Marlene McDonald fired

Re: Marlene McDonald fired

Postby Dizzy28 » March 22nd, 2016, 10:12 am

Habit7 wrote:I remember there were tuners calling for Marlene, Camille and Nicole to resign for all manner of things.

I wonder what is their opinion of Kamla keeping true to form even in Opposition?

UNC had their chance to rid themselves of Kamla...instead Vasant get a measly few thousand votes and the ignorant south of Caroni voters backed Kamla in the recently gone internal election.

Isn't Richard Ahamad Vidyawatee Newton's (Kamla sister and nurse) son? And for a while he lived in PM's residence at St Anns whilst Kamla stayed in South and got all the trappings including police escort to work whilst he did his law internship at Devish Maharaj and Associates.

Disgusting nepotism is disgusting!!

Postby De Dragon » March 22nd, 2016, 12:16 pm

Habit7 wrote:I remember there were tuners calling for Marlene, Camille and Nicole to resign for all manner of things.

I wonder what is their opinion of Kamla keeping true to form even in Opposition?

But who is going to fire her? Are the prescribed penalties for this breach dismissal? Marlene is still an MP as far as I know, is KPB to be fired as Opposition Leader, and again by whom?

Postby Habit7 » March 22nd, 2016, 12:29 pm

De Dragon, how does one appoint an Opposition Leader, isn't it not the person with the major support of the Opposition bench?

And why would she have to be fired? Didn't she call on Marlene to resign for hiring family? http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160316 ... says-kamla By her own ethical standard she should resign.

Postby De Dragon » March 22nd, 2016, 1:53 pm

Habit7 wrote:De Dragon, how does one appoint an Opposition Leader, isn't it not the person with the major support of the Opposition bench?

And why would she have to be fired? Didn't she call on Marlene to resign for hiring family? http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160316 ... says-kamla By her own ethical standard she should resign.

IF the prescribed sanction for breaching this particular Parliamentary rule is dismissal, then so be it. KPB is sticking to her guns that all the hot messes that Marlene found herself in are the premise for he firing/resignation. I did say at the outset that amnesia and uncertainty were going to be used to claim plausible deniability.
Also lots being thrown about the recent change in the rules post September 2015, and whether it was adequately communicated or not. Most interestingly, I've not heard calls from the PNM for any firing of KPB, Padarath etc, most likely I suspect because there is some cocoa in the sun.
She has been appointed Opposition Leader, and even won leadership of the party, so again, who is going to fire her? Please don't put words in my mouth as I am most certainly not advocating that she not also face the music if found to be in breach of rules.

Postby Habit7 » March 22nd, 2016, 2:28 pm

There is no prescribed sanction for parliamentary guidelines but for Integrity in Public Life Act, but KPB wanted Marlene to be axed for it. As former PM and a senior counsel KPB knows that ignorance of the law is no excuse and the prep work for the new regulations was under her tenure, plus she ought to know what rules governed her constituency office such as salaries. Nevertheless there is further proof of her violating the Integrity in Public Life Act by hiring her nephew in the OL office. Last Saturday the PNM general council called for her resignation as well, since you didn't hear it http://www.looptt.com/content/pnm-calls ... esignation Sorry to dash your hopes of sun dried cocoa.
She can be fired by 9 Opposition members sending a simple letter to the President for to removed as Opposition Leader in lieu of another Opposition member. But that might be hard since both now and in the past admin several of them have done the same as Kamla.

At no point did I put words in your mouth. However I just thought that someone with your unbiased view of politics and love of country over party would trumpet the call for Kamla to resign or be fired as OL for blatant nepotism in the same way you advocated for Nicole, Camille and Marlene perceived or real wrongdoings. But hey, I already know better...

Postby De Dragon » March 22nd, 2016, 4:42 pm

Habit7 wrote:There is no prescribed sanction for parliamentary guidelines but for Integrity in Public Life Act, but KPB wanted Marlene to be axed for it. As former PM and a senior counsel KPB knows that ignorance of the law is no excuse and the prep work for the new regulations was under her tenure, plus she ought to know what rules governed her constituency office such as salaries. Nevertheless there is further proof of her violating the Integrity in Public Life Act by hiring her nephew in the OL office. Last Saturday the PNM general council called for her resignation as well, since you didn't hear it http://www.looptt.com/content/pnm-calls ... esignation Sorry to dash your hopes of sun dried cocoa.
She can be fired by 9 Opposition members sending a simple letter to the President for to removed as Opposition Leader in lieu of another Opposition member. But that might be hard since both now and in the past admin several of them have done the same as Kamla.

At no point did I put words in your mouth. However I just thought that someone with your unbiased view of politics and love of country over party would trumpet the call for Kamla to resign or be fired as OL for blatant nepotism in the same way you advocated for Nicole, Camille and Marlene perceived or real wrongdoings. But hey, I already know better...

You conveniently in your unnecessarily long-winded post, miss where I specifically stated that she face whatever sanction applicable once found guilty of a breach. I merely enquired (genuinely) as to what the punishment was since I was unaware of such, and who was the vested authority to issue sanction.

Postby Habit7 » March 22nd, 2016, 5:06 pm

Once found guilty? She admits she violated the rule but that they working for 20 and 14 years so 'it go look bad' to fire them.

But you strangely are uninformed about this, even though events at Tobago hotels had special concern to you some weeks ago.

I still look forward to you holding all politicians to the same high standard you hold this govt's ministers to. That is if you are consistent...

Postby De Dragon » March 22nd, 2016, 5:23 pm

Habit7 wrote:Once found guilty? She admits she violated the rule but that they working for 20 and 14 years so 'it go look bad' to fire them.

But you strangely are uninformed about this, even though events at Tobago hotels had special concern to you some weeks ago.

I still look forward to you holding all politicians to the same high standard you hold this govt's ministers to. That is if you are consistent...

Was Marlene found guilty of something? I have and will always call for holding people to account. My issue was Rowley's flippant dismissal of all the wrongdoing allegations out of hand as he did with Marlene, Tim Kee, Camille, Olivierre etc. Like I said, if "I've spoken to him/her" "coincidence" is good enough for you, well horses for courses............

Postby Habit7 » March 22nd, 2016, 6:03 pm

Yes, Marlene was found guilty of employing her spouse in violation of the constituency guildelines, this seems to be news to you.

And that action of Rowley that you hate about just talking to his ministers about allegations they face, Kamla basically just talked to herself about violating the constituency guidelines and break the Integrity Public Life Act.

I await your calls for action from the Opposition MPs in firing Kamla and/or Kamla resigning as OL.

Postby De Dragon » March 22nd, 2016, 6:32 pm

Habit7 wrote:Yes, Marlene was found guilty of employing her spouse in violation of the constituency guildelines, this seems to be news to you.

And that action of Rowley that you hate about just talking to his ministers about allegations they face, Kamla basically just talked to herself about violating the constituency guidelines and break the Integrity Public Life Act.

I await your calls for action from the Opposition MPs in firing Kamla and/or Kamla resigning as OL.

I've said it many times in this very thread, if she's guilty of a breach, then she should go. If the Opposition members feel that she should go, then they have to know that they have that power. It is always better when they go voluntarily, but alas in T&T this is rare. Love how you're clinging to that being the reason Marlene was fired though :lol: Then again Rowley's word and "wisdom" seem to be gospel to you, needing no checking or examination. BTW when is the exalted one going to grace us with a press conference on this dismissal/resignation or whatever it is? So he says that's the reason, and choosing to overlook that it is the least "serious" of the offences, you take it hook line and sinker. :lol:

Postby Habit7 » March 22nd, 2016, 7:15 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Was Marlene fired solely for the husband and brother in law working in her office or was she fired for the series of events including the $575,000 to Calabar and the HDC house for her man?

Postby De Dragon » March 22nd, 2016, 7:28 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Was Marlene fired solely for the husband and brother in law working in her office or was she fired for the series of events including the $575,000 to Calabar and the HDC house for her man?

Don't be on MacoBook bro, gih me a brief synopsis nah. Thanks

Postby rspann » March 22nd, 2016, 8:13 pm

I don't know if I missing something here. The old rule was that you can't hire husband wife ,son daughter.It was changed recently to include relatives. If someone was hired under the old rules then nothing wrong? Husband /partners was always in the rules,so Marlene was wrong. Anybody care to explain ?

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » March 23rd, 2016, 1:19 am

rspann wrote:I don't know if I missing something here. The old rule was that you can't hire husband wife ,son daughter.It was changed recently to include relatives. If someone was hired under the old rules then nothing wrong? Husband /partners was always in the rules,so Marlene was wrong. Anybody care to explain ?

Yea kamla and all was asking the same question about who changed the rules and how was it changed suddenly under pnm in September when they took power but they tried a smart shot and didn't notice unc already had their nose up sniffing out the bullshiet.

Postby pugboy » March 23rd, 2016, 6:16 am

both sides very guilty and being wrong and strong about it

Xplode

Postby Xplode » March 23rd, 2016, 6:40 am

Jearlean John was yesterday fired as the managing director of the Housing Development Corporation (HDC) because her “reaction, demeanour and tone” during a meeting with the Newman George-chaired board of directors on Monday was deemed to be “insubordinate and disrespectful”.
John's dismissal was officially announced in a one-page “urgent” media release, circulated by the HDC around 3.48 p.m., yesterday.
John's boss, Marlene McDonald, was fired as housing minister last week.
Speaking to the Express yesterday, John slammed the HDC board for the reason given for her dismis­sal.
In December last year, the HDC's board of directors commissioned an audit into the operations of the corporation. The audit, which is being undertaken by PricewaterhouseCoopers, has been extended.

She always have a doh care disrespectful attitude ,since pizza boys / vie de France Maraval ,same stink att. jus like mc Donald .

Postby Habit7 » March 23rd, 2016, 8:57 am

WarrLordd wrote:
rspann wrote:I don't know if I missing something here. The old rule was that you can't hire husband wife ,son daughter.It was changed recently to include relatives. If someone was hired under the old rules then nothing wrong? Husband /partners was always in the rules,so Marlene was wrong. Anybody care to explain ?

Yea kamla and all was asking the same question about who changed the rules and how was it changed suddenly under pnm in September when they took power but they tried a smart shot and didn't notice unc already had their nose up sniffing out the bullshiet.
rspann Kamla had employees hired under the old rules, but the new rules made their position untenable because cousins and nieces are not allowed. Kamla knows that ignorance of the rules is no excuse and if a govt agency has a new requirement for a position an employee has to acquire it or leave. If relatives cannot be employed, there can't be any way to weasel out of that.

WarrLordd Kamla can't claim ignorance. For the rules to be changed the prior Cabinet must have known about it in addition to former Speaker current UNC senator Mark. PNM didn't change it, the parliament did. Plus Kamla is also well aware of rules against hiring family in the OL office in the same way the said family was allowed to live in the PM residence. Stop excusing nepotism.

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2016, 9:44 am

Habit7 wrote:
WarrLordd wrote:

rspann Kamla had employees hired under the old rules, but the new rules made their position untenable because cousins and nieces are not allowed. Kamla knows that ignorance of the rules is no excuse and if a govt agency has a new requirement for a position an employee has to acquire it or leave. If relatives cannot be employed, there can't be any way to weasel out of that.

WarrLordd Kamla can't claim ignorance. For the rules to be changed the prior Cabinet must have known about it in addition to former Speaker current UNC senator Mark. PNM didn't change it, the parliament did. Plus Kamla is also well aware of rules against hiring family in the OL office in the same way the said family was allowed to live in the PM residence. Stop excusing nepotism.

Hold on, if someone was hired under a different set of rules does it still constitute a breach? If the Clerk of the House clarifies that the new rules require firing of the persons thus hired and the MP complies, is it still a breach? What about the fired persons? Is their right to continuous employment to be infringed based on Parliamentary whims? Who says that the Wade Mark etc, knew about and approved it knowing that various party members had relatives employed in their offices?
Does anyone, or can anyone say for certain if these stipulations were outlined upon issuance of the new guidelines? Rules can't be changed arbitrarily without protection for people legitimately employed under a previous rule for that would be to invite victimization and recrimination.

Postby Habit7 » March 23rd, 2016, 10:49 am

Work in a constituency office is not continuous it is renewed every term. You can be working in constituency office for 30years and if the MP loses the election you have to leave, no pension, no gratuity. Every elected term is governed by guidelines so that the MP knows how much to pay salaries, how many satellite office they can have, etc. For an MP to be running and office without guidelines is very reckless and Suruj already agreed he received the guidelines in Sept 2015. For these changes to have been considered prior to Sept 2015 they must come to Cabinet via a Cabinet note. Notice no other incumbent Opposition MP denying this. The Opposition is clearly trying to obfuscate what they clearly knew when it came to Marlene but are now ignorant about themselves.

If 2015-2020 guidelines say that your cousins and nieces cannot be hired then cannot. Nobody wonder of the technicalities of Marlene's man being a common-in-law husband even when he owns his own HDC House. Right is right and wrong is wrong but apparently that is based on which party is involved.

And it still doesn't excuse her hiring her nephew in the OL office.

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2016, 10:59 am

Habit7 wrote:Work in a constituency office is not continuous it is renewed every term. You can be working in constituency office for 30years and if the MP loses the election you have to leave, no pension, no gratuity. Every elected term is governed by guidelines so that the MP knows how much to pay salaries, how many satellite office they can have, etc. For an MP to be running and office without guidelines is very reckless and Suruj already agreed he received the guidelines in Sept 2015. For these changes to have been considered prior to Sept 2015 they must come to Cabinet via a Cabinet note. Notice no other incumbent Opposition MP denying this. The Opposition is clearly trying to obfuscate what they clearly knew when it came to Marlene but are now ignorant about themselves.

If 2015-2020 guidelines say that your cousins and nieces cannot be hired then cannot. Nobody wonder of the technicalities of Marlene's man being a common-in-law husband even when he owns his own HDC House. Right is right and wrong is wrong but apparently that is based on which party is involved.

And it still doesn't excuse her hiring her nephew in the OL office.
Not excusing, merely seeking clarification. I agree the Opposition Leader is being facetious with the wording/timing of the rules announcements, but if her relatives were rehired/extended prior to the issuing of the rules, then what? The guidelines couldn't have been changed prior to September 7th when KPB's re-election would have occurred. What if she scenting the change, re-employed her relatives?
Again, I agree that she had 6 months to seek the clarification that she now belatedly is seeking, but ignorance of the law is unacceptable in a court of law, but in the realistic absence of any Opposition mutiny, what else is there? IC? They will take a million years.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » April 3rd, 2016, 8:57 am

Sooo......did this thread die ? :-)

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » April 5th, 2016, 2:41 pm

I guess this thread did die :-D

Postby Habit7 » April 17th, 2016, 8:05 pm

The hypocrisy of these politicians

Re: RE: Re: Marlene McDonald fired

Postby Dizzy28 » April 17th, 2016, 8:39 pm

Habit7 wrote:The hypocrisy of these politicians

You left out the next page with Christine Sahadeo Ashton Ford Maxie cuffie and some somewhat unknown PNM senator!!

Postby Habit7 » April 17th, 2016, 8:58 pm

Postby Dizzy28 » April 18th, 2016, 10:13 am

^Better!!!! We don't want the more ignorant Tuners who don't read papers believe that only the PP politrickians gave their friends and family the HDC bligh

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » April 18th, 2016, 1:06 pm

Lol I like how u had to tell him post the rest else he would have just left it so nothing more to see here..

Re: RE: Re: Marlene McDonald fired

Postby Habit7 » April 18th, 2016, 3:35 pm

WarrLordd wrote:Lol I like how u had to tell him post the rest else he would have just left it so nothing more to see here..

It alludes you that the hypocrisy falls on those who called on Marlene to be fired for what they themselves have done as well.

kjaglal76v2

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Marlene McDonald fired

Postby kjaglal76v2 » April 18th, 2016, 3:41 pm

Habit7 wrote:The hypocrisy of these politicians

You left out the next page with Christine Sahadeo Ashton Ford Maxie cuffie and some somewhat unknown PNM senator!!

hahahahahahahahahahaa

Lance

Postby Lance » April 18th, 2016, 4:25 pm

Solidifying the premise that he is the PNM version of zoomraider.