INHUMAN wrote:ED is bluesclues alter ego?
bluesclues wrote:INHUMAN wrote:ED is bluesclues alter ego?
leave di fella alone nah. sometimes he does sound like he makin nansi story but this is not the first time he reference his orchard field and the thieves that supply their shed with oranges from it.
if d man say he have oranges why dat bothering u? y u dotish so. u enmity d man. i gone pm him to see if i could negotiate for the cheapest orange supply in the country. ah cah drink plenty orange juice any how that does give meh acid lol
i done have a link for free seasonin pepper pimento corn ackee 5 finger plum ocro cucumer pumpkin. allour hadda learn how to live man.
ED u ha grapefruit dey too by chance bro?
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:bluesclues wrote:INHUMAN wrote:ED is bluesclues alter ego?
leave di fella alone nah. sometimes he does sound like he makin nansi story but this is not the first time he reference his orchard field and the thieves that supply their shed with oranges from it.
if d man say he have oranges why dat bothering u? y u dotish so. u enmity d man. i gone pm him to see if i could negotiate for the cheapest orange supply in the country. ah cah drink plenty orange juice any how that does give meh acid lol
i done have a link for free seasonin pepper pimento corn ackee 5 finger plum ocro cucumer pumpkin. allour hadda learn how to live man.
Only portugal and orange. Mainly orange the parson brown variety. I found out them young boy here can't climb coconut trees, dey could only thief thing in arms reach. So yuh know what that mean.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:how?AYSN wrote:fortunately for me, some of these changes benefit me greatly
bluesclues wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:bluesclues wrote:INHUMAN wrote:ED is bluesclues alter ego?
Only portugal and orange. Mainly orange the parson brown variety. I found out them young boy here can't climb coconut trees, dey could only thief thing in arms reach. So yuh know what that mean.
well im not picky. fresh orange juice is fresh orange juice to me. let me know if u could use anything from my list nah. cucumber now going and set though. and well plum outta season. i could vibes u with some corn or sumn pm me a number nah so we could link better.
eliteauto wrote:Are you serious about trading citrus for other food crops?
A barter revolution?
GEORGE ALLEYNE Wednesday, April 6 2011
Persons living in the various communities throughout Trinidad and Tobago, particularly in suburban or rural areas, and who have reasonable space in their backyards which could be utilised for the growing crops today in demand, instead of using the land for flower gardens should seriously consider coming together and working out plans for the planting of various types of food crops.
There should be group decisions arrived at as to which householders would plant which crops and a system of bartering devised. So that rather than have one person planting a little of each crop, it would be infinitely more effective if different householders planted decided upon crops and the produce bartered, taking somewhat into account, but not wholly, the market value of each crop.
Crops which could be planted under such an initiative could embrace yams, sweet potatoes, eddoes, tannia, pigeon peas, seasoning peppers, cassava, dasheen (and from it callaloo bush), patchoi, cabbage, tomatoes, string beans, ochro, corn, melongene, lettuce, bodi and cauliflower. Depending on the space there could be avocado trees in one yard, varieties of mango trees in other compounds and plantain, banana and citrus trees in yet others. With this initiative everyone who is part of a community food crop planting programme would benefit from fresh food and a sharply reduced cost of living.
Today’s market and supermarket prices are not only high, but in many instances well without the reach of the average salary and wage earner, thereby forcing many families to go without well balanced meals. In the meantime, community planting of food crops would reduce both the need to import basic food as well as force the prices down.
The programme need not begin and end with backyard gardening, but could be extended to include some of the two-acre plots distributed by Government following on the end of the European Union-African-Caribbean-Pacific Cotonou Convention which, first as the Lome Convention, had allowed for the exports of guaranteed quota exports of sugar and bananas, among others.
The European Union, formerly the European Economic Community, had cynically referred to the system under which industrialisation in ACP countries was discouraged leaving, for example, the refining of sugar in large quantities to the metropolitan countries, as trade co-operation. Europe would speak, patronisingly, “of the need to secure additional benefits for the trade of ACP States, in order to accelerate the rate of growth of their trade and improve the conditions of access of their products” to the markets of the European Economic Community. But I have strayed.
What will emerge from properly constituted systems of bartering, in addition to the benefits referred to earlier, will be the ability of each participant to save more as well as invest in companies listed on the Trinidad and Tobago Stock Exchange. Homeowners will be better positioned to renovate their houses, thus creating higher values for them on the housing market. A crucial factor will be the enabling of participants, as a result of the shaving off of high prices on the open market, to purchase needed text books for their children receiving education at the primary, secondary and tertiary levels.
Meanwhile, with any drop in food imports and, admittedly, this is medium to long term, Trinidad and Tobago will be able to save foreign exchange as well as earn greater foreign exchange through exports of some of the surplus food, which will be generated. Several years ago, when Guyana because of its high debt to Trinidad and Tobago was unable to pay back any of the outstanding loan, it was agreed that it would whittle down the debt through a system of barter, which would have involved goods produced in this country in exchange for rice which Guyana grows in abundance. The agreement by Guyana was honoured in the breach.
I raise this point to suggest another system of bartering which can be introduced in Trinidad and Tobago, that is the exchange of items produced by local artisans for food crops. This would lead not only to a meaningful development of skills and crafts but prove an added incentive to, for example, group farming on the plots handed out by Government following on the closure of Caroni. The proverbial sky is the limit with respect to what can be achieved once the system of barter takes hold.
eliteauto wrote:Are you serious about trading citrus for other food crops?
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:eliteauto wrote:Are you serious about trading citrus for other food crops?
He is we just discussed it via PM
eliteauto wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:eliteauto wrote:Are you serious about trading citrus for other food crops?
good I'd like to be included in that please, I have lots of citrus
EmilioA wrote:zoom rader wrote:EmilioA wrote:Taxing orange juice and herring ? Butter ? Coffee? Ketchup / I thought the PNM had more sense than that.
This is a tax aimed at hurting the middle and lower class and leaves the upper class in the clear.
The greatest Con Job of all time.
I warned you all
You warned us the the PP would leave the PNM with massive debt ? When ?
The greatest con job was Kamla.
bluesclues wrote:eliteauto wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:eliteauto wrote:Are you serious about trading citrus for other food crops?
maybe we could do more than that. and start a food share network here on tuner. we could all share our surplus crops for stuff we would normally have to buy. what citrus u have? i in the market for grapefruit. what would be even better is if we could make it somewhat official with a website.. so people can post what crops they have and willing to trade for. we dont have to wait for the government to do everything for us. and this must also be strictly for personal consumption and not sale. we would be supporting eachother on a foundation of your strength is my weakness and my strength is yours but together we have no weakness.
bluesclues wrote:if he tax luxury alcohols and products he wont have to tax computers and BOOKS!
INHUMAN wrote:First bluesclues, drn bluefete..wah next..bluewaffles?
bluesclues wrote:eliteauto wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:eliteauto wrote:Are you serious about trading citrus for other food crops?
maybe we could do more than that. and start a food share network here on tuner. we could all share our surplus crops for stuff we would normally have to buy. what citrus u have? i in the market for grapefruit. what would be even better is if we could make it somewhat official with a website.. so people can post what crops they have and willing to trade for. we dont have to wait for the government to do everything for us. and this must also be strictly for personal consumption and not sale. we would be supporting eachother on a foundation of your strength is my weakness and my strength is yours but together we have no weakness.
88sins wrote:barter small, or barter big. you still helpin out somebody, & somebody still helpin you out.
fellas, dis could turn into a big initiative. but please lewwe keep some perspective in dis eh. how we establishing the value of the trade in this?
trading value by weight would be good for everyone? a pound of one for a pound of the other?
only issue would then be men that want to trade ting like water coconut, all dat husk toes tote real useless weight.
Redman wrote:88sins wrote:barter small, or barter big. you still helpin out somebody, & somebody still helpin you out.
fellas, dis could turn into a big initiative. but please lewwe keep some perspective in dis eh. how we establishing the value of the trade in this?
trading value by weight would be good for everyone? a pound of one for a pound of the other?
only issue would then be men that want to trade ting like water coconut, all dat husk toes tote real useless weight.
Functionally you've addressed the issue that makes barter systems unwieldy...
But you have the solution.....prices are disclosed for all products...
So agree to use the weekly prices on all goods....
May be discounted x%.
So you agree to barter on Saturdays...using the Friday's posted prices.
And a person with 100lbs of carrots now has a value...in carrots...that you can exchange for posted values in potato based on the ratio of the prices.
So you can calculate that 10 lbs of carrot..is worth 15 lb of potato....and exchange based on the ratio of the posted prices.
Once everybody agrees on the pricing mechanism posted before hand.
maj. tom wrote:Tax on salt has always lead to bad outcomes in history. It is very elite oligarchic and this sentiment will resonate deeply in the population. India. France. Russia. Those that never study history are fools.
It's very short-sighted of the government to tax very basic things that people need to survive when there are thousands of other things to levy a higher and fair tax upon. Poorer people cannot afford higher taxes on basic items. What this government has failed at from this budget and on is not understanding the psychology of the masses of a population and how to keep them at rest. They are now stirring up discontent at the deepest psychological level by taxing salt. Salt is as physiologically necessary for life as sex. Primordial rages are going to be awakened and it is a pity that leaders of this little country never understood the power of an unhappy population. Not the power of a voting booth.
Destruction.
Because that will be the only way the people will know that they can rebuild what they want. It is the responsibility of a country's government to share resources and keep the masses from realizing their primal instincts of violence by keeping them satisfied at Maslow's basic levels.
It is the responsibility of a country's government to share resources and keep the masses from realizing their primal instincts