ruffrider27 wrote:Sympathetic NP not claiming responsibility
Story Created: Feb 6, 2015 at 9:38 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 6, 2015 at 9:38 PM ECT
WHILE sympathy was sent out yesterday from State-owned National Petroleum (NP) to those injured in an explosion Thursday at El Pecos restaurant in Maraval, the company has distanced itself and its delivery crew from any involvement.
In a news statement yesterday, NP wished a speedy recovery to all injured, which El Pecos management yesterday placed at 16 persons.
The company said it strongly supports the investigations being conducted by the Trinidad and Tobago Fire Service and the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service but “was not involved in or responsible for the incident”.
“In that context, NP states categorically that none of its LPG delivery units was on the scene or in the vicinity at the time,” the company stated.
“A delivery truck belonging to North Plant LPG Inc was there but preliminary reports state that the fire started in the restaurant and not the LPG delivery truck.”
Initial reports had linked an LPG truck that was on site to the cause of the explosion, which occurred just before noon and also devastated neighbouring restaurants.
Ramco Industries has also advised that none of its delivery trucks was involved in the “unfortunate” incident.
something wrong here
CoobalsinPls wrote:I was passing by and very traumatized right now,I can tell you.
Was thinking about getting a take away, has just dash my cigarette away and fishing for my wallet them boom!
CoobalsinPls wrote:I was passing by and very traumatized right now,I can tell you.
Was thinking about getting a take away, has just dash my cigarette away and fishing for my wallet them boom!
orangefox wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:where was there another explosion in a food place?orangefox wrote:shogun wrote:Depressed most of the day about this yes. Meh Pecos dred?!?!
Hope all injured recover.
You should be happy that you were not in the Mall's vicinity .
Glass, the thick commercial type, went flying all over the place.
However it make you wonder what is going on with all the food places
and are they safe.
Which food place is next ?
The Maraval El Pecos Restaurant fire incident may well be a wake up call to all concerned.
Are food places in certain building, malls etc., really safe ?
Is there proper or regular inspection of the stove/gas facilities ?
Most food courts are packed to capacity with customers at breakfast and /or lunch times.
Most are filled with varying customers inclusive of women and children that are unaware that
danger may be lurking in a gas connection.
Many food court tenants use huge commercial gas stoves. The heat and fire is immense.
Are they inspected ? Are the gas connections inspected and in order ?
100% explosion free ?
This is not the first time we hand a "kitchen fire" in Trinidad.
Are we to wait until there is another explosion ?
Some may remember the People's Mall where the Mall's construction was questioned by fire officials.
http://www.trinidadandtobagonews.com/fo ... ad;id=2817
" Chief Fire Officer Lennox Alfred said one of the problems was the construction of the Mall. He explained that most of the properties are small and narrow and the passages are clustered. These building problems constrained the fire men. He said the booths were built of wood which allowed the flames to spread rapidly. He further explained that water was a problem and several hydrants in the capital were dry. "
As I enter a Mall or more importantly any food court, I will be aware that even as I go to
have a pleasant meal with family and/or friends it may not be ISIS but an old stove connection that just
may go KABOOM !!
Hmmm ..