pj15

Re: Medicine in Trinidad

Postby pj15 » June 23rd, 2015, 9:02 am

Kewell35 wrote:
pj15 wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:
worksux101 wrote:Nice post...but it'll proly fall on deaf ears here hence i and i'm sure a few others didnt bother...
Just to add...there are students that leave foreign universities to return for their clinical years here...and the interns that graduate locally are always significantly better practically than those from SGU etc...you wont know this until you experience it...the poor healthcare system may have changed some after, but it has little to do with UWI.
That said, i graduated 5 yrs ago and there has been a marked drop in quality of some graduates since, which is where the uproar of extending internship came about.

I agree. The interns from SGU are always lost (no offense), especially the ones from this year.

I also think the internship should be extended but there is talk that the new interns are going to be seriously evaluated and would face more severe repercussions than before.

What exactly do you mean by clueless? They lack clinical competence? Poor fund of medical knowledge??..or is it unfamiliarity with the system?? .what exactly??

I never said clueless. I said they look lost. IMO, Most likely because they don't know the system in Trinidad because they usually get their clinical experience in the UK or the US but other doctors say other reasons. One of them didn't even know what Gravidity and Parity was when presenting a history in O+G.

Sorry about the misquote...was probably a Freudian slip on my part :D
I graduated from SGU a few years ago and did my internship at EWMSC. I agree that after training in the UK it took some time for me to adjust to how things "work" down here, but there really is no excuse for the O+G incident you referenced.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 23rd, 2015, 9:09 am

pj15 wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:
pj15 wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:
worksux101 wrote:Nice post...but it'll proly fall on deaf ears here hence i and i'm sure a few others didnt bother...
Just to add...there are students that leave foreign universities to return for their clinical years here...and the interns that graduate locally are always significantly better practically than those from SGU etc...you wont know this until you experience it...the poor healthcare system may have changed some after, but it has little to do with UWI.
That said, i graduated 5 yrs ago and there has been a marked drop in quality of some graduates since, which is where the uproar of extending internship came about.

I agree. The interns from SGU are always lost (no offense), especially the ones from this year.

I also think the internship should be extended but there is talk that the new interns are going to be seriously evaluated and would face more severe repercussions than before.

What exactly do you mean by clueless? They lack clinical competence? Poor fund of medical knowledge??..or is it unfamiliarity with the system?? .what exactly??

I never said clueless. I said they look lost. IMO, Most likely because they don't know the system in Trinidad because they usually get their clinical experience in the UK or the US but other doctors say other reasons. One of them didn't even know what Gravidity and Parity was when presenting a history in O+G.

Sorry about the misquote...was probably a Freudian slip on my part :D
I graduated from SGU a few years ago and did my internship at EWMSC. I agree that after training in the UK it took some time for me to adjust to how things "work" down here, but there really is no excuse for the O+G incident you referenced.

Yeah no offense intended and it wasn't you lol (bc it was in another hosp NOT EWMSC.) ....but think the female docs who told me about it does come down hard on the SGU doc because she real bess...lol.

Postby rspann » January 17th, 2020, 7:15 pm

This is the same Kewell35 with the vene girl?

Postby maj. tom » January 17th, 2020, 7:22 pm

fella is a bigshot south doctor now, vaccinating all the foreign used Vene girls to make them pure again.

Postby rspann » January 17th, 2020, 7:34 pm

The man say he come out ah doctor to brush girls. All that time and effort to do what everybody else does all the time?

Postby zoom rader » January 17th, 2020, 7:40 pm

rspann wrote:The man say he come out ah doctor to brush girls. All that time and effort to do what everybody else does all the time?
PNM women does be free to brush

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » January 17th, 2020, 7:41 pm

rspann wrote:The man say he come out ah doctor to brush girls. All that time and effort to do what everybody else does all the time?

wtf you stalking me or what

Postby rspann » January 17th, 2020, 7:46 pm

Nah, you made a lasting impression with those posts. You doing the same again now.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » January 17th, 2020, 7:46 pm

rspann wrote:Nah, you made a lasting impression with those posts. You doing the same again now.

thanks man

Postby zoom rader » January 17th, 2020, 7:48 pm

Kewell35 wrote:

What's your party card number?

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » January 17th, 2020, 7:50 pm

Kewell35 wrote:

What's your party card number?

what I doh vote.

Postby rspann » January 17th, 2020, 7:52 pm

Doc, doh study zoom rader. He want to say you is ah PNM because he see how you thinking with your dcki.