90 million to refurbish Brian Lara Stadium

Re: 90 million to refurbish Brian Lara Stadium

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2016, 2:13 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:all this chess burn over a stadium which would only benefit contractors and the people who issuing the contracts..The average person aint really gave a fork about this stadium...How is this stadium going to help a person find the extra $70-$100(according to Imballs) for their food bill???

Go pay ur taxes and expect new ones to come.

Wait till Racket Rail come and you and your family will have to pay for that while PNM financiers get rich.

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 22nd, 2016, 2:39 pm

Habit7 wrote:It's called stimulating the economy by construction. USA did it in their recession in 2008. We did it 2011-2012 and we going to do it this year. Deal with it.

You cannot compare the US and how they handle a recession, with us. Here's why yes it will put money in workers/contractors pockets but again it's a bandaid as it does not drive the gdp and forex situation.

When the US is in recession, these projects work because when the US consumer spends they build US based companies which drives the economy up

The same happen when the contractor gets 10m and he decide: "nice time to get a ride on tuner spotters thread" and buys a Benz all the government gets back is $240k in tax and a loss of 300k usd

Same for the small man, he goes and gets a iPhone. More US gone. He then says no more shopping at Ramroops time to hit Hilo and get some foreign pork for the weekend

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2016, 4:50 pm

Every chead Habit7 getting beating out.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 22nd, 2016, 6:14 pm

The sad thing is....you all(ZR et al) could beat up about the taxes as much as you want.......at the end of the day you can't do one fcuk but still pay it.....nothing we say here would change the reality

Postby Habit7 » January 22nd, 2016, 6:58 pm

src1983 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:It's called stimulating the economy by construction. USA did it in their recession in 2008. We did it 2011-2012 and we going to do it this year. Deal with it.

You cannot compare the US and how they handle a recession, with us. Here's why yes it will put money in workers/contractors pockets but again it's a bandaid as it does not drive the gdp and forex situation.

When the US is in recession, these projects work because when the US consumer spends they build US based companies which drives the economy up

The same happen when the contractor gets 10m and he decide: "nice time to get a ride on tuner spotters thread" and buys a Benz all the government gets back is $240k in tax and a loss of 300k usd

Same for the small man, he goes and gets a iPhone. More US gone. He then says no more shopping at Ramroops time to hit Hilo and get some foreign pork for the weekend

In our approach to development we will:

5. Stimulate the economy by continuing to keep the inflation rate down, increasing productivity and putting our construction workers and others back to work. This Budget proposes to increase infrastructural development specifically in areas that will provide the jobs in engineering and construction sectors so necessary in reducing the unemployment levels. This will also go a long way in improving our transportation network and building our hospitals and tertiary institutions which translate to increased employment as well as productivity levels as a consequence of reduced traffic congestion on our roads

http://jyoticommunication.blogspot.com/ ... ister.html

Kamla Persad-Bissessar, Pre-Budget Statement 2011

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2016, 7:39 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:The sad thing is....you all(ZR et al) could beat up about the taxes as much as you want.......at the end of the day you can't do one fcuk but still pay it.....nothing we say here would change the reality

Who say I buying?

I fly out 10 times a year and buy jack chit in trini. I get stuff way cheaper abroad.

Plus I got my lands farmed out and get payments in the forms of crops.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 22nd, 2016, 7:48 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:The sad thing is....you all(ZR et al) could beat up about the taxes as much as you want.......at the end of the day you can't do one fcuk but still pay it.....nothing we say here would change the reality

Who say so? Duane is we inside man... He cud talk to Rowley for we.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 22nd, 2016, 9:42 pm

Habit7 wrote:
src1983 wrote:

5. Stimulate the economy by continuing to keep the inflation rate down, increasing productivity and putting our construction workers and others back to work. This Budget proposes to increase infrastructural development specifically in areas that will provide the jobs in engineering and construction sectors so necessary in reducing the unemployment levels. This will also go a long way in improving our transportation network and building our hospitals and tertiary institutions which translate to increased employment as well as productivity levels as a consequence of reduced traffic congestion on our roads

Yea well Kamla was a c$$t too that's why she not there anymore

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 22nd, 2016, 10:49 pm

Who say I buying?

I fly out 10 times a year and buy jack chit in trini. I get stuff way cheaper abroad.

so you're saying you don't buy groceries here and well won't be paying the property tax???
Last edited by shake d livin wake d dead on January 23rd, 2016, 7:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shogun » January 22nd, 2016, 10:57 pm

Yet ZR preaches like he's Trini's number one patriot.

To me, anyone with that kind of selfish/sufferer mindset has lost their right to any vocal opinion about local matters.

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2016, 7:28 am

shogun wrote:Yet ZR preaches like he's Trini's number one patriot.

To me, anyone with that kind of selfish/sufferer mindset has lost their right to any vocal opinion about local matters.

I look for the cheapest option.
Save, invest and be cheap.

Well you be a patriot and take loan out to play mass and spend $1250 on a UWI ticket just because you want to seen.

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2016, 7:32 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Who say I buying?

so you're saying you don't buy groceries here and well won't be paying the property tax???

Where do you pay property taxes?
I am sure not a single private property tax was accepted at the revenue offices to date.

khandman

Postby khandman » January 23rd, 2016, 10:17 am

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:since d big excuse is we "hadda stimulate d economy" - i wuda take d 90 mil & fix problems in 90 schools instead or 1\2 mil in 180 schools , spread d $ all over rather than all eggs in 1 basket , $$$ wud be spread waaaay more too ...... :|

Hymc.... Why make sense? We want stadia. Not education and development of our youth to the best of their ability.

Postby 1UZFE » January 23rd, 2016, 10:23 am

Cut school feeding program by 5mil. Finish stadium for 90mil.
Monkey or donkey logic?

Postby sMASH » January 23rd, 2016, 10:04 pm

patriotism is the is the banner the leeches at the helm of societies wave for the masses to rally behind, and continue to fatten the fat.

keep u poor, hungry, schupid, and voting them in.

they literally remove food from the mouths of children, taxing the books they have to elevate themselves and allyuh still accept them as being patriotic.
they patriotic allright, they're patriotic to their bank accounts if bank accounts were countries and kickbacks were citizens.

Postby Gladiator » January 23rd, 2016, 10:21 pm

sMASH wrote:

patriotism is the is the banner the leeches at the helm of societies wave for the masses to rally behind, and continue to fatten the fat.

they literally remove food from the mouths of children, taxing the books they have to elevate themselves and allyuh still accept them as being patriotic.
they patriotic allright, they're patriotic to their bank accounts if bank accounts were countries and kickbacks were citizens.

Postby S_2NR » January 23rd, 2016, 10:53 pm

sMASH wrote:

Well said

Postby De Dragon » January 24th, 2016, 10:55 am

src1983 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
src1983 wrote:

Yea well Kamla was a c$$t too that's why she not there anymore

Take some advice, don't attempt to reason with this guy because all his counter-arguments are that PP did it so it's all right now to exactly the same thing.

Postby maj. tom » January 24th, 2016, 11:51 am

well if you didn't know, two wrongs make a right in Trinidad.

"dem do it and get away so why we cyah do it too?"

Though everyone has this attitude in TT because leaders at the highest office have been doing it for 53 years. Once again a failure of management of population psychology. Trickle down theory of morality and responsibility.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » January 24th, 2016, 1:07 pm

Hundreds of thousands worth of fittings missing
Thieves cart off materials from Brian Lara Stadium

Shaliza Hassanali
Published:
Sunday, January 24, 2016

Weather-beaten and cracked chairs in the pavilion of the Brian Lara Stadium in Tarouba. Photos: Rishi Ragoonath
Under the noses of security guards, hundreds of thousands of dollars worth in fittings and fixtures at the controversial Brian Lara Stadium in Tarouba have been carted away by bandits.

Among the items stolen were gallons of paint, air condition units, rolls of electrical wires, amplifiers, lengths of copper pipe lines and lighting fixtures.

The thieves operated at night by gaining entry at the back of the pitch-black academy, which is surrounded by tall trees and towering grass.

The Sunday Guardian team learnt of the theft from anonymous sources, after the team was allowed to enter the stadium by lax security guards of Paragon Protection Consultants Ltd without being questioned or asked to show any identification.

But Yashmid Ellis Karamath, executive chairman of Hafeez Karamath Ltd (HKL), the main contractor of the sporting facility, is refusing to accept blame for the wanton theft.

“I am not responsible for the stolen items,” Karamath insisted yesterday.

In 2005, HKL was awarded the contract for the stadium by the Urban Development Corporation of T&T (Udecott), which was scheduled to be completed by 2007 in time for the ICC Cricket World Cup at an initial cost estimate of $275 million.

However, the cost of the stadium ballooned to $885 million with several delays, which resulted in the project being halted in 2010 by Udecott.

Up to that time, Karamath said, he had two security firms—Thor Security Services Ltd and a canine unit called Man Stoppers that secured the sites and its materials.

Karamath: I am not responsible

But when he was asked to vacate the premises, “I told them (Udecott) if I do that I would no longer be responsible for anything,” Karamath said.

Karamath said it was difficult to quantify the losses incurred.

“I have no idea what was stolen,” Karamath said, refusing to elaborate further on the issue.

The fixtures and fittings, purchased by HKL, were placed in several rooms inside the facility, which were targeted by thieves.

The locks on many of the steel-plated doors where the items were stored were cut open.

Two roomfuls of electrical wires were pilfered of copper strands, while lengths of wires attached to several electrical panel boxes were snipped and removed.

Yesterday, chairman of Udecott Noel Garcia confirmed the theft had occurred from 2010 to 2015, but he could not put a value on the fixtures and fittings.

“I don’t know. I know the copper wire would be pretty expensive. Vandalism of copper wire is throughout...they vandalised a lot of TSTT and T&TEC’s lines. It’s almost like some kind of organised ring,” Garcia said.

He said due to poor security at the cricket academy “people say it was a free for all. I have put a stop to all the Carnival fetes that were held in the car park and the drag racing. Once you have people on the stadium anything could happen. You would open the flood gates.”

Garcia: It was just craziness

When Garcia toured the stadium with batting star Brian Lara last November, he said he heard “there was a fair amount of vandalism...that people had stolen fixtures and electrical wires and so forth.

“Yes, you are right, people did in fact vandalise and steal fixtures from the Brian Lara Stadium. It was just craziness. They stole the wires and air condition equipment.

“When people say that we should leave the stadium and not fix it they have to be crazy because what would eventually happen, people...would steal out everything.”

Under the new board at Udecott, Garcia said, security measures were put in place “to ensure that there is no reoccurrence of what happened in the past with the stealing. Since November we have not had one incident of theft.”

Among the measures were the beefing up of security guards, an increase in mobile patrols and illuminating a portion of the stadium.

He said for years the stadium remained in darkness.

Next month, Garcia said, refurbishment work on the stadium would resume, which was expected to cost taxpayers $90 million.

“The work will go on.”

Garcia said for the Sunday Guardian to gain entry into the stadium without producing an identification showed that “security was lax. I would take steps to investigate this.”

Asked if the contractor or Udecott would be held accountable for the stolen items, Garcia said: “To be frank, I really don’t know that.”

Garcia said Udecott and HKL were now locked in a legal battle over the project and so he preferred not to comment further.

A security officer who identified herself as Geohajan at Paragon Protection Consultants Ltd said the owner of the establishment “Mr Rezendie” was not in office and she would pass on our concerns to him.

However, up to press time Rezendie had not returned our call.

MORE INFO

‘Project scandalous,

out of control’

In 2009, the structural steelwork on the stadium was condemned according to a report into the Udecott project prepared by Gerry McCaffrey, the construction expert hired by the Uff Commission of Enquiry.

McCaffrey’s initial report into the project revealed that HKL ignored 300 “stop orders” for work on the project.

Chairman of the commission of enquiry into Udecott, Professor John Uff, QC, described the Brian Lara project as “nothing short of scandalous” and “out of control.”

News

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-01- ... ra-stadium

Postby De Dragon » January 24th, 2016, 2:32 pm

Now we''ll have pro-PNM people here who will come here with their skewed logic, and red-tinted lenses will say that the last administration "allowed" the Tarouba Stadium to fall into disrepair. Mind you, they will utter not one word of condemnation about how a project costing 275 million, ballooned to more than a billion dollars, all while the Government at that time had an additional 3 years to complete it, but failed to do so.

Postby pete » January 24th, 2016, 2:48 pm

Ways of all things drag racing would be blamed for. I'm sure that's when all these things were vandalised and stolen, the few car racing events that were held there. Aholes.

Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk

Postby De Dragon » January 24th, 2016, 2:52 pm

pete wrote:Ways of all things drag racing would be blamed for. I'm sure that's when all these things were vandalised and stolen, the few car racing events that were held there. Aholes.

Dotishness and misinformation aplenty! So we go to fete/car show/drift etc, and when show done we vandalize the stadium? These people serious?

Postby pete » January 24th, 2016, 3:01 pm

That the same guy whose house they raided and found guns and narcotics and still roaming a free man that gave that interview?

Postby zoom rader » January 24th, 2016, 3:59 pm

pete wrote:That the same guy whose house they raided and found guns and narcotics and still roaming a free man that gave that interview?

Yeah and his son that killed a person in car accident.

Nothing came out of it and never will

Postby De Dragon » January 24th, 2016, 4:04 pm

pete wrote:That the same guy whose house they raided and found guns and narcotics and still roaming a free man that gave that interview?

Yeah and his son that killed a person in car accident.

Nothing came out of it and never will

WTN PNM style!

Postby brams112 » January 24th, 2016, 5:06 pm

De Dragon wrote:Now we''ll have pro-PNM people here who will come here with their skewed logic, and red-tinted lenses will say that the last administration "allowed" the Tarouba Stadium to fall into disrepair. Mind you, they will utter not one word of condemnation about how a project costing 275 million, ballooned to more than a billion dollars, all while the Government at that time had an additional 3 years to complete it, but failed to do so.

Since that project start it was doomed,lots of reasons were put forward to improve manny ramjohn so it can be a multi purpose stadia,but pockets have to full,not seeing the the usual suspect condemning this project the same way they condemn pp projects.

Postby j.o.e » January 24th, 2016, 5:08 pm

What's the best use of the stadium if it should NOT be finished ?

Postby brams112 » January 24th, 2016, 5:20 pm

j.o.e wrote:What's the best use of the stadium if it should NOT be finished ?

Use the car park for small events,went to a karting event there once free admission,was willing to at least pay a twenty.We are in fete season,rent out the car park,there are lots of parking spaces on the route to enter the place,top security for events and ur will make something,can't expect to make back the "money"wasted there soon,a few decades yeah.

Postby De Dragon » January 24th, 2016, 5:22 pm

brams112 wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Now we''ll have pro-PNM people here who will come here with their skewed logic, and red-tinted lenses will say that the last administration "allowed" the Tarouba Stadium to fall into disrepair. Mind you, they will utter not one word of condemnation about how a project costing 275 million, ballooned to more than a billion dollars, all while the Government at that time had an additional 3 years to complete it, but failed to do so.

Since that project start it was doomed,lots of reasons were put forward to improve manny ramjohn so it can be a multi purpose stadia,but pockets have to full,not seeing the the usual suspect condemning this project the same way they condemn pp projects.

Once it is the PNM pouring money into a hole, expect a dose of dumb from them.