zoom rader wrote:Bro, I work in the North Sea and production has not dropped. I shuttle back and forth on one producer that pumps out 200k barrels a day for the past 7 years and the other at 70k for the last yr. North Sea is still pumping at full blast. However new projects are on hold and those producing less 12k are on shut down repair / maintenance mode.
Oil is expected to drop and stay at $50. This will put facking projects on hold.
Again ban belly for what?
The UNC ran this nation on $9 a barrel.
Dizzy28 wrote:orangefox wrote:At $50 a barrel TT will dive into a recession. At $9 a depression.
Ok Dhanayshar!!!
sMASH wrote:Methanol does not explode.
From my years of experience in he industry, u don't want extremely hazardous waste materials around.
My apprehension about the smelting waste was not due to there being proper hazmat procedures.
My apprehension was due to the fact that it would depend on trinis carrying out the procedure!
Let me tell you something, the garbage truck men who run around in 3/4 and shorts without gloves and sometimes just a normal sneakers, the same mentality towards safety exists with the people in control and the ground level men carrying it out.
If u all only knew how pt. Lisas is a ticking time bomb. Not because of the nature of the materials , but because the nature of the people running the places and working there.
I is one!
Habit7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Bro, I work in the North Sea and production has not dropped. I shuttle back and forth on one producer that pumps out 200k barrels a day for the past 7 years and the other at 70k for the last yr. North Sea is still pumping at full blast. However new projects are on hold and those producing less 12k are on shut down repair / maintenance mode.
Oil is expected to drop and stay at $50. This will put facking projects on hold.
Production in North Sea hasnt dropped yet but it cannot sustain with these low oil prices in such mature fields that use unconventionals.
UNC running the country on $9 for a couple months when the average price of oil was $20 is one thing. Having an average oil price of $120, budgeting for $80 and the reality being $60 is another.
sMASH wrote:Let me give u a little example that may not be libelous.
The photocopiers are stationed in the halls and have paper recycling bins riht next to it.
I had always admired how environmentally conscientious the company was for that little accomodation. It kinda let me look the other way for the harder more expensive HSE issues.
But then after some years I remembered that I don't know of any local places that recycle paper. Then I brushed it off as some contractor sending it to some foreign place
More time went and the question was still there. I am obsessive like that, I can't be satisfied with an answer pulled out of thin air.
I watched to see when the recycling bins were being emptied. This took some days because I had work to do and had to balance being there at the time were being emptied, which I did not know.
Lo and behold, when the janitors come twice a day they put it with the normal garbage.
They did not put the paper waste bag with the other bags, they emptied the waste bin into the other waste.
From captain to cook: the cook just concerned about getting their task complete and the captain just concerned about increasing production.
zoom rader wrote:Habit7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Bro, I work in the North Sea and production has not dropped. I shuttle back and forth on one producer that pumps out 200k barrels a day for the past 7 years and the other at 70k for the last yr. North Sea is still pumping at full blast. However new projects are on hold and those producing less 12k are on shut down repair / maintenance mode.
Production in North Sea hasnt dropped yet but it cannot sustain with these low oil prices in such mature fields that use unconventionals.
UNC running the country on $9 for a couple months when the average price of oil was $20 is one thing. Having an average oil price of $120, budgeting for $80 and the reality being $60 is another.
Bro, it was well calculated to keep production in the north Sea stable.
It costs producers an avg of $19 a barrel to produce in North Sea where they sell it at the current price. Do the maths .
They still making huge $$$.
However the price drop will put all projects on hold. Their main aim is to bust facking .
SR wrote:Trinidad cannot survive in $9us a barrel in 2014/15 some of allyuh reeel delusional
RASC wrote:I have a slightly different opinion.
There is something else at play here... I don't believe the play here is to buss fraking but OVERALL rather TO SQUEEZE RUSSIA!
Putin within the last couple weeks has been running around Asia like a headless chicken trying to secure Russia's energy future amid lower and lower world prices. He's locking in long term agreements with China and India for example as the sanctions are really taking its tole on the Rubel.
The Rubel is at a five year low, ppls salaries are getting slashed across the board and we have not even hit the peak of winter. Internally Putin is losing face badly and its the combo of the low prices plus the sanctions- his only hope is for his "friends" to guarantee buy from him. The Saudi's + US (plus other axis powers) are coming together to buss Putin's back.
sMASH wrote:Yes, but why should the world suffer for their personal squabbles?
xtech wrote:There has only been one other time in history when the price of oil has crashed by more than 40 dollars in less than 6 months. The last time this happened was during the second half of 2008, and the beginning of that oil price crash preceded the great financial collapse that happened later that year by several months. Well, now it is happening again, but this time the stakes are even higher. When the price of oil falls dramatically, that is a sign that economic activity is slowing down. It can also have a tremendously destabilizing affect on financial markets. It would be difficult to overstate the importance of the shale oil boom to the U.S. economy. Thanks to this boom, the United States has become the largest oil producer on the entire planet. Yes, the U.S. now actually produces more oil than either Saudi Arabia or Russia.
If the price of oil stays at this level or continues falling, we will see a significant number of U.S. shale oil companies go out of business and large numbers of jobs will be lost. These Saudis know how to play hardball, and they are absolutely ruthless. In fact, we have seen this kind of scenario happen before…
Saudi Arabia will accept any price decline necessary to sweat whatever supply cuts are needed to balance the market and put the brakes on the US shale oil sector. This Saudi Arabia stand-off with US drillers and frackers is to see how the shale boys are going to stand up to a cheaper price. This has happened once before in the mid-1980’s when oil from Alaska’s and the North Sea came on line combined production of around 5-6 million barrels a day, OPEC set off a price war to compete for market share. As a result, the price of oil sank from around $40 to just under $10 a barrel by 1986.
For all intents and purposes, OPEC is now engaged in a “price war” with the United States producers. Since it’s very cheap to pump oil straight out of the ground in places like Saudi Arabia and Kuwait and more expensive to extract oil from shale formations in places like Texas and North Dakota. U.S. producers will become unprofitable and go out of business. Oil prices will stabilize and OPEC will once again maintain its market share.
sMASH wrote:Now u see what u start hitting there... The financial practices of the Americans . All those things like hedge funds and derivatives should be made illegal. Those things are more or less gambling, but with flashy words.
Excess liquidity, printing money, doesn't that drive up inflation and thus reduce economic power of the working class? Would it not increase the economic divide between rich and poor?
Printing money, In my day, when u didn't have the assets to back it up, we called that counterfeiting.
U gonna say that is real USD that they are printing. But it has no real value.
And all this coupled to fractional reserve banking... Lending what u don't have and then collecting interest.
America has the most sinful financial practices.
Skanky wrote:I can't believe than in 2014 people still believe that OPEC,oil supply/demand,Saudi,Kuwait,fracking,production,war,(anything other than the people who actually push the buy or sell buttons) have much influence the price of oil.
Habit7 wrote:ZR safe, doh worry. While he has the strongest disdain for immigrants in Trinidad, the Brits will ensure he gets his ten day over other
European nationals
janfar wrote:North Sea companies have started lay offs. BH and Hal have already laid off 600 ppl in Norway. Aberdeen coming up. BP is also putting out statements that they will be reducing head count soon. Hal has put out a statement that they will be reducing Eastern Hemisphere head count by more than 15%.
Work in Saudi has ramped up though but ISIS just put out a direct threat to their supporters in KSA to attack any and all companies and personel of western allies.
This thing is going to be bitter...
bluesclues wrote:Skanky wrote:I can't believe than in 2014 people still believe that OPEC,oil supply/demand,Saudi,Kuwait,fracking,production,war,(anything other than the people who actually push the buy or sell buttons) have much influence the price of oil.
well that is commodities trading for you. investors invest on the prediction that new investors will come along. in short the stock market is a legal ponzi scheme. if the price starts falling by trade value that means companies have to cut back expenditure because they arent supported by growing investment anymore. imagine you have 80bn invested at $80 a barrell and price falls to $60 u just lost 20bn dollars. and that could happen with a meagre $100,000 sell order in a low liquidity market.