Update on driving fines

Re: Update on driving fines

Postby nervewrecker » February 2nd, 2015, 12:04 pm

Well here is what, you drive with headlights off on well lit roads. Tell the police I told you to do so ok.

I have no hatred against the use of fogs.

Postby Slartibartfast » February 2nd, 2015, 12:08 pm

So no reasoning behind it other than "because the law says so" then?

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 2nd, 2015, 12:27 pm

In my car I think I used the fogs 2 twice due to heavy rain at night, I should really check if they still working yes

Postby supercharged turbo » February 2nd, 2015, 12:37 pm

I don't have a problem with people using foglights in addition to their headlight.My car came original with yellow fogs and I only use it when I need that extra bit of light on the road such as for a extremely heavy downpour(wipers can't wipe fast enough kinda rain) and in very dark areas where regular headlights need a little boost like the detour in Claxton Bay in the night time.As nerve said,foglights show about 3 feet in front the car very bright and that is where I need it the most in poor visibility conditions.These people who install hids in their foglights and drive with it on think that it is meant to replace their headlight.How much people you does see driving with foglights alone on when rain falling bucket ah drop?Men putting on every light they have from hazard to knight rider lights.Why is it the problem(blinding oncoming drivers)only lies with people who just drop in hids into a halogen housing and not owners of BMW,Benz,Porsche etc where the hids are in a projector?

Postby nervewrecker » February 2nd, 2015, 12:48 pm

Sunil wah turn off the headlights and drive with fogs alone on. he say it have street lights for he to see. is when a ten wheeler putting down an overtake and didnt see emm we guh hear bout him.
I can tell you for a fact the people that drive with the headlights off are a nuisance because sometimes you averaging to overtake and didnt see some assh0le in a line of cars with headlights off.

I have no problem with men driving with the fogs and headlights on at the same time. Helps to make the vehicle easier seen on the nations roadways.

I even have no problem with them turning on the fog lights alone during overcast conditions, slight drizzle, fog, smoke, late evening and early morning.

Dont come in here telling me how the fogs do the headlight job and you wanna drive with your headlight off.

Postby Spitfir3 » February 2nd, 2015, 1:07 pm

study how mankind removing the yellow bulb defeating the purpose of the fog light in the first place

Postby Slartibartfast » February 2nd, 2015, 1:13 pm

Noted. I will admit I drove with fogs on alone a few times (just to try it) but thought about the visibility problem. I personally don't have a problem with visibility but I understand people that do.

My view is that I don't see why you should get charged for having fogs. It can be useful in some cases. I think the main issue is educating people on the proper time to use fogs only like during heavy rainfall.

I see no problem with them charging men for installing HIDs in the fogs because it is not meant to be the main illuminating device (charge for illegal lights) and I see no problem charging men who have one their fogs only during the night as they will be driving with no main illuminating device on (charge for no lights). Other than that I don't see the point in any other charges for fogs.

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 2nd, 2015, 1:13 pm

My fogs can't come on unless the lights at on

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 2nd, 2015, 1:16 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:^^^ Regardless of what lights you have on, if you blinding oncoming traffic then it becomes a hazard and if you blinding oncoming traffic that much then you should only drive in the daytime. Bess they start giving out a "automatic/daytime license"

What the hell are you talking about?

Any lights improperly focused or fitted with bulbs allowing them to function in a manner they shouldn't can bother other drivers.

I am talking about having them fitted with proper bulbs and properly focused and not being used. Why in gods name will one opt to drive with lights that show three feet in front them as opposed to a pair that shows thirty?

them fog lights really is an annoyance. maybe they arent fitted properly.. but a kant nearly rub me down driving with fog lights on only in the night. idiot could not even see the road and blinding me too. had to use my left side guage and squeeze close to the clubert so the blind kant could pass. these stupid retro lights that improperly angled and fitted is a hazard. the light wasnt even shining on the road. was shinning upwards into meh eye.

Postby SMc » February 2nd, 2015, 1:21 pm

Yours are probably stock (if not at least correctly installed) the problem arises where people insall their own not fit for purpose fogs and decide since they spend all that money thats all the going to use...ever.

With those cars it is sometimes hard to gauge what is ahead (I mean way ahead not just 20 meters in front) as you may not pick up on the car, I have also had situation where I have had a fog only car behind me so close up my backside I could not even see him in my RVM until I tapped my brakes only to see a car behind right behind me.

I have no problem with Fogs + low beam, but fogs alone not a good idea.

Postby nervewrecker » February 2nd, 2015, 1:21 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Noted. I will admit I drove with fogs on alone a few times (just to try it) but thought about the visibility problem. I personally don't have a problem with visibility but I understand people that do.

When you have to run north south everyday and know the mosquito creek is one of the only place you might get to overtake. There are times some cakahole that decide to move at a snail pace and you peep out to gauge the number of cars coming on the opposite side. Its easier to spot a vehicle with head lights / head lights and fog lights on as opposed to one with just fogs alone on.
God forbid you sink it and pull out to overtake with a line of vehicles following and you the donkey they didnt see the car with headlights off that wanna look cool.

Headlights properly aimed do not dazzle on coming drivers. One has no excuse to not use them.

not much police kick fuss over use of figs, I been though plenty road blocks with them on already. You will get wood for driving without the head lights though.

Postby nervewrecker » February 2nd, 2015, 1:22 pm

Creek is only just one example. have plenty other small stretches men take the opportunity to overtake.

Postby Slartibartfast » February 2nd, 2015, 1:34 pm

Yeah that make sense. I got through roadblocks with my fogs already but I normally turn them off just in case. But other than driving on the north coast during pouring rain at night, I always have my headlights on as well and always make sure my lights aimed below the level of the driver's rear glass in front of me.

But yeah the visibility thing is a good point.

Postby nervewrecker » February 2nd, 2015, 1:39 pm

Since police start making a fuss over fogs I usually turn em off as well. In fact since I realized how headlights supposed to be aimed and focused I had no need for fog lights, used to drive with them off. The only purpose they served was what they were designed for and they were near useless with the headlights on.

Postby supercharged turbo » February 2nd, 2015, 1:45 pm

Time to get one of those green laser pointers and everytime you see somebody driving with fogs alone on,flash the laser in their eye.

alex jj

Postby alex jj » February 2nd, 2015, 3:30 pm

i changed my 55 watt bulbs to the superwhite halogen ones 95 watts and now oncoming drivers give me bright lights with my low beam on..do i need to refocus the beam?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 2nd, 2015, 3:34 pm

ah feel d man was a tuner too because he was jivin one ah them do up shoo up lancer i think with flare kit and rear spoiler jop low. literally come within an inch on the side. blind and cah drive with fancy car.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 2nd, 2015, 3:39 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Time to get one of those green laser pointers and everytime you see somebody driving with fogs alone on,flash the laser in their eye.

wah bout a megafone.. so yuh could blast a high pitch sound in they ears as yuh passing and makee them deaf? good exchange for making me blind and trying to run me off the road. but they will be surprised i could play chicken. i will bonks dey mudda corn, and then have the court make them buy me a brand new car with no filler cuz me eh buy my car with not straighten and paint.

Postby Slartibartfast » February 2nd, 2015, 4:20 pm

alex jj wrote:i changed my 55 watt bulbs to the superwhite halogen ones 95 watts and now oncoming drivers give me bright lights with my low beam on..do i need to refocus the beam?

Yup. I dont know much about headlights to know if refocusing would work or not but I guarantee you the person driving in front of you wishes they could flash you high beams as well.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » February 2nd, 2015, 5:43 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
alex jj wrote:i changed my 55 watt bulbs to the superwhite halogen ones 95 watts and now oncoming drivers give me bright lights with my low beam on..do i need to refocus the beam?

Yup. I dont know much about headlights to know if refocusing would work or not but I guarantee you the person driving in front of you wishes they could flash you high beams as well.

Bad plan with those bulbs bro, 2 reasons,

1) Your wiring in your car is rated for stock bulbs, the higher draw of the circuit can cause the wires to overheat\burn\melt, as well as blow your fuse.

2) Even if you replaced with aftermarkert wiring harness to avoid point 1, the lens in your car is most likely some type of plastic rated to withstand a particular amount of heat. The higher heat displacement of the higher wattage bulb can actually melt the reflector or lens of the headlight.

Although i think if you have a glass type [120y/280c] headlight you may be fine, just be careful.
Also any tampering of your lighting system to work in a way that it wasn't designed may leave you open for charge, but this is trinidad so you should be safe

btw if you really want to go bright for offroading or whateva, get the aftermarket harness and a set of Hella 120w\110w bulbs.

Postby pioneer » February 2nd, 2015, 5:53 pm

Factory fogs crew
Letter from Transport Commissioner granting permission to use fogs crew

edit
not affected by archaic thirdworld "foglight" law

#nobolton
#drillbumpernotevenonce
#permission

icefox

Postby icefox » February 2nd, 2015, 6:06 pm

uncle sam wrote:the irony is these high fines may increase other crimes.. most people don't have an extra 15 or 22k lying around..

In one hand, a logical thinking person would say prevention is better than cure

but in the other, when sheit hits the fan 22k = 2 almeras or a tiida and no lock up.

Where u getting 2 almeras for 22k let me no

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 2nd, 2015, 6:09 pm

icefox wrote:
uncle sam wrote:the irony is these high fines may increase other crimes.. most people don't have an extra 15 or 22k lying around..

but in the other, when sheit hits the fan 22k = 2 almeras or a tiida and no lock up.

yuh borrow somebody keys at gunpoint and sell they car on the black market nah. how else lol

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » February 2nd, 2015, 6:12 pm

bluesclues wrote:
icefox wrote:

yuh borrow somebody keys at gunpoint and sell they car on the black market nah. how else lol

EXACTLY!!!!! :wink:

Postby supercharged turbo » February 2nd, 2015, 7:01 pm

The hids in foglight crew is the only setta kant that see it necessary to drive with on in the daylight :roll:

Postby DVSTT » February 2nd, 2015, 7:15 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:The hids in foglight crew is the only setta kant that see it necessary to drive with on in the daylight :roll:

What about the ones that change the side indicators so that they come on with the park light and are bright white? Can't forget about those fools.

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 2nd, 2015, 7:22 pm

Rocking DRLs yo!!!!

Postby supercharged turbo » February 2nd, 2015, 8:37 pm

DVSTT wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:The hids in foglight crew is the only setta kant that see it necessary to drive with on in the daylight :roll:

What about the ones that change the side indicators so that they come on with the park light and are bright white? Can't forget about those fools.
Doh forget de crew who like to replace de id lights with some dim sheity leds and yuh can't see de number plate.

Postby DVSTT » February 2nd, 2015, 8:41 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:
DVSTT wrote:

Doh forget de crew who like to replace de id lights with some dim sheity leds and yuh can't see de number plate.

Saw an orange Hawkeye with a blue led strip in the place of Id lights.
I lol'd

Postby Morpheus » February 2nd, 2015, 8:49 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:
DVSTT wrote:

Level ticket. ID lights are shielded for a reason :?