with Maxis on the PBR on most days. My average time to work from leaving home with maxis is 45 mins however on the odd days I drive its 1.5 hrs. On evenings it actually takes the same 45 mins and that includes the wait in City Gate and thing. (I live Tunapuna)

Basically public transport isn't as bad as its made out to be. Most of the Maxis are air conditioned, they are reliable and its much faster than driving.

And I have a fairly brand new Crossover doing 5,200kms at home so I'm not bound by public transport.

Trinidad and Tobago is much larger than the east west corridor.

Unless school closed its a nightmare to get a Maxi on mornings from Arima to POS unless you taking a maxi at Arima itself or Curepe.

Also try taking a Maxi on evenings from 3:30PM at City gate to go Arima, people does be violently attacking others even the police give up now and are afraid they get trample in that chaos. I have seen men in their 20's push down old people on the ground trying to get a maxi. Maxi driver having to shout at the large crowd saying allyuh go damage my door.

Nobody in their right mind can say we have anything remotely close to efficient public transport in this country (AT RUSH HOUR)

Also when you travel with a yellow band maxi to Diego most of them are old hot pieces of sheit with no AC and nails poking out of the seat ripping up your clothes and having you wait sometimes 1 hour. Last month this driver refused to go without the last passenger and every 5 minutes 1 passenger abandoned the maxi I end up waiting 45 minutes for this man to full that 1 remaining seat.

Postby aaron17 » March 24th, 2016, 1:19 pm

I have a solar calculator..I dare T&tec to charge me for dat!

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » March 24th, 2016, 1:45 pm

No seen, I go just ride a bike like the olden days.

Postby Habit7 » March 24th, 2016, 1:56 pm

The oil bonanza is over: for some African countries, that’s the best thing that ever happened
24 MAR 2016 14:30SALAH SLIMANI, CAROLINE ALEXANDER

TECHNOLOGY entrepreneur Karim Brahiti sees opportunities springing from the biggest threat Algeria’s economy has faced in decades.

“The plunge in oil prices is a necessary evil that will force us to get out of our comfort zone and find alternatives,” said the 36-year-old Brahiti, now investing back home after years spent scouring for contracts in sub-Saharan Africa countries. “The misfortune of some makes for the happiness of others.”

For as long as petrostates like Algeria were able to stash away oil and gas revenue with only half an eye on when reserves run dry or prices fall, voices like Brahiti’s hardly registered. Yet as $40 oil brings slumping revenues, austerity, rising discontent and expanding debt, officials are stepping up efforts to diversify the economy.

Encouraged by new legislation easing laws on purchasing firms or finding commercial property, Brahiti has applied for a 99-year lease on land in one of two emerging cyber hubs in Algiers. While regulations guaranteeing majority-Algerian ownership of corporations are still on the books, the government is also allowing foreigners a greater say in management and unveiling tax incentives that aim to encourage domestic manufacturing.

Expensive subsidies
At stake is political stability for a regime founded since the end of French rule on the three-pronged power of an elected government, the army and the intelligence agencies. Expensive subsidies on food and fuel have helped keep stability while turmoil has deepened across North Africa and the Middle East. Algeria shares a long desert border with conflict-roiled Libya.

“There is no going back,” says Prime Minster Abdelmalek Sellal amid skepticism from some economists that the government really intends to get to grips with Algeria’s oil obsession. “We will help all investors.”

Ailing president Bouteflika is rarely seen in public

Abdelhak Lamiri, the Algiers-based author of “The Decade of the Last Chance,” which plots possible routes out of oil-dependency, says Algeria has 700,000 companies but needs 2.5 million.

“The government is certainly doing better than it has in the past,” he said in an interview. “But will it be enough to have a strong economy that will enable us the same level of living that we had with expensive oil? For the moment, I doubt it.”

Deeper troubles
There’s hardly a major energy producer that hasn’t outlined plans to diversify oil-dependent economies, but Algeria’s troubles go deeper. President Abdelaziz Bouteflika, 79, is ailing and hasn’t been seen in public since winning a fourth term in April 2014. His appearances on local television meeting foreign dignitaries have done little to douse speculation of a slowly evolving and unpredictable changing of the guard at a time when Islamic militancy is deepening insecurity across the region.

Meanwhile, income from fossil-fuel exports, responsible for nearly 60% of Algeria’s economy, has fallen by nearly half. A $4.3 billion trade surplus in 2014 gave way to a $13.7 billion deficit last year.

The oil slump has been “like an electric shock,” said Abderrazak Chibani, who set up a communications company called K Media in 2006. “When oil was expensive, Algerians, especially the younger generation, forgot what it was like to work. The state distributed money counting on it to keep the peace.”

The World Bank has listed Algerian failings that set back its private sector: Time-consuming procedures and a lack of access to credit that has all too often forced businesses to turn to family and friends for funding. Private enterprise generates only 10% the overall economy.

Potential flash-points
In the longer term, only a surge in investment in education and a coherent national strategy will lift Algeria’s non-oil economy, create jobs for a youthful population and ease regional disparities that could become security flash-points, says Lamiri, the author and economist.

More than 270,000 Algerians with post-degree qualifications have left the country since the 1990s, a decade of civil war, according to a study last year by the Ministry of Higher Education.

Brahiti founded his first company aged 19 with $500 borrowed from his mother before setting up LVSC Mediterranee in 2007. The Algiers-based firm has secured contracts abroad, including one to modernise garbage collection with a local partner in Lagos. It employs 30 people with an annual turnover of $1.5 million.

“We could have grown more quickly if the business environment in Algeria had been more flexible and encouraging,” he said. (Bloomberg)

http://mgafrica.com/article/2016-03-24- ... -diversify

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » March 24th, 2016, 2:37 pm

sMASH wrote:Problem is what can we manufacture that we can export...

Lots of cottage industries existing but struggling to expand due to lack of funding

We all know how hard it is to make money 'legally'. Banks are a total waste of time and the Trinidad business model is either yuh have money or not. . So investment in the cottage industry could open an export market. ..

Postby Morpheus » March 24th, 2016, 3:26 pm

zoom rader wrote:^^^ This time Habit7 right for a change.

But.....

PNM MC they need to get rid of Maxi fluffy

LoL everyone agrees with your 2nd statement.

Geez!

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 24th, 2016, 10:47 pm

Soooo... I read thru this whole thread and didn't find a definite answer.
Anyone know if premium gonna be affected ? :mrgreen:

Postby Morpheus » March 25th, 2016, 12:07 am

scotty_buttons wrote:Soooo... I read thru this whole thread and didn't find a definite answer.

Again??? Hope not!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 25th, 2016, 1:31 am

scotty_buttons wrote:Soooo... I read thru this whole thread and didn't find a definite answer.

If it's affected the price of premium would DROP. So no I don't expect them to be so kind. Price will remain the same.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » March 25th, 2016, 2:44 am

In the US premium is about USD$2.06/ gal. That gives $3.60TTD/ liter.
So much for paying $5.75!

Postby pete » March 25th, 2016, 5:52 am

Depends where in the US. I just paid 2.15/gal for regular in Illinois. Diesel was same price and premium was 2.70

Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk

Postby DVSTT » March 25th, 2016, 6:07 am

Why doesn't premium price fluctuate with the price of oil in the world market like it dies in other countries? Isn't it unsubsidized?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 25th, 2016, 6:54 am

DVSTT wrote:Why doesn't premium price fluctuate with the price of oil in the world market like it dies in other countries? Isn't it unsubsidized?

Nope. Still fixed by ministry of energy. It's just subsidized less. When oil price low it stops being subsidized and becomes a profit making method for the government since it isn't floating.

scotty_buttons

Look Trouble Now: Gov't plans to remove gas subsidy

Postby scotty_buttons » March 25th, 2016, 7:08 am

^ See ? Different people saying different things.
Most thought it was unsubsidized, now I'm hearing talk that it isn't :?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 25th, 2016, 9:00 am

We too lazy to protest!

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Pirate

Postby Pirate » March 25th, 2016, 11:39 am

pete wrote:Depends where in the US. I just paid 2.15/gal for regular in Illinois. Diesel was same price and premium was 2.70

Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk

The difference in prices between regular and premium is just a couple cents.
The State Averages according to the US Energy Information Admin pegs premium at a low of USD$2.05/gal and a high of USD$2.41/gal.
We are paying USD$3.29/gal (and them saying it subsidized)

Also IMO since we are an oil producing 3rd world country, if they are removing the subsidy, we should be paying the cost price to refine the gas (ie no additional taxes/markup). That way there is no bitcching about the subsidy and the citizens are getting it at a fair price.

Note: I am assuming the US prices reflect Un-subsidised prices.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » March 25th, 2016, 11:47 am

scotty_buttons wrote:^ See ? Different people saying different things.

I thought the subsidy was removed totally by the last admin

6 percenters hadda brace for more hikes now?

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 25th, 2016, 11:54 am

Pressure with that..try driving to work from east to south everyday...and is gas I use..from paying 100 to full to 130 and then supporting my wife

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 25th, 2016, 12:09 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:^ See ? Different people saying different things.

I thought the subsidy was removed totally by the last admin

6 percenters hadda brace for more hikes now?

The final at the pump price is basically an equation.
It involves a price set by the ministry of energy at a low figure (let's just say $1.50/L for this example) and then taxes are added to this and the sum is the price you see at the pump. Because that initial price(1.50) isn't changed by the ministry day to day, week to week etc the final price paid at the pump is fixed.

The price of fuel from petrotrin however fluctuates because the initial price in the equation changes. That initial price could be $3.00/L today and $5/L 1 year from now for example...or $1.00/L 2 years from now based on demand and supply globally. Because that initial price drifts the TRUE at the pump price can drift as well.

This means the TRUE at the pump price can be higher than the ministry set price (like in the case of premium in 2012-2014 or so in which case it was subsidized albeit not by much) OR it can be lower (like in the case of premium nowadays in which case the government is not subsidizing premium at all and is making a profit on it).

Look Trouble Now: Gov't plans to remove gas subsidy

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 25th, 2016, 12:14 pm

urbandilema wrote:Pressure with that..try driving to work from east to south everyday...and is gas I use..from paying 100 to full to 130 and then supporting my wife

Could be worse. Imagine $208 to fill premium in 2011 then after budget it cost $300 to fill. Fuel costs increasing by approx 44% is not a small thing.
It's jumps like that that should be avoided by the government for super and diesel when they adjusting subsidy.