Gate Safety Legislation///// boy killed by falling gate

ingalook

Re: Gate Safety Legislation///// boy killed by falling gate

Postby ingalook » May 9th, 2016, 7:14 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
ingalook wrote:I could be passing through a gate holding My child and it falls and injures me and kills my child - does that make me irresponsible?

Or should we just use good sense and introduce some blasted standards that we ENFORCE so this does not happen to man/woman/child/pothound again???

:| You clicked on the link that I posted above? No? Well go click on it and start contributing to making T&T a better place.

Yeah man, I clicked on it... I trying to organise a post by my parents gate since last week... I find dey sticking, I will have to find someone yes

Postby pugboy » May 9th, 2016, 8:06 am

does the gate at least have a length of angle steel across width to hook into a roller to keep it upright ?

Postby 16 cycles » February 8th, 2022, 8:13 am

Girl, 5, crushed to death by falling gate

A five-year-old girl has lost her life after being crushed by a gate at her Sangre Chiquito home.

She has been identified as Krystal Laloo, an infant student at the Sangre Grande Hindu School.

The child's cousin, Kavish Jaimungal who is also five years old of Penal went to visit his grandparents at their Sangre Chiquito home and was with Krystal when the gate fell on both of them is now warded at the Mt Hope Hospital nursing injuries for fractures.

Around 3:30 pm on Sunday a customer went to collect goods at their house. The two children ran out to the gate and while the customer was trying to open the gate it ran off the track and fell in the process covering and pinning both of them.

They both screamed calling for help while the customer tried to lift the gate of the children who were pinned on the ground.

Family members who heard their screams ran to their assistance and were able to remove the gate from the children’s body. Both children were unconscious and Krystal was covered in blood.

https://guardian.co.tt/news/girl-5-crus ... a0aacdffc2

Postby bluefete » February 8th, 2022, 8:54 am

Exactly 7 years later and here we are again.

Condolences to the family.

There are real questions to be answered here. A gate should never fall off its hinges and kill anyone.

Builder and assembler (who put it on the rails) of gate needs to be seriously questioned.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 8th, 2022, 9:16 am

RIP little one.

Postby matr1x » February 8th, 2022, 9:46 am

Dat real hard though. Too many fly by night gate welders

Postby Redman » February 8th, 2022, 9:54 am

matr1x wrote:Dat real hard though. Too many fly by night gate welders

Sadness,
but the responsibility for safety in my yard is mine.
Not no contractor.

Postby Chimera » February 8th, 2022, 9:56 am

Plenty home owners would be operating solely on the advice on the person building the gate. And they might want to list the cheapest price possible .

Postby MG Man » February 8th, 2022, 10:25 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Plenty home owners would be operating solely on the advice on the person building the gate. And they might want to list the cheapest price possible .

Sometimes you are willing to pay for good work, but if your experience is limited and you trust the builder, you still end up losing

Postby gastly369 » February 8th, 2022, 10:26 am

2022 and ppl still putting up shoddy gates and no safety post.... Rip to kido

Postby Rovin » February 8th, 2022, 11:12 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Plenty home owners would be operating solely on the advice on the person building the gate. And they might want to list the cheapest price possible .

Sometimes you are willing to pay for good work, but if your experience is limited and you trust the builder, you still end up losing

X100

always try to educate urself & ask opinions of others with experience but no matter what unless u standing over a workman's shoulder watching u cud still get a 6 for a 9

very sad to hear somebody's precious lil child dying over something like that :(

it has happened many times b4 even to adults too ...

Postby MG Man » February 8th, 2022, 11:33 am

Rovin wrote:

X100

always try to educate urself & ask opinions of others with experience but no matter what unless u standing over a workman's shoulder watching u cud still get a 6 for a 9

very sad to hear somebody's precious lil child dying over something like that :(

I almost had to call police when I was building my house, because my wife questioned the structural integrity of how the roof contractor was doing something. Man start to cuss and carry on about how 'allyuh people does feel alyuh know everyting and I doin this 20 years'. I shudder to think how many roofs he built with an inherent weakness
Man literally began threatening her for being a dotish woman
Similar drama with the back porch when the builder tried to cut corners with the size of the back wall columns that would be holding up the roof. We became known as 'dem problem people who nobody eh want to work for'. Mind you, these were highly recommended contractors
So it's easy to cast blame on the kid's parents, but residential construction is a grossly unregulated nightmare, especially if you don't knw better

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 8th, 2022, 11:45 am

Rovin wrote:

X100

I almost had to call police when I was building my house, because my wife questioned the structural integrity of how the roof contractor was doing something. Man start to cuss and carry on about how 'allyuh people does feel alyuh know everyting and I doin this 20 years'. I shudder to think how many roofs he built with an inherent weakness
Similar drama with the back porch when the builder tried to cut corners with the size of the back wall columns that would be holding up the roof. We became known as 'dem problem people who nobody eh want to work for'. Mind you, these were highly recommended contractors
So it's easy to cast blame on the kid's parents, but residential construction is a grossly unregulated nightmare, especially if you don't knw better

sigh. I doing a little construction project and this terrifies me,.

Postby Chimera » February 8th, 2022, 11:46 am

its really a hard thing to get good advice or good work done if you don't personally know how it should be done.

i had to fix the track for my gate the other day when we were installing a gate motor

that involved digging out the existing track and installing a new one

first person quote $800

he say he would just chip out the old track and use flat steel to make flaps along the whole base of the new track and use anchor bolts to secure it to the concrete and "that guh wok"

2nd person quote $3000
he was digging out the whole track and breaking out the concrete straight to the dirt
making a steel cage along the whole length and welding the track to it and casting everything in one.

big difference in price, big difference in work and effectiveness

Postby MG Man » February 8th, 2022, 11:58 am

Trinidad, the land of 'nah it go wuk so'

Postby timelapse » February 8th, 2022, 12:04 pm

Check Microsoft.They used to Bill Gates

Postby MG Man » February 8th, 2022, 12:06 pm

:shock: :? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
timelapse wrote:Check Microsoft.They used to Bill Gates

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » February 8th, 2022, 12:21 pm

every time this happen i does still can't understand how ppl cud build a gate with no safety rail catch.
so the gate just balancing juss so on the track between two post? how ppl doing dis? somebody draw a diagram fuh me nah i eh understanding how dis can happen over n over n over and little chirren dying. Buh ent it have a law and building code for sliding gate in trinidad?

watch nah i just google it and look how simple that Safety Edge thing is to put in. That gate can never fall over How ppl building gate without dis?

boy charge dem mc and jail dem for negligent mansalughter is only then ppl go really learn. put dey ass in jail for 2 years.

Postby Rovin » February 8th, 2022, 12:28 pm

timelapse wrote:Check Microsoft.They used to Bill Gates

badum tsss ........ uze a rel bam bam inno :lol:

wow MG i had similar experience with all kinda construction workers & contractors, d infamous oh i doing this 20-30yrs so i know my wuk, everybody in every trade hits u dat talk but what u get vs what they talk is 2 different thing, then too some doing sh1t wuk 20-30yrs & feel they was doing good all those yrs

i have said this b4 but i used to do welding yrsss ago & u really have to know what u doing, sometimes u get contracted to make jes d gate but other workers putting down d track sometimes crooked & if d ground surface uneven dise more presha ... have to know how u welding tracks too cause d welding heat can warp even thick steel

Postby MaxPower » February 8th, 2022, 12:35 pm

Again,

These are the unfortunate consequences from incompetent, uneducated, careless and inconsiderate Trini workers.

Everything is a rip off and a blasted half way job.

Weak foundations and structures, Unsafe, incorrect and untidy electrical, Piss poor plumbing and the list goes on.

I am sick and tired of these lazy AF Trinis and their ignorant mentality. We need to start taking legal action.

I stand by hiring foreigners to do all my work…its not 100% but alot better than what locals have to offer.

Postby Rovin » February 8th, 2022, 12:39 pm

i get what ur saying here but this is T&T not this old house on pbs or in d usa where every lil thing u do u need a city permit & an inspector comes for a site visit to ensure ppl do d right stuff & not cut corners with bribes

most effective part of that design is d guard post on ur left, u can also put 1 on d right side, cater to make d gate a lil bit longer so d post has enough to catch ...

bamfo_dennis wrote:every time this happen i does still can't understand how ppl cud build a gate with no safety rail catch.
so the gate just balancing juss so on the track between two post? how ppl doing dis? somebody draw a diagram fuh me nah i eh understanding how dis can happen over n over n over and little chirren dying. Buh ent it have a law and building code for sliding gate in trinidad?

watch nah i just google it and look how simple that Safety Edge thing is to put in. That gate can never fall over How ppl building gate without dis?

boy charge dem mc and jail dem for negligent mansalughter is only then ppl go really learn. put dey ass in jail for 2 years.

Postby toyolink » February 8th, 2022, 3:57 pm

Whilst waiting for my gate to close before driving off about 2 weeks ago, I reflected that thankfully no mishaps with falling gates had taken place for some years.
I must admit that I did shake my head and accepted that it was just a matter of time and hoped that it wouldn't be so.
Poor workmanship, design and even maintenance account for almost all incidents of falling gates.
What is even more troubling is the fact the too many adults don't supervise and secure their toddlers whilst gates are in operation nor do they 'stay put' until gate activity is complete before driving off.

Postby matr1x » February 8th, 2022, 5:42 pm

MaxPower wrote:Again,

These are the unfortunate consequences from incompetent, uneducated, careless and inconsiderate Trini workers.

Weak foundations and structures, Unsafe, incorrect and untidy electrical, Piss poor plumbing and the list goes on.

I am sick and tired of these lazy AF Trinis and their ignorant mentality. We need to start taking legal action.

I stand by hiring foreigners to do all my work…its not 100% but alot better than what locals have to offer.

And when your illegals do a bad job and it kill someone, who stands liability? You not dotish for spite

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » February 8th, 2022, 7:09 pm

bamfo_dennis wrote:every time this happen i does still can't understand how ppl cud build a gate with no safety rail catch.

Apart from this, I designed my gate with an extra rail at the bottom and had a roller attached to the safety post with a compression spring pressing the roller down on the rail. The purpose was to prevent the gate from lifting off the track and derailing when sliding should something fall on or to the side of the track. Worked like a charm

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 8th, 2022, 7:50 pm

Nothing beats a well executed swing gate

Postby j.o.e » February 8th, 2022, 10:28 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Nothing beats a well executed swing gate

This. I run a electric swing gate for years and couldn’t be happier. But I can understand the allure of a sliding gate for people with less room

Postby Kenjo » February 8th, 2022, 10:50 pm

matr1x wrote:

And when your illegals do a bad job and it kill someone, who stands liability? You not dotish for spite

I agree here

carluva

Postby carluva » February 9th, 2022, 10:37 am

If you have any questions or doubts, post them on the Building a house thread. Many persons in there with loads of experience who can offer advice.
VexXx Dogg wrote:
Rovin wrote:

X100

sigh. I doing a little construction project and this terrifies me,.

carluva

Postby carluva » February 9th, 2022, 10:38 am

Are you sure about this law/building code for gates?

Can you post a link or more information?

TTS 599-2006 does not address this.

Postby Chimera » February 9th, 2022, 10:45 am

matr1x wrote:

Just curious.

In all the history of people getting killed by faulty gates locally. Has the fabricator or welder or contractor ever gotten blamed or charged or even named and shamed locally? Don't think so.

While the home owner may not know better. Its ultimately them and their family at risk so they should atleast YouTube what should be done.

The fabricator family not at risk.