Trini PoPo Abusing Disabled Man

Re: Trini PoPo Abusing Disabled Man

Postby toyolink » December 31st, 2014, 12:31 pm

Police slapping men smoking ganja,tapping up drunk men giving trouble,letting down bicycle tyre pressure for not riding with lights........normal,normal things long time.
Then again didn't have cell phone with cameras in those days.
Plenty stupidity in this episode.
Sorry but it kinda laughable and all players get or would get what they deserve.
Drunk man get a chance to get more money to drink and police get a load of public scorn.

Postby DVSTT » December 31st, 2014, 1:45 pm

toyolink wrote:Police slapping men smoking ganja,tapping up drunk men giving trouble,letting down bicycle tyre pressure for not riding with lights........normal,normal things long time.
Then again didn't have cell phone with cameras in those days.
Plenty stupidity in this episode.
Sorry but it kinda laughable and all players get or would get what they deserve.
Drunk man get a chance to get more money to drink and police get a load of public scorn.

The man family find themselves in front of a reporter voicing their concerns. That $ have to share up.

Postby pioneer » December 31st, 2014, 2:03 pm

Anyhow...

I think the officers should be sent to the Employee Assistance Program. Being harassed by a drunk abusive man can be taxing especially in a stressful job. Who knows how this incident may have affected them.

Postby pioneer » December 31st, 2014, 2:29 pm

Wifey prolly like it cuz he love she.

Postby pioneer » December 31st, 2014, 2:48 pm

You an all.

Postby j.o.e » December 31st, 2014, 3:08 pm

What if the slap is a result of a failed justice system (devil's advocate) If he was cursing,spitting on people in public the law is expected to do something..but if they go thru the trouble of charging him for a 'petty' offence where will it go from there?...probably just thrown out of court.. a bellaz, quick acting and effective...the long arm of the law serving and protecting one bellaz a a time

orangefox

Postby orangefox » December 31st, 2014, 3:47 pm

DVSTT wrote:
orangefox wrote:
pugboy wrote:This is where tasers are the solution, one shock and he woulda stop cussing
No slaps required

Civilians are not allowed tasers.

Not allowed guns either.....

Lol ... :lol:

Tasers are illegal. Even "pepper spray " etc. ( i.e. For self defense )

Guns you can get a license.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » December 31st, 2014, 5:12 pm

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-12- ... s-sue-cops

“There is no circumstance in which this kind of behaviour by police officers against a civilian, particularly a disabled person, can be justified. This behaviour must be roundly condemned,” Ramadhar said

A PSB investigator said it was a major criminal investigation as the officers were each facing a charge of misbehaviour in public office which could result in jail time if found guilty.

“Because of the aggravated nature of the offence, there will be special considerations in laying charges. This happens especially when an offence is committed against little children, old people or disabled people but everything will be weighed accordingly,” he added.

Postby DVSTT » December 31st, 2014, 6:38 pm

Wonder how much Ras got in compensation when he got slapped by the PoPo

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » December 31st, 2014, 8:58 pm

Express wrote:“I fell off a coconut tree in May­aro when I was 16 years old. It didn’t start to affect me until 30 years after. The doctors said I could do an ope­ration, but it would be three years before I could walk properly again,” he said.

Guardian wrote:He worked several jobs before but his life went downhill after a car rolled over his foot in Penal two year ago. It was compounded by his spinal disease, which has left him moving around with a urine bag.

...the next officer, who is on the (news)papers here, he pushed me away and it had a very big scene. “I don’t like what happened. I got slapped on the left side of my face, all on my glasses.”

Papers lying on mamoo?
I rewind the flim a few times and still didn't see any glasses.

And on a different note, why it is 100% of the time events like these are recorded, it HAS to be on a $100 BLU? BLU makes other cheap phones with a decent camera too.

Postby DVSTT » December 31st, 2014, 9:06 pm

Officer clout up and friend got fired but they still investigating Captain Blackberry.....

Postby sMASH » December 31st, 2014, 9:17 pm

orangefox wrote:Contact ACP Reyes :)

...he wouldn't know how to accept the call

Postby sMASH » December 31st, 2014, 9:30 pm

pioneer wrote:Anyhow...

I think the officers should be sent to the Employee Assistance Program. Being harassed by a drunk abusive man can be taxing especially in a stressful job. Who knows how this incident may have affected them.

They should "man up" and save the tax payers dollars on the EAP retainer

Postby sMASH » December 31st, 2014, 9:33 pm

Police in this country are illiterate thugs with just enough concentration to pass five o' levels

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 31st, 2014, 9:39 pm

Ease off d methanol dan...

mitsutt

Postby mitsutt » December 31st, 2014, 10:48 pm

Dey both unemployed now

Postby Morpheus » December 31st, 2014, 11:11 pm

mitsutt wrote:Dey both unemployed now

Great...

Postby Morpheus » December 31st, 2014, 11:12 pm

DVSTT wrote:Officer clout up and friend got fired but they still investigating Captain Blackberry.....

SRP vs ACP

Postby supercharged turbo » January 1st, 2015, 1:28 am

sMASH wrote:Police in this country are illiterate thugs with just enough concentration to pass five o' levels
is 5 yuh say inno:shock:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 1st, 2015, 3:59 am

Word is from frequent high streeters is that dis old man does be touching oman bambam and then speeding off with his wheelchair and that he's a known pest.

Clearly he did something to piss the officers off in that manner. I doubt da oman go jes see da man on e wheelchair, decide to loud him up and push him up d road...then the next one just jump out clout him up. He was cussing d popo...who knows what else he was doing. In the interview he said that all he told the oman popo was dat he love she buh he didn't recognize that she was a police. Didn't recognize a police uniform? LOL...I highly doubt that that would have pissed her off in that manner also.

Why everybody jumping on the man side?? Camera man just feeding ollyur wuh e want d public to see and have everybody against the popo. Then he coming on d news with he chupid gunta self on tv and saying "Oh we feddup addi police and dem...daiz why I record d video".

Anyone saw the interview with him on he news?....did anyone notice the difference in his mental state as compared to what was seen in the video?
Alcohol maybe?

Trinis is one setta bandwagonists oui...

Postby Morpheus » January 1st, 2015, 4:20 am

^^Regardless of what Mr. Wheelchair did that was no way for both officers to respond. Charge his arse or something. You of stable mind will release the wheelchair brakes and push it into a parked car? While in uniform? In full view of the public? You have to be mad.

The next idiot. What he hitting the man for? Arrest/charge the man if necessary. That 3rd World/back-ah-yard response of slapping citizens has to stop NOW.

As has been stated numerous times, we don't see what Mr. Wheelchair did in the video but those officers just made a bad situation worse.......cyah have thin skinned people given that type of authority.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » January 1st, 2015, 4:25 am

Ronaldo95163 I could give a rat's ass about what you just said. That does not make what the officers did right. They are our law enforcers, the people we look to protect us. They are here to serve us, the people.

Now granted he may have done all what you said and maybe even worse, you can't be truly justifying what happened to him. Those officers do not deserve to have a job and they should also be charged. If the guy on the wheelchair committed any offences, well charge him too, but there is a proper way to deal with situations like these. Their actions are by no means acceptable.

Postby zoom rader » January 1st, 2015, 4:57 am

Soul Collector wrote:Ronaldo95163 I could give a rat's ass about what you just said. That does not make what the officers did right. They are our law enforcers, the people we look to protect us. They are here to serve us, the people.

Now granted he may have done all what you said and maybe even worse, you can't be truly justifying what happened to him. Those officers do not deserve to have a job and they should also be charged. If the guy on the wheelchair committed any offences, well charge him too, but there is a proper way to deal with situations like these. Their actions are by no means acceptable.

Postby sMASH » January 1st, 2015, 6:49 am

Wheels didn't recognize she was a police , and neither did they!
Police are there to rectify situations like this, not participate or generate them

Details

Postby Details » January 1st, 2015, 7:10 am

Soul Collector wrote:Ronaldo95163 I could give a rat's ass about what you just said. That does not make what the officers did right. They are our law enforcers, the people we look to protect us. They are here to serve us, the people.

X3 they want to use the badge as their source of power to be ranked higher than the citizens of this country... yet they want to run away from actually doing the job, if the guy in the wheelchair assaulted someone or was breaking the law etc, caution him and arrest him if he is found resisting arrest then use reasonable force to apprehend him.. it's simple maths. ..

Postby DVSTT » January 1st, 2015, 7:48 am

Can anyone confirm the person in the wheelchair in the video and the person photographed on the newspaper article are the same person? :?::?::?:

Postby goalpost » January 1st, 2015, 8:19 am

hope those two (ex)-police get all the support they need during this difficult time. :(

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 1st, 2015, 8:41 am

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-12- ... sabled-man

Secretary of the Police Social Welfare Association Insp Michael Seales said yesterday.

.. " Even if you have to strike out at the person, the law provides for you to use a baton, that way you are covered, but for you to use an open hand and slap a person or use a fist to cuff someone, it is a no-no.”

Postby DVSTT » January 1st, 2015, 8:47 am

orangefox wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-12-29/mixed-views-after-viral-video-shows-officers-beating-disabled-man

Secretary of the Police Social Welfare Association Insp Michael Seales said yesterday.

.. " Even if you have to strike out at the person, the law provides for you to use a baton, that way you are covered, but for you to use an open hand and slap a person or use a fist to cuff someone, it is a no-no.”

Baton ftw

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 1st, 2015, 9:17 am

So why not just arrest him put him in the jeep and carry him down?

Is not like he could resist anyway

Is it because it's easier to beat a man than actually do some proper police work?

That is not how a police should act weather the man right or wrong, if he was being a pest they could have easily carried him down. It's not like he could beat them with a wheel chair