UNC internal elections 5th Dec 2015...

EmilioA

Re: UNC internal elections 5th Dec 2015...

Postby EmilioA » October 25th, 2015, 9:28 am

RASC wrote:New political party formed last night at Rienzi? N S A??? Anyone?:shock:

sMASH wrote:Was there at midday, yes. Nirval mongroo *spell.
His schtik is to see about thr plight of the vsep'd caroni workers to get their lands.
He viciously attacked the UNC and rightly so. Planning to run for the upcoming locals, and if he can get PNM to distribute the lands owed, I would support him... In the locals.

Nirvan Maharaj . Head of All Trinidad.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-10- ... ng-complex
The birthplace of the United National Congress (UNC)—the historical Rienzi Complex—is now home to a new political party. The National Solidarity Assembly (NSA), launched yesterday at the UNC base, is made up of members of the All Trinidad General Workers Union (ATGWU) and ex-Caroni workers.

The party, led by ATGWU head Nirvan Maharaj, is a breakaway faction of the UNC, but as the Rienzi Complex is owned by the union it has first preference for its use.

“The UNC can continue to rent here but it is strictly a landlord/tenant relationship and as long as they honour that agreement they can continue to stay,” Maharaj told the Sunday Guardian in an interview after the party launch.

Maharaj, who spoke last at yesterday’s launch, said the NSA would challenge the UNC in the upcoming Local Government elections. Maharaj blasted both UNC leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar and his predecessor Rudy Indarsingh for using the ex-Caroni workers to get into office and then turning their backs on them soon after elections.

“The UNC betrayed their people. The believe they have a divine right to my vote just because I look like them and that is not true,” Maharaj said.

He said Persad-Bissessar did not even show up at Rienzi after the election loss on September 7 and that proved to the supporters that she was only interested in “using” them for votes but did not care about them.He said the former government gave away lands earmarked for Caroni workers to their “friends” who owned companies and then said that there were no more lands for the ex-Caroni workers.

“Now that they lost elections, they are telling us to ‘come back home’. Come back home to what? You cannot take those words and go to the supermarket,” Maharaj told the substantial gathering.

Maharaj said the same condemnation the ATGWU had levelled against the PNM after 2007 was the same level of condemnation they were now levelling at the UNC.

“They use race to pit us against each other so that when we are so busy fighting each other on the ground we do not see the failings of our leaders,” he said.

Maharaj said as many as 6,000 ex-Caroni workers were still awaiting the lands promised to them and cited the 2007 Deyalsingh judgement which granted the former sugar workers the legal rights to the lands which were politically promised to them in 2003. But now, some 12 years later, the ATGWU is pushing back.

“Today is a glorious day because united we are going to tell the PNM (People’s National Movement) and the UNC that enough is enough,” Maharaj said.

In a subsequent interview, Maharaj said he had no thoughts on the UNC’s internal elections but had already visited 13 electorates under the NSA banner.

“I have divorced myself from the UNC, so internal elections is their business. It is going to be difficult and daunting to start this political challenge but we are ready for it,” he said.

Persad-Bissessar launched her campaign for internal elections yesterday in Penal. Indarsingh did not return calls to his mobile phone.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 25th, 2015, 9:31 am

Roodal, Vasant to contest ????

The Sunday Guardian was informed that both Vasant Bharath and Dr Roodal Moonilal have been approached by party insiders to vie for the top post. The Sunday Guardian understands that an internal rift is developing between Persad-Bissessar’s supporters and those throwing their weight behind Moonilal, with a small faction backing Bharath. It is Bharath’s support though that seems to be growing, as insiders describe him as the one with the most integrity among the three.

The two former ministers have confirmed that they have been approached by UNC activists disenchanted with Persad-Bissessar’s leadership and have both been asked to vie for the political leadership post in the December 5 internal elections, with nominations closing off on November 20.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-10- ... d-head-unc

civicman

Postby civicman » October 25th, 2015, 9:56 am

neilsingh100 wrote:Don't know why these UNC political leaders don't know to go out with dignity and step down when you fail at the polls not one but five times.

The fact the Rodney Charles supporting Kamla and I hope he runs another failed campaign for internal elections as he did for the general elections. In fact Kamla's opponents can reuse the "Bye Bye Kamla" song.

For those who can't remember or just unaware.

Manning lost in two consecutive general election and could only tie the third.

And then won two consecutive again till finally they kick him out like a dog.

Postby Habit7 » October 25th, 2015, 10:19 am

1995 Manning tied 17-17-2. NAR united with UNC to end up forming govt.

Postby shogun » October 25th, 2015, 11:09 am

Nirvan Maharaj wrote:“The UNC betrayed their people. The believe they have a divine right to my vote just because I look like them and that is not true.”

He said Persad-Bissessar did not even show up at Rienzi after the election loss on September 7 and that proved to the supporters that she was only interested in “using” them for votes but did not care about them.

“They use race to pit us against each other so that when we are so busy fighting each other on the ground we do not see the failings of our leaders.”

Well, look at that.

Sorry it took the loss of the GE finally sinking in, to get clarity.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 25th, 2015, 12:10 pm

I know Nirvan Maharaj from school days, he's a good guy eh, but always seemed to carry a chip on his shoulder. This time though he's right and I'm happy the lil guy speaking out.

Postby rfari » October 25th, 2015, 12:11 pm

shogun wrote:
Nirvan Maharaj wrote:“The UNC betrayed their people. The believe they have a divine right to my vote just because I look like them and that is not true.”

He said Persad-Bissessar did not even show up at Rienzi after the election loss on September 7 and that proved to the supporters that she was only interested in “using” them for votes but did not care about them.

“They use race to pit us against each other so that when we are so busy fighting each other on the ground we do not see the failings of our leaders.”

Well, look at that.

Sorry it took the loss of the GE finally sinking in, to get clarity.

Huh

Daran

Postby Daran » October 25th, 2015, 12:16 pm

EmilioA wrote:Roodal, Vasant to contest ????

The Sunday Guardian was informed that both Vasant Bharath and Dr Roodal Moonilal have been approached by party insiders to vie for the top post. The Sunday Guardian understands that an internal rift is developing between Persad-Bissessar’s supporters and those throwing their weight behind Moonilal, with a small faction backing Bharath. It is Bharath’s support though that seems to be growing, as insiders describe him as the one with the most integrity among the three.

The two former ministers have confirmed that they have been approached by UNC activists disenchanted with Persad-Bissessar’s leadership and have both been asked to vie for the political leadership post in the December 5 internal elections, with nominations closing off on November 20.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-10- ... d-head-unc

But ent I say this long time.

Vasant should win, he will gain support from less biased UNC base, plus Kamla aint too happy with Rudy and has recent advice, but we will wait and see. UNC internal elections are always full of surprises.

Postby K74T » October 25th, 2015, 12:59 pm

Vasant > Moonilal

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 25th, 2015, 2:00 pm

The question is how many UNC members are current with their dues. Lasttime only about 10,000 people voted in the UNC internal election. I'd expect most of them to be supporting Kamla or Roodal.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 25th, 2015, 2:22 pm

^ nah even die hard ones I know hate Kamla and Roodal with a passion now. I think a lot of people woke up and realized just how bad Kamla and the Cabal really was when they lost this election by such a huge majority. Majority of the people want Vasant, never mind he lost the St Joseph seat atleast he was man enough to give up his safe seat to take on a real challenge.

You will never see Kamla or Rowley giving up their safe seat to go fight any Marginal seat I think this says a lot about Vasant.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 25th, 2015, 2:48 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ nah even die hard ones I know hate Kamla and Roodal with a passion now. I think a lot of people woke up and realized just how bad Kamla and the Cabal really was when they lost this election by such a huge majority. Majority of the people want Vasant, never mind he lost the St Joseph seat atleast he was man enough to give up his safe seat to take on a real challenge.

You will never see Kamla or Rowley giving up their safe seat to go fight any Marginal seat I think this says a lot about Vasant.

Problem is even if Vasant wins the UNC Leadership , Kamla go still be Opposition Leader in Parliament.

Kamla /Dookeran fight all over again . Except worse cause Dooks at least had a seat.

civicman

Postby civicman » October 25th, 2015, 2:57 pm

Habit7 wrote:1995 Manning tied 17-17-2. NAR united with UNC to end up forming govt.

Bas tie 18-18
Was the big deal either one wasn't prime minister after

Postby RASC » October 25th, 2015, 2:59 pm

Notice certain persons absent from thread...

Froth fulleth over on FB Kamala worship page!

Daran

Postby Daran » October 25th, 2015, 3:03 pm

Kamla isn't hated ED, it's the cabal and their cronies. Many still subscribe to the view that Kamla was a good person but had her hands tied behind she back. And they blame Rudy.

If Kamla has the UNC's future at heart, she will endorse Vasant as many have been telling and step down from politics gracefully.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 25th, 2015, 3:36 pm

EmilioA wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ nah even die hard ones I know hate Kamla and Roodal with a passion now. I think a lot of people woke up and realized just how bad Kamla and the Cabal really was when they lost this election by such a huge majority. Majority of the people want Vasant, never mind he lost the St Joseph seat atleast he was man enough to give up his safe seat to take on a real challenge.

Problem is even if Vasant wins the UNC Leadership , Kamla go still be Opposition Leader in Parliament.

Kamla /Dookeran fight all over again . Except worse cause Dooks at least had a seat.

Yeah thats the next issue, they gonna fight down Vasant to the end. Imagine being a political leader without a seat and the one who want your position has her seat. Doing that St Joseph was a bad idea, and Prakash talk up he ass about how he had a hard challenge ahead winning that St Augustine seat as if people dotish and don't know its a safe seat.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 25th, 2015, 3:40 pm

Daran wrote:Kamla isn't hated ED, it's the cabal and their cronies. Many still subscribe to the view that Kamla was a good person but had her hands tied behind she back. And they blame Rudy.

If Kamla has the UNC's future at heart, she will endorse Vasant as many have been telling and step down from politics gracefully.

I think a lot what happened is people were angry that Kamla didn't have control and allowed the Cabal to go on that rampage. It seemed to also have been a disappointment to those feminists who voted in Kamla aswell it made it look like yeah yuh still need man to control the show cause women weak etc. I got nothing against Kamla but I do blame her for how this all turned out. We have much better options like Vasant this time around.

Roodal and Suruj and Tim really just needs to resign now and go enjoy life home, play with some grand kids or something. Cause lets face it nobody eh wa see these fellas again and they had a pretty good run so time to ride in the sunset like bas. Do exactly what Rowley did, get young new faces.

intern

Postby intern » October 25th, 2015, 4:13 pm

Daran wrote:But ent I say this long time.

Vasant should win, he will gain support from less biased UNC base, plus Kamla aint too happy with Rudy and has recent advice, but we will wait and see. UNC internal elections are always full of surprises.

Vasant could even get support from me. If UNC people know what is good for the party they will make him Opposition Leader. To win General Elections you need support from citizens in general, not just the hardcore supporters. But you know, if they vote in Moonilal I won't be very shocked. :(

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 25th, 2015, 7:26 pm

So the battle lines have been drawn, many of the senior members were absent when Kamla launched her campaign, she blamed it on short notice, yeah right; padarath the handbag holder, along with other plebs and remoras like rodney charles were there.

Roodal trying to get Mikaela Panday on his slate, and this causing epic frothments on the UNC fb page, the fools actually blaming the PNM for the fracturing of the party - this level of stupidity and kamla worship will keep the illiterati in opposition for a long time to come.

The fairy tale of Kamla Persad Bissessar is at an end, and not with a happy ending.

Postby RASC » October 25th, 2015, 7:29 pm

Well was just gonna post that... Apparently everything is PNM fault, or is a PNM sleeper cell agent.

Sound like language we've become accustomed to on this site... Food for thought:!::idea:

I kinda want Kamala to win, to usher in her 6th national defeat...we need the Kamala mania to build to even higher heights- I'm getting a sadistic joy watching these peoples hopes get dashed.

Postby rfari » October 25th, 2015, 7:47 pm

Meanwhile the UNC sheep not to be outdone start the bachannal early

Postby eliteauto » October 25th, 2015, 8:09 pm

ppl still....STILL trying to sell Kamla as some innocent rose amongst the thorns of the cabal? :rofl:

Postby Redman » October 25th, 2015, 8:40 pm

People does only sell what other people buying.

For the UNC to be a viable option they have to get a new front line.

Moonilal suruj and gopeesing have to go..

Postby The_Honourable » October 25th, 2015, 10:29 pm

eliteauto wrote:ppl still....STILL trying to sell Kamla as some innocent rose amongst the thorns of the cabal? :rofl:

yun understand!? she gotta go.

If she wins the internal, she is going to loose Local Government Elections for sure. No matter who they put up, they will loose but at least the new leader can say they lost once versus six times.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 26th, 2015, 6:44 am

rfari wrote:Meanwhile the UNC sheep not to be outdone start the bachannal early

Implosion!!!
They so stupid they airing all their dirty laundry in public.
That UNC fb page should be renamed the official kamla worshippers page. Anyone who dares suggest an alternative leader is immediately branded a pnm, neemakaram or drunk, typical sycophantic behaviour.

The stated goal of the page is to build unity among members, but the only posts I see are insults and other idiotic childish behaviour. The fb members don't realise how bad they make the party look when they create fb profiles like 'super pig' and use Marlene McDonald's picture.

As usual, they are their own worst enemy, far more capable of destruction than any external force.

Postby RASC » October 26th, 2015, 7:25 am

That group is an exact reflection of their supporter base... Gutter mentality and always pointing the finger at others. None of them own a mirror.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 26th, 2015, 7:38 am

Heh They running they FB page /Bloggers lime the same way they run the Govt.

Postby j.o.e » October 26th, 2015, 7:47 am

It's sad that so many UNC supporters are just blind followers. The UNC party needs a complete overhaul, get some structure, some planning , some discipline and rebuild the party. Whether in or out of Gov't it's the party structure that will keep things moving forward

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 26th, 2015, 4:22 pm

http://www.caribbeannewsnow.com/topstor ... 28050.html

I bet is a UNC insider leak this story, if PNM had it they would have publicised it before the GE in September.

It gonna get naaaastyyyyy.

Postby eliteauto » October 26th, 2015, 4:33 pm

well Faud has come out against Kamla, I expect his dirty laundry to be out soon